paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Splat / Splat / Splat / Splat

Splat Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount

Buy Splat

Paintball Paintball Magazines

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Splat
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 32
Average Rating: 7.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $30

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
A really cool magazine. Only the first issue has came out. It has awesome pics, tips, gun reviews, gear reviews,interviews, and cool ads.
Product Availability 
The Splat is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
markmco Saturday, February 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine, Richochet AK, Smart parts teardrop, dye 3 sticky grip, Adjusted trigger pull,
4 inch drop forward.
Strengths: Good articles
good grammar
good revies
good ads
good cover
Weaknesses: none
Review: I got the feb/march 2004 issue it was the bomb it had things for every including
newb tips(good even helped me!!!)
reviews of paintball gear
ads real good and funny hits
weight training for paintball
voice communication on the vield
how to win while your outnumbered
real good article for the price
Good grammar couldnt fin any mistakes
Great cover well put toghether
Conclusion: Would reccommend this for anyone who wants a good thourough paintball magazine!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Go'in Coastal Monday, June 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Action Pursuit Games
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra w/ Smart Parts 14" Progressive barrel and a JT hopper.
Strengths: Interesting articles. High quality printing.
Weaknesses: Too many ads. Too much flesh.
Review: If I wanted to look at half naked women I would have picked up a Maxim. If I wanted to see ads I could have ordered some catalogs from the manufacturers. What I want is a well written magazine about a sport that I love that I can share with my sons with whom I share my excitement for the sport.
Conclusion: If you're looking for a skin magazine, Maxim and FHM have much more. If you're looking for articles on the sport of Paintball look elsewhere to get the most for your money. Don't buy it, I won't again.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

clown_13_2001 Thursday, May 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
-action pursuit games
Marker Setup: -Blue Spyder Victor II
-12" red custom products one piece barrel .689
-Red VL Revolution 12 volt w/ x-board
-my custom trigger mod
-20 oz. Pure Energy CO2
Strengths: -nice pictures
-in depth articles
-good price
Weaknesses: -too many ads
-too small
Review: I can get these magazines at any walmart (if they aren't sold out). It is a pretty good magazine. It has a whole bunch of hot girls in every one. The pictures they take in tourneys are really good. They show a whole assortment of things. They have very few articles, but they are very in-depth. The price is also fairly good. There are TOO MANY ADS though. It seems like every other page is an ad. And the magazine is not very big, and half of the pages are filled with ads.
Conclusion: Get it every once in a while, but don't subscribe to it.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, May 26th, 2004 at 6:31 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Two Gunn Sunday, October 5th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Strengths: Its just so awesome.
Weaknesses: Why required? Can't I address this in the review?!
Review: This magazine is marketed at people like me...
Guys who have an attention span of less than 3 minutes unless it involves breasts. This magazine has useful information, but if you are offended by bikini clad women folk, its not the magazine for you.
Also, this magazine has some of the greatest photos of bunkering moves! They are awesome!
Conclusion: Buy it... hey look... a squirrel... that short attention span is gett...
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

gelhead190 Tuesday, September 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
paintball international & others
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom
folding stock
Flatline
Rifle scope
200 rd hopper
9,12,20 ounce co2
Remote coil
Strengths: cool pictures
well written articles
tips & tricks
gear reviews
hot paintball chicks
Product reviews
Weaknesses: Once every 2 months
Review: This is by far the best paintball mag i have ever read. Its has great senerio game coverage pics tips and tricks team articles paintball store listing still very new but i think its the best out of the ones ive read (blah blah blah i must write 50 or more words so i need somthing blah blah blah)
Conclusion: Best paintball mag ever.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

yeoldespyder Monday, January 5th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
APG- A little better
PB2X- Incomparably better
FACEFULL- Much better
PGI- Much better
Marker Setup: 06 Empire Intimidator
Pinokio Hopper
Cp Barrel (2 piece)
CP ASA
Strengths: Occasional good article
Humor
Good products reviewed
Not too much fluffing on facts.
Pictures
Weaknesses: Appearance
Paper used
Some cheap advertising


Review: Its not the best magazine, not close.

COVERAGE: Good variety of coverage (from what I have seen). Marker reviews, player interviews, some tourney coverage, woodsball coverage. Not much pump player coverage (if you want that, and not much else, check out APG...). Good humor thrown in randomly.

APPEARANCE: It's an OK appearance. Nothing fancy, decent coloring. Good pictures and all. Sort of bland, but does have some good diagrams and models that help understand the articles.

ADVERTISING: They really manipulate girls in the magazine. Plenty of girls wearing bikinis and pod packs. 66/136 pages were advertising. Meh!
Conclusion: It's more of a screw around magazine. Plenty of humor, plenty of girls, plenty cool pictures. Not too many cold hard facts, drills, etc.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dmz boy Monday, December 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
pb2x, pusuit combat games
Strengths: Cool pics
Ok reviews
Ok articles
Weaknesses: It's trying to be cool
Models distract you from reading
Models are sometimes ugly
Review: This magazine is ok the positives and negatives balance out each other. The magazine however seems to try to take the readers attention away from the words to the girls jugs. Like honestly go pick up a stuff or FHM if your in that mood. I like there pictures good action in them. The magazine should cover woods ball more because some people like me don't shoot 50 balls at 20bps at the bunker ahead of me. Although looking at pics of speed ball is alright. The magazine has cool reviews about products. The magazine also seems kinda short.......
summed up

GOODS
-cool reviews and articles 4 points
-awesome action photos 4 points
-I guess the models are a plus 1 point

BADS
-Models are distracting - 1
-Not enough coverage on different types of play-2
-To many adds and blah blah-1

BONUS
I would add 2 positive points because it's easy to read by that I mean lots of attracting titles and nice colorful writing.

11 positives minus 4 negatives gives me a break even 7 it's ok but not good or great
Conclusion: If you have a few extra bucks and are in the girly mood and want to learn a few things about paintball get it if not buy pb2x
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Howlin' Mad Friday, March 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
APG - Not as Good
PGI - Better pro coverage, no scenario coverage
Facefull - Better
PB2X - A little better
Paintball Sports - Better


Marker Setup: Marker 1:
Tippmann 98 Custom
BT Designs APEX
Expansion Chamber
Adco IMP
Response Trigger
Shocktech Bolt
Black Dye Sticky Grips
BT Sealed Bolt System
Custom Paint job
Polished Internals
12 Volt Revy

Marker 2:
JT Acclerator W/E-Grip 3.5
14in. Smartparts Progressive
12 Volt Revy
48c.i. Pure Energy Nitro

Marker 3:
Black Smartparts Ion
Pure Energy 48 C.I. Tank
12 Volt Revy
Strengths: Informative articles
Compressed, bolied down, no-nonsense writing
Intresting random facts
Funny captions
Scaenario Coverage
Weaknesses: Hard to find
Bi-Monthly
Excessive use of women
Review: This magazine is a good read, and is great to have in boring classes. I always grab a copy when I can.

+Compressed, boiled down, no-nonsense writing
The writers of the magazine a good about getting rid of all the useless information that others have. You can easily read the whole magazine in a day. The articles are nothing but informative, useful information. An interesting note is they sometimes dedicate a whole article to something you'd never think of writing a whole article about. Like they recently had a whole article about reloading.

+Interesting, random facts
It's not related to paintball, but the random facts they do have are interesting nonetheless. Ex. There are 118 ridges on the edge of a dime.

+Funny captions
The picture captions they have are good for a chuckle. Facefull's pics. don't even need captions, and APG's are like "Paintball is fun for everyone" and "Tippmann young gun in stealth mode" Splats are like a good middle.

+Scenario Coverage
Splat generally covers a scenario game or two. Its an interesting read usually and gives a good insight on scenario paintball.

-Hard to find
I'ts hard to find this magazine sometimes. I've only seen it in Barnes & Noble, and the first time it was in the Mall of America. If you find it buy it.

-Bi-monthly
Being bi-montly its a longer wait in between issues.

-Excessive use of women
I'm not saying having women in the magazine is bad, but Splat has a little too much. besides if i want chicks, i'll get a real chick mag. I buy it for paintball, not women. Paintball Sports has just the right amount. if your're real uptight about it, Splat my have too much women for you.
Conclusion: If you can find this magazine and don't mind looking at some chicks buy this magazine.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Pro Rookie Sunday, November 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pb2X
Marker Setup: 03 Shocker w/ Evolve Bolt, Max-Flo, Halo.
Strengths: Great Pics.
Great Chicks.
Great Coverage.
Great Interviews.
Weaknesses: Every 2 months.
Too short.
Review: I read some of the prior reviews. It makes me laugh the ones that list GIRLS as a weakness. For one thing, the girls are just there as eye candy to hold up the equipment. As long as they aren't engaged in a maskless game, then it doesn't bother me. Another thing is yes, they are trying to be cool. That's how you become marketable.

Anyhow, I think that the interviews with the pros coupled with playing tips are brilliant. I also like the little captions on the pics. Most of them are fairly amusing.
Conclusion: A good read. Good tips. If you're not afraid of girls, buy it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TheSpy11 Friday, September 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
APG - much better
PB2X - much better
PGI - better
FACEFULL - slightly better
Paintball Sports - a little better
Paintball Magazine - better
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
ACI Zero Gravity
Flatline
E-grip
Ricochet R5
JCS Duel Trigger
CenterFlag reg.
DOP Front Grip
DOP RVA
Strengths: Different maybe?
Not all tournament pictures
Weaknesses: Girls
Short
Stupid articles
Just trying to be "cool"
Spendy for what you get.
Review: Splat is honestly the worst paintball magazine I've ever seen. It's just another publication trying to be "cool". Get real. Give us some information that is interesting. The models are disgusting. Paintball players, particularly teenagers, don't need that kind of influence. It is totally tasteless on their part. Splat is also too short, especially when you consider the price which is a little high for any magazine. The only good thing is that it has some interesting pictures. That in no way wins me over, however.
Conclusion: Don't buy for any reason. It has almost no good points.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media