paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Zap Spank Paintballs / Zap Spank Paintballs / Zap Spank Paintballs

Zap Spank Paintballs Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Zap

Buy Zap Spank Paintballs

Paintball Paintballs

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Zap Spank Paintballs
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 117
Average Rating: 8.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
No Description Available
Product Availability 
The Zap Spank Paintballs are newer, so they should be commonly available.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (12):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
ThePredator Friday, November 21st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month14 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Tippman 98 Custom
Recommended
Barrels:
CMI ThunderPig
Strengths: Price, No Cheating / Wiping, Dark Shell Non-Traceable, Like the Fill Colors
Weaknesses: Look like they're low quality. Paradox... A little hard to clean out. (So What.)
Review: The balls are basically dark grey except for a few green ones mixed in with the white fill balls. I assume this is for visual distinction to tell between a bag of the the pink fill balls and the white fill balls.
Seams are very visible, but balls fly very straight. It is GREAT to hear the bad boys whining that they can't wipe the paint off! It was also funny to see everybody walking out of the woods with white paint all over them.
The paint is thick and chalky. There will be NO CHEATING with this paint. If they wipe it, the spot just gets bigger.

I shot several hundred with the CMI 21" ThunderPig barrel and had no breaks in the 98. My brother shot over 1000 and had probably a couple of breaks in his 98 with stock barrel, but he gives that gun 5 shades and shoots it faster than it was ever meant to be shot, and he does it using only a gravity feed hopper. I'd say he chopped one or two.

I spent $34+ at XPaintball without shipping because they're a short drive from me. I don't know of any paint at this quality for this price... or even close.

Balls break when they hit too.
Conclusion: Generally speaking, average prices with shipping were ~$42. You can probably find it for less if you can find a local dealer and avoid shipping. I think this is a great price. I like being unique, and this paint is unique. I also love the no-bounce camoflauge shells. Not disappointed at all.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Lazro Thursday, April 1st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Diablo Dusk(10/10)
Draxxus Sunfire(10/10)
Evil Paintballs(10/10)
Big Balls(3/10)
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Impulse Black
Progressive Barrel
Evolution II Hopper
CenterFlag 47ci 3000psi Nitrogen System
Super Fly Bolt
Eclipse Blade Trigger
Tapeworm
Recommended
Barrels:
Not small bore barrels
Strengths: CHEAP
Accurate
Semi Thick Fill
Bright Fill
Camo Colored Shells
Weaknesses: Inconsistency in Shell Color (different shades of green)
Doesnt work with Flatline Barrel
Review: The first time I even heard of these is when I was checking out ZAP paintballs here on paintball review. When I read about these I decided to purchase a box. The first thing I did was start shooting them when I got them. I was shooting fast and none broke. They were all hitting the same spot almost every single time. The next Saturday I went down to Splat Attack (good field) and put them to the real test. It was awesome. I hate it when people can see your paintballs coming at them and trace them to your spot. Not these. They had no clue who was shooting at them. Plus the pink fill was extremely visable. I had an awesome day and highly suggest these paintballs to anyone.

The great thing is you dont have to worry about wasting paint cause this stuff is so cheap.
Conclusion: Recap:
CHEAP
Accurate
Semi Thick Fill
Bright Fill
Camo Shell

I highly suggest this paint. If your still unsure, just buy a box (its cheap) and test it out. You will not be disappointed!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 5th, 2004 at 5:12 pm PST
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

Paintballer5789 Monday, September 29th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
team colors
Marker Setup: spyder victor, 14 inch all-american, low-pressure chamber, expansion chamber, psycho ballistics drop forward, and empire reloader.
Recommended
Barrels:
all american
Strengths: brittle shell, bright, thick fill, hard to wipe, very cheap
Weaknesses: shells are two colors, if you want to be picky
Review: I ordered 500 count of this stuff, cause i was wanted to get cheap paint so i could play on the weekend. I got this tuff, and saw that the shells came in two different colors. i thought that the paint would be pretty crappy, due to the lack of care to the shells. But i loaded up my hopper, and shot it. To my supprise, the paint flew straight, landed in a tight pattern. The fill stands out, so there is no cheating in your using this paint. The fill was also very thick. I shot my friend, and he said that he couldn't get this paint all the way out of his clothes. So i guess that this stuff stains, but i don't care, because i was shooting it.
Conclusion: But this paint. The shell is very brittle, the fill is bright and thick, and it doesn't break in your barrel, but it breaks on the oppent.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 19th, 2004 at 3:01 pm PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

foofighter#0 Sunday, February 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
diablo dusk
pmi super swirls
bs afterburner
bs blue streak
pmi premium
zap spank
Marker Setup: GUN SETUP
Spyder Shutter
J&J Ceramic Barrel
Spyder Sprint ESP frame
32 degrees 6-stage x-chamber
Ricochet AK
20&12oz tanks
JT NVader thermal
Recommended
Barrels:
small to medium bore
like mine
Strengths: accurate
"invisible"
great two colors
great fill
no dimbles
REALLY CHEAP
great paint
Weaknesses: some electronic eyes on guns can't see the ball
nothing else
Review: I got these just because I needed paint to play one weekend. So I bought them and went paintballing with them that weekend. You can snipe with these and a good fit barrel because no one can dodge them because they cant see them at all.
I personally liked the black/white ones better because you can say "A bird crapped on you, ha ha!"
Conclusion: All in all these paintballs look like they are cheap crap, but in real life they are the best paintballs you can get.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 15th, 2004 at 7:03 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

colma Monday, November 10th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
RP Scherer Premium, Big Ball, JT, Nelson

Marker Setup: PMI Piranha w/a few extras
Recommended
Barrels:
14 inch PMI Razor Barrel or stock standard
Strengths: Cheap, good shells, thick fill, and good shape
Weaknesses: the only choice I had for fill colors were pink or white
Review: For the cheap price I didn't expect much, but these paintballs exceeded my expectations by far.

The paint broke on my opponents and not in my gun. I went through 500 rds and didn't chop a single ball.

Even in colder temperatures the paintballs broke on impact.

The shells were great (no dimples) and I had consistently accurate shots.
Conclusion: If you want to save some money and play with quality paintballs at the same time, then Zap Spank are the logical choice.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

M4NDR1N Saturday, September 24th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
The entire Zap range of paint
Draxxus, Empire, Blade, etc etc
Marker Setup: Ion w/
QEV, clamp neck, 68/3000 HPA, 32* mini drop, Shocktech on/off, 12'' Redz Pepper Stickz, HaloB
Recommended
Barrels:
Unfortunately no barrel can save this paint...
Strengths: None...mmmm, new box design?
Weaknesses: Horrible new formula
Incredibly oily fill
Miss-shaped - dimples and footballs
Review: I operate a Paintball field and have being involved in the sport for a while now. Just over 6 months ago I changed my field paint to the OLD Zap Spank that was supplied in a white box and the paint had a green shell and white fill...

That paint was the ultimate paint I have ever used. The shell was perfect, the thick fill was washable but the thing that BLEW me away was the accuracy of the stuff. Hell man, some of my Airballers were using it for parctice AND tourney as the paint was so accurate with no-wipe fill and was very cheap.

I never had any barrel breaks in ANY markers (my rentals or clients' markers) regardless of weather conditions. In it's bracket, it was the best paint on the planet, period

SADLY, this has all changed...Zap has seen fit to mess with perfection.

There is a saying..."If it ain't broke, don't try to fix it!"
While Zap did change the Spank box design from a white box to a much nicer design, that was unfortunately where all the forward motion went.

They KILLED a perfect paint!!!!

Accuracy:
The new balls are HORRIBLY shaped...Forget dimples, how about squished footballs.
However, as a testament to Zap's ball making ability, I must say that the New Spank does not fly as badly as you'd expect from such horribly mis-shaped balls but it is unfortunately now too far off the mark compared to other brands at a cheaper price.

Fill:
What was Zap thinking??? The new Spank fill is so oily and gross. It does NOT wash out of anything and it leaves a noticable oily stinky smell everywhere it breaks.
You CANNOT wash that stuff off airball bunkers with cold water. You must use a de-greasing agent with hot water. Erm, that sux because then I will kill the grass on my playing surface and I STILL don't get my bunkers 100% clean. This is the worst fill I have ever seen.

Shell:
The balls are badly mis-shaped and this quite naturally affects the paints accuracy. The shell is wierdly soft and rubbery and I had a huge increase in client complaints about the paint not breaking and it hurting a lot more than normal.

The new Spank is such a 180 degree move that I still don't get how a reputable company like Zap has not issued a public apology given their mass of clients/supporters.


Conclusion: What was Zap thinking???
Zap has shamed themselves with their New Spank paint. They have taken what was in my opinion (any many others) the best field paint in the world and reduced it to the worst paint in the world. They did so without notification and warning and a lot of field owners were embarressed. This situation leads to worry, bacause if Zap can destroy their entry level paint, what is stopping them from messing with the rest of their range?
Truly sad...
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Capn Red Legs Sunday, March 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Powerball
Proball
Ink'd
Marker Setup: WGP 06 Black Magic SF
CP Reg, drop, asa
Freak
Vlocity Loader
Empire Fuel 68ci/4500psi

Smart Parts Ion
Scenario Dreams T Board w/ DYE membrane
SP 360 QEV
Firebolt
Freak

Smart Parts SP-8 Desert
SP 360 QEV
Firebolt
Remote fitted w/Palmer Stabilizer to run CO2
Stealth Barrel
Adj. Stock
Recommended
Barrels:
.684 insert on your freak EDIT: .679 is BEST in hot dry weather consistency like no other!!!!!!!!
small-bore paint
Strengths: Price, fill, availability.
Weaknesses: Shell. Bounces sometimes. Smaller than normal bore size.
Review: I have been trying new paint for over a year now and I am trying to find the cheapest, most reliable paint that won't break the bank.

My Quest is over. You can get these at around $ 36 most places. I have found that when this paint is fresh, it is as good as any other out there. I don't think that it keeps as long as some, but that may have been some of the cases from last summer's heat wave.

I think this is definitely worth the money. Why spent $20 more on upper end paint when you can get almost 2 cases of this?

EDIT: I would change my rating to a 10! It is readily available, low cost, bright, crazy-thick, no-wipe fill with TOURNAMENT GRADE ROUNDNESS AND SEAM! I love this paint. If you can't find it, go to www.archonpaintball.com
Conclusion: I firmly believe that there is no paint batter than this for the money. Its is worth a trial case if you do not believe me. It is not a 10 of 10, but you have to think about the price when rating so I will give a 9.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, August 9th, 2007 at 8:27 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dragon 73 Saturday, January 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Other expensive paint (just as good/same quality as this paint!)
Marker Setup: Spyder TL-X ,
32 degrees large drop forward,
clamping feed neck,
32 degrees electronic grip frame with sweet spot trigger,
J&J "14" barrel ,
ACS Delrin Bolt,
madman spring set
and reloader ll hopper.
Recommended
Barrels:
No small bore barrels
Mine works great( J&J barrel)
Strengths: NO WHIPPING
Thick fill
"Camo" (really hard to see)
Accurate
No dimples
Somewhat cheap
Weaknesses: Shell colour varies from black-dark greens
Who cares!
Review: I been using this paint for a while now and I have to tell you I had my doubts at first but man was I wrong. I've only ever had about two chops with this paint the whole time I've been using it and that was because I out shoot my old hopper(this was before i got my acs bolt) These balls always break on contact and fly really straight. Also because of there dark color's there all most impossible to see. I had a few guys at a field complaining that I was running my velocity to high because they couldn't see the balls but the ref checked my gun and it was fine they just couldn't see the balls coming at them! I also played at a few fields with some well known cheaters and they couldn't get away with whipping this stuff ,that just made the paint spread out more on them and easier to see. I've have not yet gotten a bad case,there always the same quality with no dimples and a perfect shape.
Conclusion: Great product.I'm not usually a fan of Zap but I have to say they did a great job with this product. We all spend ALOT of money on paintball- gun's,upgrades,gas/air etc,at least we can buy some really good paintballs at a good price.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, February 1st, 2005 at 8:11 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

VooDooAddict Tuesday, November 23rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
RPS Premium (1996-99) - Average
RPS Gold (1998-2000) - Good
RPS Marbalizer (1997-99) - Great
Nelson (1996) - Horrible
Marker Setup: Shocker 2k2 (Shoebox) Vert Feed Turbo / SF (Blue Fade)
- 88/4500 MaxFlo
- 12V Veiwloader Rev (Pre-BrassEagle)
- Matching 14" Smart Parts AA

Shocker 4x4
- 114 /4500 CenterFlag Pre-Set High-Presure Tank
- 12V Veiwloader Rev (Pre-BrassEagle)
- 16" CP One Piece

Dragunfly LCD
- Anti-Chop Spring Loaded Bolt
- 70/4500 Centerflag Pre-Set High-Presure Tank
- AGD Warp Feed (Intelifeed link to trigger) with a Classic VL 12V Rev
- custom made 8" Carbon Fiber Small Bore Barrel NO Porting
- Smart Parts 14" All American Large Bore Barrel
- In-Line ASA Extension with Centerflag Gauge for reporting output pressure of the Dragun HPR.
Recommended
Barrels:
Small-Medium Bore Barrels .685 to .689
Strengths: Doesn't break in markers
Cheap
Weaknesses: Dark Shell (Some Anti-Chop Eyes can't see it)
Bounce
Review: Simply Great Recreational Paint.

When taking new friends out to play recreational paintball the biggest thing I worry about is paint breaking in the guns. Breach or Barrel breaks are one of the most frustrating things for new players. I want a ball that comes out of the gun with very little chance of breaks. Course I also need something that's cheap ... as new players can be scared away by high prices.

Zap Spank is a very hearty shelled paint that tend to not break in the chambers of even hard hitting Automags. Side effect ... is that the shells don't always break on the targets.

I'd personnally rather have to hit a guy 3 times then break a ball and not be able to hit him once.

The only issue some might have with this paint is that it's a very dark green shell. Sometimes anti-chop eyes can't see them.
Conclusion: Great Paint for Rec Play ... but don't even think about using in a tourney... the bouncing will be a serious problem.

For Rec Play I give them a 9 out of 10 at @ $40 a case for quality Rec paint ... it's great. If it was a slightly lighter colored shell then even cheep anti-chop eyes won't have any trouble reading it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

RiceBurner923 Monday, October 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
GAP- spank is way better than gap period
evils- the evils swell pretty easilly, but so do the spanks
pmi premiums- the premiums dimple a lot, but the spank doesnt dimple much.
Recommended
Barrels:
any .689 bore barrel
Strengths: Price
thick fill
straight flight
Weaknesses: Hard shells
only one color shell
Review: Spank is a very cheaply priced high quality product. i got mine for 2000 rounds a case for $33. the fill is extremely thick, similar to my case of evils. the only weakness i found was that the shells are too hard. i shot this one guy like 3 times and none of them broke. this was a 50 feet range at 275 fps. only 2 managed to break out of 5 of my shots on that guy. other than the shells being to hard. everything was great. it performs like $50 paint, but at only $33. these paintballs wont let u down.
Conclusion: Buy this product if u play rec or practice paint. they arent too good for tournies, but they do great in rec.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (12):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media