paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Inline Expansion Chamber / Tippmann Inline Expansion Chamber / Tippmann Inline Expansion Chamber / Tippmann Inline Expansion Chamber

Tippmann Inline Expansion Chamber Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Inline Expansion Chamber

Paintball Expansion Chambers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Inline Expansion Chamber
[ View Photos (5) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 65
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $60

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Expansion chambers allow the liquid co2 in your tank to expand into a gas before it enters your gun. Ensuring long lasting internal o-rings and seals, say good-bye to drop off in cold weather, velocity spikes in hot weather, while at the same time improving your paintball gun's efficiency! This kit contains the parts you need to install the GTA Inline Expansion Chamber on to your Model 98 or Custom 98. The complete kit includes the vertical adapter, expansion chamber, gasline, gasline fittings, Loctite thread sealant, and complete installation instructions.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Inline Expansion Chamber is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Menohl Wednesday, January 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month73 of 74 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Never used an Expansion Chamber before this one.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
GTA Inline Expansion Chamber
GTA Double Trigger
32* Star Fire Bolt
J&J 14" Ceramic Barrel
Viewloader 12V Revolution w/ X-Board
JCS 3" Offset 3/8" Dovetail Sight Rail
NcStar 4X30 Illuminated Scope
Thunder Pig In-Line CO2 Gauge
JCS Combat Folding Stock
32* Coiled Remote
PMI 20oz. CO2 Tank
Strengths: Increased Accuracy
Increased Consistancy
Weaknesses: nothing I'd call a weakness
Review: I've had my Tippmann 98 Custom for about 4 months now, and the one thing i've been trying to accomplish all this time was to increase accuracy and consistancy with my marker.

I've upgraded my Barrell and that helped dramatically and i was quite happy with my performance, untill a buddy with his Tippmann w/ Expansion Chamber unloaded into a Silo and showed me how well his grouping was.

After he shot, i shot and lets just say that i lost... My grouping was within a foot of each other, but his grouping was within inches.

I decided then and there that i needed to get myself an expansion chamber, so i did.

Installation took a little longer than i had expected, but that is ok.
Removing the old gas line was relatively simple, but after removal i noted that Tippmann uses alot of LockTite during initial assembly of these guns. Before you can install the Vertical Adapter into the Power Tube, you have to clean out all the old locktite from the threads. This was the most time consuming part of the installation. I used several old toothpics and managed to get all the crud out within 15 minutes. The same process must be done on the bottle adapter.

After the Threads are clean you must be EXTREMELY carefull when you screw the vertical adapter into the Powertube, the powertube is delicate and requires a light hand. I was so scared i was going to break it, its not even funny. Now you have to screw the vertical adapter into the powertube untill only ONE thread is showing... and they are not kidding, the vertical adapter/powertube will not fit back into the marker unless only one thread is showing, and its a tight fit!!!

Once i had the gun back together i took it out to Rinkin Field in Tulare California and played for about 5 hours.

When i first arrived and i got my gun chrono'd i went over to a practice area and unloaded about 15 paintballs at about 45 feet. (the same distance me and my buddy used to shoot at the silo) my grouping was dead on... If i was not shooting in the exact same spot, i was within an inch!!! This thing really paid off!!!

Now all this being said... i did notice 2 things about this expansion chamber setup:

1. The Expansion Chamber itself rotates in 3 area's to ease in installation (Top, Middle, Bottom) After it is installed the only section that can be rotated is the middle section. If you rotate it when the marker is pressurized you can leak some CO2 out of the chamber so don't be spinning the middle section.

2. Halfway through the day my gun's velocity dropped to 195fps and i could not get it back over 200. finally after 3 minutes of messing with the gun i said oh well, and joined another game... within my first 4 shots i got the tell tall machine gun sound of an empty tank!!!! (Note!!! when your velocity drops, your almost out of air... refill!!!)

Conclusion: I recommend getting it, If you have a 98 Custom, and you are not using it, you are just holding back your markers potential. 10 out of 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, March 18th, 2004 at 10:46 am PST
I found this review  
23 Comments - Add Comment

Timmyboy14 Saturday, March 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month27 of 27 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Never used an expansion chamber before this one.
Marker Setup: .M98
-Flatline barrel
-Tippmann car stock
-Inline expansion chamber
-Daisy 4X sight
-Lapco speed loader
-Quick change CO2 adapter
-Remote coil
-RT trigger
-Polished internals
Strengths: -Makes gun more efficient
-More consistent shots
-Slightly better accuracy
-Protects internal parts
Weaknesses: -Installation
-Makes gun heavier (If that's even a weakness).
Review: I bought my expansion chamber new for $47.00. When I installed it, I ran into a few difficulties. The coil wouldn't screw into the expansion chamber. I had to re-thread everything to make it fit. When I got everything back together, I gave the gun air and it started leaking, so I used teflon tape to seal the threads and stop the leaks.

When I actually test fired it I was impressed. My 98 doesn't fire dry ice out of the barrel anymore and I get better accuracy and more consistent firing. It makes the largest difference when you are playing in 50(-) degree weather. No more snowflakes here!

However, if you do put enough shots through quickly, the dry ice will catch up and stunt the performance. But it still helps a lot to have it.
Conclusion: It's a great product for the price. If you want to get extra performance out of your Tippmann, It's definitely worth buying. I'm giving it a nine out of ten for the installation problems.
Please remember to rate this review!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, April 14th, 2006 at 5:09 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

chugalug Saturday, March 5th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: Tippmann M98C
J&J Ceramic barrel
Pure Energy tank
Empire reloader hopper
Era tactical stock
Viewloader Attitubes ball hauler
Tippmann Inline Expansion Chamber
Strengths: See Review
Weaknesses: Installation ( not to bad )
Review: This is a very good expansion chamber, especially for the price. I went outside to test it yesterday and shot over 200 hundred balls in less than 2 minutes, and not one came out frosty! The shots stayed very consistent and it even increased my accuracy a little bit. Now, yer thinking "OK, what's so great about that"? Well, yesterday it was 36 degrees out!!! Yes, 36 degrees. If I had done that without the x-chamber, well lets just say it wouldn't have been pretty. I also got more out of my CO2 because there was no CO2 being wasted by being in a liquid form.

Everybody always makes a big fuss about the installation being so hard and that it took them so long to put it on their gun. Well, I don't know what's wrong with them, because it took me like 20 minutes to put on. I don't see how it could take as long as some of these people are saying. If you are planning on buying this, or have bought it and just haven't put it on, don't worry about the installation. Yeah, you have to read the directions, but they were very plain and well put together. If you have ever opened your gun before, this should be no problem for you.

One thing I must say is DO NOT RUSH THROUGH THE INSTALLATION!!! They give you plenty of Loc-Tite, so use it. Take your time and DO NOT, I repeat, DO NOT force anything. Everything fits together very well, so don't be shoving anything where it shouldn't be going. Lots of people have broken their power tubes in the process, so just be careful.

Conclusion: Definitely BUY!!! If you have a Tippmann, this is a must have, especially if you live in and paintball where it can get cold. I can say this is the best upgrade I've purchased.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 3rd, 2005 at 1:36 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

Amarsaudon Wednesday, December 24th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
umm, nothing really, besides other expansion chambers
Marker Setup: Primary: Tippmann 98 Custom, 14" Dye Xcel/All American 14", Response trigger, Rikochet 2k, Venturi bolt, In-line expansion chamber kit
Seconday: Armotech Zeus G2
Strengths: Helps with air efficency
Improves consistency
Reduces wear on internal parts
Weaknesses: Required a lot of force to install
Review: Strengths
Well, the expansion chamber is a great product, By keeping you gun, and in my case my response trigger as well, from shooting straight liquid co2 out, it dramaticly improves your shots per tank. Consistency is also improved. If you have a response trigger like myself, I would recommend this for you especialy because response adds a lot of co2 consumption to ur gun, and this helps counter that. Also, you can screw your tank straight into the vertical adapter, so if you want you can have your co2 tank coming out of your foregrip (you have to remove the expansion chamber to do this, however).

Weaknesses
I'm not gonna count it down for this, but every part of the instalation process required a great deal of force. If I didn't know that my power tube was made by tippmann, I never would of dared apply that much force to it (I have to put the vertical adapter in a vice and twist the PT around it). As long as you don't do anything stupid, like put the power tube in the vice (the PT IS a frial part inside, believe me, I've busted one!), you should be fine. Just, apply force with caution.
Conclusion: This is a great product. Read the instructions and don't do anything stupid and installation will be easy. Enjoy the improved preformance! Great product.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

paintmaster88 Sunday, January 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
stock expansion chamber on spyder imagine
Marker Setup: Primary: Tippmann 98 Custom
GTA Inline expansion chamber
Folding stock (bp-usa.com)
Rocket cock
98 custom Flatline barrel
Tasco Shotgun scope
Sidearm: Armotech Zeus RIS
Strengths: Price
Velocity consistency
looks
Easy installation
Weaknesses: still lets liquid CO2 out the barrel when you shoot
Review: I decided to buy one of these because the plastic grip was not comfortable.I also needed one to keep most of the liquid CO2 out of the barrel during winter.I figured this would keep that annoying cloud of CO2 from giving your position away.Boy was I wrong.It didn't change it much.But it did what it said it would do buy letting the liquid form into gas. It does let you shoot more shots out of a CO2 bottle. If you lose liquid Co2, you lose pressure quicker which means less shots.
Now for assembly, all you need to do is take the 2 halves of your gun apart, unscrew the old gas line from the valve and air source adapter,screw the ex.-chamber and adapter on to the valve the screw the new gas line on the ex.-chamber and air source adapter, then put your gun back together,also be sure to put loctite on the threads of gas lines.It's that simple.
Conclusion: I reccomend this strongly to someone who plays during winter and wants maximum shots out of their CO2 bottles.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 4th, 2004 at 2:08 pm PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

m98sniper15 Saturday, January 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom
16" trueflight barrel
Shocktech SuperFly Bolt
Expansion Chamber
Double Trigger
Apex barrel
9,12 and 20 oz Co2 tanks
Strengths: Accuracy
Better for marker
Nice Front grip
Weaknesses: Grip gets cold
Review: When I got the chamber I right away started to install it. Installing the the Chamber could be hard for someone that doesn't know their marker to well. I got the Chamber in in about 20-30 minutes. I let the lock-tight dry for 30 minutes. Then I gased the marker up, my 98 custom and stock barrel and Nelson Sport paintballs . I started shooting at a 2x2 ft box at 125ft. I hit the box 10 for 10 doing slow shots. Then I did 2 round bursts and hit 8 for 10.... The chamber does get cold after about 10 minutes with co2 on my marker.


Please Rember Rate Review
Conclusion: This part really put the icing on the cake for my marker as far as accuracy goes. It was just amazing how it improved my accuracy. Being able to hit a 2x2 ft box at 125 ft is just sweet. I'm giving this prouduct 9.5 because nothing is perfect.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

paintballer2389 Saturday, July 12th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month9 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
Expansion chamber
Strengths: More consistant, accurate
Weaknesses: None
Review: This is a great upgrade for you 98, it is alot more consistant and accurate. Theres not much more to say, I havent found any weaknesses. Some people say they are hard to put on, but I got mine on in about 25 minutes. Pretty simple to put on as long as you dont get frustrated.
Conclusion: This is a really nice upgrade, helps keep gun more consistant!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, July 13th, 2003 at 4:21 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Black_Shadow Friday, May 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom Pro ACT
R/T
14" J&J Ceramic
VL eVLution II w Z-Board
GTA Inline X-Chamber
NCStar Red Dot Sight
Polished Internals
Pen Spring Mod
Trigger Stops
Dye Sticky Grip
20oz Co2 w On/Off
Strengths: Consistency
Increased Accuracy
Looks
Weaknesses: INSTALLATION x 10
Review: This product is absolutely amazing. i was having trouble getting my RT to work well and get long bursts off, and i was getting clouds of co2 vapour an ice chips out both my barrel and cocking slot on my 98cp. I when looking for a solution. since the local store could only get 2 xchambers for me, either the $70 ACI four stage (without Vert Adapter or gasline), or this kit for $65 which has everything you need with it. so i grabbed this one up, and took it home to install it.

Installation.
I knew from reviews i was going to need some force to install this thing, but holy moly, i never thought i would have to use that much force to get the old gasline off. i ended up having to get my friends dad to use his vice and a plumbers wrench to torque the old gasline off (stripping the nut on it in the process) good thing this kit comes with a new one. i also banged up the powertube pretty badly in the process and had to switch it out with my spare one (lucky i have a ACT 98 and it already has a RT powertube meaning my RT kit came with an extra one...whew!) but once i got that off it was a little easier. the vert adapter screwed in reasonably easily, a little bit of effort required to get it in the last couple twists and line it up. it fit in the gun well and didn't leak at all even through i didn't use any locktite or teflon tape. i then screwed the new gasline into the 90* fiting on my ASA (which i had to tighten due to a leak) and then into the chamber (which also leaked until i tighted it good) and then the chamber into the VA. the airline had to get a little twist put in it and i had to change the angle of the 90* fitting on the ASA with a wrench to make it all fit, but it worked out really well. looks good too.

Testing it out
Since i changed my powertube in the installation process i had to readjust my velocity, so i when down to my local field and grabbed a little bag of 100 paintballs to adjust my velocity before i went out to play in the bush with it. once i got it set at about 250 to 260 i took a burst of shots to see how the consistancy was, my lowest was 247fps and my highest was 258fps <<--- amazing on co2. should have no more chrono problems. the next thing i tried was holding my RT, before i could only get a burst of 5 or 6 shots before my gun would freeze up and stop shooting for a couple seconds, now i can hold the RT in bursts up to 50 rounds. heck i could walk a lap of the field shooting just holding the RT down. the ref at the field thought my gun was out on air it was cycling so fast and consistent. i also noticed the shots were all on target, no up and down fluctuation's like before, they all went to the same spot. i was hitting 10/10 at 6" circle at 80 feet with the setup above. i was so impressed.
Conclusion: if you have an RT, and run co2, GET IT. you can unload your entire hopper if you want to. also great if your looking for increased accuracy and don't want to deal with velocity drop off and spikes. i haven't tested it outside in the winter but i'm sure i have nothing to worry about. Do yourself a favor, get one of these as one of your first upgrades for your 98.
i love this thing!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Justin The Pyro Friday, September 19th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months8 of 22 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
other chambers
Strengths: makes it more efficient
Weaknesses: small
Review: i got this 6 months ago and no matter what anyone says, it does NOT save air. expansion chambers are there to give co2 more room to turn into gas to make your gun shoot more smoothly. that is all it does. i used this when it was cold outside and it didnt help much.....my gun was still shooting liquid. it makes a nice grip in the front.
Conclusion: its alright. everyone has heard these things they think expansion chambers do when all they really do is keep your volocity more consistent.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, October 25th, 2003 at 2:57 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

cheesemaster Saturday, November 8th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: tippmann 98C, responce trigger, flatline, 32 deg. night stick, double trigger, star fire venturi bolt, tippmann exp. chamber, aluminum pro seal, coil remote
Strengths: u get more shots out of c02
your gun is more consistant
comfortable
looks good
Weaknesses: pretty expencive for the kit ($45)
Review: this exp. chamber is so worth the money. you get more shots out of your co2, your gun is more consistant. when your gun is consistant it is more accurate. this is the best exp chamber for the 98C. it makes your gun look so cool. it pivuts so when u have a remote u can make the hose come out the front or the sides, you'll no what i mean if you get it.
Conclusion: if u own a 98C this is 1 of the best upgrades u can buy. it saves u money on co2 every game. buy it. buy it now.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media