paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / AKA Excalibur / AKA Excalibur / AKA Excalibur / AKA Excalibur

AKA Excalibur Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount AKA

Buy AKA Excalibur

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


AKA Excalibur
[ View Photos (5) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 54
Average Rating: 9.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $1275

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Can shoot 13 balls per second. Features: Tornado(tm)(Pat# 5791328) Valve Low Pressure, High Efficiency, Lightning(tm) Bolt(delrin) with Quick Release Pin, Javelin (tm) Barrel(cocker barrel threads), 45 Grip (double or single trigger), Ball Detent, Built-In Vertical Mount, Sidewinder Vertical Pressure Reg., Vertical Feed, Adjustable Trigger (3 points), Adjustable ROF, Bolt open time, Adjustable Low Pressure Pneumatics Reg., Circuit board accepts ball breech sensors, and Designed for Very Low Maintenance.
Product Availability 
The AKA Excalibur is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
SocraticB Saturday, March 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
WDP 2K3 Angel LCD LE (louder, less accurate, less reliable, faster)
Vapor B2K (louder, less reliable, less accurate, allegedly faster)
Kingman Spyder Shutter (no comparison in any category)
AKA Viking - lighter, slightly better efficiency, good shooting platform
WGP Karnivor with E2 - lighter, better efficiency, faster, more accurate
Various Mechanical Markers - only high-end mechanicals come close; mostly 'cockers
Evil Omen - louder, less reliable, equally consistent, less accurate
AGD Emag - louder, less reliable, faster
Marker Setup: 2003 AKA Excalibur w/ Humphrey 'noids, WAS, WAS eyes, stock trigger, stock Sidewinder reg, stock Tornado valve and stock Tornado bolt.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Clamping feed neck
Trigger (to your taste)
Strengths: Accurate shooting platform
Highly efficient
Highly consistent
Extremely reliable
Fast enough
Weaknesses: Not exceptionally fast
Not exceptionally sexy
Few upgrades
Review: I traded an aftermarket 2K3 Crusader Viking for my Excal, and have no regrets. The Excal is quieter and a better shooting platform due to less recoil. The Excal is very similar to its sister marker, the Viking, with a few significant differences. Because of this similarity, I will copy much of this review from my Viking review, noting differences where necessary.

I will address each strength/weakness in turn:

STRENGTHS:

1. Accurate shooting platform

This marker is very consistent with very little blowback, and with a good barrel/paint match, it is very easy to put your shots where you want them, and to do it repeatedly. It has less blowback than a Viking, and indeed has less than most any other marker except the old Shoebox Shockers. It is almost as easy to be accurate with this marker as my 'cocker and my Shoebox Shocker. Although not as fast as a Viking, I found that with a three-finger walk, it was easier to keep on target at high ROF than my Viking. This is more a factor of my skill with the markers than the markers themselves. This may vary by individual user.

2. Exceptionally efficient

AKA actually underreports the efficiency of the Excal; I believe they claim 1700 balls per 68/4500 fill; I get nearly 2k with the Javelin barrel on. That 's a case per fill, people! 'Nuff said.

3. Consistent

+/- 2 over the Chron; VERY consistent; more so than the Viking. See Accuracy, above. It comes with the Sidwinder reg, one of the most consistent regs on the market. The regs when new need breaking in, but there are few, if any, Excals left that have not had their regs broken in. There are a few markers that are about as consistent as an Excal, but none that are MORE consistent. This is another factor contributing to the Excal's status as one of the best shooting platforms in paintball.

4. Fast Enough

I don't have a good trigger finger, but with a three-finger walk, I can get the Excal ripping as fast as I can get my Viking to go, about 14bps. I don't believe you can get that kind of speed out of older Excals with Nelson boards or Mac 'noids. While the Viking is supposed to be able to go faster, I don't have the fingers to get it there - just like most recballers. Most recballers won't notice the speed difference between the two, even though the Viking can go faster in the hands of a pro.

With the eyes in, the marker never chops, even at the unlimited speed the WAS board offers. I had a Wicked switch installed, but that led to ungovernable bounce; it was impossible to stop without lowering the ROF to 4 or 5 bps. I put the stock switch back in and had no problems getting high speeds with no bounce. This problem was similar to one I had with my Viking. Others may find lighter switches to their taste, but I expect that bounce will be a problem for them.

I have, however, been able to get 17+ out of my E2'd Karni without bounce; I don't believe I can reach those speeds on the Excal. I also don't see that a couple extra BPS would do much for my game, tournament OR recball.

5. Quiet

The stock Javelin barrel is good, but has very little porting, making it louder than heavily ported barrels (i.e. Freak, Boomy). The Excal is very quiet with the Javelin on; but with a Freak on, it has a low, bass sound signature that is hard to zero in on in a woods setting. It is not as quiet as my Shoebox Shocker, but close. I like a quiet marker, so this is good in my book.

6. Very little maintenance needed

After a day of play, all you have to do is wipe it down, oil it up and put it away. They say this about Angels and some other markers, but I've found that not to be true. This marker? It's true. I have verified my experience with it by reviewing a LOT of posts from owners in various forums.

I will say that there is some initial maintenance; you have to go through about 10 cases before the LPR settles in, and then send it back to AKA to be reset. Normally, I like a marker I can tweak myself, but I kind of like AKA's approach - if I can't tweak it, I can't break it. It does show that AKA is committed to providing excellent customer service. Because nearly ALL of the Excals out there are used (AKA is no longer making them), this should already have been accomplished on any Excal you buy. There are a number of shops with an online presence that have AKA-qualified techs to work on AKA markers, as well.

7. Customer Service

AKA seems committed to customer service; I've never needed any work on this marker, so I am reporting the experiences of others,here. AKA has had a recent breakup of its owners, but there have been no reported problems with service that I've seen. Furthermore, the owner that left appears to have added to the service arena by creating his own shop. There are many AKA-certified techs out there, so service is likely to be increasingly easy to get now than ever. Furthermore, there is a mature, educated and hospitable AKA community out there, with its own forum on PBNation, that can provide significant help to those with problems or questions. Don't let the PBNation location fool you - these are good people with a great depth of experience. No 'leet' or 'agg' kiddiez on the AKA boards.

8. Documentation

The Excal comes with a great, detailed manual with thorough timing instructions, several exploded parts diagrams, troubleshooting analyses, and detailed maintenance schedules. Not the best on the market, but one of the best, and more than adequate for the owner's needs.

WEAKNESSES

1. Appearance

The stock Excal is somewhat bland; doesn't compete with Angels or tricked-out 'cockers. However, the after-market Excals have some beautiful millwork on them; check out the Immortal, Highlander and Featherlight. Mean-lookin' critters, if I do say so myself. If you can get your hands on a Stormtrooper Destructive Customs Excal, you can die happy - and leave it to me in your will, mmkay?

2. Speed

This is a weakness only for the pros; otherwise, it has more than enough speed for the rest of us. Comparing the Excal to cars, if pros use Formula 1 markers, the Excal is an Aston Martin DB7 - excellent workmaship and pedigree, and although it's not as fast as a Formula 1, it can go faster than any non-pro will go.

3. Few Upgrades

There isn't much you can do to an Excal; feed neck, switch, new board, trigger, SCM, Mitey Max, snatch grip. Therefore, they are hard to customize. Not a huge issue, but one that some players may consider. Factory and some aftermarket Excals come with Type II annodizing, which can be stripped for re-anodizing in the scheme of your choice. This allows you to get a stock Excal, strip it, mill it for a one-of-a-kind marker, and re-anno it.
Conclusion: Conclusion: There is no real down side to this marker. It's accurate, fast, efficient, quiet, consistent and low-maintenance, and backed by a great company. The ONLY possible down sides are that you have to send it back once to get the LPR reset, and that people who base their self-worth on how cool their marker looks won't get the stock Excals. This is a great marker if you play both woods and tourney; it's a quiet sniping marker with speed abilities in the woods, and it has low weight, great speed and consistency for tourney play. If you only want to have one or two markers, and play many types of paintball, the Excal is the best marker for you. One note; although the manual states that you can use CO2, I would avoid CO2 as it creates a higher risk of 'noid damage during use. As the Excal is highly efficient, there is no need for CO2.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 17th, 2005 at 7:28 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, December 4th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
3 months7 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spider, Autococker
Marker Setup: Excalibur, Die Boomstick 12", Dye Sticky Grips
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel, bore size kinda tiny. I myself like Dye Sticky Grips I think they are cool, maybe a new reg. . But you will not need any of these its a great gun.
Strengths: Everything. When i first was shown the gun i wasnt too impressed. Its dull shape didnt really stand out. But when i got this puppy gased up....wheeww.. its got an extremely light trigger pull and you litterally throw a wall of paint. Its got a pretty decent regulator. Its extremely durable. Ive only been to 1 tournament with it and its held up great. I havent had any problems with the gun accept that i left the battery running one time :(. That was my stupid fault. Its got the accuracy of the cocker and more speed. Also much less maintenance than the cocker. Overall a great gun
Weaknesses: Nothing really. It is really accurate. But, sometimes it lacks in distance, but this partially has to do with the barrel. Get a nice barrel like my Boomstick and you will be fine on accuracy. I'm planning on getting a new reg for it but its really not needed the reg is fine. People who have held the gun and other players have said that the gun is bulky and heavy. its really not. maybe it is a little heavier than normal guns but it is worth it!
Conclusion: Great gun. Nothin wrong with it. NOw go and buy it! (if you have the money$$$ hehehe)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, June 13th, 2001
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: As advertised:
efficiency, ROF, trigger, and generaly the TLC that went in to the design, construction, and finishing.

The Excalibur is bullet proof!
Weaknesses: I am at a loss for what is bad about it:

The stock grips have to go, the choice of including a .684 barrel wil confound some but those of us who use high grade paint will appreciate it.

It is expensive but so are a plethra of other high end electropneumatic tourney markers, and this one is practically hand built!
Conclusion: There is NO upgrade path for this marker, and none is neede as it includes some of the most sought after parts in the paintball industry as STANDARD.

I would like to see a ported bolt, while it would NOT be as air efficient I just like them!

Just add a good HPA/N2 system (I use the Mac Dev Conquest) and a barrel of your choice (cocker threads) and you will smoke EVERYTHING!

One suggestion, I think the Ricochet 2k is the loader to use, after testing it in the Excal I will no longer use a Revvie.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ghost271 Tuesday, July 31st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
03 Excal
Nexus DC2 Autococker
Marker Setup: Blk/Blu/Clr Fade 04 Streamline Excalibur
Clamping Feedneck
14" Ultralite Barrel and Freak Barrel Kit
68/4500 MacDev Conquest Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
A Good Barrel Kit
Blade trigger
25gr Trigger Switch
Pandora Board flashed with the rMod code
Strengths: Built like a tank
Quality Craftsmanship
Low Maintenance
Reliable
Weaknesses: Heavier than mostt.
Can't buy them new anymore.
Review: I'll try and make this as concise and to the point as I can (I gotta go to bed and get some sleep).

I sold my Gunmetal Streamline Excal (see the pics) back in Oct'06 and regretted it ever since. Why did I sell in the first place you may ask ? I needed rent money ...... such is life. Anyway, after looking for almost 18 months I found another one up for sale and had no hesitation getting my credit card out to make the purchase. So what makes a man yearn for a gun for so long ? The smile that cracks upon your face the moment you pull the trigger.

This gun, along with my Nexus DC2, puts a smile on my face everytime I shoot them. So here is the break down.

Quality-

AKA markers are built with the tightest of tolerances out of any company producing paintball markers today. Unfortunately with the SP lawsuits, AKA refused to give in to their bullying demands and were forced to stop producing both the Viking and Excalibur markers. The guns are heavy (unless you buy one milled) but are built tough and can survive anything you can throw at them. The annodizing is military grade Type3 and it shows with a smooth flat finish.

Speed-

Although they are not as fast as todays electros, the Excals have no problems running in the 15-21 bps range. Don't qoute me on the numbers as the Humphry and Mac noids produce differant results. In any regard, it is fast enough for todays games where the ramping is capped at 15 bps anyway. I would however highly recommend adding the Pandora board to the gun and flashing it with the rMod. I have it in my Viking and its god awefully-insanely fast !

Maintanence-

Simply the easiest gun for taking care of. Put a drop of oil in the ASA, cycle about 30 shots with the barrel off, and away you go. Done.

Accuracy-

Now I know we hear the debate, and I don't want people PM'ng me about the physics involved etc etc, but I'm going to state what I SEE with MY VISUAL PERCEPTION.
First off with it being a closed bolt gun, you need a tight paint to barrel match. You will notice a fluctuaion with chrono readings moreso than with an open bolt marker because of the variances in bore matching. That being said, I have to say that the trajectory seems to be very similar to a cocker, but not as flat as a Matrix. Distance wise, its close to both the trix and cocker. I was nailing tacks with the gun all day last weekend. It was fantastic !

Feeling-

I personally prefer the feeling of a spool valve marker shooting. It feels very 'soft' without the hammer and ram slamming against the valve. However I do have to say that the Excal feels and shoots smoother than any other ram driven marker out there. You will hear AKA'rs taking about the smoothness, and it is very noticable when you fire the gun. I have to say that it just a tad bit smoother than my DC2 (and that thing is like butter !!!)
For recball I really like taking out my differant guns and it's hard to choose.If I want the best overall setup in my collection, I take my Quest. If I want that giddy feeling and the feelling that I have a 'weapon' in my hand, I'll take out the Excal, Nexus, or Viking.
Conclusion: If you are in love with closed bolt markers but don't want the 'hassles' of the autocker, then I would highly recommend the AKA Excalibur. It will shoot smoother than the best cocker ever produced (the Nexus DC2 IMHO) and will last you years over the competition.
I am still partial to the Quest because of ....well everything (check my review), but there's a reason why , out of the 12 guns in my collection, that the Excal gets to see the feild more often than the others.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

hellion360 Sunday, August 14th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Viking
E-cockers/ merlins
Marker Setup: viking
excal
blazer
sniper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Fast hopper
Clamping Feedneck
Tadao Board
Strengths: Accurate
Well Balanced
Finely Crafted
Low Kick
Easy to maintain
!Superb Quality!
Weaknesses: Heavy-Same as gen-e matrix
Expensive
2 solenoids= bad on batteries
Review: I have not owned this gun for long but I am very impressed.
I bought a used excalibur and couldn't be happier. I have used this marker full time and lent it out for heavy use. It has shot approximately 8000 balls without a break.

Although the gun is heavy it is very well balanced and not at all difficult to hold and use.
Although the maximum rate of fire is less than other guns I have never shot faster. All those who have used it agree it is very easy to maintain a high rate of fire with this gun.
It may be expensive but it's quality is amazing. The bolt has o-rings but doesn't really need them as the bolt fits the breach perfectly.

I bought this gun without having tried an excalibur and I am glad I took the risk. I had used other aka guns and been impressed but I believe this is my favorite marker of all markers. I am a habitual trader/seller but this gun makes me want to stop trading.

2010 update: Sold all my excals gun, using Vikings and CCM pumps these days. Still like Excals a lot. Everything I said before holds true.
Conclusion: Aka had a great product in the excalibur. It is expensive but compared to other guns in the price range it is far superior. I have taken the excalibur over, aliases, dm5's, karnivor's, freestyles, mq'ed orracles, and all others.

I have never been more impressed with a gun and as long as you are strong enough to handle a gun I recommend the excalibur.

The quality of this gun is outstanding and I wish they were still in production today. I feel like this gun will be working years from now just as well as it does today.

It does not feel like a toy, it feels like a weapon. Solid. It comes with a lifetime warranty for a good reason.

Edit: I have long since sold the excal I reviewed here. But now own two more of them. They are still excellent although I use a viking for tournament play. The only reason for this is that I don't like matching paint on a tournament morning, only to have to rematch it as the day warms up. Excaliburs still feel like a solid weapon to me, and they are great fun to play with.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, September 22nd, 2010 at 7:50 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

ifju206 Tuesday, November 27th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel LCD, Bushmaster
Marker Setup: VL 12volt Revolution, Centerflag 4500 psi 68 cu. inch on gun setup with KAPP drop forward, 14" Smartparts Teardrop, 14" DYE Boomstick
Recommended
Upgrades:
The stock barrel is decent, but I prefer Smartparts and DYE
Strengths: Great adjustable trigger, shoots very smooooth and fast, very little recoil, looks great with factory hard anodizing, this gun is also as light as Angel LCD, I like the bolt push pin is at an angle from top of the gun (unlike the Bushmasters)
Weaknesses: The $1300 price tag......but AKA makes everypart of this gun worth it
Conclusion: I think for someone like myself, who played for 7+ years, I shot countless Autocockers, Angels, Mags, and ect.... this has to be one of the better if not the best one yet......I am not out to bash other markers or manufactures, I am just saying that maybe you should try this marker out before you make your decision
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Wizardry Sunday, May 13th, 2001
 
3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: Very consistent. I chronoed at 281, 281, 281, 282. Very quiet when you fire it so the opponent has trouble figuring out where the balls are coming from. Low pressure so it is very efficient, operates at 150-180 psi. Rarely breaks a ball, generally will stop on one before breaking it. I haven't broken a ball in the last 2.5 cases of paint. Prior to that I broke a few but I believe I was out shooting my hopper. Very very accurate even at high rates of fire. Well balanced and not too heavy. Closed bolt. No upgrades needed except for the high rise. I understand you now can order one with the high riser on it. Excellent customer service, if needed. Cocker threads. Semi automatic board only which means it will not have to have a replacement board to be NPPL legal. The ROF can be changed via a computer link from 10.5 to 13 bps. Excellent double trigger, no slop, and easy to adjust with set screws. No need to use the expensive regulated air tanks with it, works fine with a preset tank. The battery is easy to get to and it uses a standard 9v with the hard coated connectors (some markers use the flimsy flexible connectors to the 9v that will break).
Weaknesses: Limited colors and milling styles.
Pricey but you do get what you pay for.
Had to modify my Dye stickies to get them to fit.
No battery light.
Does not come with a tool kit. That is extra.
Conclusion: Excellent marker for the player who needs to out shoot the other high end markers (angels, autocockers, etc.) in a tourney. It is pricey but you have to decide if it is worth the incremental value for consistency, low pressure, accuracy, less broken balls, and workmanship.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, November 22nd, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have used LCD Angels, LED Angels, Shockers, and almost every other electric gun on the market. Hands down, the Excalibur tops all of them. It shoots just as fast as you can pull the trigger. I will take a Excalibur over any free gun.
Marker Setup: Currently, I don't own an Excalibur. I do however act as the Excalibur airsmith for my team's 11 Excaliburs. THere are no upgrades need for the Excal other than a good barrel. The Javelin is OK, but I prefer a Boomstick.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Again, no upgrades are needed other than a barrel. I do recommend a GOOD hopper. The Ricochet, HALO or other good loader is a must.
Strengths: Everything is good. For those of you that prefer Cockers - this gun is a dream. All the action of a cocker in a electric gun. It even has a little bit of backblock like slap. Cool.
Weaknesses: In early Excals, there were problems with the solenoids and the reg cores. All of these problems have been addressed and fixed.
Conclusion: I will recommend this gun to any paintball player that can afford it. Yes, it is a little expensive, but it is well worth it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ozzy/omen Tuesday, September 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Viking, 03 shocker, Evil OMEN
Marker Setup: 2K4 Black Alien Species
70/4500 crossfire
AKA 2 liter reg and soda can mod
Evil pipe
egg2 w/z board
RMR Ramrod
Recommended
Upgrades:
The new 2 liter reg
Strengths: Fast, accurate, feels great tucked in, quiet
Weaknesses: A little heavey but thats ok
Review: I got to use this gun at DDay 2004 in Oklahoma. One of my teammate's gun was dead so the awesome people at AKA let us borrow a Excalibur for the week. I was only able to play with it twice but it was awesome! It is really easy to take out the bolt for cleaning. The gun was dead on accurate and boy is it quiet. You would have thought we had a silencer on it. This gun shows how good AKA's products and owners are.
Conclusion: Using this gun was awesome! I loved it so much I would buy it but my teammate won't let me. We have a thing on how each person has their unique gun. But oh well i'll just use his.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bananaboy Monday, September 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Vikings, timmys, impys others
Marker Setup: Green acid wash Excal-CP Barrel-Was Board-Turmoil Eyes-JMJ Eye covers-JMJ Razor Blade Trigger-Dye Stickes
Recommended
Upgrades:
Clamp feedneck, Pandora board, eyes
Strengths: Fast effiecnt just over all the best
Weaknesses: Nothing really besides weight but if its to heavy work out
Review: ok where do i start. this gun is amazing. Fast, Efficent, fast, sexy accurate very easy to maintain very reliable, just real quality. the gun could ne lighter but its not a problem. if u really want it to be lighter but a featherlight excal from www.jmjconcepts.com or a DC one from destructive customs. umm i get a lot of comments from my friends who use guns such as dm4s or shockers or angels. nest gun out there for the money
Conclusion: All in all best gun ive ever shot. only reason id sell is to get a viking or another excal go buy this gun its worth the money
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media