paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dye Lock Lid Pod / Dye Lock Lid Pod / Dye Lock Lid Pod / Dye Lock Lid Pod

Dye Lock Lid Pod Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dye

Buy Dye Lock Lid Pod

Paintball Pods / Tubes

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dye Lock Lid Pod
[ View Photos (8) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 165
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $4

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The patent pending DYE Lock Lid Pod is a first step in pod technology and a must for any serious player. The 140 round LLP is easily opened with a slide of a finger, but guaranteed to stay closed during rigorous play. Paint is not cheap--no more accidental openings and spilling.
Clear, neon green, blue, smoke.
Product Availability 
The Dye Lock Lid Pod is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (17):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
phrenologyfiend Monday, April 9th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months51 of 51 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Many other generic pods
Marker Setup: -Proto Matrix 6 (Olive)
-14" St!ffi Switch Barrel Kit
-Critical Raze Trigger
-Lucky Un1tech Board with Spitfire software chip
-Halo B
-Pure Energy 68ci/4500psi tank
Strengths: Functionality
Ease of use
Capacity
Weaknesses: Size
Cost
Review: These are without a doubt the best pods I've ever used. We've all been there. You're in a firefight behind a bunker and you reach for a full pod only to notice that the lid came off when you were crawling or sliding. While these don't prevent the lids from opening under all possible circumstances, they do a much finer job than anything else I've tried, and they do it without having to buy another attachment (i.e. JT Speed Coller/Speed Pods).

Strengths

Functionality: GASP! They actually do what they advertise?! As stated above, while there is no practical way to guarantee that a pod will not open at an undesired time, this is the best way to prevent it I've seen while still maintaining ease of use. In the time I've been using these pods, I've only had them open accidentally twice, and it took me hitting the open button in just the right way.

Ease of use: These are so easy to use one-handed. You just hit the open button and the spring-loaded lid does the rest.

Capacity: They hold 160 rounds. Better than the 100 round holders we used when I started playing. To quote a wise man, "'Nuff Said!"

Weaknesses

Size: While these are not noticeably longer than other 160 round pods on the market, they are wider. This is due to the dimpling on the pods, presumably to add either strength or extra grip. It does add grip, but it also makes fitting some pod belts or vests a problem. These pods are almost as wide as Q-Loader pods.
Some people have also complained that the dimpling warps their paint shape while the paint is sitting in the pod. I haven't noticed this, but it's something to watch out for.

Cost: These pods are a bit pricey. The cynical side of me would like to say it's because they have a Dye logo on them, but realistically it's probably due to the obviously more complicated manufacturing process. That being said, they're still worth it at between four to six dollars a piece. This is still a cheaper option for more secure lids than some of the previous solutions (i.e. Q-Loader) and without needing to buy extra parts (again, JT Speed Coller/Speed Pods).
Conclusion: Absolutely buy them! Regardless of the size and cost, they are the best, most secure pods I've used. It's nice to know when you throw someone a pod, that it's less likely to open in midair and that it's universally compatible because it needs no special housing or attachments.

So, final rating . . . on a scale of 1 to 10, with 5 being the average, I'm going to give these pods a good, solid 9. There's some room for improvement, but they work as advertised and are still an amazing product.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

climberex Wednesday, November 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month27 of 30 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
indian springs, java pods
Marker Setup: worr games autococker with race gun electronic trigger frame and system x ram, palmers micro rock front reg and system x reg
Strengths: it will not open unless you push down the button
Weaknesses: it takes a while to get get the hang of opening them
Review: i just love these pods they will not open unless you use the button. i have hit them on tables kicked them and every thing else you can think to do to get them to pop open. i have even gone to the point of breaking every paintball in it while hitting it on a table but it still would not break open until i pushed down the button.
Conclusion: they are the best pods ever made and i think that dye had a every good idea in making them
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
14 Comments - Add Comment

captain tippman Thursday, February 10th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested18 of 38 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
VL 100 rd- holds 50/60 rounds less
Marker Setup: 1999 eclipse nexus autococker
e-blade frame
empire 10 pc. barrel kit
crossfire 68 ci 4500 psi tank
check it unimount
steel braided bottomline with quick disconect (quick disconect on a steel hose OMG)
samurai e-blade trigger
viewloader revoulution w/ xboard (egg2 w/ z board soon)
black magic vertical reg
palmers lpr


Strengths: Great design, faster opening, WILL NEVER OPEN DURING A GAME, great for loops
Weaknesses: Too large for ejection styled harnesses, bumps make replacing difficult, lots of poorly made duds
Review: ~~THE GOOD~~
These pods are great when they are properly made! Press the button and the lid goes up. I bought these pods because I hated trying to open pods and then drop them cus I pushed to hard. The ones that aren't duds really open fast and my bro can pull them out of his harness and flick them open in about .5 seconds. They also hold a little more paint but thats a bad thing too (read on).

~~THE BAD~~
First off, there are a lot of bad pods made. The opening mechanism is not well made on most of these pods and out of 10 I got, I got 3 less than perfect pods.Next on the list, these pods WILL NOT FIT INTO EJECTION AND COVERED STYLE HARNESSES. I have an Extreme Rage Bullet paq and these pods are really a PITA to pull out and the ejection system has been rendered completeley useless. These pods will not fit into Mantis pro packs, Nxe packs, Extreme rage, Empire, Reds or any other similar packs well at all.

These pods are really very good though on the outer loops since they won't open on you and the elastic loops dont have a max size.

I give it a 6 because these pods will not fit the majority of quality harnesses, and the number of all the duds made. It does deserve at least 6 points though because the well made ones really are very good, just make sure they fit your pack first.

Conclusion: I would recomend this pod to ALL PLAYERS WITH UNCOVERED HARNESSES willing to buy a few more pods than neccesary to insure the right amount of pods. If you do have a covered harness buy these for the extra loops and get fatboys for the main pots.
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Friday, February 25th, 2005 at 8:55 am PST
I found this review  
39 Comments - Add Comment

AngryGumba11 Tuesday, June 8th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months11 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Used several Different Pods...
Marker Setup: 2004 WGP VF NightKast Autococker (Blood Red)
Halo B W/ Rip Drive (Black)
WGP Torpedo Drop Forward W/ On/Off (Black)
Pure Energy 68Ci 4500PSI W/ Dye Rhino Cover (Red)
Strengths: No Spills and Durable Pods!
Weaknesses: None that I have Found.
Review: These pods Rock! The Plastic they are made out of is very strong. And they Do not Open even during the most severe beatings. I'm very impressed. And the Cost is simply Amazing! Cheaper than Most Pods that Bust open and spill all your paint. They are even faster to opent han the JT Speed Pods.
Conclusion: Buy these Pods! They cost less than Most Normal Pods And they Are faster and better sealing that even the JT Speed Pods!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
15 Comments - Add Comment

splatmaster man Monday, December 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: 06 alien interceptor
Vlosity jr
45 4500 hp crossfire tank
stiffi
Strengths: Hold 165 rounds. hand counted
fills my vlocity jr perfect
Weaknesses: Some of them dont open without an assist. no biggie
Review: Got the pods in smoke cause it kind of hides the brightness of the paint without blocking the view. Bumps are very nice design It helps the paint sit better. Hand counted 165 paintballs cause my friend said they only hold 140 rounds. Bet me 5 bucks. I won.I love these pods and would not trade them for any other pod so i guess that makes the the best at least in my eyes.
Conclusion: Buy these if you have a harness that will hold 160 rd pods you will not regret it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rooster1 Monday, November 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
32 Degrees 140 rd pods, assorted other 140 Rd pods
Marker Setup: '95 Automag, bone stock, '03 Autococker, bone stock, Tippmann Custom '98
Strengths: Pod Lids stay closed
Large 160 round capacity
knurled sides are easy to grab
Weaknesses: None thus far
Review: I play many scenario games that last 8-10 hours at a time. I play hard, crawl, run, dive, trip at times...

I have now found a pod where the lid actually stays closed if I hit the ground or brush up against a tree or rock.

These have a 160 round capacity so I can carry more ammo on the field.

There are knobs all over the pods that make them easy to grab and use when playing.

These fit perfectly in my Cops911 tac vest.

These are very well made with strong thick plastic. I really like the green colored ones.
Conclusion: These pods are strong, the lids stay closed, hold 160 rounds, easy to use, and I highly recommend them for woods and scenario play. These are my favorite pods to date.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

HATEFULL Tuesday, February 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT SPEED PODS
FAT BOYS
VIEW LOADER
PMI
Marker Setup: Angel 05 Speed 45
pure energy 45/4500 lp
cp regulator
ccm feedneck
empire reloader b
Freak barrel kit and an Evil pipe kit

GZ Intimidator with vapor works board
crossfire 45/ 4500
Freak kit and Evil pipe kit
Halo loader

Shocker 04 w/ vision
Cp reg.
pure energy 45/4500
Freak kit

Orracle 03 Cocker
45/4500 crossfire
Empire B
Freak kit and Evil pipe kit

Evil omen 1.5
with warpfeed and 12v revy
68/3000 pure energy

Spyder xtra
with a black magic reg
crossfire 68/3000 tank
12v revy

Strengths: Easy to hold on to.
Extra 20 balls per pod.
Nice desgin
Innovative
Weaknesses: If they dont latch properly YOU WILL SPILL some paint.
Make sure you check them!
Review: I like the design and the cap. to carry a little extra paint per pod.

I have made the mistake of not securing lids before jogging onto the field and dumping three of the six pods that I carry before a game. (Not the best way to start a game and what a waste of tourney priced paint.)

Once you get into 'the ritual' of checking lids before taking the field; they are a great asset.

My sons complain about 'finding the button'.
Best thing I can suggest is practice with them.
My teammates and I mucked about with the pods the first day we got them.
I like them a lot better than I did the first day we got them.

Conclusion: Take the time to get use to lock lid system.
Make sure your lids a properly seated (you don't want to waste paint spilling it)
'Find the button', you will, just practice.
Of all the pods I have used I would have to rank these the best to date.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

mrgold Wednesday, June 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Various crappy pods, Standard pods, WDP Fat Boys
Marker Setup: Angel IR3 (Freak Barrel, MacDev Gladiator, SS hammer, Cobra Flat trigger, Cobra snatch grip, CP Quick Disconnect Feed Neck, CP Pro Rail)
Angel Force 4 Fly (Titanium Longbow, CP Pro Rail, MacDev 03 Conquest)
Strengths: Easy to open and stays locked when you want it to
Durable
Weaknesses: None
Review: This is the best pod I have ever used. Easy to open with the slider switch and stays closed when you need it. No more accidental spills running or sliding into a bunker. I have dropped it, thrown it down-field to my teammates during a game, and ran with it halfway hanging off my pack and it didn't pop open. Durable, well made, and holds more balls than your standard 140 round pods.
Conclusion: Highly recommended and well worth the extra cost.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ashengod Thursday, April 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
ummm... normal pods
Marker Setup: Dye DM 4 clear/cobalt fade
Strengths: they dont open unless you want them too, holds 160 rounds, grips on the pod
Weaknesses: none ive seen so far, dont fit in all packs
Review: my local shop in MA got these in today. they are great. definetly not somehting that a rec player has to have, or any one for that matter, regular pods work fine. how ever these pods are a nice addition, first off they hold 160 rounds which means if you carry 4 pods onto a field you get about an extra 80 rounds, which is a nice addition. second, obviously they dont open unless you click the button, which does take some effort but you get used to it i guess. and 3rd, the pod has bumps on it do give you a better grip when you grab them. on the other hand they are slightly larger then normal pods, i tried these in my Dye 03 attack pack and they are pretty hard to put in, id suggest trying them on your pack first if you can
Conclusion: over all they are definetly not something that you HAVE to have but are definetly nice to have around, if you have some extra cash laying around to invest in pods then i suggest grabbing these, just be sure they fit your pack first
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 15th, 2004 at 10:17 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

PB97 Wednesday, February 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
syn pods
and some basic pods from vrious companys
Marker Setup: 03 Orracle (Blue, Black Fade)
Halo B w/ Rip drive (Blue)
Cross fire 68/30k w/ Dye Rhino cover (Blue)
Hybrid Theory Stage 2 inline reg (Black)
System X Drop w/ on/off (Blue)
Planet Eclipse Nexus upgrade (Black)
Phat Barrel Kit
System X Beaver Tail (Blue)
Hybrid Theory Eye cover (Blue)
Wgp Karnivor Pump rod (Blue)
Kapp Cocking Rod (Black)
Strengths: Very durable
Looks Cool
High capacity
lid locks
grip
Weaknesses: need some break in time
Price
may not fit in all packs
Review: Dye lock lids pods are some of the strongest most durable pods i have ever used. The locking mechinism is sticky at first but after a day of play they should be fine. and thought some people say they can find the button all i could say is pratice. I have seen many pods that crack when hit point blank and have never had this problem with dye pods. They have a large 160 capacity which can fill a halo and pulse easyly. The price point is a bit high but you can buy them in a 6 pack for a reduced price.
Conclusion: This is a a high quality product that could only come from dye. thought the price point is high they will save you from droping a pod of expensive paint
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (17):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media