paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Model 98 / 98 Custom Collapsible Stock / Tippmann Model 98 / 98 Custom Collapsible Stock / Tippmann Model 98 / 98 Custom Collapsible Stock / Tippmann Model 98 / 98 Custom Collapsible Stock

Tippmann Model 98 / 98 Custom Collapsible Stock Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Model 98 / 98 Custom Collapsible Stock

Paintball Stocks

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Model 98 / 98 Custom Collapsible Stock
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 23
Average Rating: 8.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Pro-Team Products three position stock mounts to your marker by replacing the existing end cap. The stock adds a unique look and excellent support for a sniper. Kit includes; Three position collapsible stock for Model 98/98 Custom. This stock will only fit on a 98 Custom, or a Model 98.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Model 98 / 98 Custom Collapsible Stock is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
brihard Sunday, December 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months30 of 31 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Numerous actual firearms
Tank buttplates
Naked tanks
Marker Setup: Tippmann M98C
Flatline barrel system
Carbine stock
Remote coil lne
Red dot sight
Strengths: Stabilizes your aim significantly
Versatile
Retractible- Can be tucked away for movement
Sturdy
Visually appealing
Weaknesses: Can be difficult to tighten sufficiently
Difficult to use sights
Review: First off, I'll mention that I'm already biased towards the use of a stock on a weapon. I'm an infantryman in the military, so every firearm I've used has had one. Though I've not used weapons with retracting stocks, the principles remain the same. Also, keep in mind that I'm thoroughly a woodsballer.

-PROS-

The key to the entire stock issue is that it will stabilize your aim significantly. If you keep it in your shoulder while playing AND while moving, you'll find yourself increasingly able to raise the marker for accurate snap shooting. It tightens up your groups when shooting at longer range, and makes adjustment of your shots a lot more predictable if you miss.

The stock is very versatile. Because it has multiple locked positions, you'll quickly find a stock-extended setting that is comfortable for you to use. The general rule of thumb for finding a good stock, is hold the pistol grip, and fit the stock snugly in the crook of your elbow- That tends to help you instinctively find a comfortable length for when you've opened the stock to settle down and start picking your shots.

conversely, when you're moving, it takes only an instant to close it up to the shortest length and bring it into your shoulder like a true carbine. This is useful for moving through tighter areas, and for close quarters fighting. It also brings the center of gravity closer your your body, making it a bit more controllable while you're on the move, or simply in a hurry. Using the sights with the stock closed can bea bit more difficulty however, as your eyes work best when a certain distance from the sights. Nonetheless, it's still better than nothing.

Also importantly, the stock is built solid. The bar is aluminum, and the stock is high impact plastic. The plastic lever to unlock the stock for movement (Spring loaded, by the way- you just clench it to adjust and let go to lock it) is also solid. I've not had any parts break with this piece of kit, and I give it hard use. It's built to last.

Finally, and not to be neglected, is it just looks damn good with a proper marker setup. The intimidation value from using this kind of gear isn't to be discounted- I've had people retreated from engagements in which they had tactical superiority just because they recognized that they were up against me, and they knew I had good gear. IT's saved me a few hits that I might otherwise have taken, and turned a few games around. There's also a bit of pride in using a good looking marker.


-CONS-

I found one small problem when I installed it, and that was the locking ring that holds it in place. Tightening it was a royal pain in the ass. There's no grooves or notches to accommodate a wrench or anything. Your best bet is to get one of those rubber strap thingies that you use to open really right jars. Failing that, wear rubber gloves and just wrench on it. Otherwise the stock tends to rotate a bit- but not significantly.

The other problem is for those who have sights mounted on their marker. With the stock on and in use, your eyes will be about and inch and a half above where you can comfortably use sights. This is mitigated on my marker by the flatline barrel shroud, which adds an inch of height, but for any other setup you'll need some kind of raised sight rail, such as the M16 sight rail, or whatnot. Something like a red-dot sight will usually add half an inch to an inch of height to your sight profile as well. Experiment when adding sights to see what works. Lapco has some raised sight gear that works with the 98, and other third parties have tons of different parts as well.
Conclusion: I strongly recommend this product for those of you who enjoy milsim or woodsball. Even if you're a speedballer, it can be beneficial, though I won't try to pass myself off as a speedball expert.

It might take a bit of time to get familiar and comfortable with a stock, but generally it's fairly instinctive, and you'll appreciate the payoff. The price can be a bit much, but worth it. Give the product some consideration.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Layman Tuesday, August 19th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months7 of 24 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
9 oz Butt Plate
Marker Setup: 98 Custom, DOP double trigger, no-name drop forward, flatline barrel, 12v TurboRev from W.A.S.
Strengths: Great look, intimidates people when they see the flatline/CAR stock set-up
Weaknesses: plastic, rattles, doesn't help much for sighting
Review: This set-up looks GREAT, but if you sight down your barrel the way that I did, it hinders more than helps. In order to get a good view down the barrel you need to put it way up on your shoulder, like a rocket launcher looks when fired. Great for close quarters play but bad for all else I did. Putting a scope on the 98 doesn't do much do to help, with the hopper being in the view, so...
Conclusion: Don't waste the money on something that you will sell a few months later; like I did. Get a butt plate. It will increase your "aimability". Great for looking nice, bad for use.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

spyder-owns Tuesday, May 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 years5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None really. Tippmanns are very different from other products.
Marker Setup: Tippman custom 98. On it I have a Shoulder stock, a j@j ceramic barrel, a double trigger, a sensitive trigger and an agitator.
Strengths: It steadies your shot....very....very...much.
Weaknesses: It's very long.
Review: I love the stock. Not only does it looks cool, but it steadies your aim. I have a flatline barrel. A flatline barrel and a stock are pretty killer at long range. I can take people out from many yards away. In speadball tournaments, I just shorten the stock and its like it's not there. It also impresses the laides...trust me :-). If you are a camper or a sniper, the stock is a must. If you also play speadball, and dont like the shortened stock, you can just take the thing off. It takes me about 2 mins to take it out and reasemble it.
Conclusion: Buy this! It looks nice and kicks ***.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

n00nsp3cial Thursday, January 1st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: Tippmann model 98 custom
X chamber
12 in J&J Ceramic
Double trigger
Collapsible Stock
Strengths: 4 different positions
makes a steady shot
easy to adjust
easy to install
Weaknesses: co2 can get in the way
rattles around
Review: I have only played a few games with this on, I feel that it makes my shots fire in the same place becuase I am holding it steadier. It is really easy to hold if you have a remote, it is a bit harder and a little useless if you have a 20 oz tank.
Conclusion: Try it before you buy it is really personal preference, some like it, and others do not.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

NST Delta Sunday, October 24th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
armotech wg-65, Colt M4
Marker Setup: Armotech WG-65: tippmann 98 custom elite sniper: tippmann 98 custom, RT, Flatline, JCS combat folding stock, double trigger: Dragunfly Autococker
Strengths: Collapsible, looks good, adds stability
Weaknesses: Difficult to aim with mask on
Review: It looks great on your gun and adds stability when moving and shooting. The only problem that i have is its hard to aim when you have a mask on. Its durable, ive smashed it into the ground a few times going into a prone position and havent had a problem with it. its really easy to install on the gun, its just like replacing the end cap. another small problem i have is tightening the ring to keep it from moving when its on the gun.
Conclusion: Great add on for a tippmann 98, a little expensive but its still a good add on.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Nick81286 Thursday, December 4th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippmann Pro Carbine with old school J&J barrel, with BSA red dot (not really useful, looks kick ass).
Strengths: Steady shot
Weaknesses: Hard to aim down the barrel
Review: First off, this stock looks cool as hell. Yea it is true that you cant aim down the barrel, but I have a powerfeed and a rt so i dont aim down the barrel much anyway so that isnt a problem for me. If you want to look cool yea its alright, and if you got the cash, it helped me steady my shot I guess.
Conclusion: Yea this really looks cool, but I got my whole tippmann set up for free because of a friend who needed a loan so personally I wouldnt pay this much for just a stock. He bought it and ended up not using it because he couldnt aim down the barrel but he had a power feed so I dont know. Get it if ur rich or daddys wittle boy. I dont care its cool.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, December 4th, 2003 at 4:27 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

teamnelsonsnipa Thursday, May 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
gas-thru stock and butt plate.........neither hold a candle to the collapsible stock
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom, flatline barrel, collapsible car stock, coiled remote, nitro
Strengths: steadies your shot tremendously. looks AWESOME
Weaknesses: not great for speedball
Review: i dont know what these other guys had problems with but im a very experience paintball player and this stock is one of the best on the market. i started my paintball career with an angel then got sponsered and the guys from nelson gave us tippmanns. i love the 98 custom because of all the options you have with it. One of the best upgrades you can get is the stock.
Conclusion: great for rec play. if ur a sniper get it!!!!!! reasonable price. steadies shot. looks awesome
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ginsu Friday, August 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Folding stock
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom 98
BT-16 Barrel
Collapsible Stock
Adjustible Sight Rail
Strengths: Looks like an authentic M-14 stock
Shorter than most stocks
Weaknesses: Plastic
Somewhat heavy and will weigh you down some
Review: This stock is alright, it's somewhat shorter than the other stocks that fit on a custom 98. It's made from what appears to be a high grade of plastic, but plastic is still plastic. The holding ring will loosen after a few rounds so you might be tightening it every now and then.
Conclusion: Looks killer with the BT-16 barrel and the Adjustable sight rail combo. I would suggest others to try out the Folding stock.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

tippysniper98 Wednesday, February 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom wtih: Flatline Barrel
Remote Line
Collapsible Stock
Strengths: Helps you aim/ keep your gun stable when aiming.
Weaknesses: Rattles a bit
Review: Helps me alot since I'm sniper and it looks really cool. Its a great product and nothing has gone wrong with it . The screw came lose on mine so part of it fell off, but it wasn't a big deal so I just retightened it. That was the only problem that I had
Conclusion: If you want a stock and you've got the money its really worth.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, February 18th, 2004 at 8:54 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

fligge87 Monday, January 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
20 oz butt plate The stock blows the butt plate right out of the water.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom with: 14 inch twister barrel, CAR Stock, remote; soon to come: nitro and palmer stabalizer
Strengths: Steadies your shot...alot!
Weaknesses: none
Review: You will definitely see an improvement in your shooting with the stock. You can keep it collapsed when you’re moving and extend it when you’re shooting. It is very versatile. It never gets in your way. It is very durable. (Forget what people say about it being plastic, it'll hold up to everything short of beating it on a rock.) It's real easy to install. This is just a great upgrade.
Conclusion: This is a great accessory for your gun. It really helps your accuracy. Go out and buy it...RIGHT NOW!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media