paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Palmers Pursuit Shop Houndstooth / Palmers Pursuit Shop Houndstooth / Palmers Pursuit Shop Houndstooth / Palmers Pursuit Shop Houndstooth

Palmers Pursuit Shop Houndstooth Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Palmers Pursuit Shop

Buy Palmers Pursuit Shop Houndstooth

Paintball Pump / Stock-Class Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Palmers Pursuit Shop Houndstooth
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 9
Average Rating: 9.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $350

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features: Auto Trigger, Adjustable Velocity, Matte Nickel Plating, Maximum Performance Valve, and Easy Field Stripping.
Product Availability 
The Palmers Pursuit Shop Houndstooth is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Unregistered User Sunday, October 15th, 2000
 
9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: To me as a pump player, there are several different things that are very important to what makes a good pump gun. This things include, the pump stroke, efficency, accuracy, reliability and even the feel of the trigger, not to mension the over all feel of the gun (balanced, comfortable to hold ect. ect.). If I dont forget any, I'll be addressing each of those with this gun.

First of all, the pump stroke is amazing, especially for a pump gun with a sheridan valve system (more on this later). It's almost as smooth as any nelson valved gun which just amazes me. Palmers has done an amazing job with this. The smooth pump stroke makes it each to auto trigger and doesn't move the gun around much when you're pumping it. Another nice thing to do with the pump stroke is how easy it is to feild strip. All you do is pull a little knob on the bolt that pulls out the pin holding the pump arm in place and rotate the bolt 90 degrees and pull it out. There you go, easy access to a squeegee.

Now, for efficency. When I tested my friends gun with 12 grams, i got 47 usable shots off that single 12 gram! It's the combination of Palmers special valving and barrel honing that enables this gun to be so amazingly efficent. I have yet to test my own gun with a 12 gram changer, though with the spiral ported barrel I'm guessing it would be a bit worse. Palmers also beleives that efficency usually increases accuracy, which brings me to my next point.

The accuracy of this gun is astonishing. I have no accurate means to measure groupings (in other words no way to hold the gun perfectly steady) but i was hitting people with one shot all the way across the speedball feild. Few guns that cost this much can rival the Houndstooths accuracy. I'm attributing this to Palmers match honed barrel and like i said, very efficent valving. You might be wondering what a match honed barrel is. Basically, the guy's down at palmers shot some paint through the barrel, then hone it, shoot some more paint, then hone it, all to get the best possible accuracy.

Reliability.. I don't think there is a gun out there more reliable than this gun. In the case of my friends gun, whenever a ball broke in the barrel (almost always because he double pumped) he squeegeed the gun backwards to not get any oil down the barrel (which wouldnt have happened anyway) and ended up with a huge amount of paint in the guns valving. With all that paint in the hammer assembly of the gun, over 1500 rounds still went perfectly through it before he actually cleaned it. The guns operating system is so simple, the only thing that could possibly go wrong is a bad cup seal and palmers even has a special cup seal and stem that are garenteed not to go back for years. The way this gun works is the bolt is pushed back when you pump it, which draws the hammer back in the tube below the bolt and catches it on the sear. A ball is chambered when you push the pump forward. Upon pulling the trigger, the hammer is released and it hits the valve. The valve is made up of a stem and cup seal (among other parts) that opens up and sends gas through the bolt to shoot the paintball. Ah how sweet this gun is.

Now, for the trigger. When i first pulled the guns trigger i was surprised at how light, crisp and short it was. The trigger is amazingly short, only a little less than 2 milimeters! Another nice feature is that the trigger plate is very wide, making it more comfortable on your finger.

Lastly, feel..
I can't imagine a gun better balanced than this. Even with a full VL200 hopper and 14 oz tank its perfect and so easy to keep still. The now free PMI wrap around grips are just amazingly comfortable. Combined with the ultra smooth pump stroke, this makes for a great gun. I also love the heavier weight of sheridan designs in my hands. I find its steadier than nelson guns but that's all preferance. Also, the picture puts this gun to shame. This is one of the most beautiful guns i've ever seen. The matte nickel plating adds so much to the looks of this gun, contrasted with the rich black of the grip, pump arm and grip frame makes a truly awsome looking gun.


Weaknesses: There isn't much to say thats bad about this gun, but there are a few things.

With ball breaks, unless you have a very very good squeegee, this gun won't shoot through them. Because of the elliptically honed barrel (like a stretched out football) paint gets in that wider part in the middle.

Some people might find this gun a little on the heavy side, but not me, and again thats all preferance.

Without the option of a spiral ported barrel, this gun is very loud. So loud it sometimes hurts my ears just a little. Even so, all the good things by far make up for that.

Conclusion: A few other good things..
This gun comes in different versions that i have yet to see, including the Super Stocker (stock class gun) and Paladin (runs off 12 grams with the worlds fastest 12 gram changer, quick silver). There's also a lot you can do to
customize the gun. You can add a bottomline, stabilzer regulator (or any other), get the barrel spiral ported, add a sight hood among many other different things. The only thing you really might want to add is a spiral ported barrel to quiet it down and it does that very well.

I would definatly recommend this gun to anyone. In my opinion, this gun is the Ferrari of paintball guns, especially with palmers warrenty and the fact the gun is hand made and tested to make sure it is the best of quality.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

WCopic Wednesday, December 12th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Worr Games Sniper III
PMI Trracer Pump
Brute Pump
SL68 II
Marker Setup: PPS Houndstooth
left feed
bottomline to a direct vertical hose
female Stabilizer Regulator
"shorty" porting
nickel plated bolt
no auto trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
If you get a new one, I recommend getting a regulator. (Might as well be a Stabilizer) I also recommend having porting on the barrel. It is impressively quiet when it is shot.

Mostly, just air it up and go to town. That's the thing with PPS guns, they are all ready great guns, they don't really need anything after the initial gun purchase.
Strengths: Accuracy- Very accurate
Noise- Very quiet with porting
Quality- Exceptional, you won't find a "better" gun as far as how it is built. Solid and sturdy, it is not a delicate gun
Relaibility- I have not owned this long, but PPS guns have a reputation of being relaible. To be frank, there is not much on this gun that COULD go wrong.
Looks- Top notch. There are few guns that look this good in the world. The matte nickel plating puts most other gun finishes to shame. It has "classy" looks that say, "I am a seasoned player." Not necessarily a good player........but enough about me. Ha, ha.
Weaknesses: Price is high, but you get what you pay for, in this case.
Fixed barrel can be a problem if you damage it somehow.
Easy to double cock, as there is no anti double cocking mechanism. This is true with most "high end" pumps that I have used. It is not made to be a newbie's gun. You should know how to use a pump before you invest this much in one, in my opinion.
Some say it is heavy, I don't think so. It is lighter than my cocker! I prefer a stable gun anyway, if you want a light pump, get a Phantom.

There isn't really anything bad about it, these are just the things that could be bad.
Conclusion: PPS guns are known for their reliability, accuracy, look and over all value. I agree with all of those. If you are considering a new pump, or you want to upgrade from an older pump to something new, give the PPS Houndstooth a look. You will not be disappointed.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, January 5th, 2001
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: 1. It's very, very accurate - as accurate as paintballs themselves will allow
2. Short, quick pumpstroke
3. Short, snappy trigger
4. Looks beautiful

The Houndstooth, like Palmer guns in general, is first and foremost about accuracy. When the barrel is clean and the paint nice and round, the Tooth will put the pballs right where you want them to go.

The Tooth also has great "pointability" -- it balances and points so well that it's almost like an extension of your arm and hand.

With a vented barrel, it's also rather quiet. A subdued "thup" is all you hear with each shot. Pballs rattling in the hopper when you run make more sound... or at least is sure seems that way.
Weaknesses: It's a little on the heavier side when compared to guns like the Phantom, Maverick, Hammer, etc. First off, the Tooth is made from brass, and then secondly, it's a two-tube body design!

But really, it's debatable whether the extra weight is really a detriment -- it makes the gun balance great. And even when I tired after a few hours of pballing, the weight of the gun was never a problem. My getting sloppy and not doing full pumpstrokes from time to time *was* -- but that's something inherent in pumpguns and isn't a problem inherent in the Tooth.
Conclusion: I'm quite new to playing pump, so I've got a lot of improving to do. But my experience with the Houndstooth so far is that it's one helluva gun. Palmers isn't reknowned for quality without good reason -- the Houndstooth certainly met my expectations!

I would highly recommend getting the barrel vented because it really quiets down the gun. And with a vented barrel, you get great accuracy and a low sound signature -- both of which come in handy considering you're operating with a firepower handicap against semis. :)

I really cannot overemphasize the accuracy of the gun. Palmer barrels are elliptically honed to match the valve of the gun, so it isn't paint-specific. As long as your paint is fresh and round, the Tooth will put paintballs RIGHT where you want them -- on target.

Is it worth the cost? Well, that's always subjective, isn't it? I believe that my money was well spent on the Tooth because it meets every criterion a player could want in a pumpgun performance-wise. Still, I'm sure you can get exceptional accuracy from other high-quality guns like the Phantom, but then it boils down to which one feels better in your hands (and I like the Sheridan feel better) and whether going for a handmade gun is worth anything to you.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Paintball_Doc Monday, December 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none, this was my first pump.
Marker Setup: Hound's tooth "out of the box" with 88/3000 HPA.
Recommended
Upgrades:
none, just be ready for a great marker.
Strengths: Accurate
Appearance
Durable
Reliable
Extremely easy to clean and maintain
Weaknesses: Noisy (w/o porting)
Review: I ordered my Hound's Tooth from Palmer's "markers on hand" and a few weeks later got it in the mail. Upon initial opening, I could tell this thing was going to be good. Gassed it up and took it out back right away, got it chrono'ed, and let loose.

The accuracy is as perfect as you can get with a paintball marker. Cleaning? Just like any other Palmer product... just one quick strip, wash it out, oil it, and it's ready to go again. I found it to be very consistant in velocity, even without a regulator, so unless you plan on playing in cold weather with CO2, it's good to go w/o a reg.

You really don't need an agitated hopper for this marker, just a gravity feed is going to be good enough.

I just look for anyway possible I can play with this marker... I take it anywhere I can reasonably get away without "flinging paint."

Seriously, if you're thinking about an open class pump, get one of these things now. You won't regret it.
Conclusion: I love my Hound's Tooth and will NEVER sell it away... great accuracy, great quality in craftmanship, and great looks... all in one light package (I don't care what people say, it's light IMO).
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dan the ManPPS Tuesday, July 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
phantom and sniper II, both of which feel like toys compared to this.
Marker Setup: PUG, Superstocker/Houndstooth, Squall, Stroker and necessary accessories
Recommended
Upgrades:
good regulator (stabilizer), agitating hopper, stock, sight hood
Strengths: pin-point accuracy, dependable and durable, great nickel finish, great grips, smooth pump action
Weaknesses: a bit heavy for some, but easy to get comfortable with.
Review: Awesome pump gun. It has been used as my primary for 2 years, never regretted it. Easy to point and smooth action. Autotrigger standard. Good weight and balance. Fastest bolt strip system on a pump. Available in backbottle, bottomline, vertical bottle configurations. super quiet with ported barrel. Awesome support and service.
Conclusion: The best direct feed pump period. A little heavy for some, but quality and durability make up for it and the $350 price tag.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

FactsOfLife Friday, September 20th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
VSC Phantom- Lighter, more aftermarket stuff for them if you like that kind of thing.
Hammers- cheap, reliable, cheap and cheap.
PGPs- Tons of fun in a hand held package. Accurate for a pistol. Limited firepower. But it's stock class right?
Marker Setup: Palmer Houndstooth. Right side feed, PMI grips, UMB with stainless line and quick disconnect. Autotrigger. Non ported barrel. 12v revvie.(yes, you do need one) Palmer Battle grip.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Aftermarket? None. From PPS at time of order? Ported barrel, possibly "Classic" work, center feed if you have to have it. Other than that, not much. It's about the perfect pump as is.
From PPS after you order? Possible a stabilizer setup of some kind. I plan on a female stab with ring mount to make it a little more consistent.
Strengths: Amazing accuracy. I've shot it all. Cockers, vision Impys, Emags, retromags, spyders, all with nice upgraded barrels too. Freaks, dyes, lapcos. Makes no difference. This is by FAR the single most accurate marker I have ever seen.

Cockers don't even come close to this. Why? a couple of reasons come to mind. Hand crafted quality for starters. Each and every Hound is hand built from scratch. No mass quantities here. About the only way to get his kind of quality in any other marker is to go to a custom shop, i.e. Freeflows, Bob Long, etc etc.

The elliptical barrel. Good paint? boom on target. Over and over again. I also think that because it's a pump, players are forced to aim better. Semi auto boys should take notes here. Pointing IS NOT aiming.

Build quality is top of the line. There are few if any markers on the market right now that approach the craftsmanship of these markers. They're just that good.

Glenn Palmers personal service. Even out of his extremely busy day, Glenn has never failed to answer any of my stupid questions. Ever get an email from Budd Orr? Didn't think so. The only other guy I can think of that's in the same league as Glenn is Tom K. at AGD. Those guys must compare notes or something. The rest of the paintball manufacturers should be taking notes on how to deal with customers here. Are you listening Smart Parts?

Resale. What's a used cocker worth these days? About 50%% of it's original cost? Palmers invariably keep they value long after other markers are languishing on ebay collecting dust. This is what quality does for you. Don't see too many PPS markers on ebay do you. There's a reason for that.
Weaknesses: Are you kidding? There is no bad.
Conclusion: If you're looking for the ultimate in pump guns, look no further. The ability to have it hand built to your needs, the amazing accuracy, the quality of the workmanship, the outstanding customer care make this the ulitmate pump gun.

Because of these reasons, my next marker will also be a Palmers.

Hmmmmmm a Classic Typhoon.... mmmmmm
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

midnightrida Sunday, May 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
none pums beside a few shot from a wgp sniper
Marker Setup: 03 cocker no part of the gun is stock besides the frame its the best and i got the palmers pum
Recommended
Upgrades:
a spring kit
Strengths: O.K. price u get wut u pay 4 accurate stock u get the picture
Weaknesses: A little loud thats it
Review: It rocks by it u wont regret it . Its a little pricey but u dont even need and upgrade 4 it 2 be good. This gun rocks if you look around u can fin it 4 cheaper then 350 dollars its an awsome gun and its really reliable and ez 2 take apart and clean
Conclusion: By it its a really good gun
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

medic49675 Sunday, June 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
P68 at is the most similar but it is like comparing a candel to the sun.
Marker Setup: *** PPS Classic convertable Houndstooth
*** PTPMicrococker
*** PTP microsniper SC
*** ICE epic DV8
*** Punishers p98sc convertable feed
*** PPS PG based stroker
*** Tribal fluster 2.0
*** PTP micromag rt
*** Pump minimag
*** PPS typhoon with pump kit
*** splatmaster
*** Kingman hammer
*** pumped spyder se
*** sniper 2 aka the Fulgy sniper
*** Spyder se
*** BBT sterling rf and SC

All run with female PPS stab regs and either 13/3000 or 45/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
For a basic houndstooth I would recomend a tank, elbow, and hopper.

Nothing else is needed but there are nice options to add. Honestly this is a custom built gun you can get any option you want or need when they ship it to you.
Strengths: Customer service, accuracy PPS barrels have magic elves that help you aim, really.
Weaknesses: You are buying the paintball equlivant of a OCC chopper here. "They ain't cheap"
Review: There is no way to describe the feeling of finally getting your neew PPS gun. It is special made just for you the way you wanted it made.

However that waiting and the excitement are not the best part. Oh no when you take it out to the field and see the accuracy. Really there mustbe magic elves involved.

Ok the houndstooth is brass so it is heavy but I find that the bit of weight makes the HT a more stable shooter than lighter pumps.

The barrel is typicall PPS fair BIG BORE but deadly accurate. You might have to change your paint brand to stop roll outs.

The autotrigger on mine needed a bit of a tweek that took all of 2 minutes and didn't stop me from playing just from trying to rock the AT fire.

The fit and finish are flawless and playablity is great. LOVE IT!! This thing actually has me tempted to sell off my other markers.
Conclusion: If you want a great all around pump and have the cash you need to give pps a call.

BTW can I pick an eleven for the rating.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

himurax13 Friday, February 21st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Sniper 2, Phantom, SL-68 I, SL-68 II, PGP.
Marker Setup: Palmer's Houndstooth Serial # PP231. Centerfeed, 12" Vented Barrel, Nickel Highlights, Bottomline ASA, Nickel Palmer's Male Stabalizer, Shocktech Drop Forward and ASA adapter, Black 12 Volt Rev, Nickel UMB, crossfire 51/3000 stub tank, auto-trigger.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Shorter pump for aesthetics. Palmers male and or female stabalizers to keep liquid Co2 from entering the gun and keeping the pressure consistent. Compressed air or a Co2 tank with on/off and anti-siphon for consistency.
Strengths: Everyone wants to know what it is and asks to shoot it. Unbelievably sexy, accuracy is equal to or better than a sniper 2, excellent range, sturdy construction, sweet trigger pull, silky smooth pump and autotrigger, easy to clean and maintain, balances well with tank and 12 volt rev, rare(only 231 in existence). Best used to take out Cocker and Angel owners with heavy trigger fingers(smack talk galore). Great customer support (Lori is the best customer service rep I had ever talked to).
Weaknesses: Everyone wants to know what it is and asks to shoot it. Expensive (I did order the kitchen sink). Took 6 weeks to make (Palmer's has to get it done right). Heavier than most pumpguns (helps me keep the gun on target). Hard to find used (like I said there were only 231 out there). Everyone thinks you are shooting hot (due to the elliptical honing of the barrel). Very little room for modification (Palmer's put most of the best mods on already). Barrel condoms don't fit properly (Nobody's perfect).
Conclusion: You have to want the best to buy this gun. Quite possibly the best non-stock pumpgun ever made. Seriously though, who needs to use 12 grams against semi's? This will save you some serious dough on paint and it will still get you a few kills. Buy this marker and get ready to talk some trash.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media