paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Brass Eagle Stingray / Brass Eagle Stingray / Brass Eagle Stingray / Brass Eagle Stingray

Brass Eagle Stingray Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Brass Eagle

Buy Brass Eagle Stingray

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Brass Eagle Stingray
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 476
Average Rating: 6.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $90

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Stingray has a lightweight all plastic design featuring removable aluminum barrel,rear dove-tail sight, and an asa adapter which accepts constant air tanks.
Product Availability 
The Brass Eagle Stingray is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (48):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
trench_raider Sunday, December 22nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested48 of 52 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
many low end semis...
Marker Setup: Model 1451 Rainmaker
3k psi n2 system
12 volt revvy
'99 select fire board
Brass Eagle red dot sight
Recommended
Upgrades:
Since this gun will probably be replaced soon, nothing. However if you stick with it I would recommend a better barrel.
Strengths: This review assumes ownership of the Stingray 2 model.....the original stingray is a better gun and would rate a bit higher.
Ok, good features are:
-the price....around $50 but you can find them for less than that on Ebay
-Sturdy high impact polymer frame....I disbelieve all the reviews that claim their stingray broke. These things are built like tanks. There is nothing wrong with plastic in a gun design.
-Reliable if taken care of correctly
-will not chop if the trigger is pulled smoothly and completely each time...this simple procedure with prevent about 90%% of all ball chopping on just about any gun
-very efficent on air---the one I used got about 500 shots on a 9oz tank. Once again I don't see how all thse other reviews call it a "gas hog"...it's not.
Weaknesses: Ok, now the bad....
-Not very accurate...once again the original stingray is better.
-heavy trigger pull. If you pull the trigger with the crook of your finger instead of the correct way (with the pad) you will quickly develop a blister.
-the detent ball will rust and start to chew up your bolt if you dont replace it with a plastic bead.
-slightly troublesome to strip
Conclusion: Most of the "K3W1 D3WD2" that bash Brass Eagle are simply parroting what they think is the "popular" position. The have never held or fired a BE product but want to "fit in"..so they bad mouth BE's products. This gun is an excellent choice for the beginner. It's cheap and will compete with low end Spyders and Typpmanns.
I am convinced most of the negative reviews for this gun are frauds. many of the stories you hear of Stingray break-downs can be traced to poor maintnance.
Note I give this gun a "7" out of "10". I feel that no gun deserves a "10" and very few a "9". This gun is definently a starter gun with a few problems, so it gets a "7".
If you are just starting out, ignore the bashers and get a Stingray.

It's an air gun not a marker!
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
11 Comments - Add Comment

dude14 Wednesday, October 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 years13 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Viewloader orion- alot better
Spyder victor- alot better
any cheap dragun, spyder, or viewloader- alot better
Marker Setup: Stingray
Lapco stingray to spyder barrel adapter
14" PMI razzor
acrylic ball detent
starfire bolt
4*32 scope
custom internal porting
custom enhaced feed neck
filled grip
new sear assembly
polished internals
9oz. co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
uh, most important upgrade would be the ball detent
then the bolt
then the barrel
and so on and so on
Strengths: VERY upgradable
ultra reliable
powerful
Weaknesses: Horribly pitiful stock
loud
gas hog
only operates on high pressure
Review: ok, this is the review on the BE stingray, one of the most underrated guns out there. This one isnt by a dumb newb or just a brass eagle flamer thats used this gun once or "only tested" it. hah, aight, well here we go. IF YOU PAY ATTENTION TO ANY OF THESE REVIEWS, PLEASE PLEASE PAY ATTENTION TO THIS ONE!!!

This gun is very very horribly pitiful when you use it stock. Its extremely loud, it breaks balls constantly, and the accuracy is sad. So people that use this gun stock, yes, i agree, it deserves about a 2 out of 10 becuase it does work and it does shoot paintballs. The only good thing about this gun when it is stock is that it is really reliable. I bought my ray' used from my sisters X bf. then it was about 2-3 years old. that was 3 years ago. It was my first semi-auto, and i was so proud of it, despite the fact that it chopped about 1 outa 10 balls, it sounded like a cannon, and it ate gas like fat people eat their chunky soup. I never oiled it or cleaned it, and it had paint encrusted on the bolt, in the barrel, and the thing hadn' t ever been taken apart and cleaned. It still worked fine though, well the gun assembly. It cocked back EVERY time except when it ran out of gas ( I dont think you can find another blowback these days that will do that), and i never had problems with it besides the ball breakage and horrible accuracy.

Well, then the gun's glory faded when my friend bought a victor. That thing made the ray look like crap. I was embarrassed, but i still played with it for a while, until i lost the last barrel pull pin. I used that as an excuse to buy my orion ( an awesome gun by the way), and i used that for a little over a year. My ray sat in the closet and grew mold and got rusty. Well, i began lookin at stuff on ebay, and i typed in stingray paintball one day to see how cheap you could buy a stingray for. Thats when i saw all the upgrades and stuff, and then i discoverd www.stinggroup.addr/. That sight tells you every thing about stingrays and stuff, and thats where i learned it could be a decent gun.

Well, i ordered a starfire bolt, an acrylic ball detent, some new pull pins, and the detent cap, spring, and pin( all that stuff had fallen out), and installed the parts. Well, i guess you could say this is a whole new gun. It breaks about 1 outa 400 balls ( bad to some people, but good enough if you have a playin style like me), the range is unbeleivable, and it's accuracy is amazing. If you got it on some kind of gun rest and fired it 10 times at a 6 inch square peice of plywood, i guarantee you would hit it each time. It's still a gashog though, and it only has that amazing range if u use a 9 ounce or a 12 ounce. It operates on high pressure i guess. It can get about 500 shots off a 9 ounce, but the last 100 shots dont have the really good range, but still decent range.

Well, this gun looks absolutely amazing. With the big scope i got on there and the Realtree camoflauge paintjob i got on there, it looks absolute pimp. Its also very unique, u dont see many stingrays these days. All the newbs have some kind of spyder clones, and every body else has tippmans or cockers or somethin like that if they play tourneys. The thing is about 3 feet long total with the 14" barrel on there. O yea, and the barrel adapter and porter barrel make a big difference. I'd put a PMI razzor( what i have) or a progressive or teardrop on there. Or you could take a chance and buy one made for stingrays from ebay. some are good, some arent. but yea....

Well, thats about it. This gun is sadly pitiful and an embarrassment to the Brass Eagle name when you buy it stock, but if you spend a little time and money on it, not to mention a little love, it can be great. My stingray setup probably cost me, uhh, bout 80$. Thats with co2 and everything. 20$ or less for gun ( ebay), $14.50 for starfire and ball detent ( ebay), 9 ounce co2 bout $16, and razzor ($30), barrel adapter ( $20) itsa rip off kinda but i guess the adapters worth it.

mmmk... this gun is great for anybody that likes to tinker. The PLASTIC body that people like to make fun of can be drilled into easily, and you can put all kindsa stuff into it. The gun itself with teh cheap upgrades shoots great. I love my ray, and i proudly STING with honor.
Conclusion: ok, well this is a good gun if you upgrade it. If you have a stock one that you hate and want to burn and blow up, just go to ebay, look up stingray paintball, and buy the starfire bolt w/ the acrylic ball detent. only bout 15$ total with shipping. It will make a world of difference. My ray shoots so unbeleivably far and accurate, and i love the thing. So people that dont want to work on a gun, then leave this thing alone. People that have any brains and can look on the internet and figure out how to fix things, this would be an ok gun. When you upgrade it, the only bad things are the kinda loudness and 500 shots off a 9 ounce. well, thats bout it. Stock, this thing could get a 4. Upgraded, bout a 9. So 6.5 average, plus 1 for the unreal range this thing can produce, 7.5. I'll round it up cause this gun deserves a better rating.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, March 27th, 2005 at 6:07 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Mr. Fuzzims Wednesday, December 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 years9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
really nothing
Marker Setup: Stingray
PMI razzor
acrylic ball detent
new sear assembly
Revolution 12 volt
little trigger job
9 ounce c02
Recommended
Upgrades:
-acrylic ball detent
-new barrel
-NEW BOLT
-whatever you want on it
Strengths: Reliable
Durable
Great when upgraded
Powerful
Weaknesses: Bad when stock
Metal ball detent kills it
gas guzzler
loud
Review: This gun is very underrated. People need to stop sticking their noses up at it and see that it can be a decent gun.
I strongly agree, this gun isnt all that great when you use it stock. The incredibly short, stubby stock barrel sucks bad, and the stock bolt just gets mashed each time you pull the trigger by the metal ball detent, creating a nice, sharp dent that will eat your paintballs like fat kids eat cake. Brass Eagle must have been retarted to put a metal ball detent in this gun, and geez, the barrel, the barrel. What idiots.
The gun stock is very durable though. I dont know how old exactly mine is, i bought it over 3 years ago from my sisters x bf, and he got his back when they were considered decent guns. It may break and chop too many balls, but it will keep going through whatever. Many laugh at the plastic body, but i only see it as an advantage. It as very durable, you cant crack it, and it can be drilled into for mods easily.
Now, in order to fix that chopping and breaking problem, you need to buy an acrylic(plastic) ball detent (the ball detent is what is under the feed neck that keeps the paintball from rolling out) that wont mess up your bolt. Then buy a new bolt off ebay. Then put a new barrel on there, whether its a stingray Eagle works barrel, one off ebay, or a barrel on the stingray barrel adapter, it doesnt matter, anything is better than that stubby hunk of metal stock barrel. Now you will have accuracy, great accuracy.
Another thing about the stingray is the power it delivers. It can easily get up to 300 fps, probably turned 2/3 the way up. It eats gas though, it gets around 500 shots off of a 9 ounce. Mine has great range, the balls curve up slightly with each shot, i dont know why, they just do. May have something to do with the bore difference in the barrel adapter and barrel. O yea, and there is an awesome site that must be visited if you want to learn more about the ray. http://www.stinggroup.addr.com/
My ray is old now, worn out, and it is probably 8 years old by now, but it still is working great. The old battle ax keeps going, and i love it. Its kind of a booger to field strip, but i like the solidness that the pull pins give it. It may look different and clunky compared to other guns, but i like it. It has the feel of a real gun to it. This gun is a tank, i dont think it will ever die. Just take care of it, clean it, and keep it lubed to keep it running well. it will still run forever if you dont though. its so freakin durable.
Conclusion: I strongly recommend getting this gun. I dont know if you can still buy them, but they are awesome when modded. Mine has lasted a long time, and if it explodes tomorrow, i will go find me another one.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, December 28th, 2005 at 6:36 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

E2Paintball Thursday, March 18th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Kind of like a Tippman 98
Marker Setup: Viewloader Hopper , Pure Energy Co2 Tank , Not sure what type of barrel it is
Recommended
Upgrades:
Hopper , Barrel
Strengths: Sight , Elbow , Great for Woodsball
Weaknesses: Too Damn Loud
Review: -Its a Great Gun for Woodsball , Don't use it for Speedball/Recball . Theres not many Atachmeans for it but it really dosnt need anything becides a Deacent Trigger and the fact that it is too loud!! .... I Can't Really tell you to buy one because they came off the market like 10 years ago but if you have one , its a good gun use it for woodsball
Conclusion: overall this gun is good if your playing woods ball don't use it for Rec or Speed
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

il_10 Wednesday, February 18th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 years6 of 23 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
Strengths: It shoots?
Weaknesses: It breaks.
Review: I used this gun for a while, but it eventually broke down completely. Once it broke i took some tubing, a valve, a propane tank, and some gasoline and turned it into a flamethrower. I managed to kill a racoon that was in my garbage before the whole gun caught fire and melted. It's not very good as a paintball gun.... makes a decent flamethrower.
Conclusion: If you want a flamethrower, sure.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

claychase Tuesday, December 2nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stingray one. No difference other than the barrel.
Marker Setup: Spyder Classic: Sub-Zero 6 stage expansion chamber: 18 inch barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
They make a 12 inch barrel, I have it, it works great.
Strengths: Cheep
Very durable
Not picky about paint
Easy to maintain
Easy to improve
Weaknesses: Easy to outgrow
Leaks some CO2
Loud
Heavy trigger/bolt pull
Barrel not real accurate
Review: For any one familiar with rifles, this is the AK47 of paint ball. Its not pretty, graceful, or real accurate, but you can drop it in the dirt, kick it around, beat it against a tree, throw sand in the receiver, and when you pick it up to shoot, it still works just fine. This was my first gun, and I would never sell it. It works in any environmental conditions (Iíve used it in temperatures from 25 to 95 degrees, and in rain, wind, snow, sleet, and sun) and functions just as well in all of them.
If you have any mechanical aptitude, you can easily improve this gun for free. You can even counteract any of the complaints.
I know its not saying much, but itís the best thing to come out of Brass Eagle.
Conclusion: I have mopped up tournament players with $400 to $600 dollar systems, with this gun. THIS GUN WILL NOT FAIL YOU. It is perfect for beginners, or as a backup because it is so reliable and consistent. The only reason I donít give this gun a 10 is because it has limitations (see weaknesses)
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

conyers Sunday, February 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
talon, winchester
Marker Setup: 14 inch tru flight barrell
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definitely a barrell, it makes more than 100% difference in performance
Strengths: Great beginner gun
Weaknesses: Not sure what to say here. for those who know paintball, its a stingray
Review: This was the first gun i ever owned and used. It was purple which was interesting as far as field comments go. As i said, i consider this a great gun for a beginner. it does what it needs to and in many cases it does it reliably, though there are some out there that kinda suck. If your gonna use it, you have to get a barrel for it. I started out with it and to say the best of my skills, i sucked. Might have gotten 2 kills at the most. Then i bought that barrel and my game improved in vast amounts. It doesnt increase accuracy as the stock stingray doesnt have any. The barrel will enable you to hit things you shoot at. One thing that might be considered a weakness of the gun is that its made of plastic. however, its pretty durable for a plastic gun. itll take some beating to break it. I cant really say its a gas hog nor is it efficient as all stingrays vary i have found. Also it isnt a high maitnence gun which is good for beginners. It doesnt have a high rate of fire (maybe 5 at most if you can pull really hard and fast). but then again, how many beginners go out blazing. The tank connects to the gun differently than anyother guns, short of some similar BE's. I kind of like the long setup with the tank and barrel. It gvies you somethin to mount on the shoulder. It makes a good backup gun for woods ball. In my case, we sometimes let younger kids and friends come in and play. This gun is great for loaning to someone to play with. You know it will work for their puposes and wont be a disaster if it breaks.
Conclusion: In conclusion let me say i dont think i would have ever paid 90 dollars for this gun even brand new years ago. But you can find them pretty cheap today and they make awesome beginner guns. No, its not a brilliant piece of machinery or in any way comparable to most other guns. Im gonna give it a seven based on the numerous stingrays ive used and as use for beginner gun. Thats important for you reading this and who may disagree. A beginner gun. It got me into a sport i really love.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 24th, 2005 at 9:47 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

godman06516400 Monday, March 31st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Compact
Marker Setup: Expansion chamber
Fire Stick Barrel
Bottom Line
Volumizer
Low pressure Chamber
Red Dot Sight
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Sight
Bottmom Line
Strengths: Lightness/Weight
Price
Weaknesses: Plastic
Not accurate
Loud Ping sound when Fired
Loud
Review: Over all if you have this gun you should get a new Barrel a Bottom Line and a Sight.
The only Good thing is its Lightness/Weight and the cost for it which is about 40-60 dollars. The Bad is that it makes a Loud Ping sound when Fired and that the gun is loud so your opponents can spot you easily, but if you play indoor, speed ball etc. you don't need to worry about its loudness.
Conclusion: Over All do not, thats right DO NOT get this gun, you can get a spyder for this much which is 10 times better. You can also upgrade a spyder while a stingray you can only get a barrel and a bottom line that is it. DO NOT BUY
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

Bushy_One Tuesday, April 29th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Rays are in a league of their own...
Marker Setup: B2K
J&J Barrel
Eggy
CMI Drop Forward w/ On-Off
Mac Dev HPR
Macroline
Zenitram LPR
68cu/3000psi Pure Energy HPA
Tantrum Pull Pin
Recommended
Upgrades:
Get the $30 Barrel
Strengths: One Word: C-H-E-A-P
(More Strengths below)
Weaknesses: (Let me start below).
Review: Strengths:
#8 Cheap
#7 Scary (sounds like you're getting shot at by a damn 12 Gauge)
#6 Cheap
#5 No tools needed for field strip
#4 Cheap
#3 Plastic so it won't rust.
#2 Cheap
And the #1 strength is: This is the beginning of all paintball players. $80 and a simple trip to your local Wal-Mart and you're a full fledged paintball player. I'll never sell mine just because it has been by my side since I started playing (plus it won't sell for much). This marker is the reason paintball is popular. We all owe our love for paintball to the Stingray.

Weaknesses:
By a landslide, this is the worst semi-auto on the market. Don't listen to any of your friends who only shoot at passing cars. It is too loud, giving off a PING when shot. Instead of propelling paint on a relatively straight line, it lobs paint (the stingray is more of a mortar than a gun even with the $30 barrel). The trigger pull is 1" and 5 lbs. If you go to a commercial field you WILL be laughed at. It lives up to the name STINK-ray.
Conclusion: My conclusion is: Do--------Not--------Buy--------This---------Gun. God have mercy on your soul if you buy this gun. Every time someone buys a stinkray, the god of paintball becomes constipated. Go ahead and spend a few more bucks and buy and ole reliable Tippmann pro-lite or 98. I give it a 1 only because it is the lowest number I can use. Compared to an Angel, it's a negaitve 37. But for all you kids who are just starting paintball it's a sure 10, especially when all your friends are running around with Talons and Blades and 18 layers of clothes on so they won't get hurt.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

2001mustang Thursday, December 18th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Compact 2000
Marker Setup: Stingray II
-Lots of Homemade Mods
Autococker Trilogy SF
-Clamping Feedneck
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Acrylic Ball Detent
-Bolt
-Barrel (Lapco makes an adapter to run Spyder threaded barrels)
-Relocate ASA to bottom of grip
Strengths: -Cheap
-Durable
-Easy to maintain
Weaknesses: -Slow
-Long trigger pull
-Heavy
-Not very air efficient
Review: I bought my Stingray II this past year because my friends were getting back into playing paintball. Not knowing how long this phase would be lasting with them I decided that I would be better off buying a cheap marker versus spending hundreds on a marker that I might only use a handful of times.

The marker served me well over the past year in terms of reliability. I only had a couple of problems that came up near the end of the season that were more my fault than anything else (lost ball detent, leaking valve due to incorrect o-ring replacement).

My only complaints with this gun are the extremely long trigger pull and that it's not very fast (there is a trigger mod to fix this). I also have switched to a remote setup due to how heavy the gun is to help take some of the strain of carrying the gun off my arms. The gun also isn't overly gas efficient.
Conclusion: If you're looking to get into paintball and are looking for a cheap marker that is durable and easy to maintain, the Stingray isn't a bad choice. You can pick them up at garage sales or off ebay for about $20-30. The gun is far from perfect though so keep in mind that with almost anything, there are downsides to this gun.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (48):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media