paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Palmers Pursuit Shop Squall / Palmers Pursuit Shop Squall / Palmers Pursuit Shop Squall / Palmers Pursuit Shop Squall

Palmers Pursuit Shop Squall Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Palmers Pursuit Shop

Buy Palmers Pursuit Shop Squall

Paintball Pistols

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Palmers Pursuit Shop Squall
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 9
Average Rating: 9.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $585

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Takes 12 gram cartridges and paintballs are spring fed.
Product Availability 
The Palmers Pursuit Shop Squall is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Unregistered User Monday, January 29th, 2001
 
4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: First off, a little history.

The Squall is, more or less, a short barrel, spring fed, 12 gram Typhoon. As such, it's performance is top notch.

I got mine with PMI Rubber grips, and a Tiger Nickel finish. It is, if nothing else, the best looking pistol on the field at any given time.

The accuacy is perfect, as isrange.

The balls are easy to load, and it never breaks paint.

The Quicksilver system is superb, it makes 12 gram changing quick and easy.
Weaknesses: Well, it has the trademark Palmer poor trigger. It is long and heavy. This is easily rectified by Ravi's mods, or by a Trigger Job. I ahve performed Ravi's mods, and I went from around 5bps to 7bps, almost the whole tube.

Expensive.

Front heavy, but that is not too much of a problem.
Conclusion: It is unmatched as a pistol, if a little pricey. Get one if you can afford it, you won't regret it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dan the ManPPS Tuesday, July 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 years3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PT markers
Marker Setup: PUG, Superstocker/Houndstooth, Squall, Stroker and necessary accessories
Recommended
Upgrades:
Sight hood and good under-arm or tactical holster.
Strengths: Faster and more reliable than other semi pistols, 12 ball capacity
Weaknesses: Long for most holsters, heavier than aluminum, expensive
Review: Great marker. Awesome backup, especially for anyone who uses a pump primary. Great accuracy and range since barrel is longer than most pistols. Length makes marker hard to holster correctly. A bit large for one-handed shooting. Good effeciency for 12grams (20 shots per), easy to set up CA adapter. Easy and quick to reload with large feed plugs. Quicksilver 12g lever changer (fastest on earth) or twist-in knob changer available. Both styles have a 12g drop slot for quick recharging. Closed bolt helps accuracy and makes it more dependable than blowback pistols. PMI rubber grips great for pistol holding. Good velocity adjuster. Great service from company.
Conclusion: Awesome sidearm, can be a good rec primary. I used it at IAO last year with no problems. Bit expensive, but worth every penny.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

psychoawl Wednesday, February 20th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
PT Enforcer, PT Extreme
Marker Setup: 2" barrel extension, spiral porting, muzzle brake, red highlights, 12 gram dummy to bottomline, Typhoon foregrip
Recommended
Upgrades:
You can't really have upgrades after the gun has been built, but if you're ordering one new from Palmers Pursuit Shop, it depends on how you want to play. My set up is good for a limited paint primary, but stock, it makes a great pistol or backup
Strengths: Excellent accuracy, easy to maintain (just rinse with warm water, then oil), durable, reliable. Gets excellent CO2 use for a semi-auto (25+ shots on a 12 gram).
Weaknesses: A bit heavy, and a bit long if you want to holster it.

Stock trigger takes some getting used to

A bit on the heavy side

Limited paint-only a 10 round spring fed tube
Conclusion: Overall, the Squall is a bit on the pricey side, but you are getting what you pay for-a custom semi-auto that won't let you down.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Devastator Sunday, March 9th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
PT Extreme, Enforcer
Marker Setup: Big and shiny with a long barrel
Strengths: 1. Feels comfy in my hands :-D
2. Shoots nicely
3. Doesn't seem to leak on gas
4. Did I mention how well this shoot?
5. Looks so cool
Weaknesses: 1. It's expensive
2. It isn't gold clad
Conclusion: This gun is excellent, for a sidearm this gun is superb, better than the rest I have used by far, if you can afford it and are looking for a sidearm I strongly suggest you take a look at one of these, the person whom I borrowed it from for the day said similar things, this is one fine piece metal.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sixgun Sunday, July 10th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
usp , zeus, pgp
Marker Setup: palmers cf blazer ,dual reg'ed ,12 inch ported-matched brass barrel ,45 frame single trig ,derlin rings,oh and the pump kit
pps typhoon "custom cut " w/ qevs ,clamping center feed, (fixed) double ported brass barrel w /wegits,classic ram,nickled 45 blade trigg frame, pps stabe,finished in nickle
palmers squall pistol
cci phantom w/ palmers stab and barrel
palmerized 05 superstock autococker
Recommended
Upgrades:
Have rear back bottle holes drilled (in case ya wanna run a 4oz tank).
Fast changer
Strengths: Accuracy , durability , looks sweet , efficient,closed bolt design,quiet for a pistol
Weaknesses: A little front heavy (but keeps your aim steady)
Review: I have had some of my most memorable games with this pistol , it has never failed me .....accuracy is the same as any closed bolt marker...... people seem to think it wont shoot far or strait because it has a short barrel (that's what i want them to think) but its not the case.... what makes it tuff is the aiming ...as soon as you learn and get used to it , it's alot of fun.....palmers makes the best closed bolt markers you can get , period.....how else can a small company stay in business for so many years without huge marketing ? ............quality .........but with this comes a price, a steep one , but worth it ...you will have way more then $600 worth of fun especially if your a avid player....the squall is built tuff with nickle plated brass and the finest pps internals ranging between 20-30 shots per 12gram .......the spring feed moves smoothly and the pistol has a nice little pop when fired ...distance is long and strait like an autococker and pps takes good care of there customers with real airsmiths answering questions not computers ............. if can afford the best pistol ,this is it
Conclusion: Not even in the same class as other pistols... 2nd to none..... real closed bolt accuracy and distance
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

medic49675 Tuesday, March 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have tested every pistol i can get my hands on but nothing is similar to the squall
Marker Setup: SPYDER SE, J&J edge 10", custom bolt and valve, Benchy double trigger, thor reg, pmi 45/4500

PTP MICROCOCKER, 10" J&J edge, thor reg, pmi 45/4500, KAPP slider frame, Palmers pneumatics

PHANTOM VSC, 12" J&J edge, Custom L stock

PPS squall

Pump mag
Recommended
Upgrades:
quicksilver 12g changer
Strengths: Palmers pursuit shop
Weaknesses: It is expensive, but you get what you pay for.
Review: This is far and above the best paint pistol ever made. The only thing that comes close is the sydarm. Personally I think the sydarm just does not compare. The squall holds more shots (12 total), is much happier with co2 as an air source, and just plain handles better. If you are serious about playing with a pistol buy one now. Heck buy 2 they are small.
Conclusion: If you can afford one and want a aint pistol buy one. If you want a paint pistol and can't afford one sell something so you can afford it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dstud2000 Wednesday, December 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Delta .68 this gun can't even come close to comparing with the Squall. 2k3 Cocker, the Squall easily matches and out-performs my cocker but in a pistol size package.
Marker Setup: Palmer Squall, needs no upgrades

2K3 Vert. Feed Cocker, Shocktech Ram, Shocktech LPR, Shocktech Rat 3:16 valve, Shocktech Supa'Fly bolt, Palmer Stabilizer, WGP Black Magic Flame Trigger, and a few good barrels.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Well depending how you like your trigger you may want to get the Pro-Touch trigger job from Palmers. I don't have it, but may get it down the road.
Strengths: Accurate
Efficient
Well Balanced
Built from the Typhoon platform
Did I say Accurate?
Weaknesses: It is costly, but you get what you pay for.
Review: Like I said it is built from the Typhoon platform, basically it is a pistol version of the Typhoon. It is extremely accurate, more accurate than my cocker. I have pulled off some great shots with my Squall that I never was able to make with my Cocker. Even though it runs off 12 grams it easily achieves your desired velocity, where I usually play it is about 289 FPS and the Squall stays pretty consistant with that velocity. I usually get about 25 good shots off a 12grm. It is an expensive marker especially since it is a pistol, but like any other Palmer product you get what you pay for, which is an performs even better than it looks. Everywhere I take my Squall it draws a crowd. Even though it is a pistol it does not suffer the same lack of range as other pistols, it has the same range as my cocker, which I believe is due to the fact it can achieve the same velocity as other full size paintball markers. It is very easy to clean and maintain. You absolutely will not find a better Pistol out there.
Conclusion: If you are lookin for a sidearm, or are looking for stock class style gun but you don't want a pump, or you really like playing an officer for scenario games and such then get a Squall. My buddy uses a stock class Phantom and I liked playing with just 10rnd tubes and 12 grams, but I wanted something semi-auto not pump, and the Squall answered that call with flying colors. You will not find a better company than Palmer Pursuit and you won't find a better pistol than the Squall.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SeraphKajal Sunday, November 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Zues G2 - Decent
Pt Extreme - No comparison

Marker Setup: Flatline E-grip A-5 w/ Folding stock
2002 Shocker Sport Turbo w/ gas-thru grip and upgraded electronics
Blue/black Acid washed stock class Phantom w/ 45 grip
Palmers Pursuit Squall w/ Trigger Job
Recommended
Upgrades:
Palmers Trigger job, Quicksilver changer (ordering one for mine) Stock class harness
Strengths: Accurate
Reliable
Solid Construction
12 ball capacity
Quick trigger
Wrap Around Grips
Weaknesses: See review
Review: The PPS Squall is superior to all other pistols on the market. Close to the accuracy of most high end markers with tight groupings of 1-2 inches at 20 yards 2-3 inch at 30 yards and 4-6 inch grouping at 60 yards. Range is comparable to that of any full sized marker. Wrap around grips make the Squall great to hold.

The Squall is rather large and somewhat heavy, but that comes from the quality materials and solid construction of the marker. The reliability of this pistol is unmatched in its Field.

This pistol has yet to let me down. I have used this pistol as my main marker on several occasions. In a game of ctf, i have taken down single handedly a team of 8 players who were using mostly cockers and upgraded Tippmann using only the Squall. They were surprised, to say the least.

The clip is easy to use and does not require being turned upside-down to reload if a few balls are left. Unlike the G2, who\'s clip has a tendency to eject the balls when you are reloading, the squalls clip holds them snug and secure. The Squall is gas efficient, getting 24 good shots. Maintenance is non existent. Palmer said to clean it, just take it in the shower with you. Needless to say, the marker is durable. I have slammed it into mud, rocks, and solid bunkers and no a scratch has formed. Never have had a ball chop, even shooting at 10 bps (clip holds 12, but I can't shoot that fast on a mech trigger).

The price is its only weakness. at around $600 this this is expensive. However, after shooing alot of guns in the same price range and higher (Mostly cockers, Some angels, Few timmies) , I have to say this is as good if not better.
Conclusion: This Pistol is awesome. I highly recommend it if you have to money. Accuracy is phenomenal, range is that of full sized marker, and durability is top notch.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Rockatanski Wednesday, December 31st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Automag classic. Tricked to the teeth.
Tipmann Procarbine for the days I just want to be a grunt.
Twin Custom built Palmer Squalls.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Not Available.
Strengths: Extremely accurate for a pistol. The fire rate is fast.
Weaknesses: Heavy. Waiting period is long to recieve one.
Review: I wanted a Palmer Squall from the moment I saw a picture of one in Action Pursuit Mag.
Finally one month I sacrificed all other expenses and purchased two of them.
Both have custom trigger jobs so I've never had the trigger pull problems others have complained about.
I love these guns. Haven't had the opportunity to use them two-fisted in a game yet but can't wait to. Was initially worried that they would be strictly show-guns and I would never get the chance to use them, but those days are gone. Up close and in tight spaces you can't beat the freedom of a pistol.
Playing a house defense game and only using one of my Squalls I racked up seven kills. I even nailed some long distance hits that same weekend. And these where 200 round loaded semi-auto's I was going against. There is also the buzz you get having to reload in battle. (I know most people would tend to think of it as a disadvantage. And I'm not saying it's not.) It just feels so cool jamming only ten rounds back into your pistol while paint is flying everywhere.
Lastly, for bunkering nothing has worked better for me than a sidearm. It's fast, light, uncumbered, and three times easier to aim at a prone enemy.
This gun (Even both of them. And that was more money than I should have spent.)
Is definately worth both the price and the wait.
Conclusion: Save up and get one. And definately buy a holster, this is a must.
Also any players who still enjoy the natural game in a mile of forest and are thinking of getting a gun like this, do it now. These guns have no place in the Uberfield world of Mtv paintball. But they'll become legends in the outlaw game.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, December 31st, 2003 at 4:00 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media