paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Zap Rec Series Paintballs / Zap Rec Series Paintballs / Zap Rec Series Paintballs

Zap Rec Series Paintballs Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Zap

Buy Zap Rec Series Paintballs

Paintball Paintballs

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Zap Rec Series Paintballs
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 158
Average Rating: 7.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Natural Shell, robust forumulation.
Product Availability 
The Zap Rec Series Paintballs are older, so they are not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (16):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Menohl Sunday, December 14th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month20 of 22 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Blue Streak
Worr Rec
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
GTA Inline Expansion Chamber
GTA Double Trigger
32* Star Fire Bolt
J&J 14" Ceramic Barrel
Viewloader 12V Revolution w/ X-Board
JCS 3" Offset 3/8" Dovetail Sight Rail
NcStar 4X30 Illuminated Scope
Thunder Pig In-Line CO2 Gauge
JCS Combat Folding Stock
32* Coiled Remote
PMI 20oz. CO2 Tank
Recommended
Barrels:
I've shot them throught my J&J 14" Ceramic Barrel, and a friend of mine shot them through a 32* Whisper, so i'm going to say any barrel is good.
Strengths: Thick Fill (No Wipers)
Fly straight
Good Shell
Weaknesses: If you explode a ball in your hopper, you are screwed till you clean it.
Review: Myself and a buddy saw the 1500 Buckets on sale at a local sports store for $25 (they usually are $40) so we had to go down and pick up a few buckets. Upon getting them home i brought them down into my basement and opened them up to see if any of the three 500 bags per bucket had broken balls in them, and boy did i get a suprise as i lifted the lid!!! The smell of the worst bathroom you've ever been in is about the best way i can describe the smell. After a few minutes of leaving the bucket open, the smell did go away. Of the six 500 bags i had from my 2 buckets, 2 bags had one broken ball in them.

The following weekend i went out to play. The balls flew great, and the fill is really thick, adn bright blue. If you got hit with these balls everyone could see it! Not to mention that the paint is so thick, if someone tries to wipe it off in play, they are only going to succeed in smearing it all over their clothes.

Due to the thick fill you do have to be careful though... I was in a woods field and managed to trip over some barbwire. Needless to say my gun and me went down hard, and i broke a few paintballs in my hopper. I figured it woudln't matter much and kept shooting. BIG MISTAKE!!! the paint and broken balls tore my accuracy up and before long my barrell had more balls in it than my hopper!!! I had to switch to my backup VL200 hopper for the rest of the day because i didn't want to take apart my Revolution in the field (not to mention that i didn't have a screwdriver on me).
Conclusion: I recommend getting this product, especially if you can find it on sale like i did. Its a great product for the money and it works like a champ!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, March 18th, 2004 at 10:45 am PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

Nwilson Friday, January 30th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I've used 'em all. FOr the woodsball player like me, these are the way to go.
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine, J&J ceramic 14", Egg2
Recommended
Barrels:
I use a J&J ceramic. Never had a break in the barrel with these.
Strengths: Hard shell - go through trees and brush well. Price is CHEAP!
Weaknesses: Hard shell - more bounces than with other balls. Not as accurate as some
Review: I play woodsball and personally....I love these things! No, it's not the most accurate bal lI've ever shot - Yes, you do tend do get a few more bounces than breaks at longer ranges due to the hard shell. All in all, however, you cant beat these things as far as bang for your buck! These are dirt cheap and have a pretty thick fill. Another added plus is these bad boys will make the newbs cry when shot at close range. I've seen these draw blood at 50-75 ' on more than one occasion, I presume due to the hardened titanium shells on these balls! Got wipers? .... Well these are the cure. Never again will there be any doubt as to whether or not a player is hit as there will always be a loud "OUCH! Oh %#&* - STOP ! I'm Hit I'm HIT oh *&%%!" (Several expletives were deleted to protect the young). About the only bad thing I can say is that if you ever do chop one of these balls and some of the shell gets wedged between your bolt and the chamber you're going to need a jack hammer for clear the jam! Although I wouldn't use them for anything other than casual play or woodsball, All in all they work great for me - I give 'em a 9 out of 10.
Conclusion: If you are a casal player or play alot of woodsball....get em!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

4tene Sunday, June 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
I've used many paintballs.
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra 2004(TL-X w/ rear cocking) w/ Spyder Rocking Trigger, twisted volumizer, CP Medium Regulator, macroline fittings, and Delrin ACS bolt. Evlution II w/ Z-board, Bulldog 47 c.i. 3000k.
Strengths: Very cheap.
Weaknesses: Break easy, sometime they swell, very soft shell.
Review: Hmm... Where to start... I was tired of paying for good paintballs, so I decided to grab a bucket of these since they were cheap as hell, because I figured, 'Hey, a paintballs a paintball.' Wrong. I know, I know. Don't rag me, this is when I was first starting. Anyways, these things shouldn't be used for anything other then slow paced shooting in your backyard. They're light, which means they're inaccurate as hell, the shell is so soft, that with little force, you can squeeze, and morph/break the ball. They're so soft, they would chop in my gun when I'd shoot fast... even though I have an ACS. I was somewhat upset. One popped so bad, it filled my hopper, and caused the following 2 balls to break, worst mess I've seen to date. Also, sometimes they'd swell up in my buddy's gun. To the point it would block his hopper, and he'd have to remove it, and push it out with his finger.(He was unhappy with his bucket as well) And believe it or not, these things stink. Yes, I said Stink. When you open the bucket, you're overwhelmed by a mild stench. And they're kind of greasey, like when you man handle them, they leave a greasy residue on your hands. Most unappealing. All in all, I don't think I would even recommend this for rook's. If they're all you can afford... then proceed with Caution.
Conclusion: Hmm... bad quality... But inexpensive... Doesn't balance out to me... If you want good cheap balls, go with Hotbox.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cryptkeeper Thursday, July 17th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months7 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
rocks
Marker Setup: a5, flatline, bigshot nitro
Recommended
Barrels:
aa, tear drop, progressive, j&j ceramic
Strengths: thick shell
Weaknesses: never sure 100% of the color- they are 2nds, bounce alot
Review: cheap, great woods ballf or weekend warrior type, leaves descent marks and shoots very straite for the price, able to cut down small trees and bore though concrete bunkers-lol very hard round thick shell, excellent sniper ball. never breaks in the gun or on other players just makes them scream for help. great to use agaist little punk speed ball players. who mommy and daddy buys them every thing- cant buy enough pain killers for the crybabies-jk
Conclusion: great price store real well,color nice, and make people go crying for their mommies to kiss their hurts
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
13 Comments - Add Comment

jaskel1469 Sunday, December 7th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Blue Streaks, Dusks
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with RT trigger, expansion chamber and 32 degrees Whisper barrel
Recommended
Barrels:
Only tried the whisper barrel and saw the performance of a J&J Ceramic
Strengths: Thick fill (for the wipers)
Cheap (on sale)
Thisk shell
Weaknesses: Divots in some of the paint from where it sat on its side
Review: Well me and my buddy went out and got this paint because Sports Authority had it on sale for 24.99 for 1500, so we picked up a couple of boxes to just see how it worked. We took the paint out yesterday and ran through probably 1000 in weather that was like 29-40 degrees, not the best testing weather but heres how it went. First when we opened each of our two boxes we both had 4 good bags of paint and two bags that may have had a one ball broken at most in them, no biggie. We got out to the feild and loaded up and started to play, and the paint flew really well, nothing extrememly wild, and for the most part really tight groupings on our targets. I went all day and manged to chop one ball in the barrel, and it wasnt that big a deal, just shot another round through and the barrel was cleaned out ready to go again. The paint had a very nice thick fill, and I cant think of one time where you couldnt tell where we hit our opponents at, along with that the shell is pretty sturdy, flying through so thicker grasses and branches and not exploding but still breaking everytime on the opponent.

The only real noticible problem was only a problem on occasion. Upon loading up my hopper and pods, you could see some of the paint was flatened on one side or had a divot in it, and if it didnt set long enough in the hopper of had a chance to reform. it tokk some interesting curves, but it really was like 1 in a 100 that did it.
Conclusion: Overall I am very satisfied with this paint, I untill i find more weaknesses i will continue to use it, very reliable doesnt chop in your barrel, and doesnt let the wipers get away with anything
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bbrp54 Friday, March 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
XBall Bronze, PMI Premium, ZAP Tork, XBall Silver
Marker Setup: Spyder
M98
Recommended
Barrels:
J&J Ceramic, J&J Full Tilt, SP All American, etc.
Strengths: Roundness
Breaks on Contact
Price
Weaknesses: Different Balls have Different Quality
Review: I have used several different colors of these balls.

The Pink/Yellow Shell with Pink fill is the best. It breaks easily on contact. My CO was longballing and hit a fellow player in the groin area twice with both breaking. It shoots through breaks easily (J&J Ceramic) quickly.

The Blue/Green Shell with Blue fill is decent. It breaks on contact most of the time. I was shooting at players less than 25 yards away and 2 of 3 just bounced.
Conclusion: At Academy 2,000 balls only cost $30. This is the best ball for those people who cannot afford shooting higher priced balls all the time. The Pink/Yellow shell is the best to buy.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbjoe693 Sunday, March 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Zap sport series - not as good
PMI Big Ball - really good
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
Flatine barrel
Response Trigger
Viewloader Evlution 2
Recommended
Barrels:
any
Strengths: Good Shell
Flys straught
Thick fill
Cheap
Comes with bucket
Weaknesses: Smells like Sh*t
Some balls are not circle
Review: These are good balls for practicing or playing it the woods. They have a thick fill so there hard to wipe. Me and my friend fired 500 of them and none of them broke in the barrel. They are a great price too. Where I go they are $29.99 for a bucket of 1500 paintballs. The only bad things are they smell like sh*t and somethimes the balls are not circles. They got dents in them. These are great paintballs and they are a great price.
Conclusion: These are great paintballs.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

kruelness Monday, July 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Too many to list
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom Silver (M-4 Mock up to be)
- Collapsible Stock
-GTA Double Trigger
-3pt. tactical sling
-Vl Revi
-DOP Rocket Cock II
-GTA expansion chamber
-Response trigger

-32 Degrees
* Remote
* 4+1 Belt
* Gloves
-JT Masks *2
-VL elbow and hoppers *2
Recommended
Barrels:
Any Barrel will work
Strengths: Doesn't break unless you gun really hates it.
CHEAP
Flies fairly straight
Bright blue
Weaknesses: Stinks but who cares
If it breaks its really sludgy
Review: Me and my buddies really liked Draxxus paint,aka Diablo, but it was getting expensive for how much we played so we sent to Canadian Tire and got some BE paint cosing a little less, well I bought the new stuff which is yellow and my buddy bought the old stuff which is in a red shell I think. Well mine was great his broke every other ball. So we said enough with BE, also because the price difference was minimal. We then headed to the dreaded Walmart, quivers. We picked up 2000 rounds of zap in buckets for $40 Canadian. We took it out and have been happy ever since. Be it that we save a good $35 over the draxxus paint we stick with it for Rec ball. it flies straight and it has a thick shell adn thick paint. But you better make sure you can all your cleaning supplies for your mask and gun just in case you do get one to break. It is like molasses.
Conclusion: Its cheap and definitely great for REC ball. Get it and you will not regret it.

Finally,
Have fun out there and make sure to leave your mark.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, October 16th, 2004 at 11:51 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

RDG Monday, April 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Blue Streaks, Winchesters, all the rest...
Recommended
Barrels:
My JJ Ceramic was sized perfectly for these. Progrssives great as well.
Strengths: CHEAP!!!
Very consistant for the price
Few dimples
Weaknesses: Not very brittle
Some inconsistancies
Shell isn't bright
Review: These were only $45 for 2000 at Wal-Mart (and that's as cheapest by far in Canada). Wow, I was amazed at how great these were for the price. There were very few dimples, and they were small--definitely on par with anything by Draxxus/Diablo. The bore size was very close to perfect for barrels that don't have different bored backs (like my Ceramic). I would say 1/10 had a size or seam inconsistancy that affects accuracy, but thus far none have been too large to create a break (note: I operate at 500 psi). The fill very, very thick. I don't like this because although it prevents wiping, it doesn't create a large paint area. Fill in most other paintballs is designed to absorb in to prevent wiping, and I would rather see this. Also, the fill and shell are very dark, although some may view the shell being dark as a strength (hardy for the opposing players to see).

All in all, a great product. It has its weaknesses, but factoring in the price this scores a 9 on my scale any day. Some companies try to sell the same type product for twice as much. Zap is my favorite company to buy from for paintballs, thanks to products like this and the Spank series.
Conclusion: Not the best rec paintballs, in my opinion, but second only to the Spank series which Zap also creates (which can be purchased for $2 more per case, but is rare to find). Honestly, if small problems like the hard shell, dark fill, and rare inconsistancies were worked out, this would be tournament-grade paint.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Purple Monkey 0 Sunday, June 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Triax Patriot
Marker Setup: Spyder TL-R W/16in. Barrel (a stock gun)
Recommended
Barrels:
A larger bore they are pretty big
Strengths: Thick Fill
Usually Break
Cheap
Thick shell
Weaknesses: Some odd shaped 5 out of 2000
Review: My dad bought these because we were playing the next day and couldn't get better paint and I was some what satisfied. They shot staight with little curves to the right (every ball did this with no wind). And the fill is a dark blue like the shell and horribly thick the refs can see it hit. In woods ball they work really good you can't really see it that well if it coming at you and won't give away your position. I went though a case found about 5 to 7 malformed balls but none got in my gun.
Conclusion: Since the gun I use doesn't allow me to shoot that fast it won't chop.
The 8 is because it curves and those seams are deep and themishaped ones.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (16):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media