paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Palmers Pursuit Shop Typhoon / Palmers Pursuit Shop Typhoon / Palmers Pursuit Shop Typhoon / Palmers Pursuit Shop Typhoon

Palmers Pursuit Shop Typhoon Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Palmers Pursuit Shop

Buy Palmers Pursuit Shop Typhoon

Paintball High-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Palmers Pursuit Shop Typhoon
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 26
Average Rating: 9.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $585

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Prices start at $585 for vertical bottle. Bottom line (shown above) is $645. Back bottle is $618. Dual bottle (both vertical and back) is $660. A double barrel version is $828.
Product Availability 
The Palmers Pursuit Shop Typhoon is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Slipstream Friday, June 7th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Typhoon, Stroker, Autococker all similar accuracy and same trigger issues
Angel IR3, accurate, easy trigger, but way more $$$
Marker Setup: Hurricane w/ muzzle break, PPS Stabilizer, 12v Revvy, Remote Line
Recommended
Upgrades:
Pro-Touch Trigger
Strengths: Seeing as a Hurricane is really just a Typhoon with a wood stock... I used this marker as a KP-2 DF pump for 4 years, had it upgraded by PPS, and have had it as a Hurricane for 8 years. I'm going to split my rating by the factors everyone asks me about it.

Uniqueness: 10.0, My friend also has a Typhoon and when players see that bright silver finish there are always oohs and aahs. When I take out the Hurricane with its wood stock, I'm surrounded by players going whoa, wow, and what is that? The seasoned players that recognize it just nod their heads.
Appearance: 9.5, I kept the stock on mine because of the unusual tiger stripe wood grain.
Accuracy: 9.5, Not only is it a Typhoon, but the wood stock provides a great shooting platform. Many players try to use their tank as a stock, but a Hurricane includes the real thing. For repeat firing, the lack of kick on a PPS marker is very helpful.
Timing: 9.5, Unlike the Autococker, all PPS markers come timed. The only thing you might ever have to adjust is the recock pressure. It takes all of about 60 seconds to do, and you only check if the temperature changes +/- 40 F.
Durability: 10.0, It is a tank. The phrase "nigh invulnerable" comes to mind.
Maintenance: 10.0, Let's see. I've replaced a few bolt o-rings maybe 3 times in the past 8 years. Every few cases, you put a drop or two of oil into the air line, fire it about 20 times, and that it. Period.
Cleaning: 10.0, Stripdown - less than five seconds. Off the field, you can pull the bolt and run a squeegee through it twice in about 15 seconds. Double that time to 30 seconds on the field (pocketing the bolt, mask interference.)
Snap-Shooting: 9.0, Amazingly, even with the stock, the Hurricane still allows you to pop out and get back to cover amazingly fast. The accuracy means you only need to get a few shots off when you snap-shoot.
Air Efficiency: 9.0, Run a 20oz CO2 tank, and I can fire 1200 shots without worries. The marker runs perfectly fine on CO2. It also runs fine on HPA. The only advantage a PPS marker gets from HPA is the reduction in velocity swings during a long summer day as the temperature changes.
Weaknesses: ROF: 7.5, When I got this marker, I would have rated its ROF as a 9.0, but now with all the electros available, I realize that it could be faster. This is not to say that I have not laid down my own cover fire in the past month and strolled at a walk from one bunker to another when playing vs. non-electros. You can leisurely do 5-6 bps, and get 8 bps when focused. My Hurricane uses the older single trigger and the pro-touch double trigger is significantly faster.
Paint Match: 8.5, When I have the option, I'll use new Marbelizer and have absolutely no issues. When forced to use 5 month old paint (by the field), however, I have to expect breaks and reduced accuracy. A Freak barrel system, as I have seen on the other hand, can use the largest insert and cut down on that problem.
Trigger Pull: 6.0, This is the single biggest issue players have with the Palmers and Autocockers - short stroking. It simply takes practice to learn how to pull the trigger completely and release.
Misc: 9.0, The ball detent is just a small ball on a spring wire on the outside of the marker. Occassionally, when cleaining it at home, you might take it off (takes about 3 seconds) and forget to put it back on. Carry a spare with you to the field and you'll be fine.
Conclusion: I've listed over a dozen things, and the average works out to be: 9.0

Looking at the "bad" you'll see that most of it is simply the limitations, such as ROF & trigger pull, apply to all mechanical markers. Quite simply put, I don't think you will find a better all around non-electro semi-auto marker out there. Of the electros, only the newest Angels can hope to match a PPS marker for both accuracy AND durability.

I am happy to find, that after even 8 years of use, I still own a top of the line semi-auto. The fact that is still one of the best values out there too is simply a happy coincidence.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, March 29th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder; 'Cocker; Mag; Stroker; curren Hurricane started life as KP series rifle, converted to DF in '87; converted to semi in '92
Marker Setup: I run a Palmer's Hurricane with full custom stock, 45 frame, vertical Palmer's Rock reg; HP system is run remote. Bolt is one-peice delrin.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I managed to fit an STO valve into my 'Cane. Worth the effort.
Strengths: Not actually running a Typhoon, but having a vertical bottle Hurricane set up pistol grip, the only difference is really in the back-body section, where I retain the ultra-heavy stainless steel rifle hammer and rocker action trigger, so I figure (having shot both Typhoons and Strokers) that the disparities are minimal.

Amazing accuracy aside, I'd have to say the best feature of me Hurricane is durability-- and I mean that in terms of no breakdowns, and the fact that I've been using it regularly for over 10 years. Other markers have come and gone, but my Hurricane will never leave.

Playing in a rec-ball game about 5 years back, a buddy of mine called me over to lay suppresing fire up a hillside across the ravine from him. Firing uphill, into heavy brush, I took out two opposition players better than 50 yards away. Thats Palmer's.
Weaknesses: The big bolt and hammer mean that the ram has to be run hard-- around 800psi-- anything lower will start to effect velocity. I've gotten mine down to around 700psi with a ported valve, lightened bolt, and different rate springs-- but take that as a problem specific to the Hurricane-- my buddy's Typhoon runs down around 500psi.
Conclusion: I've seen pretty much every gun you can imagine on the field at one time or another. And while load of nicely anodized aluminum are at times quite tempting, and 14bps has a nice ring to it, it's tough to beat insane accuracy, awesome reliability, and the ever-present comments at the field of "Wow! What kind is that?!?" I've carried it in tourneys, walk-on, and over a decade of recball. It can't be beat.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Avery Saturday, April 27th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Cockers, custom modified cockers, PPS Blazer
Marker Setup: 98 Custom, everything on it.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A Palmer Reg, that's it, and it comes with one, (you did buy one, right?)
Strengths: Well, it's unique, hand made, stylish, neat and cool. It fires very nicely and has good consistancy.
Weaknesses: Trigger pull is longer and harder than some tourney guns, but I don't mind. Range is only OK.
Review: It's a custom marker with excellent accuracy and consistancy, very little kick, small size, and tough body. It outperforms any stock cocker, and many custom cockers I have shot, for that matter. It comes complete, with all you need. You can run it on CO2 very well; I had a friend rapid fire a whole 20 oz tank out of it, darn near froze his hand to the marker and still the thing performed the same as the first shot!

I have to compare it with a Cocker because that's the only other closed -bolt pneumatic gun I've shot, and it's a copy of the Typhoon! (edit: I've used a PPS Blazer now as well, the Blazer is faster, but seems slightly less sturdy and I don't think you can convert to pump play on a Blazer).

The trigger pull is snappier than on a Cocker. While you might say you slide or glide with a Cocker, this thing pops and snaps out shots. Very nice. Even though I only took perhaps 100 shots, it was very fun and impressive.

In 30 seconds you can even convert it to a pump marker and back, way faster than you can convert from a Sniper II to an Autococker. I'm sure you could even get PPS to put a removable stock feed on it for you.

Highly recommend.
Conclusion: Oh baby, this one truthfully gets a 9.6 - damn near perfect for a pump and semi marker. Now, if they only came with an electro mode...
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, March 11th, 2003 at 8:47 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

gandhi85 Saturday, February 23rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I've used lots of things, but I'd have to say nothing really compares. Its operation is like a cocker only i find that it is more accurate, and in the right hands, its as fast as a mag.
Marker Setup: Just plain old stock....vert tank rf. I don't even have a ported barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Either porting or a muzzle break (or both)
Bottom line
Protouch if you don't like the stock pull
Some kind of vert foregrip..either gas through or a reg
Strengths: This beauty is really impressive. It looks really nice and the time i finally got to use it I got a bunch of compliments and a lot of "what kinda gun is this?"

Well i bought it around christmas time and finally got to use it for the first time yesterday (2 months after xmas). The accuracy and range is crazy. Sure, people will argue that the same velocities should shoot the same range, but go ahead and shoot a phoon a couple of times and a mag a couple of times (to make sure there are no fluke shots) and you'll see how much farther the phoon shoots. Even though it has a 2step trigger, it is surprisingly fast. I got into a firefight at a distance of like 10 feet going through soft cover (I don't know we we each tried to shoot through it) and I was shooting faster than I thought I would. Unfortnately, I'm stupid so I short stroked pretty bad like twice leading to two straight chops. Right after the shots were pretty bad, but it almost shot through later on (maybe 10 balls). I would say around something like 95%% accuracy returned for the rest of the day with just a pull through squeegee (it all returned after thourough cleaning). That cleaning went really fast; it took less than 10 minutes. The weight feels nice in your hands but I'm not a fan of vert tank (I had to save money to buy xmas presents so I got this the cheapest possible way). It felt a little unbalanced to me (with the tank where it was) and I'm sure bottom line will fix this. It is compact, too. Only 16 inches I believe (the same length as a newbie barrel). Its also pretty quiet , even without any kind of porting, which makes you feel secure in woods play.
Weaknesses: There really ins't anything too bad. It might be a bit pricey, but I have nothing else to spend money on and I'm really glad I invested in this. The weight might be a problem for the girlier players, but it balances nicely. It might also be slow for a spoiled player that only can use electros (cef).
My only true grievances are that it doesn't shoot through breaks right away and the upgrades are expensive (hey, its a pain that I have to buy a umb as well as an asa).
Conclusion: This is a really great gun. I would reccommend it to those who want something different and something they can really enjoy. Using it, I laughed, I cried, and a peed in my pants just a little. If i could give it a 9.9 I would (only because it WOULD be nice to shoot just a little quicker, but I'd rather sacrifice some speed for accuracy). But I'm giving it a 10 becuase it is the perfect gun and it's the only gun I've ever owned that I won't think about selling for a long, long time.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, April 11th, 2001
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: Looks- gets a plus, it is really unique, and it looks pretty damn good
Accuracy-unreal, unreal, unreal- i was putting shots on top of shots at 50ft at least 12.
Reliablitity-have not had one timing or maint problem in 1 year
Maint- wipe it off, oil it- done takes no time
size- realtivley small compared to most guns- but about the same size as an autococker
*it is a great snap shooting gun
trigger- short and sweet- but it is possible to short stroke and after firing 500 rounds continuously my hard was seriously fatigued.
Over all- i am very impressed by the gun
Weaknesses: Trigger- it is short and easy to pull off at leat 9+ bps, i don't want to say heavy but-after long firing strings- my hand is tired, but you do get used to it-and it makes it so when using other guns you can fire even faster(like with my dark angel and freeflow)
Weight- at first it bothered me, then it didn't(i got used to it), now it is bothering me again- it is nowhere near as light as my cocker or angel- but the weight does help steady the gun a lot
Put it on a ups scale-gun, tank, hopper= 12lbs-forearm trouble if you are a p#ssy-hehehe(takes some getting used to)
These are my two personal "bads"- you may not feel the same way- these are in no way related to gun performance
Conclusion: Great gun-most accurate thing i have found- i have freak kits, boom sticks, cp's, smart parts, jj, etc.
It is a high quality construction gun- never falls out of timing, nothing ever breaks
fires through any conditions

It does have a limtied upgrade path- for those that like to personalize the 'cr@p out of ther gun
i did not find this to be "bad"- it was done for me right out of the box-got every option-custom anno job too
The heavy factor might not sit well with people, the trigger does not bother me
- it is one of those guns that you can treat well, cr@p on somtimes, leave it in the closet all winter(assuming you don't paly in the winter) pick it up in april and have if work without any troubles
Lastly- i find it's superior marking(accuracy) capabilties to cause me to go through less paint than with my freeflow or angel-these are both higclass guns as well
I feel it is hard to say it is any better than my cocker or angel-each gun brings a diff style of play and therefore cannot be compared except against style of play- each performs completely different in different circumstances-one shoots much faster, one is lighter, and one is a completely custom dream machine- so dont' comment and say my XXXX gun is better than this because you just may be right perhaps that xxxxx gun is the right one for you, and i respect that, every palyer is different.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Remjin Sunday, July 27th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Automag, Auto-cocker, VM-68
Marker Setup: Typhoon w/ Vertical ASA, bottom-line, gas-through stock, remote, 20 oz CO2, VL200,
Recommended
Upgrades:
I liked the stock, maybe a sight of some sort.
Strengths: Reliable, Fast, Accurate, great customer service!
Weaknesses: Some people hate the trigger.
Review: EDIT: This is for the Typhoon I owned from 1994-1998, things may have changed.

In essence, the Typhoon was everything the cocker wanted to be without the need to stick with the original cocker body. The typhoon used much of the same system including the closed bolt, three-way valve, and pneumatic ram... but rather than use it to make a rear block and all that junk go back and forth and leaving all the tubes and such open in the front, and being a lot less finicky.

Of course, that assumes you don't mess with it. Like the old saying goes for auto-cockers: once its tuned right, LEAVE IT ALONE!

I just got the basic typhoon with the fixed barrel. It worked great. You did have to use large bore paint, though. =) However, there was a version that let you change barrels and all that, and I think there still is... so if you want that, there ya go. Otherwise, it worked great, and unlike many... I could get a lot of balls to fly through that thing.

Here's why: most people nowadays like very light triggers. That's all fine and dandy. That's great for target shooting and the like with actual guns, and it helps people flutter their finger(s) when they shoot. I came up on revolver triggers and the like, which can be very heavy. To shoot a heavy trigger fast, you have to simply learn to pull smoothly and evenly and then just let it go. The return trigger spring on this bad boy is quite heavy, it will literally throw your finger forward. You don't have to do anything except pull it (or press it, if you like gunny talk). Short stroking is just a matter of not pulling the trigger fully to the rear, and mostly happens to people who just want to click the trigger back. This is much like a double-action trigger stroke in that sense. Learn to do that simple thing, and you'll be shooting it up just fine with all the big boys. You may not get 25+ bps or anything insane like that, but you can get up into the 10-15 zone, maybe more. I never actually counted or anything, I just got asked if the thing was fully automatic. Maybe I just have fast fingers.

If you can aim worth a fart, this thing points nice and is very accurate. Most accurate gun I ever shot. That's because the barrel is really nice. Use the big bore paint, unless they've changed that in the more recent production runs.

Its easy to maintain. Take it in the shower with you if you want. Just be sure to clean anything out if you managed to break anything in there, run a squeegee through it, dry it off, and oil it up again. Just put some oil in the ASA (just a drop or two) before gassing it up and make sure you oil the bolt. Bingo, its all good. I didn't run a regulator back then, they were new and expensive, but it would likely help, but I didn't have trouble keeping it in the velocity range without one.

Oh, if you don't like the trigger, its a simple fix. Open it up, the trigger return spring is a big old coil spring. You just pop out one of the feet and it reduces the trigger pull significantly. The way I shot it, that just made me short-stroke it, so I put the spring back the way it was, but for those who like a lighter trigger, it seemed to work for a lot of people.
Conclusion: Great mechanical marker, easy to use and maintain, and awesomely accurate. Perhaps not for everyone, since it isn't particularly fancy, but it was always a work horse that got the job done and more. Highly recommended.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, July 27th, 2008 at 2:16 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sonnemann Monday, January 10th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pug...also PPS, just as solid and reliable.
Cockers- lighter, but not as smooth.
Marker Setup: Viking
Timmy
etc
Recommended
Upgrades:
UMB or back bottle
Shartley grips
Spring feed conversion...for cool people.
Stabilizer, x1 or x2
QEVs
Widgets
Strengths: Smooth
Solid
Reliable
Weaknesses: Relative weight
Review: Now, when I say "smooth", you wouldn't understand unless you've shot a Palmers gun (or at the very best a Palmeized cocker.) Picking it up for the first time is an experience all its own. Yes, it's made of brass. Yes, it's going to be heavier than an aluminum gun (if you've got issues...get a Blazer.) But feeling that few pounds of weight in your hands just makes you fall in love with it.

Then you shoot it. The trigger is so crisp and so light that you wonder why you're not shortstroking this thing, but there it is in your hands humming away. Quick as any cocker, with a longer profile and a lot cooler IMO.

With this comes the incredible PPS warranty, service, etc...but you'll never really need to send your gun in for any service. Mine was old, quite old; but it had only been refurbushed once (orings wear out on everything; can't do much about that) and it was still shooting as well as any cocker or similar gun I've ever owned.


Conclusion: In the honored Palmers tradition...quite possibly the best mechanical semi ever created.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jordan98 Saturday, September 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Numerous Autocockers I've built for myself.
A Mag
A Typhoon
A BBT Stroker
99 Shocker with Glacier A/T board
Marker Setup: Hurricane
12" spiral vented barrel
Female Stabilizer setup
12V Revolution with Pre-BE shells.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A set of PMI rubber grips, if you don't like the battle grips
A PTTJ
Spiral venting of the barrel
Stabilizer of some sort
Strengths: Accuracy and range
Weaknesses: None.
Review: The accuracy and effective range are unbelievable. I've shot people through 3 inch holes in bunkers from 75 feet away, through spaces in trees, etc. Exceptionally accurate, and very consistent with CO2 as long as you have a Stabilizer on it. Perfectly balanced too.

For those with a Shocker reading this review - shoots just like one.

I bought it used. Never let me down. I ended up selling it to a guy in Florida so I could finance my next PPS product - the uber-rare Hurricane.

Perfectly balanced too. For those with a Shocker reading this review - shoots just like one.
Conclusion: Buy one. They might be expensive, but it's worth it. They're a lot more reliable then most Cockers, and easier to use.

I've never regretted buying one - I don't think you will either.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

slasherdan Thursday, September 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Palmer Hurricane
Zeus G1
Marker Setup: PPS Hurricane
Palmer Female Stabilizer
SWATForce Red Dot Scope
Empire Reloader
Palmer Squall
Recommended
Upgrades:
None ... well maybe a cheap Red Dot sight if you don't plan on using a holster.
I ordered mine with a 45 frame, quick silver quick change, and custom ball stopper.
Strengths: Looks
Feel
SMOOTH action
accuracy
easy of use and field strip
Weaknesses: Tad front heavy. Got used to it by the 13th ball out of the marker.
Review: This review is for the Palmer Squall. Which is a cut down version of the Typhoon and used as a pistol on 12 grams.
All I can say it that after shooting this thing I will most likely be getting a normal Typhoon as well. This thing rocks ... most paintball pistol are just that. This thing is a paintgun who's barrel is cut down to pistol size.
The length is perfect and with the nickel coat it is definately intimidating.
Conclusion: If you have the money and willing to spend this on an expensive pistol, this is the gun for you. You will know where the money went the moment you see and hold this marker. Though it is made to be a marker, it surpasses all lower end and mid end markers. It surpasses my pump and Hurricane .....
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

mckevern Thursday, August 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
98c
A-5
VM-68
PPS Houndstooth
Marker Setup: PPS Hurricane
Palmer Female Stabilizer
SWATForce Red Dot Scope
Empire Reloader
Recommended
Upgrades:
NONE
Strengths: Accuracy
Looks
Accuracy
Did I mention that it's accurate.
EXCELLENT CRAFSMANSHIP AND CUSTOMER SUPPORT
Weaknesses: A little heavy but WHO CARES. It's unfortunate that these are no longer made....
Review: I swear I could have heard angels sing when I unwrapped this thing after I got it back from Palmer. The KP-3 had been transformed into a mean piece of autococking painting equipment. At 75 feet I had a 4 inch grouping ..... Simply AWESOME ....

The wood stock actually gives it some real class in the appearance department.

Looking into attaching a sling on this baby to make it a little easier to carry, but WHO CARES ....
Conclusion: This gun ROCKS ... If you get your hands on an old sheridan KP rifle .... send it in to Palmer for either the Hurricane conversion or just to fine tune the pump into a butt whooping marker ....
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media