paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Custom Products Grip Regulator / Custom Products Grip Regulator / Custom Products Grip Regulator / Custom Products Grip Regulator

Custom Products Grip Regulator Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Custom Products

Buy Custom Products Grip Regulator

Paintball Regulators

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Custom Products Grip Regulator
[ View Photos (23) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 111
Average Rating: 9.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $80

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
There is a little version and a larger version of this regulator.
Product Availability 
The Custom Products Grip Regulator is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (12):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
DW_Justin Tuesday, September 2nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month35 of 36 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
BKO stock reg - CP is like a million times better :)
Marker Setup: Black 2k3 BKO (diamond milled) with a 2k2 trigger frame
Pure Energy 68/3000 HPA
12vt Revolution w/ Vortex
Vapor Bolt
Vapor Valve
Mitey Max
SP mod
Full freak system with stainless steel back
CP regulator
Strengths: Consistent
Efficient
Compact
seems very well constructed
lots of colors
THE PRICE
Weaknesses: some dont like the looks of it, but it looks great on my bko
Review: A few weeks ago I decided it was time to move on from my stock BKO reg and get something better. I asked Travis about the Dye Hyper reg and the sidewinder, and he said they were both good regs, but that the new CP reg actually kept up and surpassed both of them in some key areas. I decided to get the reg and the bottom extender piece for about an extra $7

I decided to give it a shot, the price is right for about $60, and even though I was skeptical when I tested it I was in awe. The reg preformed simply amazing. I took it out of the box and unscrewed it to have a look inside, everything looked thoughtfully put together and well lubed. I hooked up my hpa and started increasing the pressure...the gauge creeped up with NO sticking as my stock reg had done so frequently. The first shot came out fine so I decided to do a rapid fire shoot of about 20-30 paintballs...there was NO visible shootdown and it seemed to have a really good recharge rate.

the reg also comes with a 5 YEAR WARRANTY in the box.
Conclusion: if you're in the market for a new regulator the new CP reg should definately be amonst the top of your list. Its alot cheeper than most of the new regs out today, looks very well constructed, and can easily outperform a number of competitors. It also comes with a 5 year warranty to boot. Great work CP! I'm glad I bought this reg and saved money over something like a dye or sidewinder.

I think travis put it best when he said "the preformance of a sidewinder at the cost of a torpedo"
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, July 21st, 2004 at 2:33 pm PST
I found this review  
42 Comments - Add Comment

Muzungu_Mbaya Friday, December 5th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months21 of 22 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Torpedo, Stock ICD, Works, Gladiator, Kingman
CP Grip reg is the best by far.
Marker Setup: B2K3
Works E-blade
CenterFlag Screw-in 4500/68
Strengths: small
bottom inlet
consistent
almost zero-maintenance
Weaknesses: structure failed when subjected to 4500 psi accidentally (see below)
Review: All of my guns have to have bottom inlet regs so that I don't have to remove the trigger frame in order to perform maintenance on them. This basically limits my choices to the Sidewinder (too expensive), Gladiator (never worked right, even after rebuild kit), and now the CP Grip reg.

I used a Gladiator for over a year, and it was the biggest headache, so when the CP reg came out, I quickly replaced the Glad with it, and never looked back.

I recently chronoed my B2K with a CP reg on it: 284 284 284 283 284 284 285

I used to use a Conquest system that suffered from the same maladies as the Gladiator. It blew a burst disk while filling when the reg decided to spontaneously transmute into a gas-thru (even though it was turned off!), and I mistakenly grabbed a 7500 BD to replace it. The same problem occured later on that day resulting in 4500 psi going straight into the Grip reg which caused the aluminum to fatigue and the oring that seals the two halves of the reg together popped out and ruptured (thankfully, otherwise the local paintball field would be minus one employee) I threw the Conquest in the trash where it belongs, and put a CenterFlag preset on the old tank, put a bigger o-ring on the CP reg and tried it out again. It still worked. For safety reasons, I'm going to replace the bottom half anyway, but I'm still amazed that it would continue to perform flawlessly after suffering a catastrophic failure.

These things will work great with a minimum of maintenance, and seem to be nearly immune to "dirty air."

I would not use them with CO2 since the seat is a soft plastic that could freeze and therefore leak. I don't really consider this to be a weakness since it was clearly not designed for this gas type.
Conclusion: I'll never use anything else. I own two (including one of the new Shocktech versions) and am looking to buy two more. A perfect design deserves a perfect score.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

reneirwolf878 Sunday, May 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stabilizer, GenX 2, Torpedo, Vert MaxFlo, CiP Powerstation, Vigilante, so many more
Marker Setup: 2003 Cocker, CP grip reg, CP 2 piece barrels, Belsales Hollowpoint, STO Ram, MacDev Sonic LPR, Dye swing, KAPP cocking rod and CiP Unimount.
Strengths: Looks, customizable
Weaknesses: Price
Review: When first looking at the reg I noticed that the milling and chrome were flawless. I also saw thh spiffy CP logos which are also cool.

Anyways, the reg comes in 3 different sizes and has two gauge ports to make mounting a gauge possible from any angle. If I didn't want a gauge CP also included two shiney plugs. The input for the fitting is on the bottem, which allows any find of fitting to be used from any angle, a big plus, since it leaves room on the actual reg itself to be used as a grip.

Now, onto performance. I broke it in by shooting about 500 old balls in my backyard. Once I got to the field I had to chrono. It was easy, all I needed was an allen wrench. I was getting +/- 3! 275, 275, 276, 275, 274, 277, 276, 278, 275. Needless to say I was extremely pleased. Throughout the day I was putting shot on shot. I did not experience shootdown of spikes.
Conclusion: Great reg! If you can find it cheap get it!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Kingman27 Saturday, September 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
WGP Stock reg
WGP Ergo reg
various regs on different markers..
Cp>all
Marker Setup: WGP 2k4 vf cocker
CP2Piece
CP Reg
CT 3Way
Dye Gauge
Eclipse Mech Blade Frame
Dye Sticky 3s
Reloader
Centerflag 47/3k
Strengths: -Consistant
-Looks
-Comfy
-Made by CP
-Everything else
Weaknesses: No.
Review: I love this reg.. Once you get its awesomeness all the way broken in, its consistancy is insanly good..The first day it was jumping around, like most regs before it was broken in.. not exactly inconsistant, just fps changing slowly gradually..Like at first i got it to 280fps, then next came it was at like 300fps, turned it down to 280fps..next game i got back and its like 250fps..Then on the second day of use, it owned..I got it to around the 270fps area, and then shot a few..and it's like +/- 1 or 2 fps..its crazy.. 270,270,272,271,270..i love it..It also recharges faaaast, never drops off or anything..

CP Regs are amazing..The price is pretty good too.. $75..i while ago that seemed like alot for a good reg, but now thats a good deal for something this awesome..I mean like detonators, 2litres, there like $100+, and you definetally dont need anything better than the CP Reg.
Conclusion: Buy one, they're really awesome.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

4tene Tuesday, June 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra 2004(TL-X w/ rear cocking) w/ Spyder Rocking Trigger, twisted volumizer, CP Medium Regulator, macroline fittings, and Delrin ACS bolt. Evlution II w/ Z-board, Bulldog 47 c.i. 3000k.
Strengths: Regulates air flow! Comes in FOUR sizes. Small, medium, medium long and long.***
Weaknesses: None?
Review: Well... my spyder's consistency was god awful. 5 shots... 273, 254, 261, 270, 244. I was in awe. I immediately went and checked out the regulator's behind the counter, and this particular one caught my eye. Bought it (NOT CHEAP), installed it, found the sweet spot, chrono'ed, now I shoot at 275, problem free.
Conclusion: Well, it looks good, regulates, and has a macroline fitting installed. Only missing a port for a guage, but that's no big deal.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, July 17th, 2005 at 2:32 pm PST
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

call_me_jum Wednesday, January 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
WDP Mini Reg
Marker Setup: A4 Fly
68/4500 Conquest
CP Reg
Magnetic MT trigger
Tadao
Strengths: Looks wicked
Fairly consistant
Easy to use
Weaknesses: Will not break apart to lube it, rebuild it, etc.
Review: Bought this reg after I got sick of my Mini Reg getting +/- 15 fps. When I put it on, I noticed how good it looked. Consistancy out of the box was +/- 8 or so. Not too shabby. Once broken in, I could get +/- 3 on a good day. Sometimes, I would get less than a foot per second variation between shots. 298.4, 298.6, 298.3, etc. Wow.

One BIG problem though... This reg will not come apart. After a year of owning it, it needs to be greased. Ater consulting the manual on CP's website, I have concluded that their method for taking tis thing apart is a load of BS. They describe it as grabbing the reg, twisting, and it will break apart in your hands. Hell no. Mine is locktited, glued, AND welded together at the seams. Not literally, but yeah. It's tight as hell. I scratched it trying to take it apart. I emailed CP, and they haven't responded yet. It's been a week. My performance is beginning to suffer. I'm getting pissed. Until I see otherwise, I'm not all that impressed.

Edit-Score raised. See comments..
Conclusion: Don't buy unless you want a disposable, albeit pretty good quality, reg.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, January 26th, 2006 at 7:58 pm PST
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

Streaks Saturday, August 9th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
1 year5 of 24 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock WGP reg, AKA Sidewinder, Palmer Stabilizer (male and female), etc..
Marker Setup: Shutter
Lapco Stainless Autospirit
Spudnukle bolt
Madman Rocket Valve
Madman spring kit
Sprint frame
Check-it 15° ASA
Shocktech drop
CP on/off
Palmer Stabilizer
12v revy
Strengths: It's easy to adjust
Very compact if that's what your looking for
consistant
Weaknesses: Seems to not get along well with Co2!
ours is freezing!
Review: I had problems initially with this due to the fact that (as many pointed out, and thank you for your help), I was running a remote with an antisiphon installed on the tank (DOH). But, after finding this out, I quickly went to JUST the remote and the reg did a lot better. However it still has issues with Co2 under rapid fire.

When I put an HPA bottle on it works just fine. So if you plan on running HPA then this is a very good reg. I've read in a few places that they use MacDev's design or are contracted through them somehow....probably just scuttlebutt. But this one is very consistant when using HPA.
Conclusion: So, if your planning to run HPA or Nitro I'd say to pick this one up. It is very easy to adjust and seems to be constructed very well to boot. I'd say to look at a Bob Long Torpedo reg if you are on Co2 as I've heard they handle it well or even better, a Palmer Stabilizer which is the best I've found so far for C02. I've heard rumors that it's made on MacDev's tools but don't quote me as it's just rumor *cough*Pevs*cough* ; ) I would reccomend this product to those using HPA.

Though, I have seen that the longer units sport some kind of oddball thread situation on their bottom port. I'm getting one soon (direct trade for this short one), so I guess I'll find out what that's all about soon enough.





Streaks
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 26th, 2004 at 6:47 pm PST
I found this review  
36 Comments - Add Comment

BrutishOpus Sunday, January 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock regs for Angels, DM's and Prostock autocockers
Palmers Stabilizer
Bob Long Torpedo
Marker Setup: E-99 Avant with a 16 inch Nightstick barrel, Shocktech Superfly bolt, Dye Sticky Grip

Ion Pro with rail and On/Off ASA, Freak Barrel, CP Blade Trigger, CP Reg, Halo B hopper and a 3000 PSI HPA Tank from Pure Energy
Strengths: VERY Consistant
Look Great
Easy to Use
Weaknesses: None
Review: This is a great reg, the best I've used and I will stick with this reg on all my markers, its a very consistent reg

Pros-

Very consistent, the instructions say that its turned off in the box, but when I went to chrono it was shooting hot, around 315 FPS, so I turned it down and you get best results when you turn it down a little, shot 2 or 3 shots to clear out the reg and see what FPS its on, the field I was in had a limit of under 300 Fps, so I tuned it around 275, because I was expecting it to go up a little, so I didn't want to get in trouble for shooting hot, but ohhhhh...my..... it stayed at 275, here's was the exact Fps in a five round shot test

275,275,277,275,276

Mind you this a brand new reg right out of the box, its not even broken in yet, I was so pleased, and its very easy to use, after that I turned it up to around 285 Fps and it worked great, with about a +/- 2 or 3 at most, very good consistency

It also look good, its small and sexy, I like the look, but thats more personal, it comes in lots a colors and I have a black one to match my Ion and when I save up I'm going to get a couple for my cocker and DMC, and I can find them in most colors to match my gun

Cons-

NONE
Conclusion: Great reg, very very consistent, the best one I've used and the one I'm sticking with, worked really well right out of the box, I cant imagine how it will work when I break it it, WOW!!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

jrbacon Tuesday, April 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Palmer stabilizer -more consistant than the CP, dose not lot as nice
Ans gen-x -CP blows it out of the water
Marker Setup: Ego,d.a.r.t. bolt, Freak kit, Crossfire 68/4500
Turtled e-orracle, freeflow internals, palmers micro rock, CP Grip regulator
Strengths: Consistant
Looks nice
Easy to adjust
Easy to clean
Weaknesses: On the long ones you can't put a 90* elbow
Review: Been using my CP for about a year now. Works great, looks great. CP seems to put out great products. My only beef with mine is that it can not accept a 90* elbow, I picked up the long and found out that is just the way it is. Other than that one thing, I love it. I did find that my palmer's was a little bit more consistant after break in, but was not as light and did not look as good.
Conclusion: Great product, recommended for anyone that wants a good regulator. I give it an above average rating
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

asilaydying Friday, February 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock HPRs, HYPER 2, Messiah, shocktech
Marker Setup: black to red ND Freestyle
Vapor trigger
Reloader b
NoX board
45/45 PMI
Strengths: Light, consistant, No creep. Good recharge. Cheap
Weaknesses: Nothing.
Review: What else is there to say other then these things are great. I love CP's products. This reg was getting +/-2 with my gun all day at its worst. These things recharge fast and u never have to worry about creeping pressure. Havent had to do any maintenince on mine so far, works awesome.
Conclusion: Id get this over any regulator any day. Deff recomended.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (12):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media