paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Palmers Pursuit Shop Stroker / Palmers Pursuit Shop Stroker / Palmers Pursuit Shop Stroker / Palmers Pursuit Shop Stroker

Palmers Pursuit Shop Stroker Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Palmers Pursuit Shop

Buy Palmers Pursuit Shop Stroker

Paintball High-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Palmers Pursuit Shop Stroker
[ View Photos (5) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 8
Average Rating: 9.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $300

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Bring that dusty old pump into the new millennium with the Stroker conversion to semi-automatic. Prices vary for different guns. More info here: http://www.palmer-pursuit.com/catalog/stroker.htm
Product Availability 
The Palmers Pursuit Shop Stroker is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
10-shot kid Monday, February 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tested
All the other blow back pistols bar the Tac 8, havn't had the chance
Squall

Have owned
sydarm
15-shot typhoon (vert)
Marker Setup: 10-shot spring feed
extended barrle to match the spring feed
back bottle CA
wire remote w/ HPA tank
Draco (name of gun) engraved in side
Recommended
Upgrades:
Remote if you go back bottle, otherwise you either can't pull out the centerfire bolt or it's difficult to. Would also get a stabalizer (saving up) because this gun is not as consistant as the typhoon. HPA tank is not neccesary but helpful if like me you play in the winter and/or can't deal with the Co2 cloud. This gun was built for Co2.
Strengths: More balanced than typhoon pistol. Closed bolt, accurate, consistant, reliable, durable, unique, handbuilt brass, reliable
Weaknesses: Fixed barrle has problem with small bore paint. spring feed easily gets dirty and jammed.
Review: I've been playing pistol for 6+ years with this gun. The first two year I never oiled it more than once every 5 games and never had a problem. The next two years I oiled it more frequently, but not every game. After burning out for a year+ I left it to collect dust. It had problems cycling near the end of the day at castle conquest, my first game back, but a quick cleaning and half a bottle of oil latter it's working BETTER than before. I now matenience it every game, it shoots much more consistantly.

I Started playing woods/scenario with it after owning a m98 for a year and never looked back. A few years latter I got into playing tourney. Got all the way to low grade NE D2 playing with this pistol before I burnt out for a year. Now I am sticking to playing rec/scenario because I'm in it just for fun now. I still play at indoor sup' air/x ball team practices and do quite well. I say this only to begin to explain that this pistol is like no other, your only limitation will be paint capacity.

The stoker is bassically a palmerized autococker. The three way is in the grip, micro rock in the bottom tube where the 12-gram used to be, and the ram is on the side of the gun. The 10-round tube is spring fed and newer models have an adjustable feed cap, unlike the older models that where a solid piece of aluminum. It is constructed entirely of brass, which although heavy does not have paintball oil stick to it as much as other metals. It comes with both a detent and widgits, indentations in the barrle where the ball rests when the bolt is in the forward position that prevent roll outs and hold the ball in the exact same place every shot. The varience on my stroker with medium/large bore paint is 10. Small bore it's 15-20. It is matenience friendly, run water through it, shoot 400 shots, take off the grips, use a blow dryer to air dry it, put three drops of oil in the ASA, cycle it 100 times. I will now go in order of similar products in order of best to worst (in my opinion) and how the PGP stroker compares.

Unlike the typhoon pistols (squall and typhoon w/ 15 shot spring feed) this gun is not front heavy. This is just my opinion and is biased as I played with my pistol a few years before first holding a squall. The typhoon is more consistant but I have seen a stabilizer correct that. The typhoon also costs 250 as of 2007 more than the stroker. I have also found the LPR pressure easier to adjust for my stroker v. my 15 shot typhoon. The squall runs on 12-grams only which I find bothersome due to cost increase per shot. Other than consistency these guns all perform the exact same.

I have not used or tested a Tiberius 8. The stroker doesn't need 45+ dollar clips, holds more than 8 rounds, doesn't only use 12-grams, and isn't a blow back. The Tiberius 8 is lighter and more compact and is thus most likely the better choice for a backup sidearm. The Tiberius 8 is currently newer than the stroker so it's resale value is higher but I expect that to change over time.

I used to own a sydarm. The stroker beat it out in every way. It was more consistent/accurate, more reliable, and more durable. My sydarm broke down all the time when I played long games with it and was not very gas efficient. Unlike the squall it is impossible to put a dummy 12-gram in the sydarm to convert it to CA. It was harder to oil and maintenance the sydarm. The sydarm was lighter though and its trigger was lighter and a bit snappier, then again I had palmers make my strokers trigger extra strong.

I have tested out every blow back pistol their is. Whenever a kid has a pistol I offer to exchange guns momentarily to see how his performs. Blow back pistols commonly have problems with 12-grams leaking, horrible gas efficiency, horrible consistency, and sub par accuracy. On the other hand they are lighter and far cheaper than any PPS gun. If you’re going to be a pistol only player steer clear of these, they suck.
Conclusion: This pistol is for one type of player only, a pistol only player. It's not a good backup sidearm as it runs of CA only. If you already own a PGP I would strongly suggest this gun if you want to get into pistol play. If you don't consider this, the typhoon/squall is only 150 bucks more, as the upgrade costs 450 and a PGP costs 100. While the typhoon is more front heavy it is more consistent and has better resale value.

If I could go back and do it all over again I would get the squall with the 10-shot tube side mounted kp2 style, the spring feed on the top of the tube, RP's squalicane feed gate, and a gold platted classic finish.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sfcwils277 Wednesday, November 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pt Professional paintball pistol, Zeus G1, G2, PT Extreme. There is no comparison. PPS Stroker beats them all hands down.
Marker Setup: Palmer PGP Stroker with bottom line center fed. Palmer regulater, ricchochet AK loader,
88/45 3A tank, coiled remote.
Recommended
Upgrades:
None, it has all the upgrades it needs when palmer returns it to you.
Strengths: Small, compact light weight. Easy to maintain. Extremely accurate. Great looking.
Weaknesses: Short barrel means less range. Expensive $475.00 plus the cost of the original marker.
Review: For those that want auto-cocker performance in a pistol size package, the stoker can't be beat. It is extremely accurate fires straight on and has excellent ROF. Only downside is being a pistol it has a shorter range. If you have good tactics you will be able to get in and tag whoever needs it. Since it is pistol size you can squeeze into much tighter spots without worrying about sticking out. This marker does not present a large profile to shoot at . You'll probably take most hits on the hopper from the front or side. The weight and feel of the marker makes it a pleasure to fire and does not produce excessive recoil which keeps the marker right on target. The trigger pull is light and smooth, making snap shots a breeze with this marker.
Conclusion: I would fully recommend this product to the paintballers who like the compactness and manuverability of pistol. It give you the performance capabilities of an auto-cocker in a tiny package. It's much better than the PT pro, Zeus, etc... If you have the mony for the conversion do it, you won't regret it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, November 3rd, 2004 at 12:18 pm PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

webmstrk9 Sunday, August 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Older and bigger brother - Palmer's Typhoon
Marker Setup: 71/4500 Dye Throttle on remote, Palmer Stroker, Halo TSA LED Frontman
70/4500 Dye Stubby, 2004 Palmer Blazer, Halo TSA LED Backman
Recommended
Upgrades:
None
Strengths: Size, balance, quality of workmanship, consistancy, accuracy, configuration, maintenance
Weaknesses: Balance with the Halo
Review: Earlier this week, I received my convertible stroker, vertical feed and an 8 rnd spring feed. This weekend was the first time I let this baby loose. My friends and I went to Paintball USA in Houston and I all hear in the background, 'Did you see that guy's pistol with the Halo?' The craftsmanship Palmer puts into their marker is magnificent. The ease of use and maintence of their markers makes 'ballin a joy before I would spend an hour or 2 just maintaining my Spyders or 'cockers.

To the performance, it runs great on CA/N2, consistent between shots, 1+/- in fps. All day I was shooting darts at 30-40 yds easily. Snapshooting was a breeze given the smaller profile, there wasnt a lot to shoot at when I peeked around the corner and one-ball them 30 yds on the speedball field. In woods ball, the 8 rnd spring feed, made a much smaller profile, which made traversing the woods easy, quickly taking aim and having one shot kills all day! Took a friend of mine out at 20 yds, through branches and twigs aiming up into a tower, taking one shot at his ribs....SMACK! OUCH! WHERE DID THAT COME FROM?!?! They start looking around, trying to figure out where I'm at, they start spraying the woods 20-30 yds to my right as I sit and laff. Accuracy and maintence is a huge key for me being the big man that i am, 6ft, 210lbs.

Anyways, I had this built to what I wanted and it is working exactly how I expected even exceeding them. What I didnt really expect was the range, I'd figure it would max at 20-30 yds, well that wasnt the case.

Last note, at the end of the day, when I was cleaning up, a group of guys with electro's came over and GAWKED at the stroker wanting to shoot it and wondered how they can get one. I can say when I had the spring-feed on and I fired it 'John Woo' style, their mouths just dropped. I then took the spring-feed off and put the vert feed on in 2 mins, put the Halo on and laid down a stream of paint, they wanted one. It was 2.5 hours after my last game before I left because of the questions and wanting to use the Stroker.

Well, the best way to determine if this is for you, try and find someone in your area which may have a Palmer marker, any of them, you'll feel and see what custom means. Each are hand built with quality components. Palmer-pursuit will always have my business, as of now, I'm trying to decide what I will be ordering next.
Conclusion: If you want quality, ease of use and maintence, accuracy, uniqueness, you will never lose with a Palmer marker, as for the Stroker, they are marvels in such a small package. Great things come in small packages and this has definately delivered, this will be my primary gun unless I play speed ball exclusively on a day, then the Palmer Blazer comes out. Otherwise, if are you playing in a mix type of games, speed/woods, the stroker is great to have because of its compactness.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Karkov Monday, November 10th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I guess the most similar product would be an autococker,..But This gun is everything an autococker should be.
Marker Setup: Palmer PGP stroker.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A drop forward and your good to go.
Strengths: Extremely Compact,Extremely accurate,Extremely Reliable,and Very Good on air!
Weaknesses: This Gun has no weakness.
Review: My God,This gun has taken paintball for me and made it 10 times better.
Buy a PGP PISTOL Go to palmer's pursuit.com box up your pgp and send it to them and in about 2 months time you will recieve Your PGP back in the mail,only now it is the smallest most accurate autococker on the market!
By far the Best marker Ive ever been lucky enough to put my hands on!
Conclusion: Smaller than any other marker,Durable,Reliable,Great on air,Easy to squeegee clean if you break or chop,Accurate as a Martha Focker,and one hell of a Sweet Ride!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dan the ManPPS Tuesday, July 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
autocockers
various other semis
Marker Setup: PUG, Superstocker/Houndstooth, Squall, Stroker and necessary accessories
Recommended
Upgrades:
2x trigger with guard is a plus, as is a good reg (stabilizer) Muzzlebreaks look good. Sight hoods help aiming, QEV's for speed.
Strengths: cheap for conversion of existing equipment to tourney standards. Accuracy better than many similar semis
Weaknesses: None really; great conversion job for existing pumps, turn-around time can be lengthy.
Review: This is probably the best thing you can do for an existing brass tubed sheridan pump. The marker is cleaned beyond recognition, nickel finish is great, as are PMI grips. Velocity adjuster is easy to use without disassembly. quickstrip bolt system included would put any cocker's pullpin to shame. The semiautomatic system added to the gun is a more refined version of the autococker's (IMO), as it keeps all the pneumatics inside the body of the marker instead of putting them out front. the marker can accept a pump kit from PPS, allowing it to retain its pump ability whenever you get tired of semi. The result will be a semi that is dependable as a brick and that will be able to perform as well as the majority of the mechanical cockers. Best of all, the end result will retain many of the appearance and handling characteristics as the marker had before it was sent in, giving each stroker a one of a kind appearance and feel. Remember to take "before" pictures to show your friends what the marker looked like before you sent it in.

Stroker won't hardly perform as well in accuracy, speed, and such as a typhoon, but is close and deserves at least an 8, possibly a 9 depending on the options and the original marker sent in for the conversion.
Conclusion: For the price of the conversion, a better mechanical semi can't be found. The lead time and price tag are worth the wait.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rwillia Wednesday, June 25th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: Centerfeed PGP Stroker with female Stabilizer and drop forward.
Recommended
Upgrades:
None.
Strengths: Stroker conversion cheaper than Typhoon. Better than Autococker.
Weaknesses: Not as efficient as a Typhoon.
Review: I bought a new model Sheridan PGP and had it converted into a Stroker. When it came back from Sacramento about six weeks later, I was amazed by the quality of work put into it. The trigger pull is short and snappy and the nickel plating is beautiful. It is a very unique and compact marker capable of high rates of accurate fire. However, due to the PGP's very short barrel, it's not as efficient as I would like. I'm running a 68/3K Crossfire on it and I'm barely getting 600 shots off (with a Stabilizer!) Yikes!
Conclusion: If you have an old Sheridan pumper collecting dust, send it into PPS for a Stroker conversion. Just keep in mind that certain models won't be as efficient as others.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

RamboPreacher Saturday, February 2nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Typhoon is actually a scratch built semi based on teh semi-upgrades to teh Stroker that PPS does.
Marker Setup: Strroker upgraded from a piranah short barrel (no not the JABB [Just Another Blow Back] piranha, the pump piranha has been around for alot longer). vertical bottle setup, with vert. stabe to a bottom line asa.
Recommended
Upgrades:
if you are having an upgrade to a pumper made, I suggest getting the vert ASA, or possible the dual bottle setup (back bottle and vert). having the back bottle is the least expensive, but since it is a full upgrade, it would be extremely difficult to add a vert later on. Many choose to have a ported barrel too. There is no PTTJ available for the stroker, but you probably don't need it, especially if you have a double finger trigger.
Strengths: A great way to update that old pumper laying about collecting dust. with a full nickel plating, it is heavy duty and very scratch resistant. a very well built and made to last marker.
Weaknesses: depending on budget, it may not actually be worth having a stroker made, especially since a new Blazer is only $400. they need a realatively high operating pressure, so if you are using co2, plan on not playing if it dips below about 50 degrees or so.
Conclusion: The Stroker is a great way to keep one of your favorite old pumpers alive and kicking. They are great running markers and are very good shooters.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

trunkz1212 Monday, April 9th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tac-8
Marker Setup: #1 - PPS Typhoon, spiral ported barrel, muzzle brake, pro-touch trigger, 2 finger trigger, male stabilizer w/ bottom line ASA, QEV, Halo-B Hopper
#2 - PPS Nasty Typhoon, muzzle brake on both barrels, pro-touch trigger, 2 finger trigger, QEV, sight hood, 2 Halo-B Hoppers
#3 - PGP Stroker, Female Stabilizer mounted on UMB
#4 - 2K Blazer, Male Stabilizer, Blade Trigger
#5 - Squall Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Stabilizer Only
Strengths: Small, Looks awesome, very accurate, Easy to maintain and clean
Weaknesses: Loud, not as efficient as a typhoon, Price
Review: Everyone knows that Palmer's Pursuit Shop are blessed people who makes the best and most reputable markers in the market.
I waited 6 months for both PGPs to be converted. But the results were definitelly worth the wait!
Received both markers, connected the remote to the female stabilizer on the UMB and worked right away from the box! If you are familiar with the typhoon, you should have no problem maintaining and knowing how the gun operates. It Cycles smoothly, it's very accurate in close/mid range. From long distance it's is not as accurate, but it's still very good knowing it has a 7" barrel.
Although it's a pistol, it's quite heavy since it's all metal parts. I installed a Halo-B Hopper which is also little heavy. DO NOT TRY TO USE TWO PGP STROKERS LIKE CHOW YUN FAT DOES WITH BERETTAS! Belive me, I tried and they are too heavy to run, aim both guns at the same time.
Since it's a pistol, it's very small in size, short in length, so you can move around more freely. This is the reason I got this. This marker rules in Tippmann Castle in Skirmish hehehe. For long range shots i use my Typhoon.
Basically the stroker has a different way of play in the field. Run more often, get closer, and trust me, you'll get a lot of head shots!
Conclusion: You'll get what you paid for, I expected so much for when i ordered this marker, and was 100% satisfied even after 6 months of wait. This shows how good they are.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, May 2nd, 2007 at 6:18 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media