paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dead On Paintball A-5 Vertical Adapter / Dead On Paintball A-5 Vertical Adapter / Dead On Paintball A-5 Vertical Adapter / Dead On Paintball A-5 Vertical Adapter

Dead On Paintball A-5 Vertical Adapter Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dead On Paintball

Buy Dead On Paintball A-5 Vertical Adapter

Paintball A-5 Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dead On Paintball A-5 Vertical Adapter
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 15
Average Rating: 8.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $50

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The A5 vertical adapter lets you mount an expansion adapter, reg, or CO2 tank at the stock front grip location. The A5VA still allows for the no tool field strip feature. To do this you unscrew the swivel adapter and rotate the swivel out of the way to allow unlatching the high pressure tombstone adapter. We added heat sink fins to the swivel connector to help transfer heat to the gas; this also gives it a great look. The VA gives the user a very good balance and feel. Made out of 6061-T6 aluminum, urethane o-rings, and steel snap ring Comes in Black and Satin silver.
Product Availability 
The Dead On Paintball A-5 Vertical Adapter is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
jaskel1469 Monday, February 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None similar to this yet
Marker Setup: Tippman A-5, DOP Vertical Adapter, 32 Degrees Whisper Barrel, Remote Line, 230 rnd Hopper,

Upgrades on the way, MP-5 Sliding Rear Stock, Low profile cyclone cover.
Strengths: Moves X-chamber to normal hand grip, Upgradeable for LP Kit
Weaknesses: The X-chamber may hang down a little lower than normal
Review: Got this puppy online, because I didnt like the claustraphobic feel that just plugging an X-chamber into the the feed. This allows the Xchamber to take the place of the Front grip, giving you you lots of room between your front hand and your trigger hand. The only negative, or rather weird thing is that with an X-chamber +the Adapter, it makes the front grip hang down a lot more than I was used to, but this is an easy to get over factor. Add to the fact that it will work no problem if you convert your A-5 to the LP kit, and this is a 5 star item.
Conclusion: Outstanding product, durable, no leaks, and easy to install

10 of 10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Wings11J Wednesday, May 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: A-5, Palmer Stabilizer, Empire 7 piece 14" kit, JCS Folding Stock with RVA, Flatline, DOP Vertical adapter, Reddot sight, JCS milsim sight rail.
Strengths: see review
Weaknesses: see review
Review: The DOP vertical adapter is designed to move a regulater, expansion chamber, or gas through grip to the front grip location without losing the no-tools field stripping that the A-5 is designed for. I use nitro so the x-chamber abilities are useless to me and are probably minimal at best. The design in it is to enhance the x-chamber abilities but, in my opinion, decreases its asthetics. The stabalizer I have screwed into it feels loose until aired up and can easily be unscrewed when the system is not pressurized.

The directions are a bit lacking but its still simple to install, assuming you have the right tools. Even with the right socket size it can be difficult to get it to tighten down due to the small surface area that the socket has to grip on.

The reason I purchased it was because I didn't like having both the front grip and the stab sticking down under the gun and the stab was to far back to be used as a grip.
Conclusion: The price is a bit steep for a primarily cosmetic upgrade. The functional benefits are insignificant, if it all. I would recommend this product if you have the extra money to burn and like the looks with it better.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ShadowKnight Monday, September 15th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: dun wanna type it up again
Strengths: Moves the xchamber or reg very far.
easy to mount
Weaknesses: doesn't do much for price paid.
Review: this is all a matter of opinion.

Some people would say it looks tight, others don't. Personally, I don't think it's worth $50 because your a-5 already has a vertical adapter, this just moves it.

I don't really like how it makes the forward grip sooo long. If you're using an xchamber, you'll freeze your hand off too because that's what you're holding onto.

Conclusion: anyways, if you're on a tight budget, this thing is not a needed upgrade at all. However, if you've got money to blow, and you like how it looks, then go for it.

Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Monday, September 15th, 2003 at 3:24 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

senghing27 Friday, June 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Similar in ways, tippmann 98 vertical adaptor
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
6 Stage Expansion Chmamber
Flatline Barrel
Smart Part Progressive
DOP A-5 Vertical Adaptor
Psychoballistics Drop
-or-
Smart Parts Ion
Progressive Barrel
QEV
WGP torpedo on/off
Extreme Rage Feed neck

Strengths: Function
durability
Weaknesses: Instructions
Review: Well, i use an expansion chamber and i hated it when i had the plastic handle of the a-5 also, very clasutrophobic. So i went out to buy one of these puppies. I brought it home and was wondering how to install it. No instructions came with it, so i eventually found out how. Take out tombstone, attach the thumbscrew end, attach the screw grip end, and luckily i found a small hand screwdriver with the removable bits, and tightened it using that. I took it for a game, and worked pretty nicely. It made my gun profile much taller, but that was fine for me. Its a nice product, if you have the money get it.
Conclusion: Looks great on some set ups, and not on some. Works the function its was made for well. Get it if you can.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Henro9 Monday, January 10th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
32 degrees vertical adaptor for spyder and tippman 98 VA.
Marker Setup: A5, Polished internals, R/T, Innovative wrks Assassin trigger guard with Tippman double trigger. Flatline, DOP Vertical adaptor and drop forward, 3A expansion. 98c, A&A 14" barrel, 32 degrees starfire bolt, Halo Tsa LED (frontman), Rocket Cock 2, GTA expansion chamber Innovative Wrks Viper trigger/Guard.
Strengths: Sturdy and straight forward install.
Weaknesses: Haven't found any other than the price.
Review: When a expansion chamber/regulator is installed in the stock a-5 location, it is difficult to grasp the front grip. This VA relocates the expansion chamber to the foregrip location. Install was VERY simple and was completed in less than 5 minutes. The result is a easier to hold gun and it also cleans up the guns overall appearance. Has only one grip looking piece instead of two.
Conclusion: I would purchase this just because the relocation makes the marker easier to hold and the piece is VERY DURABLE AND STRONG. Installation is VERY EASY. Would be nice if it was a bit less expensive.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

hanginloosepb Monday, January 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
N/A
Marker Setup: You name it - I got it!
Strengths: Read Below
Weaknesses: Read Below
Review: This item was really made before its time - when you run a low-pressure system through your A-5 and shoot only using about 400 psi - thats right 400 psi in conjunction with a regulator system - you will thank the paintball Gods for this.

Tippmann's new Low-Pressure system for teh A-5 that is due out next week will sport this bad boy as part of teh package to convert your current system to low-pressure or LP.

You will save on gas dramatically - imagine your using any where from 800-1000 psi to pump your marker now - cut that at least in half.

So don't toss this bad boy away just yet - the best is yet to come.
Conclusion: Excellent product when used in a beneficial manner!
As I stated above - LP and this system with the A5 will have you really praising Dead On when your stuck between a rock and a hard spot where you would be low on gas but are not any more due to this gadget.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

UGADaWgSmAn14 Sunday, March 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Dm4 with halo-b victory board, crossfire 70-4500 low pressure nitro tank
Strengths: i guess it saves some gas
Weaknesses: none
Review: when i owned my a-5, i got this as part of the dead on expansion chamber. It does save some air, and has a pretty cool look. Not much really to say about it as it is just a chunk of metal. Makes the gun more comfortable. o-ring in it is strong. screws are hard to strip.
Conclusion: get it if you need to save air
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 2nd, 2004 at 3:50 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Gratiano Sunday, May 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
None, really
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
Flatline Barrel
Response Trigger
D.O.P. Xcore
D.O.P. Vertical Adapter
Remote Line
Strengths: Looks good
Does it's job
Easy install
Weaknesses: Price
Crappy o-rings
Review: I also wished to use an x-chamber as a grip, so I got myself a VA. Firstly, it's a small adapter, and pretty much everyone charges about 10 times what I think it's worth. Secondly, when I bought mine, it came sealed in it's packaging with 2 broken o-rings. THANKS FOR CHEAPING OUT ON THAT ONE DOP!!! In any case, once I had those replaced, it was a breeze to install, although I had to use a pair of vice grips to do it.

In any case, it works, and does give a lot more room for us big handed folk to handle an A5. Makes for a much better grip and feel.
Conclusion: I would recommend getting this, as it's the only product of it's kind for the A5. If another company happens to make one as well, but that one, and not from DOP.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SonicInsanity Wednesday, April 6th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: A-5, 14" J&J Ceramics, DOP RVA, DOP Vert. adapt., DOP grip adapt., Benchmark 8-st. exp. chmbr, Warped Sportz adj. dr., Assasin double trig., shortened sear travel, Proto Switch mask
Strengths: Looks good, does pretty much what DOP claims
Weaknesses: Expensive for what you get, typical DOP quality
Review: I found this upgrade to be useful because of my style of play (I like to tuck the gun in fairly tight when I shoot). It made room to bring the tank up with a long drop forward. As some have already noted, it will drop your x-chamber, reg, or foregrip down where it seems kind of low, but you will get used to that. As for helping with gas efficiency, for me it was hard telling because I didn't use my A-5 much until I was done upgrading, however with my current setup I do pretty well for an A-5, somewhere around a twelve hundred balls per 20 oz. (Anti-siphoned). I suppose those wicked looking "fins" helped some (they're a kick in the pants to clean out though). The machining / materials doesn't make you think of hairsplitting quality, but it still works and its what you can expect from Dead On. Installation isn't hard provided you know how to use a socket and allen wrench. It almost looks a little tacky, but because I bought it for what it does, not how it looks, it doesn't bother me much.
Conclusion: For a scenario gun, I can't see much practical use for it, but for mounting your reg. \ x-chamber it does help relieve the "claustrophobic feel". It just seems a little weird where it puts it at first. Kind of expensive for what you get, so its really a matter of how bad you you want it. Basically, what you see is what you get.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dirtypaulie187 Saturday, April 24th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
There are none
Marker Setup: A-5 rt, Flatline & 14" Dye Ultralight Barrells, Psycho Ballistics Double Trigger & Drop forward w/ on/off, Dead-on vertical adapter, Palmers vertical stabilizer
Strengths: This product lets you place a gas through foregrip or regulater further up the marker.
Weaknesses: It makes the regulater hang down a little extra.
Review: This product does exactly what it is advertised to do it's not a mandatory upgrade but if you're like me you'll get it anyway. I got it because I couldn't stand the claustraphobic feel my marker had with the regulater between the grip & foregrip. This product does what it does so well it comes with the Tippmann Comp-air kit for the A-5 If it wasn't good tippmann wouldn't have used it.
Conclusion: It's a good product does what they advertise it to do, you can still field strip your A-5 and it's not hard to install.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media