paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Severe Paintball Hurricane Paintballs / Severe Paintball Hurricane Paintballs / Severe Paintball Hurricane Paintballs

Severe Paintball Hurricane Paintballs Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Severe Paintball

Buy Severe Paintball Hurricane Paintballs

Paintball Paintballs

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Severe Paintball Hurricane Paintballs
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 37
Average Rating: 6.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
No Description Available
Product Availability 
The Severe Paintball Hurricane Paintballs are older, so they are not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Stewylouie Tuesday, September 2nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Team Colors - Inconsistent, sometimes its been great, other times horrible.
Pro Ball - Good paint, hard shell, thick fill, small bore.
Marballizer - May no longer be the best but is still the standard by which all are compared.
Marker Setup: KAPP Cocker. All American Barrel.
Strengths: Hard shell - No barrel breaks.
Consistent shape/size.
Predictable travel.
Weaknesses: Hard shell - Lots of bounces.
Review: Hurricane is Severe's field level paint.
Very hard shell which led to zero barrel breaks, however also led to alot of bounces.
Medium fill.
This stuff is made in Colombia, which may explain why they make the shell so hard, a very long commute.
I used this paint at a "field paint only" field.
Can't comment on cost as field paint is always sold at a premium.
Would like to try some of the other Severe brands but I haven't seen any around (not a big web presence either).
Severe's website's been under construction for awhile now (should be a first priority in this sales environment).
.
Conclusion: Overall good experience with this paint, not at all spectacular, but consistent and predictable, would have ranked higher but for its tendency to bounce.
Looking forward to trying their higher grade lines when they are more available
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Slothy Saturday, May 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Severe Tempest, Stingers, a couple other economy grades.
Marker Setup: Spyder Pilot ACS w/ Smartparts 14 in. Linear + electronic hopper
Recommended
Barrels:
Don't use one.
Strengths: Accurate when it works
Weaknesses: Massive chop
too large
fragile
Review: The local shop got a bunch of this stuff in and was selling it for $30 CAD per box, or $25 if you bought more than one, so I and a couple of friends bought a box each (bad idea) to test it out. This stuff is absolutely atrocious. While it worked (the first three shots I fired from a perfectly clean gun) it was dead accurate - I hit a 3 in. tree with three shots on the same splatter mark at around 25 yards. However, after the first chop things went downhill pretty quick. Among our group we had five different guns using seven different barrels (5 stock and two after-market) and every one of us had trouble with it. Roughly every third shot fired chopped for me, and I had the best results (if you can call them that) from the whole group of us. This stuff has a hard shell and thick paint, which makes it an absolute pain when one chops - seems the ball will often break when just entering the barrel, with the shell blocking it and sending paint all over the actual chamber of your gun as opposed to just shooting a shotgun spread like most chops I've seen/had. To contrast, I've used Severe Tempest and did not have a single chop throughout a whole day of play (approx. 1600 shots fired) nor do I recall any of my friends experiencing chops with that paint. That said, my Pilot is a newer model than my friend's and tends to chop more (oddly), where as the only paint that has chopped in his gun so far has been Hurricane.

EDIT: to contrast, most paint i can bounce off (throw at) my floor fine and it will not break. These ones broke if dropped from two or three feet, and broke in my electronic hopper.
Conclusion: Do NOT buy this paint unless you are some sort of masochist or are planning to be sneaky and slyly swap it for your opponents paint before a match. Even at $25 for 2000, it is not worth it.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, May 5th, 2007 at 3:20 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ToxicPaintballz Saturday, April 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
All Draxxus, ZAP Primer, Chronic 420.
Marker Setup: 03 Shocker, Dynasty board, NDZ ASA w/ gauge, talon grip, RIP trigger, SP HE bolt kit, Freak barrel, Check-it clampneck, reloader b.
Recommended
Barrels:
Biggest barrel you have!
Strengths: Um...cheap?
Weaknesses: Do not fly good.
Hard as rocks.
Lots of chops.
Review: Well my team was using Severe as a sponsor for a year before I joined, and me and my team all agree this paint is garbage. We were getting really tired of getting hit 10 times and having 1 break,this stuff also chops ALOT(you would think if it didnt break on people it wouldn't chop, but I guess the elves in the ball hold it toghether if it detects human flesh), im glad I never have to use it again. Better than Brass Eagle, but not by much!
Conclusion: Dont buy unless your in a pinch.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Pedrodinero Friday, April 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Paint, lots and lots of paint...lol, anyone else remember the days when you said "i'll never need that much paint in one game/day/LIFETIME"??? lol...anyway
Marker Setup: Vision Shocker
NDZ Ripper trigger
NDZ Stinger bolt kit
CCM Adjustable no rise
16" SS Freak AA
CP Reg
Halo B w/Rip
68/4500 Worrgas adjustable
Recommended
Barrels:
HUGE!!!
Strengths: Thick fill
Weaknesses: Ginormous, bouncy bouncy bouncy
Review: I used this stuff in a tourney a week ago and it was right on par with top of the line brass eagle paints, which is to say it was really crappy. This stuff was so big that everyone at the tourney was getting it stuck in their barrels or having barrel breaks like crazy. My teammate was shooting a brand new Speed, and his first shot broke and that was all she wrote, it totally screwed his gun up. I would not use this stuff even for rec-balling...literally every team there tried to trade in their cases for cases of the fields regular rec paint, it was sad. Plus everyone said they were getting mad bounces, the stuff just wouldn't break on a person, which was nice for me, yeah, but how much was that happening to ppl i was shooting? I didnt' like it at all. Ok, heres a good example, big paint is one thing, but this stuff actually got jammed up in my halo feedneck, i ended up using my rip drive like mad b/c the stuff would just jam it up every single time.
Conclusion: I hated it and would never want to use it again...lol all my teammates and even some out of area teams dumped their paint on me and my buddy after the tourney, we ended up selling like 2 cases and we still had a case and a half to shoot up, which we will, b/c even crappy paint is ok if it's free...lol, plain economics.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rockwood Monday, March 1st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Blaze - I liked it just as much
PMI - I like Hurricane more
Marker Setup: Stock gun but have a 14in. J&J ceramic barrel,68ci 3000psi nitro,12v VL hopper
Recommended
Barrels:
J&J ceramic 14in.
Strengths: For winter play and they are hard
Weaknesses: The color gets annoying!!!!!!!!! (white)
Review: These paintballs are very hard and are axtremely accurate and fun to use!!I did not break one ball the other day in about 20 degree weather. The Blaze are nice but not this nice.You really start to get tired of shooting white all day long, but other than that I L-O-V-E these paintballs!!
Conclusion: Buy these they are $54.00 where I bought them and are worth 80.00! You will be amazed by the accuracy of these paintballs!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ndonato Friday, March 30th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Severe Tempest, Zap, XO Spectrum, XO Hotbox, RPS Stingers
Marker Setup: Ion
Virtue board
SP QEV
Egg2
48/3000
Strengths: None.
Weaknesses: Brittle
Chops
Two halves can never stay together
RARELY Accurate
Review: Well I bought these thinking i was getting a good deal on some paintballs... haha stupid me...

I brought them out to the field and instantly on the first shot, the paint chopped. Both halves of the paint split clear apart. Obviously not well made. The fill wasn't consistant enough and these things had no weight on them. Every time one didn't chop, it would spiral out of control. I could never hit anything. All in all it was ebarrassing to use these paintballs and I have never bought them since.
Conclusion: We should file a lawsuit against Severe for making such poor quality paint. If you're going to buy any severe paint, make sure it's Tempest or Cyclone.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Empire_42 Thursday, January 4th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Whitebox
Severe Tempest
Spectrum
Marker Setup: Ion, BlackHeart
Freak Kit
Blade Trigger
L6 Bolt
Recommended
Barrels:
Anything that fits?
Strengths: Pretty Good Fill
Weaknesses: Bounce
Chop like mad
Dont always Shoot Straight
Review: Well as i used, well tried to use these balls i pretty much gave up after i shot almost a hopper with every insert i had with my kit almost every shot chopped or broke in the barrel. If i did end up shooting with out breaks i would miss the bunker by far. I just used whitebox a day before a they worked alot better.
Conclusion: I wouldnt recommend this ball, I havent ever found a ball like this that breaks in your hopper and gun, just spend the extra $10-$20 and get somthing better.
Rating:
3 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, January 4th, 2007 at 8:48 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

double_d202 Wednesday, November 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing I used compared to this.
Otherwise I have used
RPS Premium, Polar Ice and Stinger
Zap Sport and Premium
Marker Setup: Gold and Black Karivor
Pipe with Black Ultra Tip
Vlocity
72ci Empire Fuel
Recommended
Barrels:
Use andything with a correct bore size
Strengths: Fill was nice and thick. Good colour. Fairly round
Weaknesses: Brittle.
Review: I have never used paint before that would break when you load your hopper. These had to of been very old or a bad batch because I have never seen anything like this. Cheap paint is usually hard to break. One of the reasons it is cheap. I will never buy this stuff again.
Conclusion: I recommend you never buy this stuff, unless you know a few tricks in making paint less brittle.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

on-the-wave Saturday, November 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Icon X
Recommended
Barrels:
No idea
Strengths: Bright colour
Weaknesses: Chops, breaks.
Review: New Pballer, first day out with 2 new guns and box of 2000 Huricanes.

First 5 - 6 out of the gun ok, the rest broke in the hopper, broke in the breach, broke in the barrel. About 1 in 5 made it out after clearing the breach and putting about 5 shots of only CO2 through to clear the barrel.

It was cold out (±5°C) and guns had not been chrono'd so maybe over gassed.

We gave up after about 100 balls. Very disapointed. Came home stripped the guns, cleaned nd fully lubed. going to try again tomorrow.

Can I bake these balls to make them harder?
Conclusion: Learnt my lesson, DON'T BUY CHEAP PAINT. BUY CHEAP, BUY TWICE.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Prospekt Sunday, November 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Whitebox
Zap Torq
Hotbox
Marker Setup: Gen2 ICD Freestyle
LP E-99 Avant
Trilogy Comp
Recommended
Barrels:
Any barrel kit will work well with it. Small bore.
Strengths: Looks Nice
Thick Paint
Brittle
Weaknesses: Bouncy
Review: All I can say is that if you have a stacked tube marker, or anything without eyes, watch out. I saw a guy with an Infamous Timmy break 1 in 10 of these (granted, his eyes were not functioning).

I was using a spyder at the time, and broke about every fifth shot it would break in the barrel. Mine has a light bolt action so usually a ball gets pinched but not chopped when the revy can't keep up, yet this paint broke with the littlest effort.

Angels seemed to work fine with this paint though. Blow forwards like my freestyle, ions, shockers should also be ok with it.

The paint also doesn't break well on people. I have no idea why.

The PROS:
I found very few dimpling and the case I had didn't have any broken paint from shipping.
The paint is sexy looking, kinda like marbles.
Conclusion: Go for something better. It's not worth the pain. Even if you must buy severe storm or something, that's got a stronger shell.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media