paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Zap Amp Generator / Zap Amp Generator / Zap Amp Generator / Zap Amp Generator

Zap Amp Generator Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Zap

Buy Zap Amp Generator

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Zap Amp Generator
[ View Photos (10) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 34
Average Rating: 8.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $130

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
No Description Available
Product Availability 
The Zap Amp Generator is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Lilpimp Thursday, June 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months16 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Imagine
Spyder Electra
Black Maxx
A lot of other spyders and clones
Marker Setup: Zap Amp Generator
Halo TSA Lcd frontman (now egg II)
Worr Games 70 45 preset
CP 2 piece 16"
Recommended
Upgrades:
9v Hopper (Revy ot TSA)
New barrel
If your serious HPA (can carry over to next gun)
New bolt
Strengths: Pretty good ROF
Cheap $130
Accurate
Nice paint job
Weaknesses: Trigger slop
Bolt (see review)
Double fires
People always ask what gun you have
Review: The first time i played paintball was at a friend's party using a rental (Black maxx) and immediately got hooked. The next day I went to Academy To buy my gun. My brother got a Vl genesis and I got the AMP. (By the way we had no Idea what to buy or anything about paintball.) He was extremely jealous when he found out how much better my gun was.Over all pretty nice gun.The Amp is just about the same as a spyder imagine. Although i do Like the trigger on the AMp better. I can even shoot it faster than my friend's Electra=). Sometimes i out chase the stock bolt though. I think that i am hitting 11 or 12 but it can only cycle 10. All you need is a revy or Tsa to keep up with it. The only reason i got an egg was because i broke my tsa. It is pretty accurate for the price range. Especially if you get an aftermarket barrel.
Conclusion: In conclusion i would say this is a very good begginer's marker. I think there should be more out on the field. I would take one of these over a 98c any day.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Bird466 Tuesday, January 30th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra
Spyder ACS Electra
...above are the similar products that I've used and own...
...below are the products that I own but aren't quite similar...
Spyder Sonix '06
Spyder MR2
Brass Eagle Terminator -j/k- Raider
Tippmann A-5 w/RT
Tippmann A-5 w/Egrip and Vtech Vortex Mod
PMR 2007 ... yeah boyyyyyyy!!!
Marker Setup: Zap Amp Generator
Spyder Delrin ACS Bolt
32 Degrees Carbon Fiber Barrel
VL Revy w/ X-Board
20oz PureEnergy CO2 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel (the stock one advertises "CHEAP")
Electric Hopper (since it peaks at 11bps, any cheap agitating hopper should do)
Nothing else... (you bought this to SAVE and be CHEAP, right?)
Strengths: Cost Effective.
Can Claim FullAuto Capability.
Weaknesses: StockBarrel advertises Price of the marker.
LongTerm Reliability is questionable.
Detent is NotSoGreat :p
Review: Well hey...
If your in the market to be extremely CHEAP, yet still be able to say that you "own your own paintball marker"...
then maybe this Zap Amp Generator is just your style.
Cost effective, you may see this advertises for $130.00 to $150.00.
DON'T... I repeat... DON'T purchase this at that price.
You should be able to get a Marker 10x's better at that SAME PRICE (with Shipping) somewhere else.
I purchased two Zap Amp Generators WITH SHIPPING for only $100 bucks off eBay.

That being said...
The Zap Amp Generator does much of what it advertises.
It IS "competition-quality"...
...IF your competition includes Rentals and other Noobs.
It GIVES "Advantage beyond your Skill"...
...IF you're a total beginner and your skill level is at 1 to 3 on a 10 point scale.
It DOES feature an "Electronic double-trigger Frame" that feels nice-to-the-pull...
...But it IS slightly flimsy --- and loose.
It DOES fire "Up to 11 balls per second with adjustable Semi-auto and Full-auto Modes", but... I'd recommend just using Semi-auto and trying to "walk the trigger".
You're also going to need some type of Electronic Hopper to keep up with the medium/mediocre "Rate-of-Fire".
I prefer sensor-styled agitating hoppers to constant-agitating ones because of the noise, but that's just me.
But if you look at my setup, I AM using a Revy that makes constant noise.
But HEY... this marker is all about the COST EFFECTIVENESS and that hopper cost way less than my Reloader B and is STill Respectable.

Replace the Stock Barrel. That way you don't have to deal with the exploding POPS from its cheapness AND you can add some accuracy too.
Detent is very poor (occasionally balls will exit marker barrel without trigger ever being pulled).
I also recommend just using CO2 because remember...
"Cheap, Cheap, Cheap... that's OUR MOTTO!"
Conclusion: In the end,
GET this marker if you are a Novice Lover to the Sport of Paintball...
AND are also...
...a Total Cheapo with Bargain Bandit qualities!
If you ARE all of these, you'll feel proud about you're sharp-looking, fast-shooting, Green and Inexpensive Back-Alley Deal.
For around $50 bucks, you really can't go wrong!

***You ALSO may STill have money laying around to buy some CHEAP Zap Amp Paintballs :) too! Happy Hunting!
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 10th, 2007 at 2:08 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jamesn37 Saturday, June 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 Custom
Tippman custom pro
Kingman spyder rodeo
Spyder xtra
Marker Setup: ZAP AMP generator
powerlyte sceptor barrel 12''
Put resistance on trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel
Some say new bolt, but i have no complaints for chopped balls (none)
Bigger CO2 for beginners or HP for intermediate
Fix hair pin trigger(rubberband)
Strengths: No chopped balls
Light/ easy to handle
Looks cool
Accurate
CHEAP
Weaknesses: Short stock barrel
Hair pin trigger (easily fixable)
Review: The gun is great to start out on, i bought this as my first gun, i had used rentals and friends guns for the first year, then when i started playing this got me into it quickly, it was cheap, and it worked as well as more expensive guns. The layout is easy to handle, and the weight makes it top notch

As you can see, my experience playing with different guns is good, so i know when i say that this gun is great in all aspects. My friends envy its looks and its playing ability. A few upgrades could make it worth twice you paid.

I bought it for cheap @ c. $80 and now (somehow) it is selling for more. EVEN SO it is still the best deal out there BUY THIS GUN. It is an inexpensive mimicry of the expensive brands. Though some of you may not even known that ZAP makes guns, they do, and the do it well.
Conclusion: In conclusion BUY this gun. On ebay, or new on amazon, and paintball sites. I have had no problems with this gun at all, BUY IT and you wont be let down. I give it a 9 because though for its price it may be worth a 10, price shouldn't matter when rating a gun. IT gets a 9 because it is a great gun, just not great enough to be paralleled to the angels out there.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sk8punk3d288 Wednesday, June 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Eradicator (It's A Little Worse)
Tippmann Model 98 (Equal)
Viewloader Triad (A Little Worse)
Viewloader Orion (A Little Worse)
Marker Setup: Zap Amp w/ a 9 oz. Co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Fix the Hair Trigger, Simply:

1: Cut A Rubber Band
2: Tie Band Around the Back of Trigger and the Trigger Guard
Strengths: Cheap
Accurate
Good Firing Rate
Quiet
Easy to Clean
Weaknesses: Hair Trigger (WAY TO TOUCHY)
Review: This is a good gun. You must absoloutely fix the touchy trigger like I said. Before I fixed mine I accidently shot my teammates and houses! After I fixed the problem the trigger was given tension so it didn't misfire at all. After it is fixed the gun is great. I can take out almost any other gun with it and I win a lot of matches now.
Conclusion: Without the new trigger adjustment this gun only deserves about an 8. With the modification it is worthy of a 10 in my opinion. I can't emphasize enough how important this repair is without it you will be in trouble.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MSpballa Sunday, April 10th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippman model 98 (worse)
Marker Setup: Zap Amp Generator w/ a shocktech supafly bolt, psi gauge, dye xcel barrel, ricochet rhino hopper, macroline hose kit, pmi expansion chamber, and dye slick lubed
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel and expansion chamber or regulator
Strengths: This gun is very reliable, descent rate of fire, inexpensive, and easy to maintain.
Weaknesses: Zap has poor customer service.
Review: This gun has been great to me. My friend has a 98 custom and hes so jealous. I own my friends weekend after weekend because this gun is so consistent. Has a very sweet look to it. It seems like it should cost way more, but i think its just the name brand. Easily upgraded. Great gun. It is simple to understand. It is a shame its not as popular as id like it to be.
Conclusion: I would get this gun if you are looking to be kind of serious about playing but not going pro anytime soon.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Toll Saturday, September 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Low end spyder Clones
Marker Setup: Emag/etc
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Detents
Grips (plexy glass paneling)
Bolt
Spring kit (Mine came rusted)
Strengths: Cheap
Relatively quick
Will take most spyder parts
Weaknesses: Stock detents suck
Review: Considering I got this marker from walmart, I was surprised at the amount it didn't suck.


In theory you could work your way up to mid end with a marker like this after you replace the detent...As it allows for alot of roll forward/dual shots (for fun I put my halo on it...balls were just being forcefed down the barrel.

Unless you're buying this for about 50$ used, you've been ripped off....but it's not all bad news. You can infact set the marker up in a way that it will be useful for some time to come.


Upgrades in order of importance

-Regulator - Palmers stabilizer if you plan to stay on co2.
-Detents (any spyder type)
-Trigger (personal preference
-T.board + eye
-Barrel (something cheap, teardops are a good start)
Conclusion: The unfortunate part of all this is the fact that you could have bought a stock Ion for 100$ and not have had to upgrade at all.But chances are if you have one of these you didn't really know it was available to you.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, September 2nd, 2006 at 12:34 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

JU5T1N Friday, September 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Electric Kingman Spyder.
Electric Black Dragons.
Electric Spyder clones.
Marker Setup: System-X 68cc 4500psi compressed air,JT tank cover, Halo B loader.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, Trigger, Bolt, Electric Hopper
Strengths: Well I won mine so it was free!
Compatible with Spyder parts.
Feed Neck.
Weaknesses: Trigger frame is plastic...
Trigger
Trigger frame grips are kinda bulky.
Review: The Price was right for me! =P
Zap didn't do a bad job on the gun the price is cheap works alright. Better then a mechanical marker. Looks almost like my Black Dragon, but nothing beats my Angel LCD 03 Limited Edition. As with most electric guns you should buy a electric hopper gravity ones will work but I don't know how you can take shaking the gun every time you shoot! Feed neck comes on the gun made of metal! So you don't have to keep buying them plastic ones that break all the time, It comes with two screws for the feed neck as well to keep the hopper from falling off the marker. Shoots alright, new barrel is nice I used my DYE stainless steal 16' from my old spyder worked pretty good. You can use most spyder parts on this marker.
Conclusion: It's a Good Beginner gun! Like Spyder.
I personally would get some sort of Kingman Spyder just because they where my first couple of markers.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

firebirdjimbo Monday, August 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
zap zxs 600e
Marker Setup: Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
None
Strengths: Fast
Electric
Accurate
No co2 wasting
Weaknesses: None
Review: Overall i think the zap amp generator is a good gun it is cheap but it is also very accurate and very fast when i first aired it up it worked perfectly although the fully auto mode is not accurate the single shot is. It also does not waste co2. Buy this gun if your on a tight to a medium budget.
Conclusion: If you are a beginner and are into speed or woods ball i would recommend it because it shoots fast and it is surprisingly accurate
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AMP_Hockeyballr Wednesday, November 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Imagine
Marker Setup: AMP Generator w/custom grip
32 degrees whisper barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel (32 works great)
trigger system
anything else u think u need
Strengths: Great Price bery cheap
Light weight
looks awsome
easy to clean
Weaknesses: Trigger double shoots
picky on barrels
everyone askes what kind of gun u have
Review: This gun is one of the best i've tried
Its a cheaper knock off of the Spyder Imagine and Black Dragun w/ a different label which is fine by me i got no problem with a clone that is the same just cheaper
it is lighter than most of the guns i've tried and look better and easy to clean

With the custom grip this is how i did it if u play hockey like me u normally have some hockey tabe laying around and so i took some and made a grip that can't be beaten. one i wraped the front grip in three key places when i hold my gun, near the very top, middle right before the silver, and on the bottom of the silver. then i half way wraped the electronic trigger system to where i normally carry my gun, in the right hand then matched it up with how i hold my gun ring and pinky finger and tapped it just enough so i can still can take off the top pannel to clean and tweek it.
Conclusion: Go out and buy it if u are just getting into the swing of it
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, November 3rd, 2004 at 3:06 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PBPreston Sunday, October 5th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
ZAP AMP Reactor LCD
Tippmann 98 Custom
Most any Spyders
Marker Setup: ZAP AMP Reactor LCD
14 Oz. Co2-(saving up for N2)
Stock 2-Piece Barrel-(also saving up for a new 14" 32* Carbon Fiber)
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel-Can't go wrong-unless its a Brass Eagle
Revy-Gotta have it if you shoot fast
Strengths: Electronic
Nice Paint Job
Very Fast Trigger Pull
Weaknesses: "Trigger Slop"- what I mean by that is, you push a button behind the trigger.
Review: I thought this gun was great! I would like to see more people out on the field with this gun. The trigger slop isn't that bad, it actually does make it a little faster because you don't have to pull the trigger back up as far. But overall I loved this gun, but I would rather have my gun because its LCD and I know exactly what I have it on. The LED isn't too bad, but like I said I like my gun.
Conclusion: Buy this gun! It is fairly cheap aroung $130 and you really can't even get a good semi for that anymore. I hope that a lot more people get this gun or a ZAP AMP Reactor because I still haven't had a problem with either of these guns, except the Generator at first doesn't want to fire, but when you get the button worn in it'll work just fine.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media