paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Progressive Barrels / Smart Parts Progressive Barrels / Smart Parts Progressive Barrels

Smart Parts Progressive Barrels Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Progressive Barrels

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Progressive Barrels
[ View Photos (39) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 486
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $50

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Progressive barrels are available in lengths (12/14/16/20") and are available for most paintguns. They come in black, blue, red , silver & green.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Progressive Barrels are newer, so they should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (49):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Hami Saturday, April 19th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months35 of 54 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMI Stock 11" barrell that came on my 2002 STS G3 VF(Titanium)
14" Teardrop
Marker Setup: Piranha G3 STS VF(Titanium), Turbo valve, Palmer stabilizer (female) w/ block, PD high flow pin, Trigger mod, 14" Progressive, PMI rubber grip, 20 & 16oz Co2 (anti-syphoned), Dark Vengence custom delrin bolt.
Recommended
Paintballs:
I'll use pretty much anything, I havn't used brass eagle though. Zap, PMI RPS, and winter balls from local shop(don't know brand).
Strengths: Good quality finish
Variety of lengths unlike what the description says above
Price is excellent!
Weaknesses: First barrel had a flaw
Review: When first got the barrel I put 200 balls thru it and when I took it off later that evening I noticed 3 very tiny chips in the finish inside the barrel about halfway down. These where definitely chips in the finish not dirt, nor was the the inside of the barrel scratched at all leading up to the chips or after. I chalked it up to the coating didn't adhere to the metal in those spots(contamination on the metal) and when I shot balls thru it, it broke the finish lose. I exchanged it for a new one at the shop, no problems.
I definitely like the barrel alot and the price is right $64 Can. Fairly easy to clean, squeegee then turn marker upside down and cover the end of the barrel with your hand & fire once or twice to clean out the porting. Anything left clinging to the holes can wait until you finish the round and you can rinse it off with water. Not saying this barrel breaks balls, my marker chops them from time to time. Been playin in cold weather alot.
This barrel shoots the same as the teardrop, my cousin has it and we play together all the time there's no difference. The honing and coating on these barrels is exactly the same. Also this barrel does a good job with sound, my marker(650psi) is half as loud as most on the field and my cousin is runnin at 350psi with the teardrop and his is half as load as mine! Low pressure makes it whisper quiet, my next objective!
Conclusion: Well worth the money, I think the trouble with the first barrel I had was just a fluke as I've never heard of complaints about that before. The replacement is perfect.
If your lookin at the Teardrop or the AA this barrel has the same finish & honing but for alot cheaper. I do like the porting on the teardrop but more paint stays in the grooves around the porting than the progressive. To me it doesn't affect anything it just looks bad. Why pay extra for an AA just because it's a 2 piece, unless of coarse your planning on getting different bore backs for it.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 2nd, 2005 at 9:45 pm PST
I found this review  
12 Comments - Add Comment

cjlowry Tuesday, April 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months32 of 36 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 barrel 8.5"
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 with 14" Smart Parts Barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
TC Paintball's Venom
Strengths: Accuracy
Smaller bore
Much Quieter than 8.5" barrel the Tippmann 98 comes with
Weaknesses: None except a long barrel can get in the way
Review: This barrel is VERY accurate. I was playing against people with flatlines, boomsticks, freak kits, and other top line barrels. The smart parts barrel was just as good as most of them, and was even better than some. The progressive barrel is just as good as barrels that cost well over $100, but it only costs $50. It is a good investment, but if you get it, it is very important to find paint that works good for it. If the paint is the wrong size, it will either break in the barrel, or will be very inaccurate because the ball will bounce around in the barrel and shoot out at a bad angle. This barrel, just like any other, is only accurate if you use the right paint.
Conclusion: I recomend this barrel because there is not a single bad thing about it. Don't let the part where I warned about paint scare you. It is just as important to any other barrel too. This barrel is well worth $50 or however much it costs.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, October 4th, 2004 at 2:18 pm PST
I found this review  
12 Comments - Add Comment

Stan_the_HitMan Saturday, November 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
4 years29 of 38 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
All american
flatline-more of a technolidgy than a barrel, so not comparible
3A 4 peace
many stock barrles
Marker Setup: Ion
Hybrid Shizzle Grips
68/4500 Maxflo
Halo B
Recommended
Paintballs:
Rec paint such as big balls, zap, draxxus, ect
Strengths: Accurate
versatile
$$cheap$$ LIKE 35 BUCKS
comes stock on impys
Weaknesses: Difficult to clean
Only standard Bore
Review: I used this barrel as a primary barrel for 2 years before getting my flatline and while i was still learning how to install and collaborate my flatline as a backup.
it only comes in standard bore so all of you paint matching freaks should look into the freak.

I myself became somewhat of a paint-to-barrle matching freak as well but didn't want to buy the $200+ freak barrel and settled with the $100+ 3a four piece.

but with standard boar ball breakadgeisnt relay a factor **THIS BARREL IS EXTREMELY GOOD FOR NOT BREAKING PAINT**

Even at high rates of fire minimal ball breakage occurred, this barrel may be just a memory to me now, but it is a memory with no squeegee! and any memory without a squeegee is a good one.

HOWEVER, when debris got in the gun such as dirt or sand ball breaking does occur and it doesn't matter what barrel you have.
In this event the portings instantly become the anti-christ. accuracy with portings clogged (especially portings at the end of your barrel such as this one) increase your patterning in this way:

clean barrel w/ good paint at 60 feet: 2-3 foot pattern (slow ROF)
crapped up portings w/ good paint at 60 feet: 10-12 foot pattern (slow ROF)

At high rates of fire the pattern does not suffer dramatically with this barrel.

The range is not the best with this barrel, and it can only be found in 14" and 12" now i believe. it is relatively quiet though, compared to many other low end barrels.

But i shouldn't call it a low end barrel, just because of its price which is a huge plus, it is a middle preforming barrel above almost every stock barrel.
Going along with that, this barrel is available to virtually every gun out there and is very easy to get a hold of so it is usually the barrel of choice for the people hoping to upgrade in the future and the middle class player alike.



Conclusion: Accuracy: 7/10
ball break factor: 9/10
looks: 7/10 (5 color choices to match your gun)
volume: 7/10

so overall that is a 7.5, round it to 8.
i do think this barrel deserves an 8 though
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, June 19th, 2005 at 6:37 pm PST
I found this review  
12 Comments - Add Comment

tippmannstealth Saturday, December 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months27 of 33 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Victor stock, fenix stock, dye boomstick
Marker Setup: Spyder victor, Spyder fenix with Progressive barrel and 5'' drop--helps alot!!!!
Progressive is 16'' which is no longer made and is hard to find
Recommended
Paintballs:
I Recomend any paint besiddes brass eagle because i got a batch that about 1/3 looked like eggs (i guess thats what you get when they only cost 10 bucks. Formula 13 works great.
Strengths: Durability, Acuracy, Quietness, Great looks, Affordable
Weaknesses: To me there isnt one yet
Review: Okay This is a huge jump from stock. It's a great all-around barrel,a little long for speed-ball. I bought this barrel at a pro shop in St. Charles,MO one Saturday because my cruddy stock barrel dented, hey what do you expect from cheap aluminum. I bought this barrel for 40$ very Nice price!!

Durrability---- It is pretty thick which makes it less likely to dent, I accidently rammed it into a metal bunker i got so P.O.ed but there wasn't even a scratch. plus It doesnt scratch.

quietness--- intead of normally hearing POP, POP, POP, POP, POP all you hear is a faint click from the other persons point of view. But when youre shooting it you still here the normal sounds but thats because you 6' inches away from the gun.

Accuracy- I bought the rare 16'' Progressive and it shoots straight as a nail. I can hit a target 80 yards away, yea ive measured. but who shoots that far it'll shoot were you wnt it to go.

Looks--- Ahhh, the looks it is really cool looking and somewhat intimidating that the barrel nearly cost as much as my old gun, my old gun, the victor, was faithful though, but now shes retired. It looks great on the Fenix ACS.

Price---- Yes price has a huge play in the sport of paintball. Paintball is a very expensive sport if you are low budgeted player that likes playing at least once a month. You can come across great deals such as the Progressive. THis barrel cost me 40 bucks and it is so woth every cent. It is great for someone with a low budget.
Conclusion: I think this a great barrel for the average player. It is strong nd durrable, very good acuracy and it is just great!!!!! I love it And so should you. Very big jump from most stock barrels. This is a common barrel that can probably be found at most pro shops. Get this barrel
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

spyderbob Thursday, February 26th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month23 of 32 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
stock barrel
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine Select
Progressive barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
Zap sport series work nice, and RPS powerballs
Strengths: Accuracy, range, i have never broken a ball with this barrel
Weaknesses: I chopped a ball and when u squegee, hard to get paint out of porting
Review: I went to my local paintball store to buy this barrel for my spyder. As soon as I pulled the barrel out of its original bag, you can tell that this is a high quality product (afterall, it is from smart parts). The next day I went to go play some rec ball at some local field. This thing shot like a dream and gave me alot more range. I have never had a ball break with this barrel. I have shot about 2,000 rounds through it. It hasn't disappointed me yet. This barrel also looks awesome too, (the new one looks nothing like the pic at the top of this page). Overall this barrel is extremely acurate when it comes to my standards.
Conclusion: GREAT buy for 40 bux. You wont be disappointed with it, VERY ACCURATE AND CONSISTENT
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
11 Comments - Add Comment

croked_shot Sunday, February 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months16 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann stock barrel- its okay but a little short and loud
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom
20' Progressive: Flat-Black
16 oz smart parts tank
4+1 PMI pack
Recommended
Paintballs:
anything but brass eagle or other very low end paint.
Strengths: Very Quiet
Flat Black- looks really good on my tippmann
Cheap
Weaknesses: Lenght- depends on what your playing.
Review: Okay i bought this barrel becuase the stock tippmann barrel was very loud and inacurate. So i go down to the local paintball store and i say i need a better barrel for my tippmann and the guy goes okay, i suggest the new 20' Progressive, and i say what, 20' isnt that way too big for any human to possible use? Ill cut the crap here, but the point was the 20' is very accurate, the reson i went with the 20' is becuase by the time the paintball gets to the spiral porting its already stopped excelerating and has time to change back into its orignial round size. When you shoot a paintball it warps to an oval because of the great speed at which its flying, so with this 20' barrel the paintball has time to reshape into a circle before it leaves the barrel. This means your going to get a more accurate shot. I also went for this barrel becuase i play in the woods or in scenarious, i wouldnt recomend this for any speed ball (DUH). But anyways its all up to the person who plays on what lenght to get, the 20' makes it so quiet in the scenarioes or woods people cant really hear where your shooting from and if they can figure it out you can mostly get them out before they can get you. This barrel is definetly the best one piece out of what my friends use, as for breaks, i havent had any even using ZAP SPANK which are just a cheap practice ball. This barrel is my favorite out of the teardrop i tried (my friends spyder rodeo with 14' teardrop), the freak with All American front (my friends, i know it sucks (dont know spelling) Oryan, 12'), but i think i like my barrel best because of the lenght. Where other people will say 20' is stupid, i think it works great for my needs in scenoaries or woods playing, also if your into looks and want a shorter one, flat black on a black tippmann looks really good.
Conclusion: I would definatley recommend this barrel to anyone (anyone being a recreation non-speedball player) obviously if your going to tournements seriously your going to want a two-piece so you can match tournement paint, but for me this is best money ive spent in a long time. The sizes are 12',14',and 20' where i got mine, available in flat black, silver, red, green, or blue.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, February 20th, 2005 at 1:07 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Top Gun08 Saturday, February 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested9 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Fenix acs stock barrel(not quite as good)
Marker Setup: Fenix ACS
16in" progressive barrel
ricochet apache hopper
super swirl paintballs
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any diablo's will work great.
Super swirls might bust.
Strengths: 16in.
Looks cool
Adds around 10-15 yds. in range
Weaknesses: It chopped a ball and after that the accuracy was dead,meaning there was none.
Review: The progressive barrel is a good barrel for 30 dollars. Like I said before it adds to your range. I was testing it in my friends back yard and after it chopped on ball you would'nt be able to hit any moving target.I like the whole teardrop look to it. I sure the teardrop isn't much better. For the same 30 dollars I would rather have the J&J Ceramic or PMI Razzor.
Conclusion: Accuracy = 8.5
Range = 9
Chopping = 8
Price = 10
Looks = 9.5
Overall = 9.0
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

ROBGDL Thursday, January 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock 98 custom barrel
Marker Setup: Tippmann custom 98 using co2 (9 oz late in the day and 20 oz early in the day)
Recommended
Paintballs:
Marballizer's, Super Swirl & Dusk are what I have used used
Strengths: Accurate, Quieter than stock barrel, CHEAP (in price not quality)
Weaknesses: Velocity settings are very important
Review: 3 of these barrels were purchased at the same time for Tippmann custom 98's. 1 for me (blue), 1 for my son (green), and my father-in-law purchased 1 (silver). All were supposed to be 14" but, the silver barrel was slightly different in appearance (shorter & different thread adapter). When my son put the green one on his gun it shot perfect, at 100' he was hitting a telephone pole 20 out of 20 (super swirls). I put mine on my gun and could only hit the same pole about 10 out of 20 (marbalizers) with 5 of the ones missing by about 8 inches or less and the remaining 5 going all over the place. When my father-in-law put his on they were all over the place (marbalizers), he might have hit the pole once. First thing we tried was changing to the super swirl paintballs, but that did not make any difference. So we started switching barrels as soon as I put my blue barrel on my son's gun I got the same results as he did 20 out of 20. So we started playing with velocity. I ended up turning my gun down and putting my blue barrel back on my gun. And after some tweaking to the velocity It started shooting everybit as good as my son's setup. So we moved on to my father-in-law's gun and barrel (silver). After alot of tweaking we ended up getting it better but not nearly as good as ours. At 100' he is probably hitting the pole 10 out of 20 with 6 getting within 8 inches and 4 going all over the place. I still plan on doing further testing but this has been a pretty cold winter here in Ohio and I can't get out as much as we would like. I also would like to say that I have used the Dusk paintballs in this barrel and achieved equal results to the marballizers and super swirls.
Conclusion: I do believe that for the price this a great barrel and would serve the recreational player very well.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

tonner68 Wednesday, June 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
32 Degrees Whisper barrel, and a J&J performance barrel.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 68 Carbine. 14 inch J&J Ceramic barrel, and Smart Parts progressive barrel. JT Drop Forward. Tippmann Expansion Chamber. Scope.
Recommended
Paintballs:
pretty much anything. Any ball will work great in this barrel. But the better you get, the better accuracy you will get.
Strengths: looks cool, performs awesomely, and quiets down your gun.
Weaknesses: none. Just needs to be broken in.
Review: This barrel will out perform even some of the best barrels out there. It looks awesome, and not only that, it is affordable and reliable. The accuracy rate will go way up on your gun, and also quiet it down. i also get better CO2 efficiency from this barrel. All in all, this barrel is the best I have ever used, and I will use it for the rest of my paintball playing times.
Conclusion: If you are looking for a cheap upgrade barrel that really does upgrade your gun. This is the barrel for you. It will improve your accuracy, consistency, efficiency, and quietness on any type of gun. Get this barrel, you will not be disappointed.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

ItVVazntM3 Saturday, November 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
4 years7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock barrels - almost the same

J&J EDGE Barrel Kit - a lot better!
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
response trigger
folding stock
Ceramic J&J EDGE Barrel Kit 14"

Phantom (Stock Class)
J&J EDGE Barrel Kit 16"
Strengths: Looks cool
Performs alright
Price
Weaknesses: Only 1 bore size (Like all 1 piece barrels)
Review: This is an alright barrel. It looks really nice, but it isn\'t the best in performance. Since it only has the standard bore size (.689-.690) you can\'t use any type of paint, it has to match that size otherwise the balls will go everywhere (paint too small) or break in the barrel (paint too big). For the price it is a great barrel!
Conclusion: It is an alright barrel. If you are in dire need of getting a barrel now, then get this. Otherwise, save your money and get a PHAT, J&J EDGE, Empire, or a Freak.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, November 28th, 2004 at 4:28 am PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (49):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media