paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Zap Amp Transformer / Zap Amp Transformer / Zap Amp Transformer / Zap Amp Transformer

Zap Amp Transformer Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Zap

Buy Zap Amp Transformer

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Zap Amp Transformer
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 22
Average Rating: 7.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $110

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Zap's AMP Transformer has an LED display, electronic trigger, and is semi-automatic.
Product Availability 
The Zap Amp Transformer is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
doslucky Thursday, July 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months11 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Surge DF
Marker Setup: ZXS 1000E
Stock Barrel
Viewloader Quantum Electro Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Electronic Hopper
Strengths: Accurate
Easy Strip Pin
Weaknesses: Chops Paint Sometimes
Plastic Grips
Review: This is a great gun, I;ve been using it for a year now and it's very accurate.

ubi_20 said:
I couldn't put the bolt/hammer back in without unscrewing the trigger frame.

That's a simple thing to do. As you pushing the bolt in, you should have you gun turned on, and simply pull the trigger a few times and the bolt will slide right in. :)
Conclusion: Great Gun!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

PopcornPlaya16 Monday, October 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
-Spyder TL-X
-Tippmann 98
-Spyder e-99
Marker Setup: -ZXS-1000e
-Small Parts Progressive Barrel
-Empire Reloader Hopper
-20oz Co2 tank
-JT nVader Goggles
Recommended
Upgrades:
-The first and most important upgrade you will need is to get a hopper that isnt gravity fed. Either VL Revolution or Empire Reloader will not only help but prevent from chopping balls.
Strengths: -Cheap
-VERY accurate
-Uses little co2
-Doesnt chop balls if you have a decent loader
Weaknesses: -Only the grip frame
Review: The ZXS-1000E ( Amp Transformer ) is a GREAT peformance gun for a first marker.

First of all this gun is cheap and yet it works great. The ZAP company have improved their markers over the years, Amp Transformer as an example. The Amp Transformer compared to all the other ZAP guns impresses me. This gun is very accurate if taken care of well.

When I bought this gun I had a gravity loader, it kept chopping balls but once I got my Empirer Reloader I haven't chopped a ball since. This gun is fast, not to heavy, uses Spyder threads and most of all, ITS CHEAP!!
Conclusion: I recommend this gun to ANYBODY who is new to paintball, it will impress you how well built this gun is other than the grip frame. This gun gets a 10/10.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

torodude Tuesday, March 29th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Well my friends Brass Eagle Marauderer acted similar.
Marker Setup: Zap Amp Transformer-all stock except for VL quantum electro hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Well if yours works 12-14 inch barrel, and electro hopper.
Strengths: When works fires straight and very long.
Weaknesses: Look at review.
Review: I looked at all these reviews and I was exited to get this gun. Now I have it and it sucks!!! My gun goes full auto after just tapping the trigger and it doesn't shoot balls it shoots all my CO2. It even went off doing that when the safety was on. The rubber band idea does help and the gun goes straight and long when it works. I wish I hadn't got this gun because my friend has a Piranha E-Force GTI(105$) and it is sweet. Don't get this horrible quality gun because trust me u don't want to get stuck with this. Also the strip pin fell out and have never been able to find it, it is way too loose. If anyone has any recommendations for me to try or hints e-mail me at

dbrewer1@insight.rr.com

Update: Finally got it to work but the site I bought it at lied about it being automatic so I'm going to return it and get a Piranha E-Force GTI. 1000000000 times better.
Update:Got the GTI this gun sucks worse than I thought compared to it even when it was working. Get the GTI save yourself the trouble. rating now 4
Conclusion: Don't buy it it is bad quality and is a piece of junk. Maybe it would be good if it didn't break I don't know.
Update: Still don't buy it, a Piranha E-Force GTI is way better and only costs 5$ more.
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, May 4th, 2005 at 2:47 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

thecrewplayer Thursday, January 15th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Marauder-O.K
Marker Setup: Zap mach 404 hopper- 2 -9 ounce Co2 tanks, zxs 1000 E:, everything else stock for now
Recommended
Upgrades:
Longer Barrel -electronic hopper{a must}-nothing else maybe a beaver tail if you can find one
Strengths: -shoots accurately -cheap -awsome on Co2 -Barely Chops balls -Shoots fast -Zap
Weaknesses: -maybe the odd chopped ball 1-500-plastic handle or so-no real weaknesses
Review: This gun is best explained in one word...."awsome!" The zxs e 1000 is a very good gun for the price for $160 Canadian. Features like the expansion chamber, and electronic trigger frame make this gun a must for the unbelievable price. The gun is very accurate right out of the box. The barrel is a 9 inch but easily upgraded because of the lifesaving spyder threads. The zxs 1000 is capable of shooting 10balls a sec.....plenty enough for most paintballers as the electronic trigger frame is very touchy. It works like a charm on gas if you have a smaller tank around a 9 ounce and mine was capable of about almost 850rounds until it ran out...an amazing co2 conserver.The odd chopped ball can be cured with an electronic hopper wich the gun was probably designed to work with. Get the gun.... you'll like it.The gun is not too heavy but is heavier than most plastic guns obviously.It is also all metal except for the handle which is plastic.
Conclusion: If you want a gun that works like most higher end guns look no further than the amazing zxs 1000 e marker!!I highly recommend it for any level player.Get one at walmart and never be disapointed and at the great price of $150 Canadian! What a steal!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, April 19th, 2004 at 9:22 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Garyakagod Friday, July 23rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom(rental, crap)
PMI Phirana Evo(much better, had an ACE)
My ion setup(heavenly)
Marker Setup: Yellow SP Ion #1668
Blue Reloader B
72 3000 Pure Energy
Freak barrel, 689 insert, All American tip
Check it no rise feedneck
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing, try to stay away.
Strengths: Uses little Co2
Cheap
Simple blowback design.
Weaknesses: Bulky grip frame
Simple blowback design.
CHEAP.
Low performance.
Review: This marker is definitely one of the lower end guns I've ever touched, let alone owned and played with. Accuracy is little to get excited about. The blowback on this gun is terrible. That coupled with the shoddy trigger, and this thing works terrible. Does come with a bottomline setup. I left it in my closet over the winter, and noticed when spring came that something happened to the board, and it's fried and won't work. Which prompted the upgrade to my ion. Totally satisfied, never looking back at this terrible waste of metal.
Conclusion: Cheap low end gun. Take that however you want.
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, June 14th, 2005 at 6:01 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bayruun Wednesday, September 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmans, Spyders
Marker Setup: Stock ZXS 1000E, 45 hopper, 9oz CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Better trigger frame, but that can be expensive
Strengths: Fast shot, good accuracy, nice weight, cheap
Weaknesses: Poor quality, e-grip malfunctioned, very loud
Review: After using this gun for about 2 months, the e-grip stopped working. All that could be heard was the feeble "click, click" as I pulled the trigger, but no characteristic blam! The local paint shop told me that the gun was cheap in manufacture, and that he couldn't fix it.
Conclusion: Buy it if you want a fast-shooting gun for cheap, but be careful, when the electronics go, you'll have to get it replaced, making it not so good a deal.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Spitlebug Sunday, October 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT USA Excellerator 5.0 and 6.0, Black Dragun Compact, LED and LCD, Spyder Extra, E99, Avant, Imagine, Electra DX etc...
Marker Setup: Zap ZXS::1000E, 12" J&J Ceramic (Black), 12 volt Revvy
JT Excellerator 5.0 w/ PPS bolt, 12v Revvy, Powersupply mod, 14 ounce CO2 cylinder.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A better barrel and a 12v Revvy. If you don't like the feel of the trigger, do a trigger job.
Strengths: Cheap Price
Fast
Accurate
Upgradeable
Weaknesses: Cheap grips
Cheap trigger frame
Review: Guess what guys? The new Zap markers are Black Dragun Clones! Yes that's right you heard it from me. They have 2002 M3 Black Dragun Compact bodies, bolts, electronics and grip frames.

On top of being a compact clone, some have a few extras:

Zap Amp Reactor (Dragun LCD):
Expansion Chamber
Pressure Gauge
Bottomline
Drop forward
Volumizer
Multi Firing modes
Flush Cocking bolt

Zap Amp Generator (Dragun LED):
Expansion Chamber
Pressure Gauge
Bottomline
Drop forward
Volumizer
Multi Firing modes

Zap Amp Transformer (Dragun Compact):
Basic Balck Dragun Compact, no extras.

The Zap ZXS-1000E (Dragun Compact):
Gas through fore-grip
Bottomline
Drop forward
Volumizer

All-in-all you can't beat the price and performance of these electros. Bar none they are cheaper than any decent electro and perform just as well or better than most electros.
Conclusion: Buy one. If you like Black Draguns, they are the same marker. Besides you can buy them at Walmart for $149.99 Canadian. If that was American your looking at about $90. Great price for a marker that used to cost more than $200 American.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 10th, 2004 at 6:40 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Tom_D Thursday, June 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder electros (way more reliable)
Marker Setup: Tippman model 98 with a 16" 32degrees nyte stick and 32* drop big drop W/ on/off
Recommended
Upgrades:
a receipt so you can get your money back and get something that works
Strengths: It might work for one full day before breaking.
Is quite the little air hog
Weaknesses: Electric components are cheaply made and they break quickly
Review: My friend bought one of these on sale for fifty bucks. When we all first saw it we thought it was quite a bargain. So we threw a battery in it and played with it a little bit.
It seemed to work fine.
Except when he took it out for the first game it just plain wouldn't shoot and he was the first one out. After fiddling with the thing a little bit back at camp and not figuring out what was wrong with it he gave up and grabbed his tippman.
Then about a year later he brought it over my house and asked me to look at it. I field striped it, lubed it up and, again, threw in a new battery. After firing off a couple test shots it seemed to be ok. But after a little pause to swap out the barrel the gun had the same problem. The solenoid wouldn't activate the sear for some reason. And it wasn't like it lost power or something. One minute it would shoot and the next it wouldn't.
After playing with it for a while and having fired not even two full hoppers out of it. The thing had eaten through a whole 9oz co2 tank.
What a chap piece of garbage.
Conclusion: Do not buy this product, get a spyder.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

dblguns Friday, December 31st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder E-99 AVANT
2003 WGP Outkast
Marker Setup: Archon 68ci 4500psi
Hand Made wood grips
Stock barrel
Heavy Spring
Anti-chop bolt by Kingman
Evolution II Egg with Y-board technology
Recommended
Upgrades:
Agitated hopper, could break paint
Can get a barrel, but stock is very accurate for this gun.
Strengths: Accurate out of the box
Great gun for the beginner or advanced players alike.
Weaknesses: Big grip for players with smaller hands.
Bolt Assembly, remove grip
Review: After I sold my E-99, I was in the market for a new brush gun. This gun was stock when i received it, but ordered the Bolt and spring kit the same day. I took the hopper off of the E-99, and cannot out run it with this gun. The reason for the new bolt was that you ABSOLUTLY cannot bust a ball. ($60 upgrade) The wooden grips are more durable than the plastic one, but did it to make the gun unique and personal. The idea behind the compressed air setup is that it is more consistant than CO2 in the colder weather (Washington) and its more shots. With a 4500psi i can get 15 shots per ci, so about 1200 shots per fill. ($215 upgrade) Cost of the gun was outstanding ($75), but got rid of the VL200 loader. Great gun with a personal touch, HIGHLY RECOMMEND!
Conclusion: * Great brush gun
* Affordable
* Upgradeable
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lil_croatian_bo Saturday, June 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
I never used a gun like this, its the zsx 1000e is da first gun,
Marker Setup: The Basic setup,wit 20 oz tank,normal vl200 hopper:)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Electro Hopper
some people say the barrell but i fired over 2000 paintballs didnt curve once
Strengths: -the price
-the strength
-uses spyder threads
-shoots good,
-not to heavy
-great starter gun
Weaknesses: couldnt find one yet
Review: Great gun for the price,its my first gun and i am a totall noob! i fired around 2000 paintballs wit it and i didnt get 1 ball break inside da gun(Brass eagle afterburn paintballs)from wat i read online people say upgrade yur barrell .. i wont upgrade anything yet the gun is stock and works great!!! WORTH EVERY PENNYY!
Conclusion: Great gun,cheap,easly upgradable,looks dope,good on co2 and accuracy wit da stock barrrel was good, shot a 200feet tree from first try ! (i am a noob so i think this is good):)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media