paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Sanchez Machine SM-1 System / Sanchez Machine SM-1 System / Sanchez Machine SM-1 System

Sanchez Machine SM-1 System Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Sanchez Machine

Buy Sanchez Machine SM-1 System

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Sanchez Machine SM-1 System
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 27
Average Rating: 9.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
1, three piece 14" barrel .689, 1 three sleeve kit bore sizes 679, 683 & .688, 1 wrench, a/c Spyder, Tippmann 98, Tippmann A-5, Angel. Comes in black blue red silver and nickel.
Product Availability 
The Sanchez Machine SM-1 System is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
proballer88 Tuesday, May 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Freak, Edge, Pipe
Marker Setup: X-Mag
Recommended
Paintballs:
RP/PMI, Draxus CE, Pretty much any
Strengths: Quality
Customer service
Weaknesses: Reverse threading can cause problems if not done correctly
Review: I have used this barrel for about a year now, and I must say I am very impressed with it. I met the company at World Cup this year and found out that they also made the Barrels of OTP and the also make barrels for several other companies out there.
This barrel is a very high quality barrel, there craftsmanship really shows through in this barrel. It is by far better then the freak, or any other kit I have used to this date, see above, I have not used all the barrels out there but of the ones I have this one is the best. This barrel shoots darts, is super quite, and I have not had a problem with it cleaning on the rear chance of a break, it only takes me about 10 shots to shoot clean. The only minor problem I have found with this barrel is the reverse threading of the inserts. The problem occurred when you go to screw the barrel into the marker and the insert is not tight enough into the barrel it will start to unscrew itself. This is easily fixed with the tool the have supplied with the kit and just by tighten the insert down before you start to screw the barrel on. Really not a problem if you install it correctly.
Conclusion: Over all this is a great barrel you will not be disappointed with it. If you want one of if not the best barrel out there get this one!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Wings11J Monday, November 24th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Stock A-5, Stock 98C
Marker Setup: A-5, Palmer Stabilizer, SM-1 Barrel system, Folding Stock with RVA.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any decent paint. better quailty will mean better results though.
Strengths: Accurate, Quiet, Durrable, Quick removal.
Weaknesses: Hard to put on. Hard to change inserts.
Review: This barrel shoots with amazing accuracy. The paintballs seem to string a little horizontally, but vetically there all pretty much in the same spot. Makes shooting a guy peeking over a barricade fairly easy. Breaks paint occasionally. Had about 3 breaks in 2000 shots. Accuracy wasn't hurt as bad as with stock barrel and if I didnt have time to clean it I could keep shooting with decent accuracy.
The reverse threading makes the barrel very quick to remove but does make it difficult when putting it onto the gun. Its supposed to come with a tool to help with that but mine didn't. An adjustabl wrench solves the problem fairly well and once you get it tightened together you can take it off and put it back on without any difficulty. So you can still take it off to clean a break and toss it back on again without needing the tool.
This barrel also makes the gun much more air efficient. Me and a friend set our velocity screws the same (i didnt have RVA on at the time) and fired a few shots over a chrono. He got 260-285 with stock A-5. I got 355-365. I had to put my velocity screw in almost as far as it would go to get down to a consistant 280.
Conclusion: Excellent system. Does exactly what its supposed to. Accuracy is amazing. Absolute must buy. Use quality paint and it'll never dissapoint you. 9 Because of the difficulty swapping out inserts and the need of a wrench to help. Still worth the buy though.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Fury Sunday, September 21st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Long shot, Boomstick, CP, Black Magic.
Marker Setup: Lasoya Intimidator, Flame Drop, 68/3000 Fiberwrap
Recommended
Paintballs:
So far, any
Strengths: Sizable, accurate, quiet
Weaknesses: Threading and o-rings makes installation difficult
Review: This barrel is a 3 piece system that is made exceptionally well. The barrel tip itself is a .700 bore which is available in several lengths from 10 to 16". The tip screws onto a stainless section which holds the back end. The back ends are sized differently (both a smal bore kit and a big bore kit are available. This makes a paint to barrel match simple.

The insert is left handed threading so that it tightens up differently. But if you tighten too much, the o-rings that seal the 3 parts together can squeeze out into the barrel. If you don't tighten it enough, the barrel unscrews when you thread it into the marker. The barrel kits come with a tool to help solve the problem, but it would be nice if it wasn't needed.
Conclusion: Great barrel. Less than a Freak set, accurate and quiet. The 9 is for the threading.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

SparkyLove Wednesday, March 24th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
barrels by dye, JT, J&J, smartparts
Marker Setup: a4
mid volumizer
crossfire 70/4500
checkit mount
eggy II w / zboard
Recommended
Paintballs:
since this is a system anypaint will do.
Strengths: machining. this is a very well made product.
Weaknesses: kinda hard to get. almost have to buy direct.
Review: I have used many barrels. but the SM 1 is the best I have used. I have one for my cocker and I just ordered one for my angel. I would recomend this barrel to anyone. get this barrel if you are a serious about winning. this is a piece of equiptment that you need.
Conclusion: this product will replace all your barrels.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Oxbrain Saturday, January 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I own an Evil Pipe and I used to own a Freak.
Tested plenty of non-kit barrels.
Strengths: Very smooth inside bore
It's a kit, so very adaptable
Nobody else has one
Weaknesses: Reverse threading is a royal pain.
Review: I picked this barrel up because I haven't seen one before and the store owner liked it more than the freak system.

The bore on this barrel is higher quality than most I've seen. About on par with highly polished brass, but much more durable. Add the fact that you get 4 backs and the SM-1 makes for a very accurate barrel.

The front section is well ported so it's rather quiet, but I would like it if the ports were bigger so the gun could shoot through paint better.

The barrel looks nice. SS is always good. Lots of colors to match almost any gun color. The inserts are rather cheap, so this could easily be used on several guns with little price increase.

Sounds too good to be true right? Well, now for the bad news.
The back and the tip are both reverse threads. In other words, to screw the back onto the insert, and the tip onto the back, it's lefty tighty righty loosy. While this is nice because you don't get the insert stuck on the gun like some other kits, it means that you can't get the barrel onto the gun without unscrewing everything. They very thoughtfully provide a wrench to turn the insert. If sanchez changed one thing about this barrel, I'd want it to be this. If the gun shot through paint really well it wouldn't matter as much, but since it doesn't, you have to swab it quite often.
Conclusion: Overall I like this barrel because it's very accurate and it's rare to see someone else with one.
With the quality of milling and general looks this barrel deserves a 10.
The fact that I have to fumble for a wrench after pulling my barrel to clean it drops that 10 to an 8
Since I have to clean it after every break because the ports are tiny drops that 8 to a 7

Great barrel if you can rely on not breaking paint and if you want something different
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

yochinaman Wednesday, November 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Powerlyte Scepter kit
Marker Setup: Too many
Strengths: Solid inserts of good length. Excellent quality. Tightening tool.
Weaknesses: Poor self cleaning. Heavy.
Review: Let me start off by saying that I much prefer single tube barrels. The reason I have started to use a multi bore system is out of necessity. My FPO paint has been averaging 0.680 and there is no single bore barrel that size that I can find.

Buid quailty is excellent. The entire kit seems very solidly built. Inserts are aluminum and stamped with the size. The back looks like chromed stainless steel. Quite beefy and as a result this kit is the heavy barrel I have ever used save for a 12" DYE stainless. The tip is a ported aluminum piece completing the 14" system. Too bad they didn't offer any other tip sizes. The interior finish is top notch.

Insert bore size availability is great. Staring from 0.679 all the way to 0.695. Never calipered the inserts, but based on the build quality of the entire kit I would assume it is accurate.

The insert and tip are reverse threaded. Takes a little getting used to, but who cares, it's just threading. A tool is provided to tighten the barrel to the gun body, no more stuck barrels!

The barrel kit shoots fine. No better and no worse than the multitude of other barrels and kits I've used. With the large number of ports it's sound signature is reduced though I have used other kits where the ports were smaller and the sound was even more muffled.

This barrel kit does NOT clean well. Self cleaning is next to non-existent, expecially when I'm using such small paint and the tip bore is so big. Looking down the barrel, I can actually see 3 stages to the bore. Paint gets stuck in the middle stage and cannot be clean out effectively. The large ports on the tip make it impossible to blow out the ports via dry firing into a bunker as well.
Conclusion: The product is decent, but there are better kits on the market. I enjoyed my Powerlyte Scepter kit much more (lighter, quieter, comes with a carry case). The only downside really is weight and self cleaning ability. If you don't break much paint then this is a non issue already. If you get an unbeatable deal on this kit then go for it, otherwise get something else.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Amok B Saturday, November 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye stainless
Smart Parts Freak Kit
Infinity Barrels
CP barrels
Marker Setup: Racegun Halfblock
Palmer Micro Rock reg
Belsales 44 Magnum ram with Qev's
Mac Dev Gladiator inline reg
Mac Dev Conquest air system
SM-1 Barrel kit
Recommended
Paintballs:
Pretty much any (any fairly round ones...)
Strengths: Well machined
Very Light
Perfect inside bore transition (sleeve-front tip)
Weaknesses: Reverse threading is a bit weird at first.
Review: Paint-barrel match:
Being a barrel kit (7 different bore sleeves), covers all range of paint sizes. No more problems of paint to barrel match.

Weight:
I was used to 2 pieces barrel kits with a stainless back, which was a bit heavy. Certainly felt the difference with the SM1. This one is light.

Paint handling:
I've been using tournament, field and practice grade paint. All these vary in hardness - brittle. Also some of the paint I shoot in practice isn't top fresh (left overs from last practice/tournament). Either way only had a couple of barrel/breach breaks. From previous experience I was expecting a lot more.

Accuracy:
I can get a very good paint to barrel match. This is a must for accuracy. Some times i'm amazed by how true the paint flies at longer ranges(no kidding). Good shot groupings.

Self cleaning:
Like I said, only broke paint in practice once or twice. Took me around 10 balls to shoot straight again.

Looks/Finishing:
All pieces are very well machined, no defects I could find. All sleeves match perfectly into the front tip, and looking from the front, the two different bores (front and sleeve) are well centered (concentric) which means a smooth transition for the paint shooting down the barrel.
Front half of the tip comes with a mixed dust/glossy spiraled anodize, which I think looks great.
Good anodize without blemishes.

The reversed threading:
The only down side to this kit could be the reverse threading: The front tip screws into the sleeve anticlockwise and then the all barrel screws into the gun clockwise. It just takes time to get used to.
The kit comes with a wrench to help secure the barrel tightly into the gun, But i've noticed i can do it now without the wrench (no hassle of carrying the wrench into the field).
Conclusion: If you're looking for a barrel kit, this is an option.
Justified all my expectations. I've stopped looking for other barrel kits :-).
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, November 12th, 2005 at 8:55 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

TAVAAR Monday, August 8th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Pipe
Marker Setup: Angel Speed '05
PMI 68/4500
Halo B w/Victory Board and Shoctech Rip Drive
SM-1 Barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
Evil, Chronic, Inferno, Premium
Strengths: Strong body
Strong inserts
good accuracy
farily good self cleaning
Weaknesses: Fairly heavy
Reverse threading doesn't stay tight when attaching to marker
No carrying case
Review: Pros: VERY STRONG barrel front and inserts (I've never used one of them so after accidentally droping one on gravel with no damage I tested it on cement then again on cement with the first time dropping it and the second time throwing it...STILL NO DAMAGE!), the inserts are around 5 to 6 inches long (better accuracy and efficiency), good accuracy with mid-paint but very good accuracy with quality paint (still not ball on ball but still within a 1 foot circle at around 50 feet which isn't bad for the price), $150 so its not expensive, has 4 inserts (.679, .683, .686, .689), self-cleans fairly well if you do manage to break (I've never broken with the paint I recomended for it though).

Cons: Its a bit heavy but that balances alot of tanks out (kindof), the reverse threading comes loose when you attach it to your marker and is hard to get tight enough so you don't have to tighten it later in the day, I've never used the .679, not the quitest barrelout there but it beat out the Pipe for noise and the self-cleaning, and....oh yeah did I mention its a bit heavy.
Conclusion: This is a good barrel kit for a fair price if your looking for something that is accurate with good paint, is a fair self cleaner when you break, are not worried about barrel weight or reversed threading, want something that is fairly quiet, but most of all somthing that you can rely on even after tons of abuse and hard play to be just as good (if maybe not a little smudged on the gloss finish) as the day you got it as long as you take decent care of it in the meantime.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, August 8th, 2005 at 2:24 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

es916 Thursday, June 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Freak Barrel Kit, not as good but a great system in its own right.
Empire Full Kit, again nice but way to expensive.
CP 2 piece kits, for their price, you can't beat these either.
Marker Setup: 2K2 Gold to Black Fade Dragon Intimidator
CP Vert. Reg, Check-It Unimount Combo, CP 2- Piece 14', WAS 2.8, Clammy Grip, CP roller trigger.... you better believe that more is comming!!!!

Red LED 2K3 Trix (Backup)
AKA Sidewinder Vert Reg(Medium), AKA SCM, S.A.M Orange Bolt w/Aardy Red Kit Parts, SM-1 14' Barrel Kit, Check It Low Rise, Check It Unimount ASA, 68/4500 Crossfire LP Tank, Gun20 Chip, Halo B Loader
Recommended
Paintballs:
X-Ball Gold
RPS Premium Paints
Blaze (awesome match)
Come to think of it, you can shoot rocks if you want and they will work fine :)
Strengths: Extremely Accurate
Different Backs
Great Interior Finish
Weaknesses: Expensive
Thats all.....
Review: I was looking for an alternative to the widely used freaks and empires and I found my answer! SM-1 kits are the best bang for the buck in my experence. What I love about these kits is the fact that you can shot crappy paint and you will still enjoy great accuracy. The fact that you can change the sleaves means that you will not have a problem with paint to barrel match. Some people complain about the weight but I would gladly take a few extra ounce to shoot the straightest ropes you will ever see. I have had almost no barrel breaks, in fact I can count on 1 hand how many I have had in 12 cases of paint. If you do get a break, just take your straight shot and run it through, it will end up totally clean. The barrel is about as quiet as the rest but if you are like me, you play speedball so you dont care about loudness anyways.
Conclusion: For the money that I paid, I can say this was an awesome buy. If you are looking to a great/better alternative to the freak and empire system, give sanchez systems a try, you cant possibly go wrong. This gets an absolute 10!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PoopDog Sunday, March 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Cocker stock barrel.
Marker Setup: 2k3 cocker, sanchez barrel, shockteck bolt, qev's, palmer reg.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any.
Strengths: Very accurate, price, sizing inserts.
Weaknesses: Price if your low on cash.
Review: I've been using this barrel for about six months now and I have never had a problem with it. It's very accurate and a great for the price it is. My suggestion is to tighten the connection between the barrel and insert as tightly as possible, so if you do happen to chop a ball the entire barrel will come lose more easy and clean it easily.
Conclusion: I would recommend this barrel to anyone. You get your money's worth out of this and you will never need another barrel.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media