paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Teardrop Barrels / Smart Parts Teardrop Barrels / Smart Parts Teardrop Barrels

Smart Parts Teardrop Barrels Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Teardrop Barrels

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Teardrop Barrels
[ View Photos (24) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 550
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $35

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Teardrop Rifled barrels are available in many different lengths for almost all paintguns.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Teardrop Barrels are older, so while they may be available used and in a few cases new, they are not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (55):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
JCRV Thursday, April 19th, 2001
 
126 out of 148 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: Looks mean. Very Quiet. Light, but not too light. Great price!!
Weaknesses: Nothing really, does'nt seem to shoot cheap paint very well, see conclusion.....
Conclusion: I actually took this barrel out and did some "testing". I shot at two different targets (a tire rim hanging from a wall and an old car door) from about
75 feet (25 yards) out. I used Viewloader and Super Swirl paintballs. I recorded
each brands performance and wrote it down :

VIEWLOADER :

Out of 100 balls only 1 broke. Accuracy when I would shoot one shot at a time
would vary dramatically, alot of curves and dives. But when I would shoot
5 -10 shots very rapidly the accuracy was almost perfect. Distance when I
would shoot 1 at a time would also vary. Like I said, alot of curves and dives.
But again, when I would shoot rapidly the barrel impressed me, hitting almost
the same exact spot each time from 75 feet out. I would not reccomend using
Viewloader paintballs with this barrel.

SUPER SWIRL :

Out of 100 balls 0 broke. Accuracy when I would fire 1 shot at a time was
almost perfect. Accuracy when I would fire rapidly was even better! Distance
was equally as impressive. The rim hanging from the wall was at about 5 feet
high and 75 feet away - the paintball never seemed to lose velocity as it
traveled towards it. I experienced no curves or dives with this paint as I did
with the Viewloader. I reccomend this paint or any paint that's not Brass Eagle
or Viewloader. I myself use Diablo (Midnight, Blaze, Sheridan) PMI Gold, or
Super Swirl.

This seems to and very well may be the absolute best barrel in it's price
range. It havent "battle tested" it yet, but when
I do I will give a follow up review on it.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, December 1st, 2004 at 1:33 am PST
I found this review  
43 Comments - Add Comment

gradius Monday, August 25th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month56 of 69 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
stock spyder xtra barrel - poor consistency from shot to shot, clearly not on par with the teardrop.
Marker Setup: spyder xtra
14" teardrop
20oz co2
vl200 clear hopper
Recommended
Paintballs:
rps marbs, rps super swirl - great
draxxus dusk - good
Strengths: accurate
no barrel breaks
inexpensive
quiet
Weaknesses: chops cause major problems
Review: The Good

I'm really pleased with this barrel overall. I've played about 10 days of paintball with it now, and it performs well. It's very accurate, which is obviously the most important feature of a barrel. Expect tight spreads even at 80-100 feet with a good paint/barrel match. In my experience, Draxxus Dusk is a bit small for this barrel but still shoots pretty good. RPS Super Swirls and Marbs are a good fit and both shoot great.

It also happens to be pretty quiet, as others have mentioned. It's not like you're going to be some super stealth sniper (heh) with this thing, but it is nice as it probably takes an extra second or two or opponents to figure out where initial shots are coming from. This helps most in woods fields, but even on larger speedball fields it can be a little advantage.

I've never broken a ball because of the barrel; it's just a matter of picking the right paint. Don't pick paint that you can't blow through the barrel with your mouth, or paint that will roll through uninhibited (though I think the latter is the lesser of the two evils if you can't get a perfect match).

The price was also great for a barrel of this level - I got mine for $42


The Bad

Like I said, I've played with this a bunch and I haven't had a problem with it... until the last time I played. It was speedball, and for reasons unrelated to this barrel, I ended up chopping a ball in 4 different games with the bolt. When I chopped, my accuracy with the teardrop became entirely non-existent. I couldn't help but laugh at some of the truly extreme curves the balls were taking as close as 30 feet out of the barrel. As far as I could tell, there is no possible way you're "shooting through a break" with this barrel. The balls will just keep on flying in random directions. Most of the time I was lucky enough to have teammates cover me while I ran a squeegee through the barrel. This barely helps at all, as a large part of the problem comes from paint inside the porting, which a squeegee won't clear. Then I tried turning the gun upside down, covering the end of the barrel with my hand and dry firing a few times. This helped more, as it cleared the porting a decent amount, but still left a lot of paint around the holes. At this point, balls were still curving a lot and accuracy was worse than a stock barrel. I could sort of aim and actually eliminated someone with it at about 60 feet - but with all the curving it was mostly luck. Basically the only way I got the performance back was to run a hose over the porting to fully clean it. It is really hard to fully clean mid-game. And when it's not totally cleaned, accuracy drops noticably.


Miscellaneous

Obviously this is a matter of opinion, but the barrel looks pretty damn nice. The "smart parts" and "teardrop" labels are indeed upside-down when it's screwed in all the way on spyder threading, but you can take them off and reverse them.
Conclusion: Despite the hassle I dealt with after chopped balls, I still rate this barrel high. It shoots great, is pretty quiet, looks great, and is relatively inexpensive. I look at it this way - it only gave me trouble one out of ten days of play, and even then it was only because my hopper was feeding poorly and didn't match my rate of fire. From what I've read, comparable barrels include the sp progressive, j&j ceramic, and lapco bigshot. But ultimately I'm happy I picked the teardrop.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, July 21st, 2004 at 2:36 pm PST
I found this review  
19 Comments - Add Comment

chibissj Friday, October 24th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month41 of 45 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
SP Progressive, basically the same but different porting
Marker Setup: 2003 Vert Feed Cocker
14" Teardrop Barrel
Chrome Palmer Stabilizer
Eggy II w/ y-board
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any that will fit the bore size.
Strengths: Very Quiet, Pretty Accurate, Doesn't break paint
Weaknesses: none really, see review however.
Review: First off let me state that I bought this barrel used. This does not however change the fact that I still believe this barrel to be an outstanding barrel. When I first recieved it, I cleaned it out and then I had to wait about 3 weeks to test it. All that said lets get on with the review.

Accuracy: When I first go this barrel I thought that the accuracy would be extremely good. This is true and false. The balls generally go to where I am aiming however, from 150 ft I thought the shot spread pattern would have been slightly tighter, but it didn't matter, it was still about a 10in spread, so I mean that's outstanding. The reason it's false is because once in a while there would be that stray ball that would fly off but that's why the spread got to be 10 in, usually without those outliers the pattern was around 5 or 6 in. So in conclusion, you aim the gun, the barrel will get it there. I was shooting from 175 ft, and nailed a pop can off a post, so that's damn good.
Out of 100 shots, I only missed 8 or so, and those were those stray outliers.

Balls in barrel: Let me say, I've heard that once the balls break in this barrel it sucks for accuracy. However, I haven't even had a ball break. I however did put a ball in there then put cardboard on the end and shoved my squeegie in there to break the ball, and I was left with a huge paint mess. The paint oozed out of the bottom porting and then i shot the gun again. The first few shots were off the target line by about 1 or 2 ft from 150 ft, but after those, it started flying straight. I wasn't even using quality paint, just some old Big Balls. Even the lopsided balls and sundried balls somehow flew out of the barrel like top quality balls.

Quiet: You bet, I don't hear a thing when I'm shooting this on my cocker. It's so quiet I sometimes don't know if the ball came out of the barrel, until I hear it hit the board. So with all that said, this is by far the quietest barrel I've ever shot.

Price: I know I got mine used, but still I've seen them for 45.99 on some sites online, and I'd be willing to pay that much for the performance I've gotten from this barrel.

Looks: It looks sweet, the spiral porting really does work. and the tapered end looks sweet in my opinion.

Paint: Use anything. I shot zap torks, big balls and they both worked the exact same, this barrel will shoot anything as long as it's the same bore size.
Conclusion: I think that this is by far the best barrel I've ever used. This barrel was bought to be a temporary barrel until I got a powerlyte scepter kit. After actually using it, I am almost not willing to go and get that barrel now. This barrel performs sweet, I've never broken a ball, and it's quiet. The price is worth every penny, I know I woulda spend the money on it at least. If you get a chance pick this up. I am giving this a 10 for a few reasons. I know that there are better barrels out there, but you also have to pay for it. This barrel deserves the 10 for best because it's imo the "best" barrel or at least up there with the best barrels under 50 bucks.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
12 Comments - Add Comment

Ian8604 Wednesday, March 24th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months25 of 28 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
owned - tippmann 98c stock, tippmann .68 carbine stock, CMI thunderpig 16"
fired - spyder E-99 stock, spyder compact deluxe stock, Tippmann flatline for 98 and a-5
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98c
Smart parts teardrop 14" barrel
brass eagle red dot sight (dot on the lens, not on the target)
mounted 2AA mini-mag with pressure switch
Recommended
Paintballs:
Draxxus blitz
Diablo Dusk
most medium bore-size
Strengths: extremely accurate
relatively quiet
good distance
Weaknesses: accuracy decreases if a ball is chopped
Review: Well, Iv'e been playing paintball for quite a while now, (close to three years now), and I've fired lots of guns, with lots of paint, through lots of barrels, and I've gotta say, "God bless Smart Parts." This is probably the best barrel I've ever used, definitely the best for its price range.

A good buddy of mine bought this barrel for his spyder E-99 a few months before I did, and from watching him fire and firing it myself, I was pretty convinced. I had also read a good bit of reviews on this barrel by fellow tippmann user's. So I went out and bought it for myself, and went out into the field.

The first thing I had to do was tune my velocity, (this is KEY when using any barrel, even a stock barrel). Once I got the right setting, (which I found to be about 9.5 turns out, for you fellow 98c users), I was getting a flat trajectory for about 40 yds, with about a 3-5 inch grouping. At about 70 yds, I was getting a good 6-8 inch grouping with very little compensation for distance. After sighting it in, I was able to convince my brother to put a mask on and go out in my yard, just to test it. At around 35-40 yds I was able to take single shots and nail his mask, and when I fired a burst, I got a good 4 out 5 hits on his chest, and this was while he was moving across my yard at about 25-30 yds from me.

When I started playing games with it, it was like a dream. I was shooting kids from so far away that:
1.) I was at such a distance that I wasn't even in their range of shooting back, and
2.) Their team members couldn't locate me because I was able to fire from so far that they wouldn't see me until at least after I had fired a few times, but they still couldn't shoot back.
Aside from sniping, I also tend to get crazy in paintball and run kamikaze missions. In these situations I seldom get the chance to stop running, and even while I am firing on the run, the ball never seems to whip or dive. In other words, I've never used a barrel that I liked more than the teardrop.

The key elements in accuracy is the barrel, the paint, and the velocity. Factors such as wind are uncontrollable and affect everyone equally. This barrel, with medium bore-size paintballs should do the trick. (Note: Brass Eagle, Viewloader, and Blue Streak paint should never be used with ANY barrel, no matter what size it is, unless it is one's desire to spend their game time with their head down running a squeegee through their barrel while the other players better quality paintball are flying over them.) Other than that, getting the velocity to just the right setting should give accurate shots from excellent distances allowing you to take out your opponents before they even detect you, which is never a bad thing.

As far as sound goes, do not listen to anyone who says that any gun or barrel is silent. Such a thing does not exist. But there are definite differences in loudness. Compared to other barrels I've used this is one of the quieter ones. Loudness also depends on velocity, and I keep mine almost maxed out, so it is still pretty quiet, quieter than most anyway.
Conclusion: To conclude, I am most impressed with this product, and, as I once heard it put, "I would recommend this barrel to Jesus himself." I give it a 9 only because I do not believe in the perfect product. Perfection is only what works best for one person in one situation. But if you want to attain almost-perfection, I think this barrel is a good place to start.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 5th, 2004 at 5:18 pm PST
I found this review  
10 Comments - Add Comment

Esprit_inCANADA Wednesday, March 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months25 of 39 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Similar, uhhh stock barrels I guess.
Marker Setup: Spyder Esprit, 12 volt revolution with X-Board,14'' Teardrop, 48 ci 3000 psi pure energy, Angel regulator, and Physco Ballistics Drop Forward, rase tank cover.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Big ball, PMI premiums, Diablo midnight, any mid bore paintballs.
Strengths: Very accurate
Quite
light
looks cool
cheap
can find anywhere
Smart Parts make it
Weaknesses: Seriously there are none, just don't use large bore or small bore paint.
Review: This barrel is probably one of the best after market barrels on the market. It is much cheaper then the Freak or boomstick and you get nearly identical quality. I love this barrel, can't really give much of a review on acuracy because I play indoor at 250 fps. It is acurate at such a low velocity.
Conclusion: I recommend this barrel, there is nothing wrong with it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, March 30th, 2003 at 12:12 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Seano427 Wednesday, May 7th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month13 of 21 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
i have seen custom product barrels,a carbon fiber barrel, various stock barrels and a ceramic, none compare to this barrel
Marker Setup: Piranha G3 sts
Recommended
Paintballs:
pmi premium
jt MAXIM, not elite or predator,
Strengths: excellent porting,
Weaknesses: a little loud
Review: This barrel is the best barrel i have ever seen already haven shot 1000+ balls through it, i have not seen a single break, (of course i use good paint, so you whiners with 2nds might have problems but thats your fault)

every ball goes straight as an arrow for its entire flight (unlike some barrels that go straight for a while then suddenly go off to la la land.

but its cool, some days the paintballs wobble in a weird pattern, only on cloudy days,

not as quiet as other barrels, but thats ok for me.

Conclusion: if your stock barrel isnt cutting it, this barrel does the trick, and for only 39 dollars!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

TitanMarine13 Tuesday, June 17th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman stock barrel, and my friends Longbow SS "very awsome"
Marker Setup: Tippmann custom 98, 14' teardrop, 20oz, spectra 260 w/ thermal lense.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Im cheap, so I use PMI Bigballs, and only Bigballs. Except for this one horrible time when I had to use feild paint, something called Hurricanes, I just try to block that day out though.
Strengths: Accurate, Dent and scratch ressistent, distance.
Weaknesses: This is intirely personal, but that weird flare at the end of the barrel
Review: I got this barrel for $60 one day in a mad rush to replace my stock barrel after playing a full day with my new gun and not getting one kill. " i always rented". It was this or a Freak Jr. but I dont believe in Inserts. I went home, filled my hopper and ect. put up my plywood target, and backed up to 60 feet "the only safe range on the stock" and I was amazed, there was 3 balls right on top of each other I tried again with a 6 round burst all shots were right in a 2 inch spread with one shot that for somereason was about 8' off. Then backed up to 100 feet and aimed for a knot in the wood, dead center hit, I did this over and over and constantly I was hitting and nitch, dark spot, or whatever on the wood effortlessly, and I was only using bigballs wich when seen in the barrel arnt a great fit. And it had me there, I loved it, I carry it around in a backpack with all my other stuff, have dropped it smacked it, I even beat my friend up with it once when he teased my mom, and still no scratches, when fired at a soccer field it got atleast 120-150 feet before it started dropping and my marker was set to 260 fps.
Conclusion: Its accurate, made my gun quieter "but it still has that ping that all 98s do." it has distance, its strong, and its made by Smart Parts. Why shouldnt you get it? There is absolutly no reason not to. The only thing is my friends longbow gets the same accuracy when he just shoots with the back piece or his 2 piece longbow, but who ever plays with the 4 inch nub? As far as im concerned, I saved 40-50 bucks and have a good barrel.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

blackhawkdown Monday, June 16th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
flatline, taso stonecold20in,armoson stealth16in
Marker Setup: model98custom/ responsetrigger/ 68ci4500psi tank/ doubletrigger kit/12vrevolution loader/rocketcock system/ teardrop barrel14in
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any RPS or PMI
Strengths: shoots straight, very FAR!!!,accurette shot out many peolpe at tourneys and playing places awsome!
Weaknesses: if a ball breaks you are done for the game! a squeegee will save you.
Review: this is a very good barrel ive had used it in many tourneys and even won 11 of the 16 tourneys with this barrel and ive even seen it used at d day many times in the sniper missions and in other missions.i have used at many other places then just tourneys and d day i have also used it at rec and speedball fields i think this is one of the best barrels out there compared for the price it shot better then my friends boomstick! and shot straighter then my dads flatline (but not as far as the flatine shoots).eveything else out there seems like it would be fine but this is my favrite barrel and i will always use it
Conclusion: overall this is a very good barrel dont let your friends have it or itll be a tough match for you. I highly reccomned this barrel cause.... comon... what other barrel can shoot out a boomstick and shoot straighter then a flatline! and for around 50 bucks! you know the answer to that.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

rktnmark Wednesday, February 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months9 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Only the stock 98c barrel
Marker Setup: Tippman 98c, 12" Smart Parts Teardrop barrel, 32* remote / w 20oz co2 tank.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Medium bore barrel, medium bore paint. I like All-Stars. Do some test of your own. Try to
match the paint to the barrel. I have used some 32* paint with fair results
Strengths: Accuracy, Increased range, Looks really cool on my tippman.
Weaknesses: Harder to clean if you break a ball. Use a swab not a squeegee.
Review: I set up a little test when I got this barrel. I put a paper plate on a piece of plywood. Then stood back at 100 feet. With two different color balls,( both All-Stars) one color for my stock barrel and the other for the Teardrop. At 100 feet with the stock barrel, I hit the paper plate 6 out of 10 times. Not too bad, right? With the Teardrop 10 for 10! I also ran the same test at 200 feet. This is where I saw the biggest advantage over the stock barrel. Stock barrel, 2 out of 10 hit the plate. Teardrop barrel 7 out of 10 hit the paper plate. At 200 feet with the stock barrel I was lobbing the balls. With the Teardrop I could use the sights on the gun. Still shooting high, but not as bad as stock. Then I filled the hopper and emptied it as fasted is I could through the Teardrop. No broken paint!
I Have sense played 3 weekends with some Buddy's. So far 2 cases of All-Stars later maybe 10 broken balls. Some I know were my fault. Great Barrel!!
Conclusion: If you own a Tippman, and don't like the stock barrel. Buy this barrel! At $45.00 it is a great value.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Blade hater Thursday, October 23rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Excel
Marker Setup: WGP 2K3 Verti cocker with bottomline and 14" Smart Parts Tear drop barrel Empire loader.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Zap Chronic at the least but i would say like anarchy or all star or diablo there all good except for brass eagle(i hate Brass Eagle)
Strengths: -Accurate
-Light
-Quiet as crap
-Sick looks
-Cheap
Weaknesses: NONE!!! THATS WHATS AWESOME NONE!!!!
Review: This barrel is so incredibly awesome !!! I like freaked out the first time i used this on my cocker.

<<<Accuracy>>>
This barrel is very very accurate. I mean like i would compare it to a all american or a boomy. The boomstick is good for i dont know why. But back to the teardrop it is very accurate. I hit a 5inch wide tree branch from 100 feet away now that is good.

<<<Weight>>>
The weight of this barrel compared to the original boomy is super light but not compare to like a JT 2piece, (thats light). But the tear drop also doesn't scratch which is good very good.

<<<Sound>>>
This barrel is very quiet. It is especially good when you are pinned down and don't want to give away your position. SOUND MATTERS.

<<<Looks>>>
The barrel looks very cool smooth intimidating. But it really just looks amazing.

<<<Cheap>>>
For the milling and accuracy and all it is worth the price. I got mine for 40.00 from my local field and that is good.

<<<Ball Chopping>>>
This barrel rarely chops any balls and when it does its because im still learning how to shoot my cocker without chopping.
Conclusion: I would recommen this barrel to any one in the world so go get it
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 19th, 2004 at 2:41 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (55):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media