paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Smart Stainless Barrels / Smart Parts Smart Stainless Barrels / Smart Parts Smart Stainless Barrels

Smart Parts Smart Stainless Barrels Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Smart Stainless Barrels

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Smart Stainless Barrels
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 32
Average Rating: 9.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Smart Stainless Rifled Barrels are a one-piece stainless steel barrel. They are available in 12" lengths for most paintguns.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Smart Stainless Barrels are older, so while they may be available used and in a few cases new, they are not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Yo_987 Tuesday, June 1st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
32 degrees quiet riot (not good)
Xcel (fair)
Several stocks (all worse)
Marker Setup: 32 Degrees Icon Z w/9oz tank, Smart Parts Stainless barrel, VL200
Recommended
Paintballs:
Just about anything works, i use DBX (Really cheap) and it works great
Strengths: Accuracy
Range
Quiet
Consistant
Looks Awesome!!
Weaknesses: No O-ring
Heavier than other barrels (very minor weakness)
Stainless (See review)
Scratches
Review: This is an Awesome barrel. I bought mine on eBay for $20 and it is the best one i have ever used. And no, i have not used All Americans or Freaks, but this is certainly the best barrel you can get for the price.

First Impressions:
This barrel looks great right off the bat. Most barrels do, because they're straight out of the factory with the shiny oily grease on them, but i love the porting on this baby. When you pick it up, it adds a whole new dimension to the barrel: This thing is HEAVY!! I haven't weighed it, but i'd guess a full 1.5 pounds. Now, don't jump to conclusions, i'm not a wimp, i personally like the heavy feel. Stainless Steel is a great material for barrels. I think the weight gives it a quality feel. To me, it feels so much better then those aluminum barrels. They feel cheap compared to this one. So, i like the looks of the barrel, and i love the weight. I don't think the weight will really matter anyways to people that have Angels and Nitro and Halos and everything that comes with that, but some people may not like it.

Strengths:
Accuracy: This barrel shoots DARTS with the right paint. They consistantly fall one on top of the other on my target. I tested it against my 32 degrees quiet riot and found that:

Aiming as best as i could at a tree the width of a person 40 feet away, the quiet riot hit it 2 out of 5 times. (awful!) The Stainless hit 5 out of 5.
Same test, 70 feet away, the quiet riot hit 1 out of 5 times, and the stainless hit 4 out of 5 times.
Same test, 120 feet away, the quiet riot hit 0 out of 5 times, and the stainless hit 4 out of 5 times. This barrel is very accurate, again, i haven't tried Freaks or Ultralites, but this is good enough for me, and i think its good enough for just about anyone else.

Range: All the porting does not slow the ball down or anything, it hit the tree from 120 feet no problem.
Quiet: This barrel is not SUPER quiet, but is quieter then the stock, which to me is a strength. I think this barrel is mostly for speedball (what i play), and thats why its on the loud side.
Consistant: This is in the same league with accuracy, the ones that hit the trees where all on top of each other, the ones that missed just barely whizzed by. (may have been my fault, its hard to aim at a tree 120 feet off.

Weaknesses:
No O-ring: This is the biggest flaw of the barrel. Where their should be an O-ring by the threads, there is none. This is probably because it is an old barrel and no one had thought of it yet, but, as a consequence, the barrel jiggles loose on long games. Now what i mean by this, is that it turns just a teeny bit, maybe 1/16 of a turn when you are playing because of the recoil. The o-rings on newer barrels absorb the "shock" of the recoil, and keep it from untwisting. This doesn't have it, but all you have to do is:
1) Twist it on REALLY hard at the start of the game, or
2) In the middle of a game, just twist it that extra bit in and you're set.
This is a minor flaw, and should not keep people from buying the barrel, its just a little thing. You may even be able to put an o-ring on there yourself.
Heavier: It is heavier then other barrels, but, as i ststed in the "first imprssions", i don't think this is a bad thing, and i think it gives it a quality feel. Not a big flaw.

Stainless: It is bright silver, and on woods games, it stands out quite a bit. I play speedball, so stealth doesn't matter, but if it bothers you, a quick fix is to wrap electrician's tape around the barrel, either just on the tip or on the tip and the back. (don't wrap it on the part with the porting, this messes up the barrel)

Scratches:
This barrel does scratch easily. When i bought mine on eBay (used) it came with a lot of scratches None major, just those little ones from your fingernails and small brush. No big deal, but it does retract from the appearnace somewhat.
Conclusion: I'll let you draw the conclusion. I've given all the things i could possibly think of about this barrel, both the good and the bad. I have found the barrel to be worth my money and very reliable, and the stengths to far outweigh the weaknesses. I hope you will too, because if you don't, you're sure missing out on a treat. 10 out of 10, for the best barrel i have ever used.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Lookatjonny Sunday, February 10th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Barrel (no comment), Smart Parts Teardrop (Very good, but not quite as quiet or accurate), J&J Ceramic (Piece of sh*t, ceramics work like crap), Lapco Bigshot Stainless Steel (about the same in accuracy, much louder, more expensive)
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra
Smart Parts Stainless Steel 12"
Polished bolt with venturi removed
Pure Energy 48cu 3000psi
20 oz CO2 (big whoop right?)
Recommended
Paintballs:
RPS/PMI Big balls worked exceptionally well... so did PMI premiums... and well.... I'll be damned, El Tigre kick arse too.... in conclusion, just do yourself a favor and use RPS/PMI paint
Strengths: I could go on for hours on this part, this barrel is exceptionally strong (thanks to being made of steel), and extremely accurate with most PMI/RPS paint (I can shoot darts with big ball and El Tigre).
It doesn't scratch easily, it shoot very wells through breaks and oh yeah, it doesn't break paint, even shatty paint, I shot about 200 brass eagle through it no prob (they weren't very accurate though, mostly because of their distinct dog poo shape) you can even crank your velocity up and the paint won't break. The barrel balances my gun PERFECTly.... I get a little aroused just thinking of how perfect it is...
One of the coolest things about this barrel is how quiet it is, it's the quietest barrel I've ever come across, the spiral porting really does wonders...
Oh yeah, and it goes well with my Xtra, few barrels do :-)
Weaknesses: hmm... not much here...
the barrel is pretty damn shiny so it may be a problem in woods games depending on how you hold your gun (just keep low and you should be fine) One day when I was playing with my friend he said that the only time he saw me was when he noticed a glint off the my barrel... luckily I had already shot him a few times when he said he noticed, lol
Um... there's honestly nothing else I can think of.... I sort of wish it had a little smart parts insignia engraved on it... that would be cool... but hey, it's just a thought ya know?
Conclusion: For the love of God buy this barrel, I've never regretted making this upgrade to my gun and you won't either.
In fact, if you have this barrel or tried it and you didn't like it, then email me and I bet I can make you love it!
Getting this barrel is the best decision you could make for you and your gun's sake :-)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unived Micindev Friday, February 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
progressive, all american
Marker Setup: 68classic
- X-valve
- smart parts SS barrel
- minimag grip frame
- home-made drop fwd
- flatline air system
VM68
- ZGP grip frame
- home-made drop fwd
- torpedo reg
- dynaflow air system
- vl revolution 12v
- low pressure upgrade - 250psi
- semi or full auto 12bps
Sheridan P-12
- zgp velocity adjuster
ZGP
- stock
Recommended
Paintballs:
pharmagel ink, but all stars works well
Strengths: STEEL!!!...
Weaknesses: nada
Review: stainless steel and brass is da best for barrels...but stainless barrel definitely survive u...and yes, its accurate and quite...but mine sometimes chops (1of 100) competitive balls so if u can, use hard paints or low pressure gun...and no, this barrel is not heavy, weight is absolutely OK
Conclusion: what can i say...great barrel for good price...if u play scenario games ss is best for u...
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Greggums Wednesday, April 23rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye stainless, All American
The dye performed similarly, the dye was quieter
Marker Setup: Inferno,Smart Parts SS Barrel, 12v revy w/speed collar, nitro duck comp. air, 45 frame, wgp ergo reg.,trigger and valve job
Recommended
Paintballs:
ProBall, Mabelizer, Big Ball, and pmi Premium all work good
Strengths: Accurate, fairly quiet, cleans easy
Weaknesses: heavy
Review: I have this on my inferno, and I had a Dye SS on my old cocker.
-The dye was quieter
-They both cleaned just as easy
-the dye was more accurate(by a little), but I give that edge to the fact that it was on my cocker, my inferno cicks a lot more than my cocker.
-this barrel is cheaper than a Dye
Conclusion: A very good barrel, cleans out well, accurate, faily quiet. It is very durable and shoots good in the rain( not all barrels do)
******i give it a 9 cause of its wieght, a 10 would be perfect*******
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Voty2000 Wednesday, March 12th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
The stock barrels on the Spyder E-99 and Spyder compact 2000 and a Dye Stainless steal barrel.
Marker Setup: Just have a Spyder E-99 with the Smart Parts Barrel.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Diablo Midnights.
Strengths: It is real accurate,
Pretty quite,
Looks nice,
Cheap,
And increases perfomance.
This is a good barrel for a good price. I used a Dye barrel that costed more money but the Smart Parts barrel blew it away. Very impressed with the gun.
Weaknesses: It is a little shinny and can get heavy but if the weight of the barrel affects you alot then you should not play. I havn't really found make wrong with the barrel.
Review: This is a very good barrel with few drawbacks. I had in on my spyder compact 2000 and it increased my accuracy alot. I now have it on my E-99 and it blows the stock barrel away. I recommend this barrel to anyone who wants a high performance barrel. There is no reason to spend more money on a barrel that will not perform as well.
Conclusion: I recommend buying this barrel if you want a really good and cheap barrel.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, April 5th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Spyder, AA, Armson 18", and a few others i can't think of right now
Marker Setup: 2k2 Vert cocker, PMI drop, 14" AA and a Spyder TL plus, SP Stainless, modded bolt
Recommended
Paintballs:
BIG BALL best paint for a large bore size like this, also it has a subdued shell so they don't see it coming.
Strengths: Great barrel. As everyone knows Stainless is the best material for barrels. Much improved accuracy over the stock barrel I was using. It isn't a gas hog. I haven't broken a single ball IN THE BARREL. I have chopped balls before though. It wasn't the barrels fault. 12" provides pretty good accuracy but would be much improved if a 14" were available. Looks nice if you're into that sort of thing. Very reasonably priced for a stainless.
Weaknesses: Not sure if it's the barrel or the gun, but I get a loud metal clank sound when I fire. Other TL's that I've heard or fired didn't make this noise. Oh well, just make sure you hit them on the first shot. A little heavy but I'm not a weight weenie. Very shiny so you stick out really well in the woods. doesn't come in a variety of sizes.
Conclusion: Great barrel for the money. If you're looking for a stainless barrel and don't have the money for a boomy or something like that, get this. Good accuracy, a bit loud; but I don't care, great price and nice looking addition. I'd say if you're an entry level to mid level player this would be good for you. I can't give it a 10 because of the few bad marks and it's definitely not the best out there. But I would give it a 10 for newbies and an 8 for more experienced players
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, February 25th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock barrel for Spyder Compact 2000
Marker Setup: Spyder Compact 2000 with 12 oz. Co2, Smart Parts Stainless Steel 12"
Recommended
Paintballs:
When I first got this, I tested it with about thirty 32 Degrees Paintballs, and it did not even break one. When I played with Big Ball paint, it only broke 1 out of 1000.
Strengths: ~Much quieter than the stock barrel on my SC2k
~At least 5 times more accurate than the the stock barrel
~Looks pretty cool (Not that important, but oh well...)
~Finger prints do not show up "easily", despite what people say. I had to search for the prints for them to be apparent.
Weaknesses: ~Same range as stock barrel
~Pretty shiney, so it is not for players who go for stealth
~A little on the heavy side
Conclusion: This is an excellent upgrade for anyone looking for something other than thier stock barrel, but I would probably spring for Big Daddy or All American 2002.

It's a pretty good barrel, just not the best. :-)
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, February 10th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock TL plus Barrel, Armson Stealth (16 inch), Boomstick
Marker Setup: Stock Spyder TL Plus with 20 OZ CO2
Recommended
Paintballs:
I have tested and highly recommend Marbilizers and Diablo Inferno paint. Both of these work extremely well with the Smart Parts Stainless barrel.
Strengths: The Look of this thing is awesome! This thing looks like a piece of art. The fit and finish is excellent, its very flashy. It does perform as well as it looks. It absolutely kicks ass. I was hitting a 12 inch target 8-9 out of 10 shots at 135 feet! It didnt matter if it was rapid fire or just plinkin', this thing is very accurate.
Weaknesses: The only thing that might be "bad" is the finish for some people. It might be too shiney for woods fighting. Who cares though, If your opponent sees you, its likely because hes getting his ass blasted by you. The only personal gripe I have is that when the barrel was shipped to me, the whole inside of the barrel was coated with a tacky oil that had a lot of dust and a couple dead bugs stuck to it. 10 minutes of soap, warm water & scrubbin' fixed that.
Conclusion: Get this barrel. Its the best one for the price. I paid $49 (+$8 for shipping) . I have shot the Boomstick, which I would say is close in quality as this barrel, but the Smart Parts Stainless is still a better barrel....and at $50 cheaper! I will gladly take on a boomstick user anyday and know that I will have the upper hand! My recommendation is for you to buy this barrel and have that same confidence. Read the other reviews, even boomstick owners recommend it over their beloved Dye barrels! SMART PARTS RULES! O--|---< 10+++
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 5:56 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, February 2nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
boomys
all american
allamerican stainless
titainium boomys
cp one-piece
cp kit
some others
Marker Setup: electric skies splash eclipse angel led
*air assist mod
*adrenalin high rise feed tube
*cobra bolt
*bonebrake bolt
*cobra hammer
*warped sportz 2k2 dark angel maximizers(x2)
*eclipse drop, anoed to match
*armegedon 4500 system, with two tanks, 45, and 68
*pro quick connect, polished
*DYE boomsticks anoed two match in all lenth and sizes, gathered them up from different angels
*freak kit
*CP kit
*some other barrels
*all american stainless 12 inch, 14 inch .689, .687 respectively
* o and dye stickies
Recommended
Paintballs:
all stars work good.
Strengths: I got this barrel for my e-mag, I hated the e-mag but liked the barrel. I seem to be the only one to not like the snappy e-mag trigger, o-well thats another review. After selling the e-mag, I got this barrel for my angels, in the 12 inch size with a standard (.689) bore. It was a very accurate barrel, all stainless barrels are, but I didn't like the look of the dye stainless.
Weaknesses: It is heavy, so try to get a short lenth. It also works good on back heavy guns like the e-mag.
A sixteen inch smart stainless on a shocker with a 114/4500 armegeddon might not be the lightest thing to carry around.
Conclusion: It is a very accurate barrel, and lots quite good in the process, looks great on cockers with chrome pneumatics.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, September 8th, 2001
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: Its super accurate. I was getting 3-4 inch groupings at 30 feet, the guy i was shooting can testify! i shot 4 rounds into his back and they all hit within 4 inches of each other.
Weaknesses: Porting makes for hard cleaning but thats how it goes with all porting. FINGERPRINTS! there every where! im constantly cleaning off peoples fingerprints. its so beautiful they just want to touch it.
Conclusion: It looks awsome on my grey f4. Works well for speed ball.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media