paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Proteus Sportz-Comm Mask / JT Proteus Sportz-Comm Mask / JT Proteus Sportz-Comm Mask

JT Proteus Sportz-Comm Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Proteus Sportz-Comm Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Proteus Sportz-Comm Mask
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 15
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Proteus™ Sportz-Comm™ Goggle System is talking up a storm! Now our world famous Proteus™ goggles comes with a built-in audio communication system. Just plug in your personal FRS recreational 2-way radio and bingo!, your goggle system has become a completely hands free 2-way radio “VOX”. Whether your caught up in the latest scenario game for the weekend or just reffing for the day, this communication system is designed to handle multiple users! Our system is so advance you can plug in your mp3™ player, i-pod™ or CD player too! Warm up for your game or cool down with your goggles on and your favorite tunes jammin’ away inside... what could be better?
Product Availability 
The JT Proteus Sportz-Comm Mask is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Splat Dawg Sunday, November 2nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Many JT and Brass Eagle masks. Pro Flex. The Proteus is still the best.
Marker Setup: 'Mag RT Pro on the way to replace my broken Sheridan.
Strengths: Very comfortable, awesome colors and tints, mic and speakers, thermal lens, and good ventilation.
Weaknesses: Chin strap doesn't fit well (might just be me), doesn't cover neck, expensive.
Review: I love this mask! It is a really nice comfortable fit all around your head and is solid and dependable. Awesome colors. If you shine a light directly at the mask it has a shiny, sparkly look, but if you shine a light behind it it goes through and is somewhat transparent. That's really cool to play around with. You have a nice field of view with this mask and a little line of the bottom of the lens is clear (not tinted) so you can see clearly if you have too. The best part is probably the Sportz Comm. You can plug it into a walkie talkie and chat with friends, or listen to Cd's! The chin strap isn't quite on my chin, but that might just be because the mask is designed for more people to use and not just younger kids. The mask also covers almost nothing below the chin. A good neck guard'll cover you on that one.
Conclusion: I'd still buy it over any other mask. The Invision is nice though, so if you absolutely hate this, you can buy that. But all in all it's one of the best masks you can buy. Get one today!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

need$alife Saturday, January 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
v-froce mask
dye invashion
Marker Setup: black magic
5000/68ci pure energy tank
empire reloader
everything else is stock
Strengths: termal lens
no fog at all
looks koo
Weaknesses: nothing
Review: this is one of the best mask i ever used, i never picked a better mask. i can breath as hard as u can in to it and it wont fog up at all. i would reccommend this mask to anyone, its a great mask to use, u can see more clearly. its like not have a mask at all when paintballing.
Conclusion: i reccommend this to anyone that wants a really good, anti-fog, mask that wont hurt ur face. i give this product a 10/10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

team_xcetra_cap Friday, October 10th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
all jt masks v-force masks scott masks dye pretty much all of them
Marker Setup: i have a vision impulse with a cricket board palmer stabilizer a torpedo regulator tapeworm and blade trigger my backup is worrbladed outcast with the eyes put on it
Strengths: awesoem protection and covcerage plus the com is great
Weaknesses: none that come to me it is an awesome mask
Review: awesome product out f everything that i have ever used i like this one the most offers great protection no fog and a all around sweet looking mast plus it kicks on the field the way that the ear piece fits in the mask is great i have tried to just use a ear piece and mic for a walkie talkie before but this is so much better because with that it kept falling out of my ear i loved the mask and it gave me a huge advantage when i played at splatt attack two this year long live tom kaye and the borg team
Conclusion: buy one of these today they rock it is by far better than anything that is currently out
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

NinjaOscarFish Monday, December 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Invision, Jt Flex, Pmi Mask
Marker Setup: Proteus With Fan

Strengths: Never Fogs, Fan, Strong, Durable, Easy To Clean, Take Apart
Weaknesses: Life is full of entries so don't fill up on bread
Review: Mask has a very low profile. It is very durable and easy to take apart. The vortex fan is a sweet upgrade. With it I never fogged at night during a waynes world scenario. Fits snug on your face and is breathable. Great range of sight. Pretty cheap now. Spectra lens rule
Conclusion: Great mask. Get the fan
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bigcity_balla Thursday, May 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
spectra, vforce
Marker Setup: 2004 imp vision
cricket board
ndz blade trigger
smart parts jackhammer lpr
halo (smoke) w/ clamping low rise
shocker inline reg
shocker drop and xsv on/off asa
strange bolt
Strengths: Comfortable, never fog, lots of lenses etc
Weaknesses: Mic and speakers are kinda useless
Review: Just for the record, i love these goggles. they're comfortable, they never fog, are lots of lenses and lens frames if you want to accessorize. ON THE OTHER HAND the mic and speakers are kind of useless. Actually, my mic broke a few weeks after i got the goggles, but i never used it and i dont think i ever would. I plugged an ipod once, only to find that the cable that connects to the goggles would always pop out (I'm sure if you put enough effort into finding a way to prevent this you could, but im just too lazy haha).
Conclusion: For speedball and recball, you would be fine with just spectra or other proteus models, and you'd be saving some $$$. IF, however you're big on scenario play, the mic and speakers might be worth the extra cash. I dont really know, it's kinda personal preference. I give them a 8 because overall they are good goggles, but i feel like a complete tard for spending some extra when i really didnt need it.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

piper2893 Thursday, October 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Dye invision, Scott,
Marker Setup: A5 with flatline Spyder Imagine
Strengths: Great vision and light.
Communication capable.
Looks sharp.
Like it is part of your face
Weaknesses: None
Review: Great vision and light. You can almost see your own chest with it on! You can see well to the sides of your vision frame. This thing feels like it is an extension of you face. You begin to forget you have it on!!!! I love this thing. It is also voice activated communication capable. You just connect up a Vox radio and start talking! Totally hands free! No pushing buttons and only you can hear what your teammate's are saying. I saw a complaint that the vox on someone's radio would not work when plugged in to the mask. You have to connect it up before you turn on the radio. If not the Vox does not function correctly. Just follow the instructions. This unit functions as advertised and does not fog! Looks really sharp. I have the Gold color! It looks almost green with a bit of a gold tint......I like to snipe and the color is as good as camo. I highly recommend it!!!
Conclusion: Run out and buy it NOW.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

elvispudge Sunday, May 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Spectra
JT flex
JT ice
JT defender
Marker Setup: tippmann a-5 e-grip
tippmann 98 custom stone-cold barrel, x-chamber
1999 autocoker with system x grip and drop, custom products barrel
2001 angel LCD with freak barrel
Strengths: fits greta and comm. set is so cool
Weaknesses: price
Review: it is great easy to clean and maintain fit great easy to use. the mask allows you to see the whole field and paint will sometimes not even break when it hits the mask. this mask is the most comfortable mask on the market. The only thing that is wrong is it is not good for woods ball because you do not blend in as well with the gold mask. scares people though. the mask will turn alot of heads.
Conclusion: this is a great product. get it it will be worth it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Lan506 Saturday, May 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Jt Proflex
Marker Setup: Spyder E-Shutter storm trigger, 32 degrees carbon fiber 14in barrel, ACI bulldog III nitro, Smart Parts Max Flow Reg, Venturi Bolt, bullet volumizer, empire sound activated reloader.
WGP 2004 prostock (vertical feed) autococker, e blade trigger, 3 way pneumatics, evil barrel set, aci bulldog III nitro, smart parts max flow reg, ccm volumizer, halo b hopper
Strengths: no need to camo it , if green
good coverage
fits to head well
Weaknesses: a bit heavy
not a lot of people use radios
not to soft
Review: good mask, but its not great to use, if other kids on team dont have it, cause then they have to hold a walkie talkie, and they dont like doin that


lots of places where paintballs can break on mask, its not that soft.

heavy and gets hot.

chin strap secures it snugly to my head
Conclusion: get it.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Caddy24Roy Wednesday, June 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Jt Alpha Elite (WalMart Mask)
Marker Setup: Spyder Rodeo
LAPCO feedneck
14" J&J S2 Ceramic Barrel
Extreme Rage Overdrive Modified Electric Hopper
Heavy Duty Remote Coil
20 oz tank
Stranj 6 + 1 harness
6 Stranj Locking Lid Pods
Jt Proteus Mask with Vortex 2 Fan
Strengths: Lightweight
Fits Face Like Glove
Awesome Mask
Weaknesses: Needs a little more Neck Armor
Review: I got the Purple/Cyan mask for Fathers Day from my daughter. I used the Jt Alpha since I started playing last year. I put on the Proteus and wow. I was amazed how light it was compared to the Alpha. I totally love the color changing ablity. The sports comm is nice too. I use mine with my mp3 player to warm up before we play. Im waitn for my buddies to get there before we all get walkie talkies. I added the fan that i got for my Alpha and that went on just as easy as it did the Alpha. Wow not a drop of fog in my mask. The only problem is the amount of armor around the neck is a little short. All round great mask.
Conclusion: I would suggest getting this mask if you need to communicate with your team or if you want to jam out before the game. The purple to blue color change will amaze your friends as it did mine when i pulled it out the first time. They all had to try it out for a round.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, July 7th, 2006 at 7:15 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ectoblaster Tuesday, April 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Jt xfire
Jt proflex
Jt IZE
JT Nvader
Marker Setup: Dye Dark Cocker
WGP Prostock '05
CCI VSC Phantom
HPA
Strengths: Very comfy
Weaknesses: Less bounces
Review: Now before some "agg" kid flames me let me state that I don't play tourneys... This means that I dont care to cut my masks add foam ears and hurt when I get hit but sacrifice pain for bounces... I play rec so bounces are a plus but not when you sacrifice protection. This mask offers excellent protection despite a little less neck protection, only a full head mask would protect you better. Out of all the masks I've ever worn it's the most comfortable and stays the most snug. I put a second strap on it anyway, which is up to preference. It's never fogged, but I do wish that the vents for the mouth were bigger... I might modify them a bit. Slightly tinted lenses helps but doesnt make it diffcult to see shadows.. Great field of view.

DO NOT buy this mask for the sportz comm. It's a great feature theoretically but the compatible radios are slim and none. I've never found one anywhere but I'm sure you can find an adapter of some sort.

Pretty easy dissasembly.

pro
above avg. protection
wiiiide view
above avg. comfort
great looks
con
less bounces
below avg. neck protection
Conclusion: For what I got this mask new, 40 shipped, there is no other option for me. I would personally pay upwards of 80 dollars for this mask new which is what they retail for.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media