paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder E-99 Avant / Kingman Spyder E-99 Avant / Kingman Spyder E-99 Avant / Kingman Spyder E-99 Avant

Kingman Spyder E-99 Avant Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder E-99 Avant

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder E-99 Avant
[ View Photos (32) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 312
Average Rating: 8.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $250

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Same as the Spyder E99, but with some extra features.
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder E-99 Avant is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (32):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Ninja_Jenkins Saturday, February 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month118 of 123 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 - Although a comfortable fit in my hands, the 98 doesn't shoot as fast as the e-99, even when it's on Semi, but the stock 98 is more accuate then the stock Avant.
Spyder Xtra - The E-99 shoots faster and is more accurate.
Triton - This gun jsut doesn't have the looks of the Avant. The Triton is slower, but remarkably, seems more accurate.
Marker Setup: Everything is stock
20 oz CO2
-I plan on upgrading this gun to it's fullest potential, but since I have a low budget, it will take time.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel; the stock will make balls curve after about 25 yards.
Empire Reloader; a cheap Agitated hopper that can keep up with the guns 14 BPS.
For Full Auto Mode, get a ViewLoader or a Halo hopper. It would be worth it to save $20 more for a hopper that can handle Full Auto.
Strengths: see below
Weaknesses: see below
Review: Before I start let me say this: After a full week of finding a gun that would be both perfect and unique in the field of battle, I decided to order a Spyder Rodeo from a website. A week later, I receive this gun instead, and all I searched for was lost and in vain; but I can say with confidence I'm glad they screwed up and I have this gun instead.

Strengths_
-Very Upgradeable.
-Comfortable
-Good looks; milling is unique
-3 Burst works fine without a new hopper
-Is quiet compared to other guns (I like loud though)
-Stock barrel works fine. Just find a good ball-to-bore match and it'll shoot straight. Trust me.

Weaknesses_
-The LED Lights make you a glowing target at night. Just put some electric tape inside of the trigger handle to hide it (just keep a small amoutn exposed so yo can see it).
-Stock barrel seems to curve after 25 yards (it's a stock barrel though)[EDIT] Never mind, the stock barrel is quite good.
-This gun NEEDS an electric hopper (not Viewloader 9v, the VL won't keep up, trust me) for Full-Auto mode. Unless your close enough that the broken balls will hit the opponent, then plan on spending $45-70 more for a new hopper.

Shooting Modes:
Semi- The trigger can keep up with as fast as you can pull your finger.
3-Burst- With a normal hopper, the 3-Burst can keep up, and is very cool when it hits your opponents. Since my friends and I play 2-shot death, this makes it very convenient for me to pull the trigger once and get that guy out.
Full Auto - I can't really say. I need to purchase a new hopper to see it's true potential. After the fourth or fifth ball is shot, every other ball start to break like mad. When I get a new hopper, I'll update this.

Accuracy:
After about 25 yards, the ball will curve. it's not a dramatic curve that will hit the targets mate who is 5 yards away, but is enough to to get pissed off over when the ball barely misses him. I fiddled with the velocity a bit and when it seems to be perfect, the ball will curve again.
I've played at night in the cold, and it shot fair.
After I get a new barrel I'll update this portion.

Range:
If I haven't said this enough: 25 yards. I'm both the guy who will hide in the mountains and the guy who will bumrush you. I was in the mountains and there as a guy across a valley (around 50 yards away). In order to even come close to him, I had to rainbow (arch) my shots. Only 1 out of every 5 would come close.
After I get a new barrel I'll update this portion.

Consistency:
Full tank- Very consistent; the balls don't land to far away from eachother when they land
Near Empty - The balls will go a shorter distance. Nothing to extreme, but just something you would notice when shooting from the mountains.

Gas Usage:
With a 20 Oz CO2 tank, I was able to shoot around 7/200 hopper (1400 paintballs) full tanks before I had to refill. From what I understand, that is very good.

Appearance:
This gun looks very sharp and will catch some eyes. The gun has uses a non-reflective paint so you won't have any worries in the woods. I have the green Avant, and it seems to get more attention then those pure black guns.

Maintenence:
After every round, all I have to do is clean the barrel and hopper, and wipe the bolt. Easy considering it's an electronic hopper. That or maybe I'm too scared to clean the internals. Ah well.
[Edit]: After a few hundred shots, the bolt will start to scratch the gun and the bolt itself, so I recommend sanding it down. Check otterscustoms.com for details.

Paintballs:
Blue Streaks - Work fine for $20/1,000
Super Swirls - These are a pretty good ball-to-bore match.
PMI Big Balls - Not my favorite, didn't work to well in the cold. Actually, they worked horribly in the cold.
Kick N It Paintballs - These balls in my opinion were the best, although a little small.

Battery Life:
This was one of the factors I was afraid of, but now I see no reason to be scared. The gun won't run if a battery is dead; neither full-auto or semi. Not to worry, the battery life should last anywhere from 10-12,000 shots according to the manual. And if the battery does die, just throw in any old 9v battery ($2) and call it good. It takes 22 hours to completely recharge with the wall charger, but only 2 hours for the uber-top speed of the car charger.
Conclusion: All in all, the weaknesses are nothing to worry over after a few adjustmens. I'm glad I got this gun instead of a Rodeo or an Imagine. It's better then a 98 Custom and after a few upgrades, this gun shoots kick major amounts of ass.

I plan on buying a Lapco Bigshot and a Viewloader EvLution II (15 BPS!!), so when I recieve and test those out, I'll update on this guns greatness.

I hope this helps you on your marker-buying desicion. Maybe this will save you the hours I've spent on looking at guns.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, February 22nd, 2004 at 1:02 pm PST
I found this review  
14 Comments - Add Comment

Lou-Vellie Monday, November 24th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months39 of 43 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: E99 Avant
Jam Anti-chop bolt
Smart Parts Progressive 12"
68 4500 HPA Pure Energy
VL Continuous Agitating Loader (the cheap one)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Get a new bolt without the Venturi and make sure its Delrin. I got the Jam Enterprise bolt that will eliminate chopped balls because the bolt is spring loaded. Also, It will cut down on the amount of curves and wingers that you get to zero. This bolt is also very good if you want to lower the pressure becuase the lighter weight delrin will allow your hammer to recock on lower pressure. I would also advise you to get an agitated hopper. You wont need to get a Halo because I feel its a waste of money and it is very heavy and can cause the plastic feedneck to break(happened to me). I got the cheap, lightweight, hopper from VL for $30 and it works fine on full auto, maybe its because I got the anti-chop bolt. I don't get any chopped balls at all. I only get the occasional barrel break because I dont have a barrel kit. I would also recommend a HPA Tank if you want to be surgical with it.
Strengths: I like the accuracy and the matte finish
Weaknesses: Stock Bolt. I also didnt like th bright lights on the side of the gun.
Review: As you see I have only been playing paintball for only 3 months but I have played consistently every saturday and/or sunday for those three months. I love this gun because it is cheap and everyone makes upgrades for Spyders. I bought this gun when I first started playing. The first day that I went out to the field I experienced pretty good results, but they were not amazing by far. I thought it was because of the barrel but I wasnt sure. I went out and bought another barrel to see if that was the problem but it wasnt i still kept shooting curves and wingers. I went and bought the Anti-Chop bolt and then I started getting straight shots but they didnt consistently hit the target on point because of the CO2 and the cold air here in ohio. I then got a HPA tank and all that was cured. I went out to the paintball field this weekend and "GOT SURGICAL" I was tired of getting out there and getting out because of curved balls.

I went up against Angels, Impulses, Autocockers, Tippmans, and other spyders and I consistently got 4-5 players out on the other team while only getting out in 3 games. The first time I got out I was getting a paintcheck and got hit with a hail of paint in the snake. The second time I got out was because my gun handle screw was coming out from the bottom and it was rapid firing because piece that holds the hammer back wasnt engaging. I just had to screw it in. Needless to say everytime my team went out on the field we won, except those 3 games. I love this gun. The gun shoots very accurately and very efficiently. I consistently shot balls on target. The only thing that I dont like about it is the sound that it makes. That can be cured with getting the Pressure lowered by adding a expansion chamber and regulator and redrilling. There are companies that do it on the internet, all you have to do it go to yahoo and search for "how to make a spyder low-pressure" They will do the springs, expansion chamber, polishing and everything else you need for about $145!!! If you dont have that much money just get a good ported barrel it will help with the sound but it wont help with the force put on the ball.

The beavertail can get on your nerves if you shoot with your gun very close to your goggles. The beavertails corners are very sharp and can scratch your goggles. This can be fixed really easily with wrapping black electrical tape over the beavertail. This will provide you with coushion when the beavertail touches your goggles.

This gun is very nice. I have shot all the high end guns and alot of low end guns. I love this one!!!
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun. If the gun feels good to you and you are comfortable with it then get it. The main things that you are looking for are accuracy, consistency, and last but not least, if you are not wealthy, PRICE!! This gun fits good in my hands and sits well against my arm while firing. I really like this gun and would not think of trading it for another gun. I would say that I am comfortable with it. Also always make sure that you keep your gun clean and oil it before you play everytime. This will keep the gun in working order. I used some 4 in 1 oil once, it was horrible. This was before I knew about gun oil and all that stuff. The 4 in 1 oil made the gun shoot horrible. Use paintball oil. Drop about 1 or 2 drops in the bottom of the gun where the CO2 goes before you screw the tank in. Then take off the barrel and fire the marker about 20 times. This will get you all set up. Buy this gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, November 24th, 2003 at 11:16 am PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Zeaul Sunday, September 14th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month34 of 39 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Compact, Spyder Xtra and various Gensis, none compare to the Avant!
Marker Setup: E-99 Avant
14" Teardrop
TSA Backman Halo Hopper
20 oz CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel and a quick hopper (min 14 BPS)
Strengths: Accuracy, BPS, Style, Mouse click trigger, Rear cocking, E-Grip, Fire modes
Weaknesses: Stock barrel isn't the greatest.
Review: This is one of the best Spyders I have ever used! This thing rips for a Spyder! 14 BPS! I suggest you get a hopper that can keep up with it! Not only that it looks great too! The stock barrel is "meh" I suggest an upgrade. The decently priced Teardrop I got works great! I can easily place 3-5 shots within an inch of each other from about 80-100 feet. I was playing speedball with a bunch of top end guns and was able to keep up with thier rate of fire, and ruled all when I went into the Recball arena. No other Spyder compares! They definately made a great affordable marker this time around! I have put about 2000 balls through it already and only had one break (and it was my fault since I accidentily fed a cracked ball into the gun and it was cheaper practice paint)
The fire modes are very cool, although you'll find Semi-auto to be your best friend since it is in that mode you can achieve 14 BPS, not in full auto. Does not have 6 shot burst, I dunno why sites list it with that. It has a very nice 3 shot burst with adjustable ROF. I like the 3 shot because if you click once it will only fire once, you need to hold it down for 3 shots. So really it's like a Semi-auto/3 shot combo setting. Very useful if you want to group a few shots quickly. Full auto isn't really necessary, you won't use it other then while your at home, and it's not as fast as semi can get. Sometimes the bolt will slip too. Just stick with the other settings they are WAY cooler.
Conclusion: Overall this gun is very well priced and is more then worth the money. I recommend it for anyone who is starting off or someone who is more experienced and is looking for a reliable and inexspensive E-marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, September 16th, 2003 at 12:10 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ChronoX Thursday, June 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months26 of 26 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder xtra - does not compare with this gun. Not as fast, not as accurate, not as durable.
Spyder electra - just as good and better in some ways like stock barrel is better and so is electronic grip compared to avant's ipi.
Tippmann 98 custom - is more durable but is more complicated on the inside of the gun. Not as accurate or fast.
Tippmann A-5 - quieter and more durable but not as fast; about as accurate.
Black dragun basic - quieter and is almost as fast as this gun. Cant go 3 burst or full auto. Is heavier than this gun when the tank and hopper isn't hooked in.
Marker Setup: Green Spyder E99 avant
empire reloader
14" teardrop barrel
dye sticky 3 grips
20 oz tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
An electro hopper - if u plan to go faster than 8 bps. I prefer one that is cheap and can take at least 14 bps because that's the top speed for this gun. The empire reloader or revvy are good choices. If you want to go full auto on high ROF a lot than i suggest something a little more expensive like an egg or halo.

A new barrel - you dont have to spend a lot of money for a new barrel but u should get one to make it more accurate and more quiet because the stock barrel is pretty loud. I got a 14" tear drop because it's cheap and makes the gun accurate. J&J's and custom products barrels are good to get too.

Maybe a new bolt - a new bolt wouldnt be a bad idea because after a while it starts to scratch the insides if u dont lube the o-rings often enough. It will also prevent the chops of the balls even though there are barely any. A shocktech supafly is a great one to get.
Strengths: Fast
Shoots strong
Durable
Pretty light
Easy cleaning and field stripping
Reliable
Weaknesses: Loud with stock barrel
Bolt may jam or not re-cock itself. Pretty rare
Review: This gun is great for beginners or advanced players. It's totally reliable and has a lot of strengths. It can go as fast as you can pull the trigger as long as you have an electro hopper. It's pretty accurate even with the stock barrel. It's just a little bit loud with it. All you need is a new barrel that isn't more expensive than $50. This gun barely ever chops balls. I played a whole game with my friends and used about 450 paintballs and broke 1 ball and it was because someone shot my barrel and paint got in. Cleaning for this gun is even easier. It takes me about 30 seconds to take the bolt and all of the insides out and put them back in. I keep hearing ppl say the plastic feed neck breaks but mine seems durable as hell. The clamp screw is so convenient and works great. The LED lights are very bright so you can screw off the plastic grip side panel and put electrical tape over the bulbs so that problem is barely counted as a weakness. Once when I was shooting the gun during game play the bolt didn't re-cock itself but I think it was because my tank wasnt tightened all the way. It wasnt a big problem. Also in another game my bolt jammed twice and i had to take the gun apart to get the paintball that was stuck. I think this problem happened because of the stock bolt or probably the paint because it never happened to me before with any other paint. I used this gun at and air bunker field and it performed great. Its so reliable and never let me down once. This gun is good for woodsball but I prefer air bunker fields. This gun is also not expensive and is great right out of the box.
Conclusion: This gun is much better than a lot of guns i have used and seen. Its much faster and more reliable than the guns my friends have. This gun works like a dream. I never use to get people out often with my crap guns like my phirana or spyder xtra but now i get people out all the time. Plus my xtra wasnt hooked up or nada. But the gun doesnt make the player like they say so just buy this gun and it wont do you wrong.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 29th, 2004 at 6:48 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

bplou22 Sunday, August 24th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month25 of 30 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
-Spyder E-99
-Spyder Sonix
-Spyder Shutter
-Spyder Xtra
-Spyder Compact 2000
-Spyder Flash
-Spyder AMG Classic w/ LCD trigger frame
Marker Setup: -E-99 Avant
-Smart Parts All-American barrel
-12 Volt Revvy w/ vortex impeller
-16 OZ Co2
-High tension Spring kit
-Check it Spyder full force bolt-icepick
-Check it BD 15 degree Assault block kit w/ mini gauge
Recommended
Upgrades:
The stock barrel is not great but dont rush to get a new one. If you do i recommend a Smart Parts All American or Freak. Get an electric hopper is you want full auto.
Strengths: This gun is a great deal, its cheap, reliable and shoots really fast.
Weaknesses: Stock barrel is ok but get a new one
Review: This gun is great, it shoots really and is cheap. With my revvy and vortex impeller its works good with 14bps and Draxxus Inferno paintballs. I think the trigger frame is sweet and looks cool. I got mine for $170 and i like it a lot. If your a beginner looking for a good deal get this gun, you won't regret it.
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun to anyone. Shoots fast and doesnt chop many balls. It shoots super fast and is cheap and durable. Its accurate if you get a new barrel and if get a revvy if you want full auto, and a vortex impeller. With the vortex impeller my revvy shoots 14 bps and keeps up with my Avant.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, August 25th, 2003 at 11:06 am PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

Bernin Friday, July 23rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Cheap rentals
Tippman Pro Carbine
Marker Setup: Spyder E-99 Avant
Smart Parts 14' Teardrop Barrel
Empire REloader Hopper
Shocktech Supafly Bolt
Bob Long Torpedo
20oz CO2 with on/off
Strengths: What everyone said (fast cheap and reliable)
Weaknesses: Read Below
Review: My brother and I both got E-99s and i can say that we're pretty happy with what we got. It is pretty fast and was only $160 for us. It was definitely the best bang for the buck deal we could find. The only problems with it are primarily cosmetic or minor since the gun is definitely really shootable out of the box but you eventually want to exploit its full potential I'm only writing the cons and improvements since there are pages of good reviews before and after this one. I'm trying to write about structural and inherent problems, be wary of people writing about a bad-apple as if it was an inherent problem..

Sound: I can say that it is definitely a very loud gun so snipers and people with sensitive hearing should be cautioned. This can be fixed with a regulator, though. Which should allow you to operate the gun at lower pressures with less recoil and lower noise.

Ergonomics: This gun comes with a small drop forward which is a lot more than other guns have but with a 20 oz. tank, it is a little unwieldy for front players who favor tight and compact setups. A lot of guns don't even have drop-forwards to move the tank forward so make sure you go to a paintball store and have them gas it up for you. Another thing is the hand grip which is made of plastic with a roughened surface also like many other markers but i never found it to be a pleasure to hold though it has never bothered me, I only see potential to improve which is why the market for rubber grips exists. Keep in mind that these are ergonomics and therefore what feels uncomfortable to me may not be so for you. FInd a store and have them gas it up for you.

Chopping: A regulator will also help in the ball chopping area. The problem is that when you have a hopper that is approaching low-empty, the gas going through the gun pushes the paintballs back up into the feedneck from the hopper and the gun is so fast that it can fire the bolt before that paintball has time to fall back down, resulting in your bolt chopping the ball. Operating at lower pressures will reduce the amount of gas that pushes the paintball back up. This problem doesn't really happen much when the hopper is full since the full weight of another 140+ paintballs are pressing down on it. A replacement delrin bolt such as the supafly by shocktech will help as well since it is not as heavy and therefore will jam the paintball instead of chopping it and getting paint all in your barrel (there are other benefits but i won't mention them). A Hopper is obviously a worthy upgrade which every paintball should get.
The only sure-fire way to prevent ball chopping, however, is to get a eye system which won't let the gun fire unless there is a ball in the gun and this is a complicated and costly modifcation for this gun, guns manufactured with the eyes are even more expensive such as the Angel Fly.

Coating: The body of the gun has non-shiny coating which i found to be very cool and low-profile but when you're buying upgrades for the gun, most of what you're going to see is shiny chrome and other glossy coatings which might clash with you're gun. Personally i think it looks fine and it isn't going to stop me from supporting the gun or buying upgrades.

Range: Unless you plan on upgrading the barrel, don't expect to be picking guys off on the other end of the hyper-ball arena, even 1/2 is a stretch factoring in the spread of your barrel. I played against a guy with a bob long intimidator that could fire balls at a flat trajectory across the whole field and have the paintball still burst on me. You'll get by with the stock barrel and it'll teach you how to be sneaky but a better barrel will be necessary eventually.

***Update****
I finally plunked down some cash and got a Bob Long Torpedo regulator and got my gun running low pressure at around 350psi and i can say that it was very good investment. The sound dropped as predicted but no where near as quiet as a closed bolt system like autocockers. I didn't suffer any chops but i did get a jam. Coupled with a good paint to bore match, my gun it pretty much at perfect with the exceptionr nitro and maybe some ergonomic upgrades such as a longer drop forward and a rubber grip.
Conclusion: This gun is still pretty good, don't be put off by the negatives i mentioned. Other markers are even worse, especially in this price range. You'll get about 80% of the bang of high-end markers for 20% of the cost. You can't argue with that. I'm sure that the missing ingredient is a regulator. I'd highly recommend getting both a regulator and a barrel since they'll both increase your accuracy and range with some other benifits. The only thing after that is an electronic hopper which will make sure you're getting a good feed of paint to your hungry gun. It is definitely a good gun and i have yet to have it break on me. There is no way i can fire as fast as the 14 BPS it is capable of so i don't feel limited there and the price is right. The key thing is that with some smart upgrade shopping, you can get this gun good enough to compete with those $1000 guns. Obviously this gun will be able to keep up with you in terms of skill and wallet size.

Note: Make sure you are buying E-markers for the right reasons. Most of the fields i go to don't allow players to shoot at mode besides semi. Consider carefully between what you need and what you are willing to pay to have some extra features and presteige. Oh, and if i haven't said it a billion times, have them gas up the gun for you at a paintball store to get a good idea of what you read about it.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, August 9th, 2004 at 1:51 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

dirtjumper1 Sunday, September 7th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month10 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
tippman custom98
Marker Setup: black e-99 avant,14" SP Teardrop,20 oz with on/off
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
Strengths: looks,speed,feel,EVERYTHING
Weaknesses: none at all.
Review: this gun is a perfect gun for any paintballer who wants an electronic marker. i would highly recommend this. with a new barrel it is absolutely perfect for me. ive only chopped 1 brass eagle ball out of a few thousand. the new feed is cool its built right on the gun instead of having to put a elbow on. and the led display is sweet too.
Conclusion: Great gun go buy it. i dont think i will ever have to buy a new gun. this one will suit me perfect forever.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, September 7th, 2003 at 5:49 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

spyderp8balla Friday, August 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
All similar products used are compared in stock parts.

Tippman Model 98 - More durable but doesn't shoot nearly as fast
WDP IR3 Angel (stock) - Obviously blows this thing away, but for $1250 more.
Brass Eagle Series - Doesn't even compare

Marker Setup: -Matte Green E99 Avant
-Evolution II
-14in SP teardrop
-Shocktech Supafly (not anymore)
-20oz CO2 tank
-32 Degrees Bob Long Style Expansion chamber
-Shocktech trigger
-Dye Stickies
-Kingman ACS Anti chop bolt ALL DELRIN [Shocktech was messed up by a mishap with a screwdriver (long story)]
-Macroline Kit
-DOP Bullet Drop Forward
-Shocktech and 32* Spring Kit

Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel - CP 1 piece or SP Teardrop
Feedneck - CCM no rise or NDZ low rise
Bolt - (too many to list, check review)
Trigger - Shocktech, CIP, ACP, SPPS (depends on you personal preference)
Strengths: See Below
Weaknesses: See Below
Review: Strengths:

New Frame - The new trigger frame is so nice. The IPI 3.0 system has such a simple and easy to understand design. It is so easy to operate, and changing the ROF or mode is just a push of a button away.

Speed - this bad boy can put out 14 BPS with a quick trigger finger on Semi - auto.

3-shot burst - this mode is really cool, because you can hit a person three times by only pulling the trigger back once. The best part is that u don't need an electro hopper for it to work without chopping or misfeeds.

Trigger Pull - the trigger pull is like a mouse click, and its adjustable.

Stock Barrel - After playing every weekend with this gun, using the stock barrel, I would say its really good for something that comes right out of the box, but definetely get something like the SP Teardrop, unless you have more $ (then go with a dye ultralite, all american, or CP 2 piece).

Upgradeablility - Another one of the great things about this gun is how it's so upgradeable. You could upgrade this gun and make it work almost as good as those high priced, high end guns.

Quick Strip Pin - Since this gun has a quick strip pin, its so much easier to take apart . I took me about 7 minutes to finally open the 98custom, and this only took me 30 seconds. I could clean this thing 15 times before i clean the 98custom once.

Simplicity - (not including electronic wiring of grip) - If you ever had a 98custom, you will understand. This gun is very simple to maintence and take apart (as metioned above). There are no tiny springs or extremely small parts to this gun, like the 98custom. This factor makes it easier to install parts and repair in some cases.
Oh yea, and no more dip switches.


Weaknesse(s):
The only 2 complaints I have about this gun is the stock bolt. If you don't lubricate the bolt often, it will damage the inside of the gun. Sometimes this causes he gun to half cock. A couple good bolts to get are the CIP Full Force Ice Pick, Shocktech supafly, Spudnuk'l, ACP Blue Bolt, Bandit, JAM anti chop, or Kingman ACS anti chop bolt . I now have the Kingman ACS Bolt (all delrin), and reccomend that one. Any bolt u get, make sure its delrin (unless its a Nylatron)! Also the feed neck. The thing is plastic so it may snap and screw you over in a game. I haven't had any problems but if you want to feel safe, you should go with an aluminum feed neck.


After playing with these upgrades on this gun every weekend, I would call it invincible. The SP Teardrop make this thing super accurate. With the Viewloader Egg, this thing can shoot 14BPS, accurate. Also, the regulator can give you more consistent shot, in terms of velocity and give better accuracy.
Conclusion: All in all, this gun is great for the mere 150 (some found it for $130, so shop around because the extra 20 bucks can buy you something like a trigger, or help you pay for something else like a barrel), and I would recommend it to anyone whose a beginner, or experienced players who are looking for a really nice electronic gun that is cheap and very upgradeable. So, I give this gun a 9, only because Autocockers and Angels deserve 10's.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, August 5th, 2005 at 7:08 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

4tene Monday, May 16th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra 2004(TL-X w/ rear cocking) w/ Spyder Rocking Trigger, twisted volumizer, CP Medium Regulator, macroline fittings, Hybrid feed neck w/ adjustable collar and Delrin ACS bolt. Evlution II w/ Z-board, Bulldog 47 c.i. 3000k.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Anti-chop bolt, New grips, new trigger
Strengths: Electric, so you can shoot pretty fast, suprisingly accurate outta the box.
Weaknesses: Doesn't chop alot, but enough you should get an ACS.
Review: Well, I was very suprised when my buddy handed me this thing, I didn't think she'd look nearly as good as she does, and the matte finish oppose to the shiny is really nice to see for a change. Anyways, this gun handle's really well, shoots moderately fast, and suprisingly accurate. If you're a beginner, and you're not wanting to invest big bucks in a high end gun, I definately recommend this one, plus, it's got modes(single, 3rd, auto) but it's got a tournament lock, so it's 'legal'. The only things I would recommend getting are an Anti-chop bolt,( It didn't chop very often, but you should have an ACS with any fast firing gun just incase) maybe a new trigger, I'm not very fond of it, and new grips. The ones on it tend to stick up a bit once you've put a battery in it. Also, it was initially worked in with CO2, so it became accustomed to CO2. When using N2, she didn't agree with it at first, and took alittle time to adjust, but never functioned as well as she does on CO2.
Conclusion: Great low end electric gun. If you're just starting out, and don't have lots of money, this one is definately worth the few bucks you can afford.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, June 30th, 2005 at 11:24 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

FlukeyLukey Sunday, March 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have used the following spyder electro markers:
-Fenix, good and accurate, but with a stupidly large amount of leaks,
-Imagine, the best electro spyder i have used so far, few problems,
-Electra, quite good but with a few problems with leaks and internals.
the following semi markers:
-Rodeo, amazing gun with almost no problems, accurate and relyable.
-Victor II, problem free gun, quite accurate, very powerful.
others:
-Tippman 98, very relyable.
-Tippman 98 custom, even better, but only when its clean.
-Tippman 98 custom w/ flatline barrel, most accurate gun i've ever seen.
-Some Zap gun my mate got, absolute crap, broke into bits within 2 minutes.
-Splatmaster, i know its a stock class pistol, but its still a marker! with full gas, very accurate and shockingly powerful.
Marker Setup: E-99 avant,
14" Shaft solo Barrel,
12volt Revolution hopper,
Spyder Anti-Chop derelin bolt,
Custom parts screw on feed neck,
32 degrees coil, sometimes.
Recommended
Upgrades:
-As its an electro marker, you really need an electro hopper! its obvious really.
-A new barrel is always good, but jump at least 4" from the stock otherwise its pointless.
Strengths: Fast
Light
Looks
Weaknesses: Chops
Could be better
Review: Accuracy
This gun is quite good once you put a new barrel on it. The stock barrel wasn't very good, but every stock barrel on any gun doesn't give the gun justice.

Power and consistancy
This gun is quite constistant, a few spikes and dips but it doesn't come with a reg so what do you expect, not too much of a problem unless theres a chrono around. The expansion chamber is only a "1 stage," so don't get your hopes up with that. Basically the power is a good as you would expect from a spyder, decent on CO2 but better on Nitro/Compressed air, obvoiusly.

Speed
The speed at which this gun shoots is amazing for a spyder, unless your using the new rocking frame! I had to get the anti-chop bolt as well as the electric hopper just to cope with it's speed and chopping.

Looks
I think that this gun looks really good, especially with the engraving down it. You can always judge its look anyway, as you can just look at the pictures!

Upgrade Path
As with all spyders there are plenty of things you can stick on and in this gun to make it perform, the problem is that it needs some of these rather than simply being a straight out of the box quality you would expect. You need to get a new bolt for it, only because the stock one scratches the inside like crazy.

Misc
This gun has the usual spyder electro problem, the frame is like holding a brick, you need sticky grips for it or something. The gun vibrates alot, it sounds weird but unless you tighten the screws alot, they just fall out as you shooting. It leaks a bit, but in comparason to the fenix its marginal. The IPI system is easy to use but the LEDs on my gun were so bright, i stuck a peice of paper on the inside to dim them a bit, otherwise it was like carrying a gun with a few LED torches stuck on the side.
Conclusion: This gun is a good gun, don't get me wrong, but it isn't as good as some others. I have had alot of problems with scratching the internals, screws popping out, chopping (even with the Revy and ACS bolt) and with a few leaks. It needs alot of tinkering, mods and upgrades to get it good, which you really don't want.
Basically if you want a electronic spyder, get the Imagine and with the little extra cash you can get a new barrel or hopper. If you don't think you need to blanket areas with paint, get the Rodeo. Its that simple.
With all my mods and upgrades, i give this marker an 8, but out of the box its got to be a 6, even so thats 1 up from average.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (32):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media