paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder Imagine Select / Kingman Spyder Imagine Select / Kingman Spyder Imagine Select / Kingman Spyder Imagine Select

Kingman Spyder Imagine Select Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder Imagine Select

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder Imagine Select
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 69
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $209

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
No Description Available
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder Imagine Select is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Takon Sunday, August 17th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month21 of 32 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra, Imagine, E-99, Piranhas...
Marker Setup: SystemX Pro-Vengance 2.0 w/Powerlyte Scepter kit, REloader
Green Imagine, CP Flame Drop, CP 14" Barrel, Check It 15* ASA, WDP MIni Reg. , Metal feed adapter, Bandit Bolt, Ricochet 2k (All parts Chrome)
Recommended
Upgrades:
What I put on mine, but most of those are not NECESSARY, only a new barrel and an agitated hopper are needed
Strengths: Electronic, shoots 14bps, light bolt, AMG cocking, reliable
Weaknesses: Stock Barrel, needs metal feed neck
Review: My friend bought this, we took it back to my house and stripped it so we both knew how to (mainly him, I was just curious) the bolt was signifigantly lighter than the stock bolt on the original imagine, and has a third o-ring to stop blow-back. The drop is a nice feature, and so is the annodizing, they even did the frame to match! The AMG style cocking is cool too. This was his first gun, but he has used mine before, he paid $169 (US) for it so most places should be around there. It has a SMG feel to it (Sub machine gun, Uzi, MP5, you know...) due to the shorter body, so when you upgrade the barrel, try to keep it short,or it will be awkward. Great buy, especialy if you want a good out-of-box setup (Except for the barrel)
Conclusion: I think It's a great gun for any beginner or someone who is moving to an electro gun. the SMG feel the gun has is nice, and it look and shoots good too. It's a great buy, you should consider it if you are looking to upgrade from a lower end gun, I give it a 9
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, January 29th, 2004 at 10:38 am PST
I found this review  
19 Comments - Add Comment

JulianSpamlley Wednesday, June 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Well, I Used A Tippman A-5 Which Is A Great Gun Also But To Heavy And I Used A Spyder Victor 2 Which I Did Not Like Bc There Is Only One Handle And Its A Semi Auto Which Means Theres More Work To It.. So, The Spyder Imagine Is Fantastic. Very Light. Also Very Easy To Use. this is a good begginer noob gun
Marker Setup: Fep quest - vlocity - 70ci peanut tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Barrel Comes First
-Hopper To Keep Up With Your Gun/Barrel
-ACS
-CO2 Tank Or Compressed Air(I Would Recogmend Getting Compressed Air But Its A LIL Expensive)
Strengths: -Very Light
-Very Simple To Use
-Very Upgradable
-Very Cheap
-Simple To Maintain
-Good Looking
Weaknesses: -Stock Barrel Inaccurate And Loud
-Hopper Doesnt Feed To Fast(Not Electronic)
Review: Well, When I First Purchased This Gun, I Thought It Was Going To Be Hard To Set Up And Use. Then I Found Out This Gun Was The Easiest Thing You Can Use. You Can Purchase This Gun At Cheapest Price On ACTIONVILLAGE Thats Where I Got Mines. Great Gun To Buy Multiples Of And Play With Te Family. Its 62$ Too Off Actionvillage. This Gun Is Very Light. I Love It So Much Bc It Helped Me Win A Few Matches And Tourneys With My Team. This Gun Is Really Cheap And I Suggest You To Buy It At Action Village Bc They Give The Best Deals. People Compliment You On How Your Gun Looks. This Is One Good Looking Gun. I Never Had Any Problems With It. Works Like Its Still Brand New. Very Easy To Take Care Of And To Maintain Too. Awsome Gun For Begginers.
Conclusion: If Your A Starter, Buy This Gun And Work Your Way Up. Trust Me It Helps. Also This Would Be A Great Gun For A Family Compitetion. This Gun Made Me Satisfied.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 27th, 2008 at 12:58 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Rookie14 Sunday, July 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year13 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine Select, 12 in. Progressive barrel, Anti-siphon 20 oz, Ricochet Apache, and CIP feed adapter
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel
Electric hopper
Aluminum feed
Strengths: Electric
Easy to Clean
Fast 14bps
Full auto
Weaknesses: None
Review: This was my first gun, it is very reliable. I play woodsball and has not let me down yet. If you can upgrade it, it will be a great tourney marker. I have friends with there expensive markers and I can keep up with them. I love this gun. I use 3 bursts in the woods and is really awesome. Full auto can keep someones head down for your friend to flank/bunker. Get an electric hopper and a new barrel and you can really keep up with your friends. Great beginner marker. Plan to have it as my back up marker when I get another marker. Thats how great it is.
Conclusion: Great beginner marker. Electric so you could keep up with your friends $1000 markers. If you get a Electric hopper and a new barrel it will be a great tourney marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TaZ40704 Sunday, December 14th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months9 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Several Brass Eagals. Tested many other guns including Tipman 98 custom, and A-5, Spyder Shutter, and others.
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine Select w/ freak Barrel system, w/ nitrous and electo Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Without a Question a new barrel. The stock is like 9inch and is very unaccurate. Also Get a electric hopper. Nitrogen tank is nice/ Even without these it is still a great reliable gun
Strengths: 3 round burst and auto
looks cool
control rate of fire
Doesn't Chop
Weaknesses: Poor Stock barrel, but easily fixed
Electro internals are not sealed, fixed with electrical tape
Review: At first i was not at all interested. But now im glad i bought this gun. It is perfect for most all players. Why spend all the money on a $1000 gun, when you can get this, put on a couple things, and it will kill everyone. I used it for a month with it coming right out of the box. It was great! I didnt have any problems with it exept the barrel. The tank, the barrel, and my skills(lol) has made this gun unable to be stopped. Im not ashamed of my under $200 gun.

Strengths - Shoots very fast and consistant. Doesnt chop anyballs. My freak does occasionally cause i buy bad paint but the gun will shoot anything. If you dont want to spend money for a new tank and a $130 barrel, its ok. However do buy a new one. A $50 barrel would be just fine. Anyway, the 13 bps is very impressive. You can also control the rate of fire(how fast it shoots). It shoots very well with just CO2, so Nitrogen is not nessessary but is a good upgrade. This gun is perfect to put some new toys on. It is very accurate . If you can aim it will shoot straight, i garentee it. I really like the gun. It shoots just like i expected it to. It shoots the same way everythime with no problems at all.

Weaknesses - There is no weakness about the guns performance, exept the stock barrel. However Kingman made 2 bad choices. The first is the intructions. You can also read Paintball Guns For Dummies. They arent really bad but they leave things out. I was an idiot with guns but i had no problem with learning. Call Kingman if neccessry but you shouldnt need to. The other as i said before is the electro internals are not sealed. You only need some tape where water or sand can get into. Its not a problem. These 2 things arent a big problem.
Conclusion: I think it is the best Spyder for the money. You should be able to get this gun for under $200. I recomend this gun to anyone. It rocks the house and i dont regret bying this. It is the best. I got the new upgrades. But dont worry if you dont have the money for those accessaries, this gun is great without them! It shoots great and there are NO problems with its performance. Go Get It!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, February 16th, 2004 at 6:30 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Shmedly0123 Wednesday, December 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Esprit, Spyder Viktor II, Autococker Lotus Free Flow (not mine)
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine-S (blue), 12 in. TES barrel,
also 12 in CP barrel
T-board (borrowed)
Dye regulator (borrowed)
Revvy (borrowed)
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Definitely a new barrel
-Electronic Hopper
-Shortened/Lightened Trigger
-Regulator
-T-board
Strengths: Easy to Clean
High ROF
Electric
Upgradable
Weaknesses: Poor accuracy (just change the barrel!)
needs E-Hopper
Review: I've used this gun for approximately 6 months, and I've found it to be effective and reliable. However, the real key to this gun is upgrades. You can make this $150 gun equivalent to $1000 guns with the right upgrades and expertise.

First of all, you need to replace the barrel, because the one they give you makes you about as accurate as a Brass Eagle Avenger (lol). I recommend a 12 in. CP barrel, or, if available, a 12 in. stock TES barrel. The CP barrel only costs about $50, and its just as effective as the Freak barrel, at a quarter the cost. The same can be said for the 12 in. TES barrel. Even though it's not even designed for Spyders, it works like a charm. Either of these barrels will make your gun like 10 times better!

More good upgrades, if you have the money to buy them, include an electronic hopper, a good regulator, and low pressure system. For the hopper, you need at least 12bps feed rate. A regulator will improve shot consistency. On an Imagine-S, you definitely need the Dye In-Line regulator 2. Though this upgrade's pricy, its cheaper than getting a new gun. From the regulator you can upgrade your Imagine to low pressure. This upgrade will require only about $20, but requires expertise. It can give your gun amazing gas efficiency.

Also, shortening the trigger, lightening the trigger pull, and installing the T-board will make your Imagine much better. The T-board will replace the standard electronics in your gun, as well as installing laser "eyes" throughout your gun. The original electronics only allow the gun to cycle about 15 times a second. The T-board allows the gun to cycle and its maximum potential: 30 cycles per second. This is a must-have for a tricked out Spyder.
Conclusion: This gun is by far the best beginner gun. Because of its upgrade potential, you really don't need to replace it, and you won't want to. Spyder offers the most versatile of the beginning paintball guns. The only reason to get a TIppmann is if you need durability, like you drop your guns of cliffs or let them get run over by trucks. The key to this gun, like i said before, is replacing the barrel
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

your mailman Friday, June 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
i have used the viktor 2
Marker Setup: spyder imagine select
20 oz. tank
evil driver barrel
32 degrees hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
maybe a new barrel
Strengths: high quality internals
reliable
fast
light trigger pull
good looking
very air and co2 efficient
Weaknesses: maybe the barrel
Review: this is a great over all gun. if you are a beginner or even a veteran this gun will not let you down. i have had no problems with it and i have shot over 2,000 balls through it, and out of those, only 2 have chopped. i would recommend the viewloader revolution for a hopper, because it does just the right speed and keeps you from chopping even on full auto at 13 bps. like i said in the strengths, it is very efficient with air or co2.
i have played alot of speed ball games against DM4's and tricked out A-5's and this one can compete against them all, it shoots as fast as is needed and won't chop as long as your hopper feeds fast enough. also, in a wood ball game this gun is great because it isn't very loud and shoots plenty fast enough to pin down a sniper.
Conclusion: this is the best gun for the value money can buy, for around $200 you can compete against $800 guns, how sweet is that.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, June 18th, 2004 at 9:29 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MALECKI Tuesday, January 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder 04, 98custom, other spyders
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine Select.
12" Custom Barrel
EVO II
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel.
new feedneck so that you dont have to use that extra feedneck
electronic hopper
Strengths: Pretty fast sort of cool looking
Weaknesses: Feedneck
Barrel
Breaks if you dont lube internals
Review: This gun is ok i woud recomend it if you are just starting, but not if you dont plan on taking care of it and cleaning it. If you are a serious player i would reccomend getting a more expensive gun so that you can rely on it to last longer.

It really isn't that good it is definately over rated but it works. if you plan on going out to a course... get a different gun. its pretty good for woodsball but is no where near a x ball gun
Conclusion: Get a better gun if you are serious. But it is a good starting gun
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

The Paint Saint Wednesday, February 27th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Imagine - Very minor difference in body design, that's all.
Spyder Imagine '04 - Much neater body, better board, and extremely bright LEDs.
Spyder Pilot '05 w/ ACS - Completely different. Better board, barrel, trigger, etc.
Gameface something - It's an average mechanical.
Marker Setup: Kingman Spyder Imagine Select
VL 200 Gravity Hopper
JT TAC-5 Stock Barrel
16 oz Pure Energy CO2
Butt plate for that
Recommended
Upgrades:
It's fine as is. A gravity hopper will work on it.
Strengths: Barrel
Take Down
Tournament Velocity Adjuster
Rarely chops
Weaknesses: Board
Trigger
Kingman Customer Service
Modes
Review: It's a good gun, just not the best. Good price, though.
I went to a friend's party, saw a guy across the street playing with his guns, and bought it off him for $35 including the tank.

Pros:
Barrel. Goes somewhat far and better accuracy. Great for being stock. The JT barrel is more accurate, though the range changes none.
Take Down. Easier than the Pilot. It's very easy. Also, it has a field strip pin. You can do a field clean in five minutes flat. I cleaned it on the way to a field with just a rag and a squeegee in less than five minutes.
Tournament Velocity Adjuster. It's very convenient. Also, if you're playing and it seems to drop in velocity, just twist it in. It almost makes it too easy to cheat.
Rarely chops. The only time I've had a chop is when I used soggy Monsterballs. But, even if they weren't soggy, they're so lousy they'd chop in any gun. But, only one shot chopped when it did happen.

Cons:
Board. Takes about 15 seconds to change it from semi to high full auto. Otherwise, it just uses batteries like crazy if you don't have a rechargeable. Then it lasts a while.
Trigger. I'd rather have a single trigger than this one. Blade is definitely better than all, especially if you've got a Spyder VS3.
Kingman Customer Service. Absolutely horrible. Half their stuff is out of stock. It's about $2 per O-ring, $5 for a screw you can find at ACE Hardware for $.38. They aren't really too happy. Manuals aren't available online for all guns. It takes about 2 weeks to get you're stuff with ground shipping. It's easier to buy from a retailer. Go to wholesalepaintball.org for stuff. The site isn't too impressive, but they've got great service on the phone.
Modes. Has semi, 3 shot burst - high, med, and low - and full - high, med, and low. It takes longer than normal to changes the rate of fire.
Conclusion: Overall a good gun.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, February 27th, 2008 at 6:41 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

spyderimagine91 Tuesday, September 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
i have also used a tippman 98 custom and i like the spyder imagine select MUCH more
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine Select
-Viewloader Revy
-20 co2 tank (thinkin about goin nitro)
-crappy stock barrel (thinkin about a quiet riot)
Recommended
Upgrades:
The spyder imagine select comes pretty nice stock, however the barrel is horrible. its way to small and not to accurate, and the range aint to great either. upgrading to a nice 40$ barrel will improve ur game greatly. Also because of the high rates of fire an electric hopper is an absolute neccessity
Strengths: Full auto/3 shot burst (high and low)
Reliable
Doesnt chop paintballs
Weaknesses: Loud
Review: the spyder imagine select is a very nice gun because its cheap, around 200$, but u can still compete with all the pros u find at the arena, who spent like 3000$ on their gun. the imagine has full auto, and doesnt chop, so u actually have a chance against those expensive guns. I went paintballing with my friend the other day and he has an impulse, yet i was doing just as good as him even tho my gun is 300$ less then his. with a new hopper and a new barrel and maybe even nitro the spyder imagine select is a great gun
Conclusion: if u just started paintballing and plan to continue paintballing for a long time i suggest you get the spyder imagine select. it is a great gun out of the box, but even if u arent satisfied with that, there are so many upgrades for the spyder imagine S. the possibilities are endless! thats why this gun is a 10 in my book.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PB4LYFE Sunday, January 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder E99, E99 Avant, Tippman 98, 98c, Tl
Marker Setup: Spyder TL, Pure Energy C02, 14" Teardrop, Flame Drop Forward, Regulator
Recommended
Upgrades:
Electric Hopper And New Barrel
Strengths: Extra low price<140 at pbfanatics>
High ROF
Electric
Weaknesses: Gap in frame
Review: I tried out this gun at a feild a few dayz ago, and it suprised me. It was consistant and barely chopped balls. It can use a new barrel, but thats what after market parts are for. If u plan on using full auto and the bursts, you should use an electric hopper, otherwise, you will chop balls and lose all accuracy
Conclusion: Very good gun from the price, perfect for newbs and intermediate with low budget
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media