paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / WDP Angel 4 / WDP Angel 4 / WDP Angel 4 / WDP Angel 4

WDP Angel 4 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount WDP

Buy WDP Angel 4

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


WDP Angel 4
[ View Photos (15) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 77
Average Rating: 9.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
WDP Launches the Angel 4


WDP launched a new Angel, the ‘4’, in Stockholm, Sweden this morning. Details have now been released on this new Angel incarnation, which is billed as the straightest shooting, fastest, cleverest Angel ever. The 4 uses the proven Speed engine, which has already established itself as being capable of out-shooting anything else out there. Back is the LCD display with full menu options, and a host of new performance features are included. The Bolt, 14 way, Ram, and trigger have all been modified to deliver awesome firepower with incredible accuracy. The features are as follows:


Hardware
• New - Angel 4 is the lightest Angel ever made, at –2.29lb (Gun only) making it a full 20% lighter than the Angel IR3.
• New - Angel 4 body length is half an inch shorter, and offers a substantially lower profile than any previous model.
• Angel 4 is easily capable of operating at pressures under 200psi, with the use of the color coordinated 3Sum volumiser kit included with every Angel 4 as standard.
• New - Shorter stainless steel hammer, reducing Ram Overhang by 30%
• New - Smaller, lighter, 4th Generation Electro-Pneumatic Valve offers 20% increase in flow efficiency.

• New - Soft-touch bolt, reducing ball impact and breakage.
• New - Custom Angel back- plate with on/off indicator
• New - Twist-Lock Gated feed.
• New - Ergonomically shaped trigger with integral toe adjustment.
• New - Revolutionary Vernier trigger wheels adjust trigger movement to 0.1mm (thinner than a human hair). The easiest and most precise trigger adjustment in the World.
• New - Low-profile, light weight pressure indicator shows operating pressure of your Angel 4 in easy-read dual- display windows.
• New - Slide-fit top-plate, with single-screw lock, reducing profile and weight.
• Twin serviceable low profile ball detents
• 4.8 volt rechargeable metal hydride battery and Charger
• Sculptured Space frame with Skin Grips.


Software
• New - 12 modes of fire, including Semi Auto (31bps), Full Auto, ramp, bursts and programmable modes. Enhanced modes capped at 13bps.
• Sensi Anti-Chop system with self-test feature.
• Adjustable game timer with 3 vibe alarm profiles and ‘first shot’ activation.
• Infra-red communication capability
• Shot counter and rate of fire indicator.
• Intellifeed driver capability, with adjustable signal output at 0.5 second increments.
• New - ECOS (Electronically Controlled OpticalSwitch) - allows users to enable/disable switch bounce, adjustable from 1-20.
• New - User friendly LCD interface with dual menu facility, providing basic and advanced user operating parameters/settings

The Angel 4 is the most accurate paintball marker of all time…

Power without control is worthless. The Angel 4 is the straightest shooting gun on earth. Its low pressure operation and soft-touch bolt offer minimal kick and a super-flat trajectory. Combine this with the superior firing platform of the patented Space frame and adhesive Skin grip and you get incredible accuracy, combined with incredible rates of fire. You will make shots you never made before. The 4 will change your perception of what is possible, what you are capable of.


The Angel 4 is the fastest paintball marker ever…

The Angel 4 will cycle (that’s feed and fire) 31 balls per second. There is no other paintball marker on earth that can match this. The incredible firepower is delivered with style, refinement and all the features you need. There has never been a more user friendly Paintball Marker. Set your trigger up to your own exacting standards with the twin Vernier wheels, which offer an incredible range of trigger positions to suit any user. 12 modes of fire are available with the Angel 4, including Full-Auto, Semi, Ramp, burst and user programmable options.


The new Angel 4 is the smallest, lightest Angel ever…

The Angel 4 is a full half inch shorter and lower, and 20% lighter than its predecessors. The addition of a twist-lock gated feed and low profile operating pressure gauge have added additional comforts and information to the user. The sleek body-shaping is made possible through WDP’s range of state of the art laser guided CNC machines, which are constantly updated to deliver the latest cutting edge styling.


The Angel 4 is the smartest paintball marker ever…

The Angel 4 has all the muscle, but it also has the brains to back this up. The 4’s insane feed rate is made possible through the Sensi LDS (Load Detection System), which monitors the load capacity of your loader and adjusts the maximum rate of fire to match it, ensuring the maximum bps (balls per second) possible. It is also equipped with an ez- read LCD split-menu interface with access to game timer, vibes alarms, Infra-red options, and a host of other features.


The Angel 4 is the lowest pressure Angel ever.…

The Angel 4 will operate at pressures lower than 200psi. Out of the box your Angel will operate at around 350psi. A 3Sum Volumiser pack is included with the marker, comprising of 3 different volume chambers. The largest of these chambers will drop your operating pressure down to around 175psi (operating pressures may vary depending on barrel and gas source). This incredibly low pressure, together with the 4’s new ‘Soft-touch’ bolt, make this new Angel the most paint friendly marker on earth.

Product Availability 
The WDP Angel 4 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
mocv Friday, September 19th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month37 of 56 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: WDP Angel IR4, Air America 68/4500 Armageddon tank, Halo B Z-Code hopper, 14" Dye Titanium Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Cobra Trigger, Cobra Bolt
Strengths: Trigger Adjustments on gun, Twisted Feed Gate adapts to any hopper, accuracy, speed, user interface
Weaknesses: only comes with car charger! Manual says push yellow and blue buttons that dont exist
Review: I was one of the first 200 people in U.S. to recieve this gun and it seems like Im the first one to write a review on it so I feel special =)
One of the many good things I loved about this gun is how many features it was packed with. The user interface took a little while to get used to but it became second nature after only about an hour of use. The pro-engineering detailed models and step by step instructions in the manual were also excellent help. Lots of issues most IR3 users had in the past were addressed with the IR4 so this was a step up.
Im not even going to go into how accurate and how fast this gun is. You all should know by now what an Angel can do. Instead I will say what I didnt like in the gun.
One of the annoying things I found was that the gun came only with a car charger. I know most of you are gonna say "boo hoo", but thats a pretty capitalistic thing for WDP to do because they know it's a pain charging it in ur car all the time so you will have to go out and pay another $40 for a charger that won't void their warranty.
Another thing I will be nit picky about because Im gonna have to go out and buy it is the volumizers. It comes with 3 different size volumizers but the gun supports 2. I would have much rather had the gun come with 2 of the same size than having it look odd with 2 different sizes.
Finally the pressure gauge on the gun...Whose bright idea was it to put that tiny ass gauge somewhere where no one can see it? Yeah, whoever is reading this, you know who you are! When I saw that thing I was more confused than Adam on Mothers Day. I tried asking one of the technicians from WDP about this gauge's position, when I was through with him, he was sweating like a freakin pregnant nun.
One last thing is for one of the adjusters on the gun, you litteraly need to have fingers of a 10 year old or else no way could you use the adjustment knob. And if you try to be a hero and use a tool, you better pray u dont slip or you will be scratching ur eyes out and crying "what have I done" for the rest of the night...

With all this said, this is still a sweet gun and even though there are some things I would do differently when designing this gun, I will still be sleeping with it at night unless my girlfriend gives me sh*t again. 10/10!
Conclusion: If you own an IR3, its not worth it to upgrade. I know the features the IR3 has and I will tell you how this is going to end up...You will sell your IR3 on ebay to some newb for 700 bucks. The IR4 is 1400 meaning you'll be losing another 700. IR4 does not have enough features to make it worth the upgrade. It probably has about 12 new features in all...5 that are actually solid features. Thats like 60 bucks a feature. Not worth it if you ask me...However if you never owned an angel before and are thinking of buying one - Dont ask your mom, DO NOT speak to girlfriend about this (I already made that mistake), rush to the first store that has it, give them their blood money, get your blood red Angel 4, rush home, shoot friends with it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
96 Comments - Add Comment

C]-[iLDe Thursday, November 13th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month30 of 34 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel LED
Angel LCD
Angel iR3 (Dark, Fly)
Angel Speed
Marker Setup: Polished Black Angel 4
Largest Volumizer
Check-It Products Clamping Lowrise (black)
Check-It Products Unimount (black)
68/45 Crossfire LP preset
16' Freak barrel (black)
Halo B (black)
Recommended
Upgrades:
- LP Output or Adjustible Tank
The A4 seems to work best with ~450 psi output to the minireg. With most HP tanks its difficult to get your velocity to playable levels.

- Fast Loader
Evo2 or HALO B. Although you could use something slower without experiencing any problems (due to the Sensi feature) i feel that a slower loader would defeat the main advantage of this marker - high ROF.

- Good Barrel System
Of course. You want to be able to match your paint as well as possible.
Strengths: - LP Operation
- High ROF
- Easy to Maintain/ Service
- Sensi + LDS = No Broken Paint
Weaknesses: - Tricky trigger and offset adjustment
- Twist Feed is difficult to manage
Review: The Angel 4 is the latest in the WDP Angel family, as im sure everyone realizes by now. Its absolutely packed with great, innovative features.

LP OPERATION
The Angel 4 (or A4) can operate as low as 175 psi, with an LPR pressure of as low as 50 psi. The included 3SUM volumizers help accomplish this. While LP operation in itself isnt really noteworthy, the degree to which it reduces kick in the marker DEFINITELY is. This Angel is really easy to hold still while firing long strings, and will probably seem to most people to be more accurate than previous Angels because of this feature.

INCREASED ROF
The gun is just FAST, no two ways about it. The opto board is capped @ 25 bps. With Sensi (the A4 anti-chop technology) activated, the MROF jumps to 31 bps. Its easily possible to achieve rates of fire as high as 20 bps or more with this system, couple with the Sensi feature.

SENSI/ LDS
Quite simply, WDPs anti-chop system. Implemented almost transparently in the A4, it allows users to max out the rate of their hopper without experiencing skipped shots, or broken, chopped paint. After turning the marker on and activating Sensi, the users first 10 shots automatically calibrate the marker thru the Load Detection System (LDS). Thats it. Unless you cycle the power again, Sensi will remain calibrated for optimal use with your loader. No settings to change, no hassle, no fuss.

EXTERNAL TRIGGER/ TOE ADJUSTMENTS
A godsend. No longer is it necessary to remove the grip frame to adjust your trigger. Thanks to the vernier trigger wheels, trigger adjustments can now be made without even removing the grips. The TOE adjuster allows you to even further tweak your trigger by setting the firing point.

Also noteworthy here is the A4 inclusion of whats known to Timmy owners a the 'debounce' feature, now called 'Trigger Offset' in the A4. Its now possible to adjust your A4 trigger to electronically reduce (or induce) trigger bounce, thereby allowing you to achieve a higher ROF. I personally have found that even at the lowest bounce setting, very high ROFs are possible.

TWIST-LOCK GATED FEED
This was a big issue for a lot of people because so few hoppers fit so few feed tubes perfectly. Even more interesting was the way WDP implemented this feature, including various sized o-rings that allowed the feed tube to accomodate different sized hoppers. While the idea in itself was great, I personally felt the gated feed was too tall, and difficult to tighten and loosen.

OTHER FEATURES
The A4 also features double ball detents in the Speed style. The infra-red technology from the iR3 is also present here. The markers LPR is now user servicable, and easily removable because of the new air routing in the A4. The A4 also includes a gauge above to minireg so that you can see at what pressure your minireg is running - this is a HUGE improvement when it comes time to set your LPR. The marker is also smaller and lighter, and comes in two very attractive milling patterns - the Standard Angel 4 and the Force 4.
Conclusion: I really like the A4, its ALMOST everything ive always wanted in a marker. However, as WDP gets better and better, my expectations also rise. I'm very happy with this marker, but not 100% satisfied - theres always room for improvement. Still, its DEFINITELY the best angel to date. Id highly recommend it.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, November 13th, 2003 at 4:42 pm PST
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

cveale Monday, November 3rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month21 of 24 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Model 98 - Hey, it was my first gun.
Modded Autococker - Nice gun, but still no comparison to the A4.
Marker Setup: A4 with Max-Flow running 300 psi into the mini-reg.
190 Psi into the gun
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrels -- 1 piece would be better for efficiency due to the markers low pressure.
Strengths: Speed, Speed, Speed. Efficiency. Accuracy. Reliability.
Weaknesses: Bounces easily with the shortest trigger pull set.
Review: Let me start by saying that the fire rate on this thing is sick. It's capable of firing faster than you can pull the trigger, so those of you that think you have fast trigger fingers need to try this baby. I was firing right next to guys using Timmys and Matrixes and I could keep sustained rates of fire as fast as they could, but I would have bursts occasionally that were so close together that is sounded like a hum.

My old gun was an autococker, so I know about accuracy. People, you need to start believing what people are saying about accuracy not being dependent on the gun. They are right. I have seen tweaked out Piranah shoot as accurately as a Matrix. Autocockers that could't hit the broad side of a barn, and also some that could fire paint through a keyhole. I have been goggled by an Angel in a single fire snap shot from 40 yards. Accuracy is air consistency, barrel match, and lack of kick, and to some degree the bolt. With that said. The A4 was amazingly accurate out of the box. The balls never seemed to come down. I was hitting hoppers with only an inch of them exposed at 50 yards.

I have been getting about 1800+ shots with my 68cu 4500psi Max-Flo. I haven't tweaked it much, but I have heard of people getting over 2000 shots by just adjusting the gun pressures.

I experienced very little kick and the people I was playing with commented on how quiet the gun was which is pretty amazing considering that the autococker that I used before sounded like a breath when it fired.

The SENSI (paint sensor) worked perfectly. I have yet to chop ANY paint after 4 cases through it. Not a single ball. Plus, I personally feel this system is better than the eyes because it will continue to still work if a brittle ball does break and gets paint in the breech. An eye will be "blind".

What more can I say.. 12 fire modes, easily adjustable trigger,faster hammer than the Speed, very low pressure, game timer, IR communication with other Angels, EXTREMELY light, great grip. Basically, the perfect gun.
Conclusion: Baddest kid on the block. I would put this up against any gun out there today, and already have.

This gun just feels expensive. It doesn't look like a toy (*cough* Timmy *cough*) and performs like a dream. You are not just shooting balls with this thing. You are hosing people down with paint.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, November 3rd, 2003 at 6:03 pm PST
I found this review  
15 Comments - Add Comment

JackalVR6 Monday, October 27th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month16 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Impulse
Marker Setup: Angel 4
MacDev 03 Conquest 68/45
Halo B
Recommended
Upgrades:
Adjustable Air System (MacDev, Max-Flo, Nitro Duck)
Halo B
Strengths: ROF, No Chop, Low Pressure, Light
Weaknesses: None
Review: What a great marker! This thing ROCKS! I was hitting 20 bps with my Halo B, no problem. It is incredible, WOWOWOW. It shoots darts and ice strings of paint with minimal kickback. If you buy this gun, READ THE MANUAL! It is a complicated gun so you have to read the manual in order to use it correctly. Also, CALIBRATE your Sensi mode!!! Meaning when you turn Sensi on, fire 10 slow shot to get the Sensi calibrated, then leave your marker on all day. Sensi must be calibrated every time you power your maker on. You can have it on all day, just leave it in Safe mode when you are not playing. It also has three alarms that vibrate the handle. They are easy to set. In a five minute speedball game my timer starts when I take the first shot. Then Vibrates at 2 minutes, 1 minute, and 30 seconds. It also has a pin number so you can lock it if you choose to. You can also enter you name and it will appear on the display. This gun tells you when you've been playing well, with little message like, "You rock." Or "You're burning up." NO CHOP! The Sensi system is great! Just make sure you use paint that is fresh and not damaged or exposed to harsh or wet conditions. The trigger is SICK! You can adjust it to any position very very easily for extreme rates of FIRE! It has toooo many options to list!
Conclusion: Buy this GUN. You won't be disappointed. Get a good balanced adjustable air system that is high flow so you won't experience drop off. Meaning the balls won't fall short at extreme rates of fire. Set you adjustable at 400psi with 200psi operation.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Gadfly Thursday, April 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month16 of 65 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Electra DX, Brass Eagle Rain Maker, Nasty Impulse, MacDev Cyborg, Dye Matrix, WGP Oracle
Marker Setup: Angel A4 Graphite Dust (still waiting for exchange)
High Pressure Maxflow with 68/4500
Clear VL Evolution II with Z-board
Recommended
Upgrades:
Anything to make it work would be nice
Strengths: Nice looking manual, good paper with color photos
Box looks good
Weaknesses: DOA out of the box
Bad support
Review: After hearing so much about how good Angel markers are, I finally gave in and plunked down some hard earned cash for a brand new Angel A4. In the process, I had sold my prized Nasty Impulse marker.

I was excited when I first received the marker. I opened and box like a little kid and giggled uncontrollablely to my wife's amazement. My smile soon faded when I saw the big scratch marks along the side of beautiful graphite dust finish. One spot as so deep and big, it was almost an inch long, and the silver aluminum can be easily seen even from a distance. Undaunted, I picked up the manual to read. I read the whole thing twice. The manual seemed to be well written, and it was in nice heavy paper and printed in color.

The manual instructed to charge the marker for 4 hours before first time use. I took it out to the garage, and plugged it into my new 2004 Honda. The red light lit up on the cigar adapter, meaning it had power going to it; I then plugged it into the marker. The LCD screen on the marker blinked with a beeping sound, and it continued to flash "LP V2" and full screen of garbage. I thought it was normal, and left it charging overnight. The next morning, about 8 hours later, I went to the car and unplugged the charger. However, the marker would not turn on, because the battery display on LCD showed no charge. Confused, I plugged it in my 2002 Montero, and the same beeping with flashing display happened. I went back and read the manual again, but could find nothing. I left it running, and went to a local paintball shop to pick up an Angel wall charger for $40. After I get back, I plugged the marker into the wall charger. It showed the same thing. I left it running for another 6 hours, and it still had not charged.

I went to WDP website, and could not find any number to call support. I used the online support and emailed them. Three days later, I got an email from WDP support asking for the serial number on my marker. They also suggested that both of my car batteries could be faulty! I have not had any problem with my cars, and they both came out of the dealer WORKING, unlike the $1100 marker I just bought. I emailed the support guy back with a serial number. Two days later, he responded that I should use an OLD Angel LCD battery to "shock" the battery to "wake it up". First, if that was a solution, then they should ship the charger with the marker. Second, how could they expect the customer to fix their dead battery without offering to replace it? I emailed him back saying that I did not own such charger. It has been another two days and no response.

It's either the email support, or call one of the five Angel warranty centers in U.S. The warranty in the manual said nothing about the location of the warranty centers. I had to find that information from the web. However, none of the warranty centers are any where close to where I live. I do not feel that I should pay $15 to ship a brand new marker to one of those centers just to get it to work. The only help I got as from Angel Owners message group. I posted on the forum to ask for help, and one of the master Angel techs responded. I spoke to the master Angel tech on the phone, and he tried to fix the problem over the phone. We tried a few things, and did not work.

I contacted the store I bought the marker from, and they admitted that they have had many problems with Angel A4 lately. They even bought additional chargers because so many stock chargers were bad. They sent me a return shipping label to send the marker back for exchange. However, I would not have the marker back for another two weeks. I have not received the replacement marker yet. Maybe this time I will get lucky with a working marker with no scratch.
Conclusion: Marker was already scratched out of the box, right side screw as missing too on the trigger. I had Spyders in better conditions right out of the box.

Only 6 month warranty?! Smart Parts Impulse was $400, and had the same warranty.
Took a long time for email support to respond.

This was my first Angel, and probably my last. I would recommend another marker over this. Don't buy into the hype. If you have to buy one, get it local or from a well known dealer. You are not getting better warranty or service just because you paid more.
As for performance? I do not know, since mine was DOA.

WDP does not seem to care about their customer. Paintball industry has a lot of catching up to do in this area in general. For example, I bought a Dell Workstation for $1000 a few months ago. The monitor came with a faulty pixel. I called Dell support, and they sent a brand new one the next day! Now that's service.

I give this product a 2 for the nice looking box it came in, and the colorful manual.
Rating:
2 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 8th, 2004 at 9:10 pm PST
I found this review  
33 Comments - Add Comment

PBdude007 Wednesday, August 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none. Spyder Imagine
Marker Setup: Angel 4 with Hyperflow 201 adjustable 45/45
Recommended
Upgrades:
doesnt need ANYTHING
Strengths: Accuracy
Speed
Value
Weaknesses: Expensive repair parts

full auto and other mods only go to 13 bps.
Review: Pls read this whole thing. This is a very helpful review.

Ok, i got my A4 about 6 months ago, and i have taken a vow to not buy any other competitor. This is the most impressive gun i have ever used (ive fired a DM4- doesnt compete)

I have precicely 28,600 shots on my A4. I have chopped 2 paintballs, both were my mistake (sensi off with and Egg....BIG MISTAKE).

The first thing i noticed when i opened the box was the Milling. Incredible design, It looks streamlined and, well, like it has wings (unlike the fly, which looks robotic). That was just the first thing i was impressed about, in a long line.

I just read some reviews of the DM4. You can tell that they havent ever used an angel b4.

1 guy wrote "my spread was 281,280,281,240, 263, 280, 240" and said it "wasnt bad."

I laughed out loud when i read that. My a4 shoots as such:

275, 287, 287, 286, 288, 287. Incredible consistancy.

Any the next strength (duh) is the speed. With a halo b, i hit 24bps every time i play (im getting a victory board. The hopper is restricting me). I origionaly had a egg, but it would skip every 3 pulls. I sold it and got my Halo.
What i think is kool is you can run on full auto with sensi ON. Thats REALLY kool.

Next, this thing is LIGHT! I have a 45/45 tank, and a halo, and i can hold it up with 1 hand easily. It weighs in at 2.2 pounds with nothing on it (lighter than the standard Colt .45...hows that for a comparison).

Accuracy, incredible. I put it on a stand, and pulled the trigger 10 times. There was about a 5 inch circle (radius) at 30 feet. Looks like i fired 2 paintballs, not 10.
Keep in mind, the barrel matches Evil paint the best.

This gun has almost nothing to break in it. If you happen to be a n00B to angels, you may think that the reason that they are Great is because they have alot of complicated parts. Totally the oppostite.

The more i look at my gun, the more i realize the reason it rules, is because it is so simple. This gun has 2 springs, which have nothing to do with sliding the bolt forward. 1 spring in the Breech knob, and 1 in the pneumatic system ( id say where, but im assuming ur a n00B, so i wont go into detail). The solenoid (electro- magnetic slide) pushes the bolt forward. The Ram (equivenlent to the Striker on a spyder) and the air handles the rest.

Next, is the pressure. I have my tank output at 410psi. My Mini regulator (the guns 1st stage regulator, the total second stage regulator) output is 210. The LPR, the 3rd stage regulator, is only at 54psi. With my 45/45, i can get 500 shots out of a 2000PSI FILL!!!
Unlike *cough* OTHER *cough* guns, this gun can run forever on a small tank.

Strengths over the fly-

1-beauty

2-The fly has 6 modes of fire. The A4 has 12.

3-The fly has an eye (the eye only detects if a ball is present. Sensi detects how many balls are stacked up in the feed tube and modifies the Cycle Time to fire the max bps without chopping.)

4-value

Keep in mind-The fly fires the same speed as the A4 on semi auto!! The fly just has all that "Oh My God!" and "Shop Show Off" crap.

The A4 has 5 modes you can modify via the IR-link. The fly doesnt.

The A4 has better colors.

Now, do you really think that it is worth it to spend 400-500 bucks extra just for a eye, and to take away 6 modes of fire?

i didnt think so.


thanks for reading, it means alot.
Conclusion: Best value angel. The fly isnt worth spending 500 bucks extra, let alone 800 bucks extra for the Joy Division.

Buy one if you have the money. You wont be upset.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
22 Comments - Add Comment

Devs Friday, September 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
IR3, My 2K LCD, Speeds, E-Bladed Cockers, bushies, shockers, timmies
Marker Setup: Angel 4, 70/4500 WorrGas Adjustable, Yboard EggoII
Recommended
Upgrades:
None so far, possibly the barrel. But the jacko rules!
Strengths: Speed, Vernier Trigger Adjustments, Weight, Smaller profile, Adjustable Feed neck!
Weaknesses: None that I've found so far
Review: Well, It arrived 2 days ago. I've just been too stoked to write a review.
The first thing I'd like to point out is that its name is not IR4 as the previous person thought. As it says on the box it came in, its just Angel 4. Now on to the review.
Looks: Personally, I think the Angel 4 is the best looking Angel yet. I love the graceful lines of its milling. A nice and pretty sweeping shape. And the Polished Denim Blue looks great!
Body: Compared to my 2k CnC LCD, the Angel 4 is tiny. They have completely reworked it. I don't own an IR3 or Speed, so I can't make a size comparison with them. The Angel 4 is almost an inch shorter length-wise than my LCD, and is a little less than half an inch shorter height-wise. (Body only comparison. No feed-neck, trigger frame, etc.) Being so much smaller, the Angel 4 is noticebly lighter than my LCD.
Performance: After messing with the trigger for about an hour, I finally got it set up the way I like it. The trigger has a tad bit of side to side slop. I'm okay with that, but I don't prefer it that way. The Vernier trigger adjusters make setting up the trigger a total snap. After gassing her up, i shot about half a case into a tree at my house. This baby totally rips. Also, with the same barrel I have a tighter shot grouping with the Angel 4 than my LCD. Probably the input pressure, but I'll work on that later. Sensi works beautifully. My friend has an ACEd 2k2 LCD, and its cool... But the Angel 4's Sensi is cooler. The delay makes it possible to chop, but that wasn't a problem, cause my Eggo2 was feeding its hungry user. Also, its not as loud as my LCD.
Some people would say that its too pricey for an upgraded Speed. But I totally don't see it like that. I've shot a couple speeds, and I have totally fallen for the Angel 4. And with all the neato features (granted some of them are pointless) its worth the price.
Features: Two words! trigger offset! Coolest feature besides Vernier trigger adjustments and Sensi. Its the Angel 4's form of debounce, and it works great! With 20 levels of offset, you can set it exactly how you want it. Another neato feature is the multiple alarms. I have it set to go off with one minute left on the timer, and at the end of the timer. And you can tell that they are different. The "One Minute Warning" is a slower rythm than the Final one. The End alarm is really quick thumping.
Other than that, it has the pretty standard stuff. IR transmission for settings and such, Space frame (i've been wanting one since the IR3 first came out). If you can afford the $1361 shipping included price tag from Mos, Totally get this!
Conclusion: I don't think I could have asked for anything more from WDP. The Angel 4 is phenomenal. I will definitely recommend this to anyway. Try it out, Buy it, set it up how you want it, and rip strings all day long!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DYE_PB44 Saturday, February 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
ICD Freestyle, Eblades, timmys, shockers
Marker Setup: Naughty Dog Freestyle
Halo B w/ ripdrive
pmi 68/4500

Angel A4
Eggy 2 w/ Z board
pmi 45/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
-new trigger
-barrel kit
-fast hopper like halo b or eggy 2 w/z board

Strengths: -Fast
-pretty small
-tells the temp. : )
-nice trigger pull
-very sexy
Weaknesses: -Doesnt come with asa
-doesnt come with a rail
Review: I just got my A4 two days ago. As soon as i took it out of the box i knew that it was going to be fun. After i bought a rail and ASA for it and then went to the field and played. I only have HP tanks so when i went to crono it was 400,319,450 etc. But after i did the HP mod it was very nice 271,271,272,271,270. the first thing that i notced was how fast it was, I was mowin faces. I had to start going easy on the paint so i was just doing some snap shooting. The gun was very accerate, i mean dead stright.. I broke one ball in the barrel and it was still shooing fine. I didnt think that the SENSI was going to do all that well, but it did great. I even put a revy on it to test it, not one break. After using it for awhile i turned up the bounce to see how fast i could get it up to. I was hitting 20-23 bps! i know its not turny legal but it was fun. the only major problem i found with this gun was that you need alot of paint.
Conclusion: If you are looking in to spending some money go with this. Its fast, small, and has all the things you need (even the temp.). My friend has had this same gun for about 5 months and hasnt had one problem with his. I dont know how much better you can get (other then a fly). so if you are looking into getting a timmy(aka up'ed spyder) go with the angel. you wont have problems and and its just as fast.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, March 6th, 2005 at 6:33 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

wardog Tuesday, October 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Bob Long Storm Intimidator- Slighter longer, heavier, not as fast as an Angel.
Naughty Dogs E-Orracle- Not nearly as fast or reliable
Dark IR3 Angel- Heavier, almost as fast
Marker Setup: WDP Blue/Black Fade Angel 4, Angel Infinity Barrel, Blue Diamond Dust Empire Reloader B, Crossfire 68ci 4500psi LPA Tank, Dye Rhyno Cover, Dye Mini-Drop, Dye Airport, Medium Length Angel 4 Volumizer
Recommended
Upgrades:
REALLY FAST HOPPER! I reccommed an Empire Reloader B or Halo B with Victory Board.

Good Air System (Crossfire, Angel Air, Maxflo, etc.)
Strengths: Speed, Fairly Accurate, Customizable, Volumizer Kit, Reliable, The Manual, A Beautiful Gun, Vernier Wheels, Sensi
Weaknesses: None
Review: I bought my Angel from my local store around three months ago. To make this review easier to read, I will categorize the strengths and weaknesses.

STRENGHS

Speed- This gun is insanely fast. I customized my settings according to Ken Crane's reccommeded A4 settings on angel-owners.com. This gun throws ropes of paint. The slayer trigger is really nice and it is easy for me to keep up good rates of fire.

Looks- My A4 is drop dead gorgeous. The milling is smooth, and the fade is great. You can tell WDP put alot of effort into the creation of this gun.

Accuracy- While not as "accurate" as my old cocker, a good paint to bore fit on my Angel still is pretty accurate. I would say it is better than a Timmy.

Vernier Wheels- The vernier wheel trigger adjusters make it a very simple process to adjust the travel of your trigger. Just have the right allen wrench, loosen the screw, then use the wheels to adjust the travel distance. Tighten when done.

Volumizer Kit- WDP includes a volumizer kit with the newer Angels. They can reduce the operating pressure down to 175psi. Three volumizers are included. The smallest reduces the operating pressure the least, the largest the most.

Reliability- I have had no problems with my A4 except caused by myself. (When I first bought it, I used a HPA instead of a LPA tank. Off seated a few o-rings.) Just make sure that if you chop paint, stop shooting and squeegee it out or else the valve will stay open and you will lose all of your air.

Customizable- VERY CUSTOMIZABLE. You can set anything from the dwell to a custom text that appears when you switch it to live. (Factory is ANGEL LIVE.)

The Manual- By far the best manual I have ever seen. Extremely detailed and has lots of pictures and diagrams. Actually made for an A4. (Alot of Timmy manuals are dated from 2002.)

Sensi- Pretty good anti-chop system, I have not had many breaks at all, maybe two out of two thousand. I would get Angel Eyes later.

Maintenance- Barely anything. Use some love juice on the square o-ring on the bolt hatch and on any moving parts visible moving parts other than the bolt when you open the hatch.

WEAKNESSES

ABSOLUTELY NOTHING!!!
Conclusion: This is the best paintball gun I have ever used. I would never sell this gun for any other. Its around $300 cheaper than the fly, and they are very close to being the same gun with milling and board/eye differences. GO BUY ONE TODAY!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

germangod2 Friday, October 24th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Toxic impulse - Still far from Angel 4 but was def a nice marker
borrowed a 2001 dark angel lcd which was slow on bps
Marker Setup: stock angel 4 with 4,500 psi maxflo tank , Halo b hopper, Evo 2 (egg), freak set, 10 inch teardrop front
Recommended
Upgrades:
Need a maxflo or an angel air or something that can keep a steady pressure
Strengths: Rate of fire, trigger adjustment, LCD, gated feed, twist lock feed neck, and sensi modes
Weaknesses: None that I have seen so far
Review: Ok I just got the marker less than a month ago. Nothing can explain how good it feels to open the box of the newest paintball marker from WDP. I have worked my way up from spyders to impulses, now to Angels.

At frist glance the Angel 4 looks great. I know the dam pressure guage in front of the trigger guard looks messed up, and yes I would also love to meet the smart guy who put that there but getting over that I think the guage has helped me out alot. It is always nice to know how much pressure the gun is at. Just the feel of this marker is amazing. It is so dam light that it is crazy. It is also pretty small compared to other markers out there. The milling is sweet and the gun just seems to have this great flow when you look at it from front to back.

Now performance, when I first fired the marker the trigger was not adjusted and it was a pain in the ass to get it to fire. Once I fooled around with the trigger this marker shoots like nothing I have ever seen. The trigger setup is at first a pain in the ass but you get used to how to fiddle with it. Word of advice don't set the trigger wheels to short b/c when you tighten the screw down the wheels don't move but it seems to shorten the trigger more and that will led to the marker not firing. So when adjusting the trigger by the wheels maybe move them one click more than what you wanted and when you tighten it, than you should have it perfect. As for the other screw which goes into the marker to hit the board to get it to fire, this is easy to mess around with. Get the trigger where you want it with the wheels, than just move the screw inside the gun till it fires and your ready to go. It will take you about 400 shots to get the trigger right. Well that is what my counter said. Def buy a freak kit and get a shorter barrel. I have not fired it with the regular stock barrel on there b/c most of the time they are crap so I did not even bother. After market barrels are always the best way to go. The freak kit is perfect since you can match up the bore size so you don't break paint. The evo 2 I had worked pretty well. I got the marker up to 16 balls per second and i got nervous since i might out shoot the hopper. So that is why I say get the Halo B which is rated at 22 bps. Oh yeah turn off the sensi mode. I know it is a good thing to have but when you want to get maximum bps than i would turn it off. I could not shoot more than 12 with that mode on. It would always stop and wait a sec and that would piss me off. Lets see what else. Oh yeah the gated feed and twist lock on the hopper is great. This gun will make any hopper fit like a glove. Nothing beats just throwing any hopper on there and twisting the feed neck down and then running off to play. The gated feed helps to make sure that the marker can fire in different angles in which a paintball would go back into your hopper. Game timer is def another great option. It has 3 alarms which you can program to go off when you want. Each alarm has a different vibration so you know how much time is left in the game. That option is def great for everyone on your team (just as long as you don't get out)


Conclusion: If you got the money spend it. I know alot of people hate angels b/c they think they are not the best but they are. I must say nothing shoots like an angel. The older angels shot like crap and it was more accuracy by volume but with the angel 4 it is accuracy along with volume.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media