paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Flurry Industries Reaver Knee/Shin Guards / Flurry Industries Reaver Knee/Shin Guards / Flurry Industries Reaver Knee/Shin Guards / Flurry Industries Reaver Knee/Shin Guards

Flurry Industries Reaver Knee/Shin Guards Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Flurry Industries

Buy Flurry Industries Reaver Knee/Shin Guards

Paintball Knee and Elbow Pads

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Flurry Industries Reaver Knee/Shin Guards
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 9
Average Rating: 8.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $40

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Reaver Knee/Shin Guards are made for the player that wants to protect themselves from the bumps and scrapes of aggressive paintball play. The Reavers are perfect for running through the brush during rec play or sliding into a bunker during a tournament.

The Reaver Knee/Shin Guards are constructed out of a tough, high density foam with a rugged nylon outer shell. They feature 4 adjustable straps for a secure fit on your legs and a killer design that makes them some of the best looking guards on the market.

If you want to save your legs from abuse and look good doing it, these guards are the right choice for you.

Available in black. One size fits most. Designed for the average adult to large adult player.
Product Availability 
The Flurry Industries Reaver Knee/Shin Guards are older, so while they may be available used and in a few cases new, they are not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Slapdookie Monday, February 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
raven knee/shin pads
Marker Setup: blk/greenone
evil pipe w/green ultra tip
ricochet apache
shocktech inline reg
micro rock
fbm drop w/ empire quik flip on/off
apm bolt
twist clamp feed neck
eclipse QEV
homemade rubberized grips
50g trigger
Strengths: See below
Weaknesses: See below
Review: Well i got these pads after researching knee/shin pads for awhile cause i was tired of tearin' the crap out of my lower extremities. i got them and i have to tell you i thought they looked good and were nice and lite. now i am a 5'9" 215lb guy who is cocked d and my style of play is kind of in the dirt so i guess i put these pads through some rigorous use. these pads are lite as mentioned above and don't hinder movement much, as far as the straps well they are relatively secure, i mean the pads will move on you a little bit when you make a slide but i think thats kind of expected and it didn't bother me too much. after playing with these for about 5 months i made a slide one sunny afternoon and caused a huge tear up the side of one on these pads. now of course i was disappointed in this but when put in perspective i not sure that this should not have been expected, i mean how much abuse can pads take..right. i now have raven knee/shin pads and i tell you what these pads are holding up well and they are a hundred times more comfortable than the flurry pads, although i think a little discomfort while ballin' is necessary so i'm not sure if thats a good thing. all in all i think they are decent pads but not the best i would go with the raven pads over these
Conclusion: All in all i think they are decent pads but not the best i would go with the raven pads over these i give them just a passing grade
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dayoldy Saturday, September 27th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
I've tried JT e-Motions on, but haven't used them in battle. The Reavers are not as heavy or hi-tech, not do the offer as much padding; but they are lighter and cooler in hot weather. Provides about as much unrestricted motion as the e-Motions. Probably not as much protection if you're sliding into rocks, but quite adequate.
Marker Setup: Stock Piranha TS Pro G3 with J&J Ceramic barrell. 20 oz CO2.
Strengths: Light, strong, durable, comfortable, decent protection, great customer support
Weaknesses: None noted
Review: The Reaver pads from Flurry are a good product! They're not as padded or hi-tech as the JT e-Motions. They aren't as bulletproof as the Reds (with that Kevlar), but they are very effective nonetheless.

The design works very well. There are four velcro straps in the design - 2 are on the calf, 1 on the ankle, and 1 just above the knee. The bottom three have buckles, making them quite secure. The top is pure velcro with no buckle. I was concerned that the top wouldn't hold well, but on my first day out on the field with them, they did just fine. I was grindin around on my knees, in the 100 degree Arizona desert dirt all day, and all straps held exceptionally well. It didn't restrict my movement at all. The straps were very comfortable - no digging...

I got shot on the knee once, and I also ground my knee down on some unbroken ball paint, which made my pads quite a muddy mess in places. When I got home I just hosed them of with a spray nozzle and they cleaned right up fast. They dried quickly and there wasn't a hint of a scuff (the front is made of a nylon fabric, like the JT Skins). So it looks like they'll last a good while, and they’ll keep on lookin good. They are very lightweight and definitely cool to wear in hot weather. I wore them all day and didn't even notice they were on. My buddy had to remove his JT e-motions quite a bit between games, because they were so hot.

It's another one of those "one size fits most" deals. They fit my 5' 10" and 175 lbs frame perfectly. Seeing how the bottom section came down and stopped before reaching my my ankles, I would say they would work for someone 4 or 5 inches shorter, and certainly someone taller.

I purchased mine on sale. I got them directly from the flurry industries website for $29. Not only that, but that day they had a special on shipping (free)... Can't beat that!

Oh, one other thing... Customer support was awesome. Chris in the sales support department, was very helpful. I'd never actually worn, or even seen this product before. I first found out about it on eBay lookin for a pack (Flurry makes a great pack BTW...). Chris quickly answered all my pre-purchase email inquiries. And get this... He even got the website changed to give me a better idea how the product worked. I was impressed. Seeing this attention to customers made a difference in me deciding to purchase that product. Once I ordered the Reavers, they came in a few days. Unfortunately, I noticed one had a defect. Now the test was on...! What had I really purchased?... Well, I emailed them describing the problem, and guess what - Chris sent a replacement out immediately, no questions asked. He assured me that they are working hard to prevent occurances like that. The way they handled my situation, I believe him. It shows me that one way or another they are all about pleasing the customer and getting better. I'll definitely buy from them again. Now I just gotta figure out how to wear the suckers out ;o)...
Conclusion: By these if you want a good, lightweight, and comfortable knee and shin protection
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Interceptor911 Monday, September 15th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Body Guard Knee Pads
Marker Setup: Piranha LB, Phantom VSC
Strengths: comfort, light weight, good protection
Weaknesses: none noted
Review: I usually hate wearing knee pads. The are always hot, uncomfortable, and just generally annoying. I have a bad knee that I really should have been protecting all these years, but it didn't seem worth the annoyance of pads. I scored a set of these Flurry knee and shin guards, and I love them. First off, they are so comfortable, I forget I have them on. You would think they would be hot, but they aren't. The straps are secured with heavy velcro, and the knee section flexs very well when you bed your knee. They got a good work out ofver the weekend at my local woods field. I low crawled (usually leads to me kneeling on a rock and writhing in pain), ran, sprinted, dove through brush, everything you should do in a good full day of playing. My gimp knee was well protected, the pad never rotated or slid down, and saved me the usual bruises and bumps I used to leave the field with. I tried other companies, and for one reason of another, was never happy with them. They were to hard to put on, to stiff, to heavy, to hot. These pads are great. Just what I need. They are comfortable, functional, and lets face it, that little skull is just plain cool.
Conclusion: I would recommend this product to anyone who is looking for a good set of knee and shin guards. The quality of these are just what I would expect from Flurry Industries. I have had their vest for over 2 years now and still haven't had a single problem. I expect that these pads will serve me well for years to come. Check em out and pick em up. You won't be disappointed.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

NoobieSlayer Friday, August 13th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: A5 Flatline, E grip. Also A5-AK mod 14"sniper barrel ,RT
Strengths: Everything except the straps. They "look" cool - but looks dont mean squat. Im not impressed.
Weaknesses: The straps are made of sandpaper and are really bad when you sweat.
Review: these pads would be perfect if they would come up with a better material for the straps - the way the are now (I bought them Aug 2004) the straps feel like they are made of sandpaper. I dont get it - the inside of the pad is so soft (like fleece), but the straps SUCK!!!! I am so dissapointed by this. If you look at the other reviews on these pads you will see that I am the only one complaining about this which leads me to believe that they have started using another material for the straps (even the pic on Flurry's site looks different then what I got today). Do NOT buy these pads unless you dont mind wearing them over your pants - otherwise you are gonna end up with one nasty rash on the back of your legs. Just picture running aroung in the heat, sweating buckets, and someone constantly rubbing strips of sandpaper on the delicate back part of your legs.
Conclusion: Im dissapointed - comfort is everything in a pad and these are NOT comfortable.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

BloodLustDE Monday, March 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
regular skateboard kneepads
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine LED 05
Empire Reloader 2
Proto 14" One piece
New Designz Clamping Low Rise
Dye Stickies
Empire React 06 Gloves
Flurry Reaver Shinguards
Strengths: Great price
Durability
Comfort
Weaknesses: Moves slightly
Review: After reading the reviews for kneepads i really couldn't decide which ones i wanted to get. These Reaver's had gotten really good reviews so i went out on a limb and tried them because i found them for less than $30 dollars shipped on eBay. I'm glad i did because i love them.

I played with them yesterday for almost 6 hours and they were great. Most of the time i forgot i was wearing them. I got 2 shots on them, 1 bounced and 1 broke. The 4 straps keep them very secure on your legs, but after several consecutive hours they kinda started to slide down slightly. Part of this is because i couldn't get the top strap as tight as i wanted because my leg's to skinny. I guess? Anyway, the cleanup pretty easy and do exactly what they say. I wanted to test them for warmer weather so i wore them at home under 3 blankets to see how hot they got and i was impressed. The never became unbearable. yea i noticed them, but i watched a 2 1/2 hour movie with them on and it didn't interfere with my enjoyment of the movie, so if you're paintballing in the woods you won't be bothered either.
Conclusion: All in all these shinpads are great. I was a bit confused when i got them because they come flat; i thought i got a chest protector at first, lol. The more you break them in the better they get, i'd highly recommend them. Also, don't worry about the pictures online; they really are black, not grey.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 5th, 2007 at 8:30 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Fridaddy Monday, March 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Sports kneepad/shinguards modified.
Marker Setup: AIM Customcocker "Eagle 21" Freak Barrel system, 3A 68/45K tank, Madman rocket valve. Runs at 190PSI
Pre '99 Sniper II, more barrels than I can post.
Paintballstuff.Com Sidekick pistol in a Copps911 drop down holster
PT Extreme w/ tank adapter and hopper adapter (when I general a scenario)
ACI F-4 setup as a M-4 for LE training
Trracer, three Rebels (loaners for newbies)
Flurry Emissary vest
And a partridge in a pear tree
Strengths: Look nice, work well.
Weaknesses: The material wears, strapps too short.
Review: Well being a loyal fan of Flurry I thought I would pop for the pads as my old ones were getting worn and stretched out. When they arrived two things struck me...
1. They look.......kool
2. the straps are too short. Only about 1/2 inch of the Velcro will flap over at the top of my calf. The stitching for the straps is starting to pull from the pads but that is a direct result of the above problem. It was a simple hand stitch to fix, but I think the straps should be longer.

I first wore them at the California Police and Fire Games 2004 and got a lot of positive comments. I have played in 110 degree and 30 degree temps and they stay comfortable and pliable.

The material is wearing at the knees from the rocky dirt at the fields I play at, but unless you make steel knee pads that is to be expected, Clean up is a breeze, I just hang them and hit them with a hose for about a min.

Conclusion: If you dont have built in kneepads in your $100+ paints, or you play woodsball and like cammo, these are the pads to get.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 7th, 2005 at 5:00 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

italnstalln48 Sunday, January 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Cheap Crappy Brass Eagle Kneepads - They suck but hey they're 10 bucks

Kneepads meant for skateboarding - Good protection but bad comfort
Marker Setup: Red '03 Vert. Feed Cocker with Dye Ultralight barrel, WGP Ergo Inline Reg, Chrome Lightening Bolt drop and ASA by CP, Dark Vengeance Delrin Bolt, KAPP delrin detent, Crossfire 68/4500 Nitro, Dye Stickies and 6 Prong 12v Revvy
Strengths: - Lightweight
- Tight Looking
- Comfortable
- Durable
- You WILL catch bounces
Weaknesses: Fabric starting to wear in a few places

LONG periods of wear (Scenarios) kinda uncomfortable
Review: I went out on a limb and bought these pads because i thought they looked cool. I had a friend who had a Flurry Ultraback Tactical Vest and he told me that Flurry made good stuff so i decided to buy the pads. They are solidly built but yet are extremely light and flexible. Maybe not quite as flexible as some of the neoprene types but considering the protection its definately worth it. The neoprene crap definately doesn't cushion the knee near as much. Certain parts of the pad are especially dense and will always give you a bounce or two. In addition to all this, these pads weren't near as expensive as JT, Redz or DYE pads.
Conclusion: Good price. Good Product. Good Buy.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 30th, 2005 at 10:33 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jamez54 Wednesday, August 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
basic ghetto shinguard/knee guards.
Strengths: Comfortable, great looking, durability, held on by 4 adjustable straps
Weaknesses: Loose around my skinny knees.
Review: Well, these were a very worthwhile purchase for me. When I was playing in the woods some months ago I scrapped my shin on a branch and realized I needed some leg protection. I consider myself an aggressive player and am in a crouched position most of the time. With these pads on I can jump over barricades without worrying about my knees or shins.
I'm very impressed with the overall construction and design of these pads. They fit on my legs very nicely considering that they're only available in one size. I do wish they were available in colors besides black. The skull looks really wicked as well.

- The only thing that bothers me about this product is that one ties the guards to your knees. This velcro strap was just slightly too loose on my skinny knees so I had to readjust it every couple games. This is a very small problem, but it is annoying none the less.
Conclusion: Besides the knee strap I consider this a top quality product. Not inexpensive by any means, this product will help protect your precious legs. Thats good enough for me.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

-C7- Monday, December 15th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: T98C with Hyperstar bolt, exp. chamber, rocket cock, dye xcel barrel 20oz on/off SINGLE TRIGGER!!! and an Icon E mostly stock with a modified 3A knockout barrel (dont buy 3A unless you are willing to re-work them) and a 20oz pin valve a splatmaster pistol i love that thing!
Strengths: -Really cool design -Pretty Strong -Cheap -Arent over padded (see review)
Weaknesses: none i can think of
Review: I was pleases to get my Reaver pads they look really cool and they offer good coverage, they dont have a huge amount of padding but if you think you need a bunch you shouldnt play, youre supposed to sting a little bit after getting hit the knees are padded enough to protect your knees well (which i needed cause my knees arent that great anymore) i really dont know what i could say as a weakness at $30 its no more than a case of cheap paint.
Conclusion: I say buy em if you need need some protection for your knees and shins. and want something that looks cool.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media