paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Armson Stealth Barrel / Armson Stealth Barrel / Armson Stealth Barrel

Armson Stealth Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Armson

Buy Armson Stealth Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Armson Stealth Barrel
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 228
Average Rating: 8.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $70

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The all new Stealth combines the same 6061 T-6 aircraft grade aluminum construction, and Polygon Progressive rifling as our legendary Pro-Series, with the noise reduction of a ported barrel.


Product Availability 
The Armson Stealth Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (23):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Unregistered User Friday, May 10th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year57 of 60 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Flatline, Dye 13", All American 16"
Marker Setup: Tippmann Model 98 Custom, 6" Drop Forward, Sight Rail, 3x-9x Rifle Scope, 16" Armson Stealth
Recommended
Paintballs:
I use Diablo Infernos. You can buy them in 2000 count boxes for $55.
Strengths: This is an extremely accurate barrel. I've done fairly extensive accuracy testing. At 20 yards, I hit a 3" diameter circle 10 out of 10 times. At 30 yards, I hit 10 out of 10 in a 4" diameter circle. At 40 yards, I hit 10 out of 10 in a 6" diameter circle, with mostly vertical variation. I ripped off 20 rounds from 25 yards, at about 8 rounds a second with just a standard trigger, and they all hit in a 8" or smaller diameter circle, even with a slight (15mph) crosswind. In game testing showed similarly effective results. I play primarily woods and scenario games, and prior to getting my drop forward found the 16" to be a bit long for snap shooting, but since the addition of my drop forward I have no problem with it. In one woods game, I had a guy spraying paint at the tree I was behind from about 40 yards. He emptied quite a bit of paint at me, but didn't have enough accuracy to tag me. I popped out and pegged him in the head in 3 shots. Mind you that he was getting a 3 foot wide spray area at this range, while I, with the armson, popped out and hit him square in the mask in a 3 shot burst. Also, I shot a guy in the neck through a 4" wide gap in a pile of brush from 45 yards in a single shot. I've also taken on 2 people with relatively low-end guns (stock '98s, sheridans) and out shot both at once, just from sheer accuracy. Overall, the armson puts out great accuracy, and it softens the sound quite a bit.
Weaknesses: The 16" model may be too long for some people, especially if you're into speed ball. However, with my drop forward I have no problem snap shooting. Also, it is slightly heavier than the All American, though I don't even notice the difference unless I really pay close attention. Some have said that it is useless if you get a ball break, though I haven't seen anything to support this. I've broken a few, but the barrel cleans itself fairly well with just one shot. Some paint gets in the porting, but there is no significant performance drop, and you can pour a little water over it to clean it out right away.
Conclusion: An excellent barrel. Extremely accurate. More accurate than the Flat-Line, Dye Stainless and All American. Also, fairly cheap.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 2:03 am PST
I found this review  
18 Comments - Add Comment

MRJMF Tuesday, February 4th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month17 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
98c with a flatline
Marker Setup: A-5
E-grip
Nitro
CAR stock
13in armson steath
Recommended
Paintballs:
marballizer
Strengths: *much quieter than stock
*with the 13in you get the speed of a12in an the accuracy of a 14 in or however that goes
*great accuracy at close, medium and far range
Weaknesses: nothing so far, a little pricey ($70)
Conclusion: i love this barrel after i shot a case not 1 ball break, maybe not as far as the flatline but just as accurate
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

CHIZ666 Sunday, March 16th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
J&J 14", Flatline, Progressive
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom, E-Bolt, Armson Stealth 16", Ricochet AK, Vertical Adapter w/ ACI 6 stage expansion, Evil Smokestack
Recommended
Paintballs:
TC Venom
Marballizers
Strengths: Accuracy
Range
Weaknesses: Ball breakage clogs rifling
Review: well, this barrel is accurate and its affordable

I made accurate shots up to 50 yards

very consistant

it has less re-coil and volume since its rifled and ported

but like I said above If you bust a ball in the barrel you better have a squeegee cause you're accuracy is gone

this weakness is a rare one though I was shooting TC Venom and I shot 1000 balls with one bust, when I was cleaning the barrel however I got shot in the head.

I was able to make some pretty long range shots with it though, I shot a guy in the head through a knot hole in a 2x4 and now he has an Armson.

if you want a good barrel this is the one (for the good price)

----very good all around barrel
Conclusion: this is an excellent barrel, you can shoot consistantly and accuratly across a speedball course or you can terrorize you're buddies in the woods.

Go Armson

however I give it a 9 due to the fact that if you bust one you're SOL
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, October 4th, 2004 at 6:50 pm PST
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

Paint-Knight Monday, December 30th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months13 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
-16" Thunderpig.
-Stock barrells on Black Dragons, Spyders, Infernos, etc.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98C, w/ 16" Armson Stealth Barrell, 20 oz. Co2, 9v Revvy, Tippmann Expansion Chamber Kit.
Recommended
Paintballs:
You need good paint with a 16" barrell, otherwise they'll bust from so much velocity. I'd go with Nelson Anarchy or some of the JT Elite Premium.
Strengths: -MUCH better range than stock barrells.
-MUCH better accuracy.
-Quietest barrell I've ever heard.
-Are made for pretty much *all* types of guns & threading.
-Durable.
-Has rifling.
Weaknesses: -Rather expensive.
-Comes in only one color.
Conclusion: Very good barrell. I use one on my 98 Custom, which inspired my friend to buy one for his Black Dragon LCD. The rifling, contrary to popular belief, *does* work. It doesn't give you more range, as one might think, but it does increase your accuracy quite a bit. I'm giving this a 9 because costs about $70 bucks, more/less.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

Onion Sunday, April 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
teardrop 14"
Marker Setup: diablo sabotage with bl
14" teardrop barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
i was using rps winter fill
Strengths: sturdy
rifled
accurate
balls make this crazy shoosh noise when the go by your head
Weaknesses: none that i could see
Review: This barrel is nuts, the balls travel so straight. great for snipers
i played against a friend with this barrel and i have to say, the noise the balls make when they fly by you is intimidating. I finally convinced him to let me give it a try, and the accuracy is great. He had it on a C98 and the barrel quiets the gun down nicley.
Conclusion: very accurate
fairly quiet
i want one really bad now
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbassasin247 Thursday, October 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
dye boomstick,dye excel
Marker Setup: tippmann pro-carbine
16'' armson stealth
armageddon nitro
tripod
double trigger
Recommended
Paintballs:
Draxxus rec-sport worked the best.
Strengths: Extremely long range,very accurate,rifled,silent,hurts.
Weaknesses: Playing against it is the only weakness.
Review: The greatest barrel the best ive ever used and probably will ever use.Shoots up to 180-200 feet accurately.Great barrel nothing can compare.The rifled inside just launches the ball with incredible accuracy and range.Never broke a ball.Out of 12,000 paintballs zero broke.Hits hard shoots hard it hurts with this thing screwed in your gun.Overall i think it is the best
Conclusion: To sum it all up with one word is perfect.I cant think of any other way to describe it.It was every thing i expected of it even more way better than the boom stick or the excell even better than the flatline.The best i would highly recomend the best.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

mustangb26 Sunday, July 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year6 of 40 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
- 32 degrees carbon fiber barrel 14 inch.
Marker Setup: - Spyder Electra
- carbon fiber barrel 14 inch.
- halo A. loader
- C02
Recommended
Paintballs:
-evil paintballs
-marballizers
Strengths: -This barrel looks pretty cool
-It makes your gun a tad quiter
Weaknesses: -breaks too many balls
-expensive
-must squeedgie if theres a break
Review: I was fairly dissapointed when I got my armson stealth 16inch rifled barrel. Sure it was very accurate when it shot out the paintball. key: when it shot out the paintball!!!

i had so many breaks in the barrel its unbelievable. I tried turning my velocity down but that didnt work. Turning it up just made more of a mess.

I would go and play and within about 50 shots i can GUARANTEE it would break a ball. so then i would end up switching back to my stock barrel! then i have to ask myself...why did i even buy this barrel in the first place.

It did however shoot very very straight when i could manage to get a ball or 2 out.

and dont efven try to go rapid fire with this thing.
Conclusion: I would recommend something else. If you want an accurate barrel....then just try any of the other hundreds that are out there. Armson tried with the rifling but this is a paintball not a rifle bullet.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
20 Comments - Add Comment

SnipaKilla Sunday, August 3rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
-
Marker Setup: Tippman Custom 98
Armson Stealth 16"
Gas- thru stock
32 Degrees coiled remote
Laser sight (works best in low light conditions)
Recommended
Paintballs:
I use Diablo Midnights,
They may be a little large, but their thich shells dont easily break.
Strengths: Very accurate, can outshoot my friend's Empire Twister barrel.
Weaknesses: If there's paint in the barrel it screws up the trajectory.
Review: I love the rifling, it makes it shoot a tighter group more consistently.
I tested it against the stock Tippman 98 barrel and the Stealth shot a 2 in. group at 20 yds while the stock barrel shot a 5 in vertical line at 20 yds. (out of 5 shots)

The only weakness that I could find was that if there is any paint in the barrel, the balls will start curving really bad.
I found this out one game, then realized i had been shot in the barrel and that there was some paint in the last inch of the barrel. I grabbed a squeegie and cleaned it out and it shot just like it was new again.
Conclusion: Great barrel, If I had the choice to do it over again, i would have boughten the 13" instead. For me the 16" is just too long, but at 13" it is perfect.

I give it a 9 only because of what happened to the ball's trajectory when there was paint in the bore.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

formattedworm Saturday, May 10th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Shutter stock barrel
Marker Setup: Spyder Shutter, 12 oz. Co2 cylinder, sight feeder, adco sure shot scope, and a 13" Armson stealth barrel.
Recommended
Paintballs:
bigball
Strengths: highly accurate, doesn't make the bell curve shot like normal barrels, goes strait (rifling)
Weaknesses: Ball breakage until rifling grooves are worn in, once ball breaks screwed unless squeegee
Review: Very good barrel for the money, and knowing that most guns bought have crap stock barrels, you are probably gonna want a new better quality after market barrel. This would be that barrel, it is extremely accurate with its rifling and is a barrel that fires a paintball that doesn't curve (finally) and has high range adn accuracy. You can easily compare this barrel to a tippman flatline barrel because of its quality and accuracy. Also once you bring this barrel through its break in period and the rifling grooves are worn in enough to shoot a ball without breaking it whatsoever, before this happens you will break balls for about a game and without a squeegee you are screwed. This is all I can think about this excellent barrel right now, bedee, bedee, thats all folks.
Conclusion: I recommend this barrel to any paintballer but a tippman user, for tippmanns get the flatline.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, July 4th, 2001
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: -Nice accuracy and range (espically with small bore paint). You'll be a killer on the speedball field.
-Looks cool. (People see it on your gun and say "WHAT THE HELL IS THAT!?!?")
-Light weight (won't make a small gun topheavy.)
-Can take a fairly good beating without bending or warping like some aluminium barrels do.
-VERY quiet espically with the right gun and bolt. They won't know what hit em!
Weaknesses: -The price. Shop around and you'll probably be able to pick one up for $60 at the least. I got mine on Ebay for $55.
-Hates crappy paint. If you use bad paint a lot then this barrel isn't for you. Hellfire works EXTREMELY well with it (when I've got the money for Hellfire) but normally I use PMI. PMI balls seem to work rather good with this barrel, though. Haven had a ball break yet out of 200 rounds of PMI.
-Dear God is this thing can be tricky to clean! Once you get used to cleaning it in game its not a problem. You just have to learn how to since you have to go about cleaning it a little differently than most barrels.
-I don't know whats up with this, but sometimes the barrel becomes a little loose after long play. Not really a problem though. Just check your marker before each game (like you should be doing anyway!)
Conclusion: If you can get one for cheap, go for it. $90 is a little high for one, though. If you can, try to get the 14" rather than the 16". Longer doesn't necessairly mean better.

Overall its a great barrel. I've heard a lot of people complain about these barrels not working well with Spyders. Guess what? I've got a Compact 2000 and a Spyder 2000 and it works well on both of them. I even put it on my friend's Shutter (which I think sucks as a marker) with the same results. Perhaps its the crappy Spyder stock bolts breaking the balls and not the barrel itself.

Overall, this is one of the best barrels you can buy for sneaking arond in brush and picking off people. DYE's are nice but too loud for this sort of play (not to mention a lot more expensive). I don't know how it shoots in cold weather as compared to a J&J ceramic although at normal temps it shoots about the same but quieter.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (23):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media