paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dye Stainless Steel Barrels / Dye Stainless Steel Barrels / Dye Stainless Steel Barrels

Dye Stainless Steel Barrels Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dye

Buy Dye Stainless Steel Barrels

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dye Stainless Steel Barrels
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 114
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $115

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Comes in 10", 12" and 14" for most guns. They start at $115 and go up to $130 depending on what gun it is for.
Product Availability 
The Dye Stainless Steel Barrels are older, so while they may be available used and in a few cases new, they are not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (12):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
stonersr25 Thursday, February 27th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
several different barrels-32*Carbon Fiber-Stock barrels-Nightstick-Flatline-lots of other stuff.
Marker Setup: Currently a Custom 98 with revy,X-chamber,double trigger,and Carbon Fiber 14" barrel.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Smallbore is best,we tried some Kick'n and it was pretty good haven't had a chance to try anything else.
Strengths: This barrel is awesome,very very accurate,made my brothers mag a lot quieter,the fit and finish is very nice and it makes you feel like you are holding on to is very solid,it nevers brakes paint because of the stainless steel,my dad owns a machine shop so I know something about metal,nothing you can do will make anything smoother than SS.Thats why it is awesome barrel material.
Weaknesses: It's kinda heavy,but I like it that way so it doesn't bother me,lots of porting so it's not as gas efficient but it makes it very quiet.So you have to decide what you are looking for.
Conclusion: Awesome barrel if you can find it for a good price,look on ebay,my brother got his for $40.00 total so he got an awesome deal.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

forrest1 Wednesday, January 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JJ ceramic 14''
SmartParts all american 12''
Marker Setup: SmartParts Impulse
SmartParts Nerve feedneck
Tapeworm
Empire electric hopper w/ rip
Pure Energy 3000 psi compressed air tank
Dye 05 Rino tank cover.
Recommended
Paintballs:
(bore size .689)
Diablo Dusk
TC viper Venoms
All PMI paint
All RPS paint
Strengths: Very strong
Dosen't scratch
Great looks
Perfect bore
Very accurate
Weaknesses: Heavy for a barrel (because of stainless steel)
Review: Just about every one who plays the sport paintball loves Dye. Dye is known for their top of the line barrels and the Dye stainless is one of their best.

I was playing at Orbital in Tampa, and I was far up the field from my team, then out of no where paint started flying at me like crazy. So I sprinted back to a tree behind me, but before I could make it I tripped over this big vine and shoved my Dye stainless barrel half way into the earth. I grabbed my stick squigee and pushed out like a pound of dirt out of my barrel. I thought for sure my barrel would be screwed up but there was no scracth!!

I quickly screwed it back in and shot some paint at a tree, and it shot just as good as it did before.

The accuracy is sweet; you can lay down about 20 balls and they will all land right on top of each other.
Conclusion: Get this barrel, you will not regret it. And don't worry about getting that nice finish scratched off, because you can't.
I'm giving it a 9/10 due to the weight.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, February 22nd, 2005 at 4:56 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

CRracer325 Thursday, June 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra stock barrel; accurate but not nearly as good as the dye stainless
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra with 14" stainless steel barrel, maddmann spring kit, Empire Reload Hopper, Java Remote, 20oz with homemade tank holder, 32* electronic trigger frame, tiger shark bolt
Recommended
Paintballs:
pmi premiums
Strengths: accurate, quiet, very smooth metal, and durable
Weaknesses: it's a little bit heavy, but it balances out my gun
Review: This is a very good upgrade for any gun that it will fit. I saw it on sale and I heard that dye is a good company. When I first shot it, I could see a big difference on accuracy. The range is a lot farther since it's more accurate. Stainless steel is one of the smoothest metal so the paintballs shoot farther. It is heavy but it's more durable than any other barrel (exept the titanium ones). This barrel is better than most of the other cheap barrels that you'll see.
Conclusion: The barrel is one of the first things on a gun that you should upgrade and this one is perfect; especially the price. I picked mine up for $50 on sale! I would definately recommend this to anyone who just bought a gun or even somebody who is a pro.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, February 4th, 2001
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: Incredible accuracy, kick ass looking shiny mofo of a barrel, the heavier weight creates a nice balance, easy to clean and squeej, and resistant to dings and warp (being stainless steel).
Weaknesses: Nothing bad.
Conclusion: My cheap ass rig is a Tippmann Custom 98 with an anti-syphon, that's it. I've tried the Dye Excel (12") before this 14" Dye S/S, and I was not very impressed by the Excel. It was better than the stock 8.5" that came with the 98, but balls were still curving around with the Excel so I wanted to try the S/S.

I then tried the 14" Dye S/S on the 98, and let me say, I am very very impressed. I tested it with Marblizer balls at 50-100 ft. The difference in that range did not seem to matter much. The accuracy was unbelievable, first shot usually landed exactly where I wanted (after adjusting sight). Subsequent shots did not deviate more than 2" from center.

I also tried a 12 ball rapid fire at about 65 feet, the balls were lumping right around center or right on each other, no more than an inch or two in deviation.

This barrel I picked up for 80 bucks and it just made my inexpensive 98 into a very accurate and consistent marker. I haven't tried anything other than Marblizer in it, and I don't think I need to. Very pleased, much better than the Excel, and I would highly recommend it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Andrewball Wednesday, August 6th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Sypder 9 1/2" Barrel and 32 Degrees 14" Whisper Barrel, This si a whole lot better.
Marker Setup: Tested on a Spyder Victor and Sypder Imagine
Recommended
Paintballs:
Proball, Draxxus, 32 degrees arent bad but they sometimes curve if fired rapidly. but this happens with any barrel.
Strengths: Very accurate, Relitively quiet, nice range, the price wasnt too intimidating
Weaknesses: could be quieter, but its as good as it needs to be. Ball FPS decrease
Review: This Barrel was an upgrade from my Stock 9 1/2" Aluminium Sypder Barrel. I got the 12" at a near by sports supply store for 50$ on sale so i got a decent deal on it. the accuracy is nice, as with the added range. The Velocity decrease wasnt very noticable unless theres a slight breeze near by, and is accurate up to 75feet away, after that you have to adjust, this might not be so with a 14" or some upgrades on the mechanism. (ie...expansion chamber) but it was definetly worth the buy, major upgrade for my gun, perfet for close quaters combat such as a forest or a even a small grass field would be good for it, another thing thats pretty cool is the smooth bore lets you use wind to your advantage, you can wrap your ball around a tree if your good :) also it looks cool, i know thats not a big plus but if you think about it, it might be the last thing in your decision and it does look cool. but it is Stainless steal and after a day of finger prints a nice polishing might be nice to help it keep its shine. not hard to clean. some Brake Kleen 619 and a squegge, and its done. (brake kleen is better then watrer cause the paintballs if u ever noticed use a water soluble mixture and unless dry water wont remove the paint from the muzzle breaks. which shouldnt be a problem, cause 5000rounds and I didnt break a single one, although my paintballs are stiff as marbles but they didnt have a problem even in 98degrees and 100% humidity. only downside is the velocity decrease, which all in all is not much but you can tell if you know what to look for.
Conclusion: Great Barrel for any gun its available on. I give it a 9 as it could have been better little heavy, but its not that big a deal its actully kinda nice it evens out the gun weight from the c02 and reciever and puts a little bit up-front. But overall its a nice buy id recomend it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

elcojo98 Friday, May 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Lapco Bigshot, JnJ ceramic, Phat barrel, SP progressive, Empire kit
Marker Setup: WGP 04 vert autococker
Empire Reloader
Dye stainless 12"
Recommended
Paintballs:
RPS or Draxxus will work well
Strengths: accuracy
good porting
looks awesome
efficient
hasn't broken a ball yet
Weaknesses: heavy, but that isn't bad in all aspects.
Review: I ordered the DYE stainless barrel as soon as I got my 04 vert, and it's been great for it thus far. It looks amazing on my silver n chrome gun, and performs just as well. I was hitting one ball on top of the other from about 60 feet away with paint that is starting to get old. This barrel has out-performed all of the barrels that I have listed above with the "similar products used", but the Empire kit of my friend's only had the 689 bore so I couldn't test the accuracy with each bore size. The only downsides to this barrel is the weight, in some cases, and that it is not a two piece barrel. This is the best one-piece barrel I have ever shot, and the weight seems good because it balances out the weight of the gun, at least for me it does anyways. I would recommend this barrel to anyone unless you already have a heavy gun, in which case get the DYE Ultralight and you'll be fine.
Conclusion: Just get this barrel, unless your gun is already heavy in which case you should get an Ultralight. Its amazingly accurate and it hasn't broken a ball yet for me.
*I'm not sure of the product year, but the oldest it would be is 2002 as far as I know.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 28th, 2004 at 12:20 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

StealthPnoy Sunday, November 23rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
32Degrees nitestick
Marker Setup: WORR BLACK MAGIC 02: DYE BOOMSTICK, DYE Double SWING TRIG, VL REV. WITH X BD, Crossfire Nitro 4500psi,
Recommended
Paintballs:
Midnights, Blaze, Inferno
Strengths: Durable and consistent.
Works well with my marker.
Weaknesses: cannot find one.
Review: One of the best and highly recommended barrel for an autococker.
No complaints. Easy to clean.

I slipped and went down barrel first, took it apart looked into the barrel, sand half way in the barrel, no scratch or damage, impressed me alot.

Only wish they have interchangeable sleeves like the Freak barrels.
Conclusion: Pricey but not bad. Unless you want to go a bit higher like the Freak System
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nole16k Tuesday, July 8th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Boomstick, Ultralight
Marker Setup: 2003 WGP Outkast Autococker
-DYE Stainless Steel 12"
-Orracle Bolt
-KAPP Drop Zone II
-Nitro Duck 114/3000
-12 Volt Revolution
Recommended
Paintballs:
PMI Premium, RPS Marbalizers
Strengths: Accurate, high quality, good looking, and made by DYE!
Weaknesses: Weight
Review: This barrel is great. I got a 14" for very cheap. It has pinpoint accuracy (Just as good as a Boomstick). What I love about this barrel is when you bust a ball in it (Which I never did in my last 2000-3000 shots through it because I was using the perfect paint for it), it will only take about 2-3 more paintballs going through it to blow most of the mess the busted ball made. No need for a squegee. This barrel also balanced out my Piranha perfectly. The only drawback is its weight could unbalance your gun if it is not setup a certain way. I loved this barrel, but too bad I had to sell it with my Piranha. I am going to buy one soon for my Cocker.
Conclusion: This is a great, super-accurate barrel. They sell on **** (LOL, I cannot say where, because that would be advertising) for very cheap ($30-$50). Get one today (Or get another barrel as long at its DYE :) )!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 10th, 2004 at 5:10 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tyz55 Friday, April 4th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
stock spyder e-99 barrel. It doesnt compare with the DYE stainless.
Marker Setup: spyder e-99, 20 oz CO2 tank w/anti-siphon tube, DYE 14" stainless barrel, 12volt revolution viewloader, polished internals, poor mans lightening bolt, other mods
Recommended
Paintballs:
USE PMI RPS big ball paintballs. they fly straight, they dont break, or chop. they are a perfect fit for this barrel. I have tried PMI marbelizers, and premium paintballs. these are very bad for this barrel. the marbelizers are too big(almost every one broke), and the premiums fit ok but they just curved every which way. marbelizers and premium are better quality than the big balls, but they just dont work for this barrel. the big balls are the way to go for this barrel, they pretty cheap too. I got a 2000 case for $40 at pbfanatics.com. I have heard that the diablo blaze paintballs work good for this barrel, i have not tried them yet, but they seem to fit perfect...maybe even better than the big balls. I have seen lots of people recommend the marbelizers and premiums for this barrel...that is why i tried them...dont take my word for it, try them from yourself...but dont waste your money on any more than 500. ask around at your local field if you can shoot a couple of someones balls through your barrel...even if they fit good by sight...or by the blowing it through your barrel test, they may not fly straight. getting the right paint to barrel match is sooo important for accuracy, otherwise dont bother investing in an expensive barrel.
Strengths: very durable/accurate. dont pay more than this. more expensive does not mean more accurate.
Weaknesses: heavier than most barrels. I like it. balances out my gun.
Review: this barrel is made from high quality stainless steel. stainless steel has less friction on paintballs than aluminum. it is also alot stronger than aluminum. this is good for durability in terms of external scratching and denting, and also any dirt or debris that get inside the barrel will not scratch it as easily as aluminum. this barrel is one piece, so you dont have to worry about the two not lining up properly from the factory(this probably would never be encountered on a DYE boomstick, only on other immitations, and also you have to worry about miss aligning it if you play hard, or on accident) the 2 piece DYE barrels use a high quality glue to keep the two peices together, but many others are threaded....either way i dont like the thought of anything going wrong in that area. if the weight is a factor for you, and you have lotsa money to burn, then you could buy a DYE boomstick, but you are only paying for a few grams less weight and the name. IT IS NOT MORE ACCURATE THAN THIS BARREL. common sense would say that it should be less accurate, but from what i hear that is not the case. the right paint and this barrel are unstoppable.
Conclusion: I recommend a 12" or 14" barrel. anything less is less accurate..anything more is just adding friction and wasting gas. normally 14" is too much added friction for aluminum barrels, but since stainless has less friction I figured it would be my best bet. bought mine for $70. its hard to take my word since i havent tried anything besides the stock barrel, but i only wanted to buy one barrrel so i did alot of research to find the best barrel for me. I also have told you the common sense knowlege I used to determine that this is a great barrel.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, October 4th, 2004 at 4:28 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Morgulion Friday, December 27th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
only barrel i've used except for retals
Marker Setup: pirahna with dye 14" stainless barrel
Strengths: this barrel is awesome. Some people think that the steel makes it too heavy, but i enjoy the fealing of a nice solid weapon. It shoots with good accuracy at a fairly long range.
Weaknesses: it could be my gun but it is rather loud. I have broken balls in it but that again could be the gun...
Conclusion: i really like this barrel and plan to use it for a long time
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (12):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media