paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dye Aluminum Barrels / Dye Aluminum Barrels / Dye Aluminum Barrels

Dye Aluminum Barrels Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dye

Buy Dye Aluminum Barrels

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dye Aluminum Barrels
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 71
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $90

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Comes 10", 12" and 14" for most guns. Starts at $90 and goes up to $100 for certain guns.
Product Availability 
The Dye Aluminum Barrels are older, so while they may be available used and in a few cases new, they are not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
paint magnet Saturday, May 18th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Tippmann barrel (doesn't even compare), Dye Aluminum 14" on my friend's Piranha, Dye Boomstick 16" on my friend's 2k2 vert. Autococker, etc.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom (black), 12 oz aluminum CO2 tank, Psycho Ballistics double trigger, lightened trigger pull, Dye Aluminum 12", GTA rc/rva, Dye Stickys, 32* coiled remote(sometimes) KAPP black gas-thru foregrip, GTA vert. adapter
Recommended
Paintballs:
Highly Reccomend- RPS All Stars, TC Viper Venom Series, and other small-medium bore paints like Marbs, Hellfire, etc
Strengths: This barrel is very quiet, even on a loud gun like the 98 custom. It is also very light weight and looks cool. Very accurate with the right paint, made by Dye. Very smooth finish on the inside, and a good bore size for both open bolt and closed bolt markers. What else is there?
Weaknesses: Well, the price is kind of high, but I bought mine used for $40. The finish scratches easily on the outside, but the inside has held up fine. The only thing I can think of other than the price is the amount of porting. The porting makes it quieter, but uses more gas. IMHO, these two factors cancel each other out, so that doesn't really matter. It shreds cheap paint.
Conclusion: If you have the money for it, get it! It has the same accuracy as the Boomstick, but it's a lot cheaper. Overall excellent accuracy and shot consistancy. I landed 3 balls on top of each other at 40 feet with the Venom series. Overall a great barrel, and I'm only giving it a 9 because of the price.
(I know I've already written a review on it, but that was before I purchased one for myself, and I was using a friend's gun)
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Snowkone_Steve Friday, July 11th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 years2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I've used almost every high-end barrel (boomy, AA, freak, pipe, progressive, carbon fiber, pretty much most of the well known barrels)
Marker Setup: 01' Autococker
3 diff AA barrels (large bore and short barrel, medium bore and medium barrel, ect)
STO ram
Bomb 4 way
Palmers Rock Reg
Maddman rocket valve
Racegun frame
delrin Jam bolt
(occasionally I use my pipe)
Recommended
Paintballs:
ANYTHING
Strengths: shoots all paint
quiet
cheap price
nicely ano'ed
accurate
Weaknesses: range
but i was using a bunch of mixed paint
Review: I used one on my piranha, my mag, my cocker and I used one on a stock IR3.
bore: .687
lengths: piranha 14 inch. mag, cocker, IR3 all 12 inch.
I used alll different sizes types and makes of paint. Thin/thick shelled, dimpled/good shape and all different bores.

When I first got this I wasn't too astounded by the looks, but that would quickly change. (For the review I used it on my mag) Certain mags aren't very sharp looking (like mine) but this just ... well WOW. Mags are already quiet but damn, I could sit in a bush, hit 3 guys and no one would be able to find me. Although I was shooting different ypes of paint accuracy was bliss, range was not. But it's understandable right all diffrent types of paint? But lets be honest Mags can never compare to the range of a cocker. Overall it was consistant (who would have guessed?)


LET ME WARN YOU!!!!! These barrels aren't very fond of low pressure equipment. They shoot well but not consistant at all, not a tournament barrel
(could lose you many points)
Conclusion: GREAT BARREL FOR HIGH/ MEDIUM OPPERATION, BUY IT! This barrel is worth putting on ANY gun for rec ball.

Ps. I don't know if it shoots through breaks, I haven't broken a ball in it. Shoots well through sand though.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Magmanone Saturday, July 27th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Stainless, Dye Boomy, 32* C/F, All American
Recommended
Paintballs:
RPS Slam
Strengths: (I have the 10 inch)

--Featherlight
--Compact for snapshooting and speedball
--Nice anodizing
--Extremely accurate for it's size
--Quiet for it's size
--Did I say featherlight?
Weaknesses: The barrel REALLY blows after a dreaded ball break. Balls can easily miss 30 feet of your target and go in any direction they choose. Barrel isn't for people who don't like to pull out the squeegee. Aluminum can't compare to the 32* Carbon Fiber's characteristic of shooting thru paint with accuracy. Then again, most barrels are like the DYE that they stink after a break.
Conclusion: This is an excellent barrel for speedball. Does everything really well for it's size. I got it in a trade and I see nothing wrong with it. I'll be keeping this barrel for as long as it holds up! =)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Draknes Monday, March 10th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Boomstick, JT, J&J Ceramic, Smart Parts Freak, All American, and Teardrop
Marker Setup: I used this barrel on my old ICD Desert Fox which was pretty much stock except for a ACI 4-stage expansion chamber.
Recommended
Paintballs:
It works well with PMI/RPS paintballs.
Strengths: The Price!!
I got this barrel for only $40.
It is as accurate as any other high end barrel (excluding barrel kits).
The grouping with good paint and a consistant setup is VERY tight. This barrel is easily as accurate as a boomstick but a fraction of the weight.
Weaknesses: It's discontinued.
It doesn't look as fancy as some of the other barrels and only comes in black.
Review: This is a great barrel. I was really satisfied with its accuracy, low noise, and self cleaning ability. I used this barrel for several months and was never disappointed with its performance. Everyone that shot my gun commented on how accurate and silent it was. If you happen to chop a ball, this barrel can self clean pretty fast but I would still recommend that you use a squeegie, then it will shoot good as new.
Conclusion: I would recommend this barrel to anyone. It is one of the best barrels that I have ever shot. For $40, what do you have to lose?
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

its_big_drew Thursday, September 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: stock Brass Eagle Rainmaker (please don't knock it, BE used to have some quality), 14inch dye barrel, Evolution II hopper, 47ci 3000psi hpa tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
wal-mart paint works okay but this barrel will love you if you give it marballizer, big ball, and ESPECIALLY All-Star
Strengths: Accuracy freakin rocks on my rainmaker
Weaknesses: Won't shoot through breaks at all
Review: Accuracy rocks with this barrel, on my rainmaker i can actually aim using a sight instead of watching where first shot goes. this barrel will shoot across your average speedball field accurately with no problem but in the woods range can get to be a slight issue. My only true concern is having to carry a squegee on the field.
Conclusion: I'd recommend to anyone beginning in speedball or that likes to play woodsball at medium to close range. I'm giving it an 8 instead of 10 because of the slight range issue and the shooting through breaks issue.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

LSUpbWGP Wednesday, December 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Most other barrels
Marker Setup: WGP Autococker Trilogy Pro w/ stock 11" barrel
Coming Soon: Empire 5 piece barrel kit, Eclipse E-2 Eblade, Pro Pb beavertail, WGP TRV's, Crossfire HPA 68/4500, Evlution2, web drop forward, possibly annodizing
Recommended
Paintballs:
any good paint to barrel match
I use a lot of types
Strengths: -Light
-Quiet
-Accurate
Weaknesses: -Price
-Length(strictly preference)
Review: This is a good barrel, but it is a little bit overpriced. If you have a good paint to barrel match, it performs very nicely. I couldnt find this barrel under 14", and I am a front player, so it is a little long for my preference(I would rather a 12" as that is what I have always used), but between 14 and 20", there is a wide range to choose from. I first played with mine at my house with a lot of freinds, and whenever I shot, they didnt know where I was because it was so quiet.
Conclusion: If you have the extra money, get it. With a good paint to barrel match, it is quiet and deadly accurate. I like it, but am switching to a barrel kit because Ive got an autococker. Good barrel, get it if youve got the money.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

paintball333 Tuesday, June 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pipe kit
J&J
Kaner
dye boomstick
Marker Setup: 2003 wgp orracle white-blue-black
wgp torpedo drop
14in evil pipe kit blue-black/1 piece dye UL
68/4500 crossfire hp tank

Custom built sniper 2
empire reloader
Recommended
Paintballs:
Chronic, sometimes marbs fit it. (teh barrel is about a 688 bore)
Strengths: Light
Honing
Quiet
Weaknesses: Almost to light, see below
Review: I got one in a very good trade in my favor so i basicaly didnt pay anything for it, great price for me.

Inital view of it, i was told it was a boom stick before i auctaly saw it so when i saw it was a 1 piece UL i was extreamly happy. took it out and shoot it, very consistant pattern.

The barrel is extreamly light but it almost makes it to light (i believe teh reason the dye barrels are knowen for consistant groupins is because of the weight of the SS boom sticks that keep markers from recoiling as much)

The honing is perfect and i have recieved no velecioty drop from my pipe kit, and i auctaly get better consistancy and groupings because of teh 1 piece.

It is one of the quietest barrels i have owned and right now it is my favorite barrel.
Conclusion: Pretty light, extrealy quiet, 1 piece (best type of barels) it is one of the best barrels i have owned and shot (ps i want another one cough email me cough)
gets a 9 cause everythign can always be better
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DUCKMONK Wednesday, February 23rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Lapco (da bestest overall), J&J, Freak, Dye, CP... what else is there thats worth shooting? except those stupid stock phantom barrels that i never got a chance to use thanks to that fool who traded it for this waste of a barrel.
Marker Setup: the most awesomest ghettoest over-upgraded leaky POS u'll ever see
and my stock class phantom which i have yet to transform into a POS, its still in just regular faulty upgrades status.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Quality ones (small bore)
Strengths: All dye barrels are made well
One piece (more accurate than two pieces)
Weaknesses: Over-ported which means gas inneficiency
Expensive, innacurate, quiet version of lapco
Review: Got this thing new on a used phantom i picked up the other day, the idiot who had owned it had actually traded the stock phantom barrel for it (guffah!). Me not being the kind of person to own phantom threaded barrels, i was stuck with this till i bought a lapco accushot set for it. It shot very well actually with a good paint match, as good as as any over-priced two piece (so thats like a medium-high rating). Id really only reccomend this barrel though to some kid with a stock spyder or sumthin, cuz he needs the porting, and the inneficiency and accuracy of those blowback entry level markers are so bad anyway that it doesnt matter(ish). And for all u newbs pretending to know what ur talking about heres the scoop on accuracy for ur guns: 80% is the barrel, 15% is the regulator, and 5% is the bolt system and operating pressure, which makes tippmans and spyders and all them the worst guns made for shooting what ur aiming at (untill u put at least 100$ into upgrading them) which is to me, somewhat important.
Conclusion: Id rate it about even with a freak/boomstick, which means not so good because any fool should be able to make a one piece thats better than any two piece, especially a fool with a reputation like dye. Ima give it a 7 because it actually is an ok barrel and its not too bad to be stuck with, its just something that you should never ever buy for any reason except to start a "history of the paintball barrel" exhibit. Ave Maria!
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lil_john Saturday, January 24th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Freak kit - can't compare (apples and oranges)
J&J Full Tilt 2 piece 16in mag threaded - great barrel, no chops
Smart Parts All American older style 12in - bore is a bit too big for the balls I use
Bob Long Long Shot 13in .687bore - hardly used it
Marker Setup: Black Fishboned b2k gen 4
14" Dye Aluminium Barrel
Smart Parts Vert. Max Flo reg w/ lp spring and SP guage
ICD Tourny board (identical to the shocktech version)
Shocktech Supa Fly bolt and pin
OTP lpr adjuster cap
Valve, ram and chip are from a b2k3
Chrome flame drop w/ empire on-off
88/45 Pure Energy Tank w/ Dye rhino cover
Recommended
Paintballs:
I use RPS Advantage and they were great.
Probably a medium bore
Strengths: Its dye
Good porting
Never had breaks
Nice and slick
Weaknesses: Only one color
Not as good as a 2 piece
Review: This barrel came on my b2k. I haven't changed it because it serves me well (+ I want to add Mac Dev stuff before I change the barrel). Its only either had one break in it but Im sure thats because the paint we were using (practise) was older and hold been stored in pods for like 3 weeks (flat spots).

Its a good starter/beginner barrel. Prehaps desn't really compare to a barrel kit, but then again its alot cheaper than a kit.

If you had the money I'd probably recommend the Ultralite as they are a 2 piece na dyou can just buy extra backs for different bore'd paint
Conclusion: Good barrel. Alot better than any stock barrels I've ever seen. Good barrel for some one on a budget as well.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

duke_00 Saturday, December 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye xcel, boomy, AA, Ultra Lite
Marker Setup: 2k1 Cocker
Dye Ultra Lite 12in.
AIM21 Body w/ Hinge Trigger
EVO II
68/3000 Crossfire Nitrogen Tank
Chrome Kapp 3-way
Chrome Kapp Twisted LPR Reg
Chrome Shocktech Ram
PMI Drop
Strengths: Durable, Accurate, Easy to clean, I've never broken a ball with it
Weaknesses: I've never had a problem with this barrel
Review: Compared to my stock barrel that I had on my cocker, I would say that this is definatly the better barrel. I like this barrel a lot, and I would recommend you getting this barrel. I have upgraded to an Ultra Lite, but I still think that this barrel was worth my money.
Conclusion: Get this barrel, or if not this barrel, stick with Dye.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media