paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / PGI Osiris / PGI Osiris / PGI Osiris / PGI Osiris

PGI Osiris Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount PGI

Buy PGI Osiris

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


PGI Osiris
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 11
Average Rating: 8.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $1100

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
PGI now has what can only be described as the fastest Autococker in existence. Using an Autocker body, and electrifying it with a brand new revolutionary firing system (patent pending), this new marker will knock your socks off.

The Osiris (named after the Egyption god of light) is truly an Electric Autocoker and maintains those dearing qualities inherant in the original Autococker, but removing its faults.
Product Availability 
The PGI Osiris are older, so while they may be available used and in a few cases new, they are not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
opacus Tuesday, November 4th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month9 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
1995 kapp, 1998 kapp, freeflow with kapp hinge trigger...there is no comparison, the osiris owns them all
Marker Setup: osiris with 32 degrees flame drop forward, 4500 psi tank, 16 inch freak system, and halo b loader.
Recommended
Upgrades:
every part is great, and i did not change anything on mine except the barrel, though the one that comes with it is very nice, and matches the color of the marker
Strengths: its blazing fast, my parents thought it was a prop plane outside...
Weaknesses: none, this is an amazing piece of work
Review: This thing was named after a god, and the name is fitting. Nothing I have ever seen before can match this. it was amazing right out of the box, and the software was easy to use. I have fired sandridge F-5 equipped autocockers, and e-blade equipped autocockers, but they just cant match this marker. Its rate of fire is something almost godlike as well as its accuracy.
Conclusion: The Osiris is a technological marvel...I cant praise this enough, the thing just pwns
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

bigboy_cars_0 Friday, April 23rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have used everything under the sun.
Marker Setup: PGI Osiris , Dye Precision Titanium Boomstick Barrel (10 & 14in.) , Air America Apocolypse 2K Air System , Empire Gladiator Cradle , Q Loader , New Paintjob (Dark blue background with chromed lightning accents {It looks kind of like a dark night when it's lightning})
Recommended
Upgrades:
A very fast loading system. I have a new Q Loader and it definately does the job. I guess you could go with a HALO B, it would probaly keep up.
Strengths: Very fast shooting gun
Very accurate
Very cosistent
Cool body milling
Weaknesses: Not much really.
It's a bit on the loud side( especially with my barrel)
Review: It's hard to sum up a gun like this. IT's has everything going for it. Very fast and reliable firing. Very good consitensy. Evenly wieghed and light gun. Did I mention that it shoots vey fast? I got it up to 33 bps with no skips or breaks. It is somewhat loud, but most people buy this marker for speedball where the art of sound dampening doesn't usally come into play. It has ecellent milling. The paintjobs are aslo very nicely done. The only reason I had mine repainted was, becasue my signature paintjob for all of my guns is the dark blue background with chrome lightning. This gun is probaly the best I've ever purchased. I'm going to be keeping this one for a while.
Conclusion: Go and buy it if you have the cash, you won't be sorry! You will be the envy of the paintball junkies!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
12 Comments - Add Comment

TheVicar Sunday, May 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman, Spyder, Viewloader, AGD (ULE RT Mag), numerous pumps -- hard to compare the Osiris with any of these, although the AGD RT Mag ranks a little better, mainly due to its simple design. This is my first autococker (or hybrid).
Marker Setup: Mainly the RT Mag with the Qloader now, although the Timmy 98s with all their upgrades and duarability are still my choice for rec ball in our dirt paintball field. I use HPA with the AGD and the Tippman and the VL Evolution with the Tippman. I use a Crossfire low pressure tank (92 ci) with the Osiris with Dead On drop forward and macroline. I try and shoot Marbilizers most of the time if I have the bucks. I use a variety of barrels depending on the heat and how the balls swell. I use a PHAT pro players barrel system in autococker threads.
Recommended
Upgrades:
For the Osiris you must use an agitated hopper, the faster the better. I use the VL Evolution and it works fine. The Sanchez barrel is fine that comes stock, but I do switch out based on the heat, adjusting daimeters.
Strengths: Fast rate of fire, some think I am on auto. Great milling.
Weaknesses: Difficult to tweak so no chopped balls and to get velocity right.
Review: Had difficulty when first adjusting. It took time to get the various parts working together. I emailed PGI for help and found the replys not as complete as I would have liked, but I kept working on it. After some rec play and 10,000 balls, it is now coming together. The two LPRs must be adjusted slowly and tested often. I found that I needed actual game conditions and a lot of balls sent though the marker before everything settled in and the adjustments locked in . Sometimes I forget to set the safety since it is electronic and I wear gloves, and the little buttons on the grip must be pushed in the right order, but this is more me than the marker. Overall I have decided to keep it, and it certainly attracts attention. For the money there may be other markers to consider in the same price range. Also, various air tubes stick out and the milling gives me cleaning headaches.
Conclusion: If you have the money and like messing and going back and forth tweaking the marker, then give the Osiris some thought. A month ago I would have given it a 4, now I give it an 8 and am pretty happy with the marker after a lot of work, but then I enjoy messing around with my markers. It comes out of the box needing a great deal of adjusting so beware.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 9th, 2004 at 4:39 pm PST
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

theeadam Monday, April 11th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
electronic cockers: GX-E, nightkast, Pro Cut disruptor(Half block) plus about 3 other I forgot the name of
Manual cockers: GX-3, trilogy, outkast
alias, Shocker vision, game face
Marker Setup: half block chrome, ANS Race frame, Full freak stainless, center flag reg, check-it on/off,
Recommended
Upgrades:
New gun
Strengths: Hmm it hasn't worked since i got it in October 04.
Weaknesses: Note strengths!!!
Review: I saw this gun in a review of APC. and i liked what i saw. I bought the gun from a dealer in CA. and had it shipped down to Florida where I play. There were no people in FLA that sold the gun. I even looked at this exact sight and looked at all of the reviews. and decided to purchase one. I couldn't wait to get my gun. i opened the package and tried to turn the gun on. NOTHING. i took it to all of my autococker buddies. they like the milling but could not figure out how to turn the gun on. I called the company for 1 week, could not get anyone to return my calls. finally i got in touvh with leon. he told me i would have to send it back to him so he can see what I messed up on the gun. I politely told him that i have not been able to even turn on the marker so i couldn't screw anything up. I took it to my close friend that owns a paintball shop and me and him have built autocockers from the ground up together. we took the trigger off to look at the board. and found out that they have dremmeled the inside of the grip and got metal shavings all over the board. I showed leon pictures and he could not believe it. So i shipped the gun. noted as Trip # . Please keep in mind 1. there is a week to ship it there, 2-3 weeks for him to get to it and 1 week to ship it back. 2. They would not reimburse me for the shipping was was $13-14 each time.. here we go

(trip #1)so i sent the gun back it returned with a working trigger but the rest of the gun didn't work. it didn't cycle any air. I contacted leon and he said to ship the gun back again

(trip #2) i told him i was looking at the rocking trigger so maybe he could put that on. to eliminate all of the computer programing that comes with an ANS. Marker came back with the rocking trigger but still did not cycle air. The bolt moved but air didn't come out to shoot the ball. I put a Low pressure center flag reg on it to see if it was the reg. I also personally didn't care for the rocking trigger, it looked and felt cheap. contacted leon and he said to ship the gun back again and that i didn't like the rocking trigger i took the center flag reg off and put the timmy reg back on. and shipped the gun back

(trip #3) got the gun back ANS grip with no charger, Serial cable, CD gun still didn't work, it would cycle air now but for any of you that are familiar with timing an autococker you know that when you get it right you can actually suck the ball into the chamber. well it was popping the balls OUT of the gun. i would put my empire reloader-B on and shoot one ball at a time and it would work but if i tried to double shoot it would break and go all up in my hopper. so i took it off (after taking it apart 4 times) and that is when i found it was popping balls out. contacted leon and he said to ship the gun back again

(Trip#4)still didn't work same problem. contacted leon and he said to ship the gun back again

(Trip#5) Got the gun back, same problem. I asked leon if he could put the ANS eyes on that came with the marker? he said he would not do it cause he didn't want the liability. I don't know what that was all about. So i did it myself. (now keep in mind I have drilled many markers before so i am not a novice at it.) Result: I did not break any more paint at slow speed but getting up in the 12-13 BPS it chopped BAD!!! like every other ball.

(Trip#6)still didn't work same problem. contacted leon and he said to ship the gun back again. he said ship it back the way I had it. so i put my center flag on it, drop, stainless hose and ASA.

(Trip#6) Now listen to this I got the gun back, NO ANS, NO CENTER FLAG, NO DROP, NO ASA. The covers for the eyes were gone and thrown in the box along with the screws. On the marker, there was a single trigger with no battery, and a timmy reg. I contacted him FURIOUS. I wanted to know where my stuff was. he said they don't put ANS on the gun anymore. the center flag he LOST along with the drop and the ASA. So i tired the gun and what do you know the micro switch for the trigger broke after about 50 shots!!!! Sigh

(Trip #7) received a package 2 weeks later from PGI with my ANS, and center flag reg, so i put those back on and still does not work.

I got another little package that had a switch and a macro line and a drop and ASA that was not mine. I have tired to contact them still but no answer. They will not refund my money they are just making me spend more of my $ and costing me TONS of down time in order to make it right WHICH STILL HAS NOT HAPPENED
Conclusion: I dont think i even need to write a long post in this section, :-(
this marker has caused me more trouble then any of the markers that i have teched on since i started playing. and i have worked on most all of the main gun brands. (except angels)
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

Dees_Troy Thursday, June 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Just about anything e-cocker that's worth looking at including the mQ
Marker Setup: Delrin Turtle Mini Midget Autococker
e2 eBlade with Powerex 9.6V battery
MP4 Ram
Tickler LPR
Twisted products LPC / front block screw
CP Shorty HPR
MQ Valve
Pulse with RF chip
45/45 Crossfire tank
Deadlywind Wisper carbon fiber barrel with full Freak set of inserts
Recommended
Upgrades:
Super high flow reg and tank
Strengths: Fast cycle speeds
Weaknesses: Gas hog
Shootdown
Added weight & size
Cleaning
Reliability
Review: The particular marker I used was an Evolution body that was mini'ed and Turtled with an Osiris kit using a Race frame with breakbeam eyes installed. It had a Rat 3:16 valve and a CP main reg fed by a high pressure Crossfire tank.

The Osiris is simply a spring returned ram that is hooked to a second LPR and an additional air solenoid. The whole valve setup is similar to a spring returned BKO. You still use just about any standard autococker valve, but instead of a hammer, you have a large ram placed where the hammer used to be.

First things first. I could get the bolt to cycle extremely fast on this thing as there's no hammer or springs to worry about. However, at these rates of fire, there simply was not enough gas fed to the marker to produce the burst of air needed to fire a paintball. The first few shots would go pretty far, but by about the 4th shot, there just isn't much air coming down the barrel. Some will point out that mine was a mini and that the smaller air chamber is to blame, but I must point out that a larger volume of air at a high rate of fire will only help with so many shots. If you shoot a string of 50 paintballs and the marker is such a gas hog that your HPR and/or tank can't keep up, then no size of air chamber is going to fix that problem. The larger air chamber will simply let you fire a few more balls at full speed before the problem shows up (unless you want a chamber the size of a SCUBA tank on your gun, then you might be ok).

The extra ram on the Osiris is quite large with a fairly large bore. It takes a decent amount of air to shove this thing forward at speed fast enough to overcome the spring return and hit the valve with enough force. You're going to use a lot more air with an Osiris, so plan on getting maybe 600 shots on a 68/4500.

The Osiris adds a decent hunk of height to the marker. They install a roughly 3/4 of an inch tray between the trigger frame and the body of the marker. This is to allow enough room to house the extra solenoid in the grip frame that's required to operate the new ram. You also have an extra LPR on the front and some hose running into your grip. This adds a lot to the size or profile, a decent hunk of extra weight, and provides a lot more potential for a leak to occur in that extra LPR hose and barbs. Cleaning the front block is now even harder as you have yet another LPR to try to clean around in the already crowded front block.

The reason most Osirises don't have eyes is because you can turn the LPR for the bolt way down since there's no hammer or spring to recock. This should allow you to pinch balls.

The new ram setup can produce very inconsistent velocities. The ram in the lower chamber is quite large and prone to sticking, so some shots hit the valve harder than others. This reduces the Autococker's accuracy considerably. The rear trigger frame screw is drilled out to allow for a barb to be installed into the ram in the lower tube, requiring permanent modification to the marker. The Osiris uses the beaver tail screw hole for mounting the tray to the body of the marker and then has the frame screw into the tray.
Conclusion: Compared to the mQ valve that was released a while after the Osiris or even just a standard hammer/sear setup, I don't really understand why anyone would want an Osiris. There's quite a contingent of people that feel that the Osiris is the greatest thing since sliced bread. Quite frankly, it isn't. The mQ is vastly lighter and far more accurate and allows for the same insane cycle speeds. A regular hammer/sear setup might be a bit slower, but I'll take the better accuracy and reliability any day of the Osiris.

The Osiris does at least work, so I give it a 5. I gladly sold mine to someone else and moved on.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SUSHIMASTA Monday, June 6th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
many different cockers and several angels
Marker Setup: stock, with shocktech asa, nitro duck 45/45 hpa tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing but the barrel
Strengths: Every thing about this gun is very excellent.
Weaknesses: Nothing
Review: I purcahsed this gun about 7 months ago and it is the best gun i have ever ownd. Its perfromance is amazing. It is more accurate than my freinds Karnivor and matches it in speed, even when the Karny is modified. I got it right out of the box gassed it up had to a little tunning on the regs but then it worked fine. Very Very fast. Has amazing perfromance. Every thing about this gun is awsome. The graphics are also really really cool. If you want a kicking gun this is one to get i had no problems with it at all. The staff at pgi were very help full and helped me tune it up to perfection
Conclusion: Very good gun for any one who wants a high end marker that has skill playing the game.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

redwolfsniperXL Sunday, May 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Impulse with WAS board(dont ask i will explain later) Shocker 4x4(once agian i will explain) this is unlike any other E-cocker
Recommended
Upgrades:
Freak, Katana Barrel, I like the J&J 2-piece Ceramic
Strengths: Speed, Accuracy, No Chops, Best stock gun ever.
Weaknesses: the stock barrel could be a bit better.A bit in efficient.
Review: First of all this the best stock gun you could EVER get. the only thing you would ever need to replace is a barrel system for you Freak freaks and a different feed neck for you HALO dorks. But the feed neck is perfect as you can shoot a VL200 at 14+bps due to the feed assit that sucks in the paintballs for super speed(Like a WAS board kinda). If the human hand could shoot 26+bps it would be possible if you used a Z-Evo 2 or a Q-Loader and an upgraded board. The gun uses no hammer ,lug ,or sear. But it still uses a back block to move the bolt(like a shocker 4x4). This is a great product. The gun uses an inovative and complicated air driven system that beats every other Ecocker. It also includes the best eframe out there. The ANS Raceframe. The old and the new coming together to produce the best frame ever. This gun is also free of all the kinks and break downs that other frames cause *couch, e blade, cough*
Conclusion: This is the ecocker to get, if u are aon a tighter budget then the GXE its the 2nd best- but needs a better efficiencey and lighter wieght(the ISIS is coming soon i am saving ^ for that ^ ^ )
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Huskers Sunday, February 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMI 1, Pirahana Pump, PMI 3, Various other Semis-nothing compares to the Accuracy and pure volume of paint that this gun throws out! Nothing is faster!
Marker Setup: Osiris Autococker, Sanchez machine custom barrel-SM1, CP drop foward & On/Off, Pure energy 3000 psi tank, Evolution II loader.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel is a must have, the stock WGP that the Osiris comes with is good, but the SM1 is unbelievable!
Strengths: Speed and Accuracy!
Weaknesses: Takes a bit of tinkering to get set up-Leon from PGI helped me alot!
Review: I can't say enough about this marker! I did not want to write a review until I tried the marker a few times. I have everthing dialed in perfectly now on the marker and am very comfortable making the adjustments on the marker. I personally took out 15+ opponents at Camp Pendleton in one game yesterday. The only problem I encounter now with this marker is that I shoot everyone at least 3 times because its so fast! I can repeatedly hit a hopper sticking out at 30 yards! I have my Marker set at 16.4 BPS which is plenty for me, but this marker will go to 20+ BPS. If you like speed and accuracy this is the marker for you! The customer service you receive with this marker is guaranteed unmatched! The only reason I dont give this marker 10 out 10 is that it did take me a bit to get everything dialed in. Which in part is due to my lack of knowledge with the current technologies in paintball. Leon at PGI was more than willing to help me through my ignorance and even called me at home to walk me through everthing! Very nice and honest man! Well happy hunting and go get this marker you will not be sorry!
Conclusion: Go get this marker! It can't be touched by anything out there!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

pbreview145 Thursday, July 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Other Autocockers: WGP Superstock, WGP Prostock , WGP Black Magic...
Marker Setup: -CP reg
-Function No-rise
-Function No-rise
-Function On-off
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing but an eyes
Strengths: Speed, stock barrel, stock delrin bolt
Weaknesses: No eyes, size, weight, big front end
Review: Ive played with this gun a few times because my friend uses it as his backup. Its accuracy as good as other autocockers, especially when you use the stock barrel (one piece SM1). Although there are no eyes you can still walk the trigger which in reality on this gun is a max of about 2Obps, and you will chop a ball or so. With the stock reg and the huge front block you have a limited amout of room to hold on to the reg once the macro line is setup. Overall, when I used this gun I didnt feel out gunned talking speed.
Conclusion: If you have the money I would highly consider it but other wise I would get a Proto Matrix...
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Georgeoffrey Monday, June 4th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: '05 Karni - Silver
E2 Board
Samurai Trigger
DDS Ligament Bolt
Stock Kaner .689 @ 14"
'03 Kaner Kit, Full bore, 10-12-14"
CP Kit:
.682 .685 .689 backs in Chrome,
12" front in Silver Dust

PGI Osiris - Black/Red acid wash
DDS SLIK Edge III Bolt
Dual AKA SCM IIIs
Belsales .44 Evo ram
CP reg and On/off
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing.
Strengths: No chops.
Amazingly quick.
Ridiculously quick.
Weaknesses: Bit of a gas hog - see review.
Review: This thing is AMAZING.
I have it with a rocking trigger, and the thing just tears though paint. It has a very easy system of switches to adjust the ROF and can cycle up to 25 BPS in semi, 38 in F/A.

It uses a bit of gas, but the battery life is much better than an E2 or similar eFrame. To see a real difference, you'd have to have a cocker timed and sweetspotted for efficiency.
Conclusion: If you can get your hands on one, grab it, run, and never look back.

I mean, pay too, stealing an Osiris is an offense punishable by death, but the rest still stands.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media