paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dye Boomstick Barrels / Dye Boomstick Barrels / Dye Boomstick Barrels

Dye Boomstick Barrels Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dye

Buy Dye Boomstick Barrels

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dye Boomstick Barrels
[ View Photos (5) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 438
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $135

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Boomstick is the flagship of the Dye barrel line. This is the most widely desired barrel in the paintball industry. The Boomstick is built from gun drilled surgical grade 303 stainless steel and an aircraft grade 6061 T6 aluminum. All DYE barrels are honed to a 6 micron surface finish, giving you the smoothest and straightest barrel surface on the market. The precision fit of the aluminum front combined with the stainless steel back provides one of the best shooting barrels in the world. The Boomstick is the most common barrel used by professional players worldwide.
Product Availability 
The Dye Boomstick Barrels are older, so while they may be available used and in a few cases new, they are not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (44):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
tango_down Wednesday, April 23rd, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested51 of 102 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
* Tippmann stock barrel
* 14" J&J Ceramic
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom with 14" J&J Ceramic
Recommended
Paintballs:
Diablo Dusk is very good but stick with small bore balls. Just stay away from all Brass Eagle.
Strengths: * Accurate
* Quiet
* Good Range
* Looks Sweet
Weaknesses: * Way Overpriced
* Terrible if you dont have a squeegee handy (balls Go Crazy)
Review: I think this is a good barrel. It is accurate, and has an okay range. I just think that it is way, way, way to overpriced. I have a J&J Ceramic and one of my friends has this barrel and let me use it. It is almost exactly the same. The main difference between the barrels is the price. Mine was $35.00 and his was $115.00.
Conclusion: I Like the barrel and everything I just think it is to overpriced. That's why it gets a 6. It also breaks balls and makes the rest curve.
I know you all hate seeing negative comments about DYE but I don't care. BRING ON THE HATE MAIL.
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Friday, May 6th, 2005 at 5:24 pm PST
I found this review  
68 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, April 24th, 2001
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
 
37 out of 110 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: Good paper weight, I must say I was amazed by the great weight this barrel has. Can shoot allstars and any of the like small bore paint good.
Weaknesses: Heavier then my m98 just about, I found it to be picky on most paints but allstars shot good. I got the 16'' and i figured it would be more accurate then a 14'' and smaller barrels but i was wrong, it was just extra weight and $50 barrels like the J&J Ceramic are lighter, quieter, AND just as accurate. I also had several ball breaks, but i think i was just over shoot my hopper which caused the balls to get chopped
Conclusion: Don't fall into the 'boomstick' hype like i did, DYE sponsers big named teams as you all know, and people think that if they win with the boomstick that must make it a better barrel, but believe me, its just a normal barrel with extra weight and $50+ more then any other. You can buy better barrels for this price.. Lapco Big Shot, J&J Ceramic, Smart Parts AA, the list goes on.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
23 Comments - Add Comment

dyedragon Sunday, April 13th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month28 of 43 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
j&j ceramic
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom 98, 18" Dye Barrel, Lapco drop foreward,star bolt, expansion chamber, cross fire nitro
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any PMI paintballs, but evils and marbalizers work really well.
Strengths: very accurate, high resistance, dispite what some people say it is very quiet
Weaknesses: expencive
Review: This is the best barrel on the market today and even though it may be expencive, the reason for that is that it is accurate, looks good, it's dye, and is made from air craft aluminum and surgical steel. I'm a sniper and with this 18"er I can hit just about anything that I am shooting at.
Conclusion: Buy this barrel It is one of the best out there.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
30 Comments - Add Comment

dbf1066 Sunday, May 25th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month19 of 45 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
All American, Freak
Marker Setup: Timmy, mac-dev, freak, EVO II
Recommended
Paintballs:
Diablo Hellfire
Strengths: micro finish
Weaknesses: excessive porting, weight, cost
Review: I found the boomstick to be a heavy barrel, heavier than most others on the market.

I also found mine to be very small diameter, and although I couldn't prove it (I don't own a diameter micrometer) I highly suspected mine was out of spec on the small side. I couldn't get paint to fit in it that should have according to the specs (marbs, and inferno). The only paint I could get through it smoothly was diablo hellfire. This makes for VERY expensive practice though.

Once you do have have a break inside the barrel it is a monster pain to get the barrel cleaned out enough to get your shots back to straight because all the paint gets inside those ports. A simple once through with a battle swab isn't going to cut it, nor a squeegee, it pushes the paint into to the ports whereby it promptly drips back in. You need a squeegee with a towel, which is like I said not easily accomplished on the field.

The boomstick is also a very expensive barrel compared to some others.

The one good thing for the boomstick is that when they advertise a .6 micro finish inside the barrel, (again although I don't own equipment to verify this) I do believe it. Inside mine was almost a mirror finish which is what you want in the back of a barrel.
Conclusion: I would not recommend this product. Its excessively small diameter will limit your choice of paint you can use to all but the most expensive, and the fact that its very difficult to field clean the barrel, cost, and weight makes me give this barrel a below avg rating.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
18 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, February 3rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 years17 of 50 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
all american stainless
all american
freak
cp kit
cp one-piece
titiainium boomstick
ultralite
some others
Marker Setup: electric skies splash eclipse angel led
*air assist mod
*adrenalin high rise feed tube
*cobra bolt
*bonebrake bolt
*cobra hammer
*warped sportz 2k2 dark angel maximizers(x2)
*eclipse drop, anoed to match
*armegedon 4500 system, with two tanks, 45, and 68
*pro quick connect, polished
*DYE boomsticks anoed two match in all lenth and sizes, gathered them up from different angels
*freak kit
*CP kit
*some other barrels
*all american stainless 12 inch, 14 inch .689, .687 respectively
* o and dye stickies
Recommended
Paintballs:
all star
marbs
pmi
diablo
Strengths: The standard DYE boomstick has been on the market for three years. Even with the arrival of the freak, many pro teams like aftershock still use this barrel. Even teams like Avalanche were using this barrel, but switched over to the JT, why? I don't speak for Avalanche when I say this, but I think that because of a stipulation in the sponsorship contract(this I think I read somewhere and believe it to be true, i believe it was warpig.com) that states rival logos cannot be put on the JT jerseys. Before JT began making there barrels, Avalanche used DYE boomsticks. When JT began making barrels, DYE was now considered a rival sponsorship, this is why avalanche no longer uses boomys, again, I am not on avalanche, and this is something I based mainly on what I read on warpig.com, so I don't want Ed Poorman calling and correcting me, this is just an oppinion. This is also in my oppinion why avalanche now uses JT paint over diablo, seing something here. Continued in the conclusion portion:
Weaknesses: Its not to expensive for 1 or two boomers, but if you want 3 or more for the bore sizes or lenths it gets costly.
Conclusion: :I didn't want to write everything in the good and not have a conclusion like I did in allot of my other reviews, so here comes more:

There was a time, when almost all pro teams used dye boomsticks. Why do you think some of them moved to other barrels like Avalanche, because of their contacts with sponsors, and others, like OBR and Strange moved to freaks, because they thought they were better, and the may well be right, the freak is a very good barrel, with all its sizes.

Disclaimer to OBR and Stranges sponsors, I think they both shoot freaks. They were mentioned only as examples.

Anyway, we've established even pro teams like avalanche do stupid things, I mean dare I say having JT ::cough::cough:: brass eagle::cough:: as your paint sponsor is stupid. Another example, why does bad company shoot spyders, I doubt it is cause they think they are better than the shockers that they used to shoot, they must have got some huge deal to do it, I mean come on.

Disclaimer: OBR and Strange mentioned above are not included in the stupid list, to clear up some confusion that may be had. O one more thing I think OBR used to have boomys, but Im not sure what strange shot, but I am willing to bet it was either boomys or all americans. I am sorry to say however, that my favorite team Avalanche remains on the stupid list.
Sub-disclaimer: Avalanche players Rocky Cagnoni, Chris "glory boy" LaSoya, Todd "cash money" Martinez, "scuba" Steve Rabackoff, Brian "LB" Fow, Jeremy Salm, and the likes besides Ed Poorman, sorry Ed, but you are the captain who made this strange decision.

Anyway- There are still some teams who use boomsticks, Aftershock and Lockout are two. I guess auto cocker genius Danny Love has a larger brain then Dark Angel guru Ed poorman.

Disclaimer- due to the lack of inforformation online about a team as good as aftershock, I was unable to find out exactly who 'shock's captain really is, and I believ it is Danny Love.

After this history/current events lesson, I will try to actually talk about the barrel. Why do you think Aftershock still uses boomies. Despite the fact that they are sponsored by them and use every other dye product. This is not the reason, because a while ago a little company DYE and a baby Aftershock, wait refrase that: I can't picture a time that billy ceranski and todd adamson were less than six-feet tall, or at least they look that big in the videos and stuff, DYE only made barrels, or at least there other stuff was not as popular, and aftershock most likely went to them for barrels, considering that was like the only thing they made back then. And 'shock still uses them today, and Danny Love still picks them as the stock barrel for the infamous SFL mini-cocker. What is the reason? Is it because they are frozen in time and are not up to date, No pro teams are the date, the are tomorrow vefore it happens, they use all of the new goodies long before we se them. Is it because they don't have enough money in there piggy banks to buy a freak or a cp kit, no, I guarrenty you Smart Parts or Cp would most likely sponsor Aftershock if 'shock knocked on there door. They use Dye boomstick because it is the most accurate barrel in the world.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

DarkWombat Monday, June 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested13 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra Stock Barrel
J&J Ceramic
Dye Xcel
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra, Dead-On 5 3/4" drop, 12OZ C02, Macroline, Bob Long Torpedo Reg, VL200 Hopper, polished, modified bolt and striker....
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any RPS (which pretty much goes for any barrel), I used Premiums
Strengths: Looks spiffy
Very accurate
2-piece system
Light
Somewhat quiet
Weaknesses: PRICE!
Ball breaks = murder
Porting clogs after ball breaks
Review: Well, a friend of mine had two boomsticks when we went paintballing (that lucky $@*$&) so he let me use his 16" on my Spyder Xtra (he used the 14" on his E-99). I must say, wow this thing looks cool. I mean, it's one thing to see it on someone else's gun, but it's totally different to actually USE it. Also, the barrel looked great on my Xtra. When I got to playing, I was WOWed again by the barrel's incredible accuracy, great range, and quietness. But, for $120, what do you expect? And, eventually, I outshot my crappy VL200 hopper and broke a ball, and that's when the fun stopped. Balls were spiraling, doing loop-de-loops, even a couple did near 180's... So I had to whip out my trusty Proflex and squeegie out the inside, and voila! Back to playing. Accuracy was slightly less than it was before the break, but the balls were still shooting pretty straight. I noticed that the porting is difficult to clean, so if you've got a ball break, you're pretty much stuck until you can wash out the barrel after a game. If you really want to use this barrel, you'd better bring along your squeegie, 'cuz when your balls pop too early, you're gonna need it.

While the barrel peforms well, I'm not very impressed with the price it sells at. For $120, I'd expect at least a self-cleaning system and better cleaning on the ports. But hey..it's DYE, and they're known for making flashy, high-priced stuff.... Nothing compares to the experience I've had with a J&J Ceramic, and when I feel like it, that's the barrel I'm getting, hands-down. A steal at $35, quieter than the Boomie, self-cleans and is dead-on accurate. Sorry, but I'm out on this one.
Conclusion: While it's a great performer, and it looks flashy, I wouldn't recommend this barrel if you don't like to throw away money. Sure, a J&J won't LOOK as great, but it's worth seeing the Boomie user turned into a Christmas tree from someone with a barrel that costs 30% as much.

Final Verdict:
Accuracy: 9
Quietness: 8
Price: 4
Looks: 10
Cleaning: 5

So that amounts to a 7.2, so i'll round down to a 7.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

bigbaboonass Tuesday, October 21st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 years9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Evil Pipe
Smart Parts Tear drop
Smart Parts Freak / Aluminum and Stainless / Backs and Inserts
Dye Aluminum
Dye Ultralight
Dye Ti
J&J Two Piece
and many other barrels not worth mentioning
Marker Setup: Not Important since I'm reviewing a barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
Diablo Hellfire Imperial (Just cuase they're so good)
Strengths: Accuracy, Accuracy, Accuracy!
Weaknesses: Read the review below.
Review: Many people complain about the price of a dye barrel but as the old saying goes you get what you pay for.
This is (IMHO) the best barrel that money can buy. The accuracy is unrivalled by any other barrel or barrel system. THIS IS THE MOST ACCURATE BARREL ON THE MARKET TODAY AND THIS IS ALL THAT MATTERS. With its high polished stainless back and aluminum front you really do get the best of both worlds. The inside of the stainless back can be polished until it has a mirror finish and with a bit of Rain-X there is absolutely no problem with cleaning a break, just invert your gun and fire. Dye's are the only barrels that I've found this to work on. Some people say that the stainless backs are to heavy and they recommend a Titanium Boomstick. Remember though that the Ti is almost double the cost of a standard Boomer. So if you're concerned about weight and price try an Ultralight. These are almost as accurate as the Boomstick and half the weight. I say almost becuase I feel that the anodized aluminum back just can't hold a polish job like the stainless.
Conclusion: So in conclussion. If you really want your moneys worth out of a barrel and accuracey is a concern I recommend a Dye Boomstick.
Personally I won't shoot anything else.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Zerocygnal Saturday, November 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 years8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
CP's (all of the kits), SP Freak, Stock, Lapco (all)
Marker Setup: 05 Angel Speed, Dye BoomStick 14", ND Volumizer, Empire Relaoder B, MacDev Conquest
Recommended
Paintballs:
RP All Stars, Nelson Anarchy, Zap Spanks, Diablo Heat
Strengths: Accurate, quality, quiet, indestructible, looks
Weaknesses: Weight, cost
Review: First and foremost, this barrel IS accurate.

You can read all the lower reviews on this barrel and there is at least 2+ parts on the reviewers setups of which can affect accuracy (i.e "I shoot a tipman model 98 and this barrel sucks.", Setups still using CO2, Low quality inline regs, etc. etc.). Sorry buddy but its not the barrel look a little closer.

This barrel has come to define tournament level accuracy. I am not saying that there aren't barrels of the same caliber of performance out there (Freak, Pipe, CP Pro's etc) I am just saying that until the Dye Boomstick, the barrel market lacked legitimacy. Used by many of the top teams (before sponsorship money ruled all) it still ranks amongst the top barrels used today. WHY? WHY?

Because you can read all the reviews out there but nothing describes the truth than actually using one. I was one of the few people on my team to take the plunge and get a boomstick a few years back. I let others on my team use it and practice with it. Within a month 80% of the team had switched to boomsticks and the remaining did not because of the costly financial aspect of getting multiple boomsticks to fit various paints. Furthermore, to vindicate the success of the design, now one of the very best selling barrels is the Dye Ultralight. Nothing has been changed between the Boomstick and the Ultralight except the materials. Materials having a direct impact on production costs has shown that one of the direct criticisms toward the barrel is the cost not performance. THESE BARRELS ARE ACCURATE! VERY ACCURATE!

Some of the best features of this barrel is the good medium between accuracy and self cleaning. In the game today, the pace is so fast that a player doesn't have the time to squeegee the barrel in case of a break. After a few shots (10 balls in like one second) the barrel reverts to nearly 85% of its original accuracy. This cannot be said of the freak. Its porting design spells inaccuracy after paint from a break fills those holes. Even squeegees have little hope of remedying the inaccuracy during a game. I would say the freak retains about 65% of its accuracy for the rest of the game after a break and after squeegee (Although running water through it afterward returns its full accuracy (and that barrel is wickedly accurate, I have it, it shoots darts). Also, the barrel back is made of surgical steel. This material is one of the strongest, smoothest and most durable materials in paintball. This contributes the the enormous weight of the barrel (I cannot lie, compared to other barrels its hefty). But aside form this drawback, I have never felt a more sturdy barrel. This barrel radiates quality. You can use this barrel as a hammer its so strong. Hold the fragile freak in your hand, with its aluminum inserts suspended by orings in its aluminum back, and you understand why boomstick owners can play so hard. Its because you can plow the barrel into a bunker, or the ground and never hesitate about damaging it. That cannot be said of any other barrel with the exception of other stainless barrels (LAPCO, DYE). Hold one at the field and you will understand.

As far a quiet, its not silent, but its not a LAPCO bigshot or stock barrel. It did quiet down my angel, but not nearly as quiet as a freak. Freaks nearly whisper.

Finally looks. It is a sweet design. Now style is an entirely personal thing. I cannot rate that for anyone but myself. What I can say is that the DYE barrel has come to be known as the symbol of a person who wants to shoot the very best. It is the a mark of an individual who will spend a little more on a product that will not fail them when tournament money is on the line; a person that wants every ball to count, when they need it, on demand. Like a Mercedes Benz logo, Dye is a premiere brand and commands some respect. It has taken DYE years to become known as such a brand; years of use and abuse. Dye is simply the best.
Conclusion: Its expensive to create a kit. But worth every cent. If money is an issue, the ultralights are the way to go. With a 2 piece interchangeable design, DYE really has brought the price range down into the reach of many players. I have been using DYE for 3 years now and have not seen a barrel yet worth switching to.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Tranman22087 Wednesday, May 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
03 cocker stock barrel
Marker Setup: black 03 vf cocker
boomstick
shocktech pneumatics
torpedo reg
kapp reflex trigger
superfly bolt
evo II
CO2 :(
Recommended
Paintballs:
marbalized
pmi
balls from fields
Strengths: 1. look good
2. very very accurate
3. dosen't chop
Weaknesses: 1. a little heavy but who cares when it shots straight
Review: This barrel is amazing. I got this right before a tournament and I dont regret it. It got me so many kills. A good thing is that it looks really good on your gun and it gets alot of respect. Ive been playing for 3 years and this is the best barrel ive tried for my cocker. Stop reading this review and GO BUY ONE. This barrel is by far better than my stock barrel.
Conclusion: I recommend this barrel to anyone that has a paintball gun if it fits on your gun. This is the best barrel on the market. I would give this barrel a rating higher than a ten if I could.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, May 12th, 2004 at 2:19 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MJC Wednesday, October 29th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
all american,freak junior
Marker Setup: spyder e-99,boomstick,ricochet,nitro
Recommended
Paintballs:
draxxus hellfire is the best but works good with pretty much anything
Strengths: quiet,accurate
Weaknesses: heavy
Review: this is the best barrel i've ever used,its worth every penny

pros.
it is really accurate.(u could hit a small pole from a 100 feet away)
it is super quiet also

cons.
it's a little heavy but not to bad( unless ypur really weak)
the back is silver and is preety easy to spot but i haven't had a problem with it yet
Conclusion: this is the best barrel i've ever used. I highly recommend it to any player.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (44):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media