paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dye Ultralite 2-Piece / Dye Ultralite 2-Piece / Dye Ultralite 2-Piece

Dye Ultralite 2-Piece Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dye

Buy Dye Ultralite 2-Piece

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dye Ultralite 2-Piece
[ View Photos (10) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 112
Average Rating: 9.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $110

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The DYE Ultralite barrel is a popular favorite of the top pros today. The Ultralite is chosen for its all aluminum light weight advantage. It is also a very popular custom barrel because its aluminum construction offers the ability to be anodized to match any gun color. It is made with the same precision quality that you can expect from DYE as the leader in barrel manufacturing.
Product Availability 
The Dye Ultralite 2-Piece is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (12):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
PaintballNasty1 Wednesday, January 5th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month12 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye boomstick, J & J ceramic, Freak, Kanor...J and J pretty much same weight not in same league tho, Boomstick same accuracy but a bit heavier and a bit more durable-extra $$$... Freak probably better and a better deal for kit maybe not as quiet but definutely as accurate, kanor basically same as freak i'd say a bit quieter
Marker Setup: TIPPMANN 98 CUSTOM >phsyco ballistics drop forward >double trigger >12v revy >dye boomstick >crossfire nitro tank

PMI PIRAHNA EVO 2004 >barrel ( not yet selected) >crossfire nitro tank >Eggy hopper >Phsyco Ballistics drop forward

2002 WGP AUTOCOCKER >dye ultralight barrel >crossfire nitro tank(maybe a new one soon) >12v revy >terrible slide trigger (reccomended upgrade E-BLADE) >dye sticky grip >dye drop forward UNFORTUNUTELY BROKEN AT MOMENT BECAUSE SOME IDIOT MECHANIC THOUGHT HE'D PUT A NEW SPIDER SPRING INTO MY AUTOCCOKER INSTEAD OF AN AUTOCOCKER SPRING!!!! Might i add it sounds louder than a colt 45!
Recommended
Paintballs:
I'd reccomend medium sized paintballs(not too big-not too small). This thing shoots well with most stuff tho. Whatever you do don't go for brass eagle paint>if you don't beleive me check their ratings.
Strengths: >Light
>Accurate
>Many sizes available
>Quiet(you'll be suprised)
>Cool looking(suits any gun)
Weaknesses: >Can scratch fairly easily
>Cleaning
Review: PROS: This barrel is very good probably one of the top three available. You can get it to fit nearly every gun and can get it in a variety of colors. The barrel suits any gun and it cool looking. Of course, the first thing you are looking for in a barrel is accuracy and this barrel has it. Another major thing about the barrel is how quiet it makes your gun. I hooked this up to my 2002 WGP and it was so loud with the stock barrel. It took the sound down from a boom to a dull clap. The barrel is very light hence the name ULTRA-LIGHT though there are lighter barels out there, though none of them probably have everything in one package. This has got everything you need. It is quality.

CONS: When i got the barrel the first time I was a bit pissed off because right where the two barrel peices screw together there was a chip. I dont know what it was caused by but basically on the front barrel a bit of the edge had been hit on somthing and the barrel had a small triangle of metal sticking up in the middle maybe 1 1/2 mm tall. That isn't so much but it completely messed up the entire shooting It broke 3 in 5 balls. That is just an error of the company but it shows that the barrels do have weakness. Although this thing had been hit hard it still annoyed me that it could bend. Apart from that and cleaning out all the little sound reducing holes of paint, there is nothing wrong with this baby.
Conclusion: Get it, its got everything you need it reduces the sound of the gun, doesn't break balls (unless bent inside), looks good, is light, and most importantly is accurate. The durability bit is not such a big deal because it obviously took a lot of force to do that and paintball players respect there guns. SO BUY IT!!! 10 out of 10 cause i love it and anyone who gets it will.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

crenix Monday, December 8th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
DYE Stainless 12 inch, BOB longshot, 2k3 autococker stock barrel, dye boomstick
Marker Setup: 2003 VF blue Autococker, STO ram/Adjustable regulator. DYE 2-piece ultralite.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any medium bore paint, except wal-mart paint.
Strengths: Light
2-piece
accurate
quiet
Looks great on a cocker :)
Weaknesses: Not as strong as many other barrels, obviously. Just be careful.
Review: I've tried several barrels and found the DYE ultralite to perform outstandingly. I tested this barrel and the others from a 50 foot distance, shooting at a 20 gallon bucket. The ultralite tended to put the balls more in a clustered, specific area, and it did well in not producing stray balls. I got more "balls ontop of balls" with this barrel than any other, usually in bursts of 4 balls. The DYE stainless did not shoot well for me as compared to the ultralite, which doesn't make much sense because it's the same bore/honing/length. This is a great barrel and DYE did a great job in designing it.
Conclusion: Very good product. If you can try to get it at a local paint store used, then go for it. It is a little pricey, but even if you do buy it new, it is a great deal. In all honesty, you should shoot every barrel before you purchase it, some people tend to get different results with different guns/paint. I say guns because of how good the gun consistency is. That will affect your accuracy/precision. Overall, this barrel performs with the best.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

pbrogue Sunday, October 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ion Stock
Tippmann 98 Stock
Spyder Stock
BT-16
Smart Parts Progressive
Smart Parts Freak
Smart Parts Linear
Smart Parts Freak JR
Lucky 15

Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
Smart Parts Ion Firebolt
CP Rake Trigger
CP Regulator
Dye UltraLight 14" barrel
Dye Airport
Dye Sticky Grips
Dye Gauge
Shocktech Feedneck
Shocktech QEVs
Virtue Ion Board
Virtue Ion Eyes
Virtue Ion On/Off Switch
Custom Milled Body
Recommended
Paintballs:
Empire Ramp .683

Find out what fits your bore size
Strengths: Quiet
Accurate
Light - ultra light
Accurate
Sexy
Nice Milling
Did i say ACCURATE???
Weaknesses: Durability
Price Tag

Review: This barrel is great. it well tops ANY barrel that i lested except for maybe the Freak or Lucky 15, but they are still not as good as the ultra light. Plus i got mine on sale for $50

Weight - 10.0 it reduces weight drastically
Sexiness - 10.0 looks awesome with any marker
Quietness - 9.5 its extremly quiet
Accuracy - 11.0 I hit a 6 inch diameter at 100 ft!!!!!! best ever!
Durability - 8.0 scratches kinda easy (ALUMINUM)
Price - 8.5 worth the price, but $100 is still a lot if you dont have a job



Conclusion: I love this barrel i cant think of anything better! eventually something will come along and top it but not in our lifetime!

10/10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jrbacon Monday, April 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Boomstick- I like the boomy a bit better
J&J cermic- Good barrel not quite up to the ultralite tho
Evil Pipe- Just did not care for the pipe kit
Freak- being able to swap bores is good, but not as well made as the ultralite
Marker Setup: Ego,d.a.r.t. bolt, Freak kit, Crossfire 68/4500
Turtled e-orracle, freeflow internals, palmers micro rock, palmers stabilizer
Recommended
Paintballs:
works well with a wide range of paint
Strengths: Very lightweight, accurate, well made
Weaknesses: A little expensive (but what is't in paintball?)
Review: I like the Ultralite, lighter than my boomstick and just as accurate (if not more) than my freak kit. The quality is excellent, it is light without feeling fragile. I have put it through a wide range of abuse and it comes back for more. It does what it advertises, and does it well. Costs more than some barrels out there, but makes up for it in preformance.
Conclusion: A above average barrel, I would recommend to anyone.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

lostazncause Thursday, July 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
stiffi, hammerhead, AA, freak, kaner, JT, eclipse shaft, many stock barrels
Marker Setup: black ion
cp razor drop/asa
cp reg
egg2 (revvy backup)
nitro duck 68/300 carbon fiber
dye sticky3
Recommended
Paintballs:
whatever works fine for you
Strengths: Quiet
nice look
decent accuracy
Weaknesses: Price.
Review: Ive been doing barrel tests for many barrels out on the market for some time now, just trying to find which designs seem to work better. Truth is, the UL performed admirably BUT not enough to justify the horrible price difference from other barrels. The only difference between this barrel and the other 2 piece heavily ported stepped bore barrels was that this one didnt have as much drop at long range.

Accuracy is the product of quite a few things people neglect:
consistency: a good consistent regulator
Accuracy of shooter: If you cant shoot you wont hit anything. Most players believe theyre decent shots, but until you can hit a paintball tossed into the air, you havent truly mastered aiming.
good paint: Find the best you can get. THIS IS KEY!!!!

Now Im not saying the UL performed badly. On the contrary it was quite good. But the miniscule difference in accuracy compared to other barrels did not justify the price difference.
Conclusion: There are plenty of other barrels out there that will perform similarly for a lesser price. Most people seem to be moving toward cp nowadays. Its your money. Spend it how you will.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

thugginit Saturday, December 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Many stock barrels, Boomstick, etc..
Marker Setup: Aim 18+ Cocker, cp reg, dye ultralite, Throttle, Revy, and my beloved E2, and random nexus parts
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything that matches your bore size.
Strengths: Extremely light, honed to perfection, matches my gun nicely.
Weaknesses: Hmmm, none, really.
Review: Well, I have an Aim 18+ cocker, with an e2, and an ultralite. With a stock barrel, I can hit paint on paint from around 20 ft. But with the ultralite, i can hit paint on paint from 50+ feet. I do take into consideration that this is a cocker, so it would be accurate no matter what, but it just makes it better. This thing is light as hell. The only better barrel on the market is the Titanium Boomstick, but its almost twice as much money, and the regular Boomstick is too heavy, the ultralite is just right.
Conclusion: I can think of any reason not to get it, its 100 bucks, and thats not too outrageous, its a great, light, accurate barrel. GET ONE!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

jitters93 Monday, February 26th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Excell
Stiff
All American
Progressive
Kaner
Marker Setup: -Trilogy competition
14" kaner
overdrive loader
---------------------------
-Smart Parts ion
yellow body kit
fire bolt
12" progressive
halo backman
---------------------------
-05 Prostock
14" dye ultralite
halo frontman
---------------------------
-'96 Black Magic
16" dye ultralite
halo backman
---------------------------
-Vision Impulse
strange bolt
sp tapeworm
ndz blade trigger
14" all american
halo frontman
Recommended
Paintballs:
RPS, DraxXus, Tac recon camo, no cheapo grades like vl, BE, jt, zap
Strengths: Accurate
Light
Looks
Few barrel breaks
Weaknesses: Cleaning can be difficult with all the porting
Can get scratched or chipped
Review: Decided to redo my entire review so..
Ived use a 12"/16" on my blackmagic and a 14" on my prostock, Testing it out on the bm with the 16" its pretty darn accurate, i was using rps bigball and had no breaks. later testing out the 12" it was fairly accurate but i suggest a 14"+ i was using cheap vl balls, and 3 of the 5 either chopd or broke in barrel. the back on my bm is totaly scratchd up from removing and puting it on. On my prostock the 14" is dead on accurate and only had 1 or 2 barrel breaks in a whole day playing. it didnt get scratchd up cept for a chip on the tip when walkd into a wall.. ...

~Accuracy: incredible rates of accuracy, even without a tip its still hella accurate!
-10/10

~Scratchyness: My tip is all scratchd up, and happend pretty easy so be carefull when handeling it. If u get a color in dust it will be easier to get scratchd
-7/10

~Barrel Breakage: It dosent break paint much at all, if so rarely but depends on ur paint
good paint- 8/10
bad paint- 7/10

~Performance: Overal the performance is awsome and is one of the best barrels ive used so far
Conclusion: Light, Accurate and amazing barrel, price is a little high but what isnt
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, February 26th, 2007 at 6:17 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Earlan357 Wednesday, March 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock and teardrop for my 98
all american on my broken cocker
Marker Setup: 98 Custom and Cocker both with too much $ spent on upgrades and a Nelspot 007.
Recommended
Paintballs:
fresh medium bore paint
Strengths: cheaper than other boomsticks
light
accurate
interchangeable fronts
Weaknesses: a bit pricey but worth it
Review: Ultralight = anit-embarrassment barrel
teardrop = pain in the @$$
When I had a barrel break in my teardrop(at least once every game) I had to run a squeegee through and then swab it only to get about 70% of the accuracy of a clean barrel. And once it broke a ball it would continue to break them even after multiple swabbings. The milling on the teardrop let paint pool up and drip back into the porting. The only way to clean it was to spray it with a lot of water after the game. The last time I broke a ball in my teardrop(and the last time I used it), I didn't have enough time to swab it so my friend on the other team stood 50 feet away completely exposed knowing I couldn't hit him. I shot the last half of my hopper and he just stood there laughing as all my balls flew around him. Not even one went straight. He unholstered his Zeus and gogged me. Sigh... Anyways, after asking around, most of my team (who were still laughing) said they had sold their freaks and bought boomsticks with multiple backs. I bought one the next day.

The ultralight is a little more accurate than my teardrop and it's a lot more forgiving. If I get a ball break, which happens far less, I'm still in the game. I can just dryfire a few shots and get back about 75% of its accuracy. While a few balls might curve, they don't curve as wildly nor as often as with my teardrop. If I swab it, I get about 90% accuracy. Off the field cleaning is way easier too thanks to the lack of milling.. A few squirts from my spray bottle and it's good as new. This barrel is a little quiter too. For some reason, it also retains its accuracy better when I'm playing in the rain.

Now, it's true that the aluminum does scratch easily on the outside, but I don't really care about cosmetics. I've heard a few ppl say that the aluminum bore will wear out more easily over time. What?!?!? How is a soft gel encapsulated paintball going to wear out aluminum? As long as you don't try to shoot sand covered balls through the barrel it shouldn't ever wear out. (One more good reason not to pick paint off the ground.)
Conclusion: I love this barrel! I want an ultralight on every gun I own. If I could put one of my nelspot I would. BTW - I don't really like my brother so I gave my teardrop to him.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, March 4th, 2004 at 9:47 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dyejtempire Saturday, January 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Whisper barrel- quieter but not anywhere near as good
Marker Setup: 2004 wgp vertical feed pro stock autococker, rickochet 2k loader, dye ultralite, supafly bolt, 68 ci/3000psi pure energy, dye rhino cover, getting drop forward.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Evils my favorite.
Strengths: Lightness, Duh
Accuracy
Nice looks
Weaknesses: Very Pricey
not as accurate as boomstick
Review: I got this barrel when I had my spyder. It improved accuracy immensely I loved it. I knew it was gonna be light when I got it but wow this thing is light. I got an adapter for my cocker So I can use the spyder barrel on it. Thank god, I was almost about to spend $100 yet again to get this thing. It has proved a great barrel once again on my new gun. This is my favorite barrel.
Conclusion: This is a great barrel for any gun get this barrel right now. (Unless you have the freak set then just keep that).
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 1st, 2005 at 10:56 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

nvancil Sunday, January 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Ion Barrel
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion (Black)
Empire Reloader B
Pure Energy 72CU 3000PSI
2 Peice Ultralight Barrel 14"
Recommended
Paintballs:
PMI Premium
X-Ball (Gold & Bronze try to stay away from silver)
Draxxus (Almost any kind)
Strengths: Light
Accurate
Quiet
Consistent
Strong (Oddly enough)
Scratch resistant (PLEASE READ BELOW)
Weaknesses: Barrel loosens too easily
Review: I will quickly review all the points that i have listed above. I have really tried to tell you everything that i know about this barrel to help inform you if you are researching this barrel. I myself read reviews on all the products that i plan to purchase in order to inform myself of the possible pros and cons of each product. So here it is!

Pros:

Light- As you already know, this is the lightest barrel that i have ever laid my hand on, which is a great addition to the Smart Parts Ion since the gun and its original barrel only weighs 2 pounds 2 ounces. A great light barrel on a light gun in which they work almost harmoniously together!

Accurate & Consistent - Through several boxes of paint, i have found this gun to be extremely extremely consistent as well as accurate (remember that your barrel is only as good as the paint that you use!!!!) So with that being said a tourney level paint with this barrel works magic! I consider these two area's to be the most important area when purchasing a barrel.

Quiet - This barrel is fairly quiet - i would not say the quietest barrel on the market but is in the running. What i like about this barrel is the porting, it is enough porting to keep the gun quiet but not too much (like the quieter barrels) to loose velocity when playing!

Strong & Scratch Resistant - I came to the conclusion that this barrel was strong and scratch resistant after i played yesterday and accidentally fell. When i fell the gun barrel planted in the ground (just after a recent rain) i got mud inside of it. I was still in play so i took the barrel off the gun and slapped is on my shoe first then against a tree (please don't do) the mud came out of the gun and played as though the incident never happened. After playing that day i went home and thoroughly cleaned my gun only no notice that my barrel was still like new condition, no scratches, no dents, no nothing. Though it is light it is strong! Many of the previous reviewers have said this product stratches easily, buy i have not as of yet found that to be the case!

Cons:

The only con that i have found by using the barrel is that, it tends to loosen after playing a little bit. About every game or so i found myself re-tightening the barrel
Conclusion: Great barrel for the price range that it is in, recomended over the freak barrel, so far the most consistant accurate barrel that i have seen! More of a 9.5 though!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 15th, 2006 at 12:19 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (12):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media