paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Evil Detonator Regulator / Evil Detonator Regulator / Evil Detonator Regulator / Evil Detonator Regulator

Evil Detonator Regulator Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Evil

Buy Evil Detonator Regulator

Paintball Regulators

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Evil Detonator Regulator
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 42
Average Rating: 8.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $60

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The detonator is an inline reg capable of handling 100 to 500 psi outgoing pressures.
Product Availability 
The Evil Detonator Regulator is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
penguins_r_kewl Sunday, June 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months13 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Mac Dev 2004 Gladiator
Strengths: Consistant, looks great, easy adjusting.
Weaknesses: 4000 shot break in period, yuck. Worth the wait though.
Review: Its been proven to be the best inline regulator on the market. This reg has what everyone wants, looks, consistancy, and easy adjusting. On the chrono today: 277fps, 277fps, 277fps. Tell me thats not good. The ring adjustment is very easy to use and the locking screw is very helpful.
Conclusion: Best inline reg on the market. Period. For $100 its WELL worth the price.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
26 Comments - Add Comment

p-baller100 Sunday, July 29th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock ion reg
stock spyder pilot reg
Marker Setup: Ion
Virtue on/off
Tech-T L7 bolt
Redz 14" barrel with .689 back
Virtue eyes
Dye membrane pad
Scenario Dreams T- board
CP twist lock feed neck
Evil Detonator regulator
Qev
ndz autococker breach
lucky stage 2
Draxxus Pulse Loader
48/3000 tank with assault regulator and unique tank cover
cup of love every day
Strengths: Consistent
easy adjustment
looks fairly nice
it is fairly consistent during break in period
Weaknesses: Kinda long break in period
Review: Well i am surprised this was put on older. anyway i saw these on ebay for 30 bux which is half of retail and i believe they are still selling them. i am sure you have read that it takes a while to break in. its not a big deal after like 100 rounds or less i got +/- 7 so i thought that would be fine. is still was very consistent so i didnt have a problem with the break in period. after i broke it in i get +/- 3 most of the time +/- 2 only occasionly does it it fluctiate a fps. so thats really good. it took me one day to break in to about +/-3 or 4 which took me about 1500 pballs. it is the same as any other expensive reg but more than half the price. it looks pretty nice and is east to adjust. just turn the handle and screw it in. unfortunatly i unscrewed it to much and it fell in the mud when i was adjusting and i couldnt find it. so now i cant lock it into place so i have to tape it down. which isnt legal in a tourny so im gonna contact evil and see what they can do.
Conclusion: Very nice reg go get one dont let the fact that its older stop you its a great reg. i dont think we are ever going to get to +/-1 or +/- 0 anytime soon GO GET IT. i only give and 8 due to loosing my screw and the long break in period which really isnt a big deal. just my experience so dont unscrew it to much its really my fault but i feel they could do something to keep it from coming out. please rate my review and feel free to ask any questions or leave comments.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Blue Baller Wednesday, August 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months9 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Bob Long Torpedo- I noticed the bob long was really touchy with sandy fields. I always had to re-clean it after every day of use, but when it worked, it was quite consistent.
Centerflag inline- I saw about +-5-6 with it. Decent, and low maintenance.
AKA sidewinder- Very nice reg. +-2.

The only reg there that can compete with the detonator is the sidewinder.
Marker Setup: 2k2 gene matrix
AKA SCM lpr
Evil detonator
Shocktech delrin sleeve
Arrdy red bolt kit
Shocktech micro drop with cp on off
CP 14" 2 piece
New designs breech
Evolve ASA
Strengths: Extremely consistent, very nice design, good quality
Weaknesses: It took about 3 cases to break in, which sucked.
Review: My torpedo just crapped out on me, so I needed a new inline regulator. I looked at my buddy's omen that had been gathering dust, so I thought, why the hell not? I'll try the detonator. I cannot be happier with that decision. The detonator is one of the best regs I've ever had the chance to use.

The consistency is supreme. I'll get +-2 at the most. I also getmany many perfect chronograph readings. At a recent tournament, the velocity limit was 300, and I had the detonator staying consistent and not spiking at 298 fps. Not freaking bad.

REbuilding is difficult at first. I'd suggest getting help from someone who knows how to re-build detonators and learn from them. Once you know how, cleaning and lubing is a cinch. It also doesn't need cleaning for like 6-7 cases.
Conclusion: Great performing, low maintenance, and great looking inline regulator. I love mine, and it's not leaving my matrix anytime soon.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

sosoDAF Wednesday, November 23rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
CP- Doesn't compare in performance, but is a bit lighter.
Macdev- Somewhat equal in performance, but I'd still take the Detonator over it.
Maxflo- Doesn't compare to the Detonator.
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
Evil Driver barrel
New Designz spring detents
Evil Detonator regulator
Evil on/off
ASP QEV with QD
Lucky stage 1
Lucky stage 2
Lucky stage 3
Techna/VP Scythe trigger
Smart Parts Q Lock feedneck
Halo B
Crossfire 68/4500 HP
Strengths: VERY consistent.
Well priced.
Evil has the best customer support in the industry.
Weaknesses: A bit heavier than other regs, but nothing noticable really.
Review: Well, I had this reg on an Omen I had 2 years ago.
When I got my Ion, I was going to get a new reg. I went for the Evil Detonator because of the awesome performance I got with it on my Omen.
Needless to say, I get awesome performance on my Ion also.
I would highly reccomend this reg to anyone- beginner or tourney player.
I get around +-4 FPS over the chrono with this, and it has the second best recharge rate of any regulator on the market.
Evil also has the BEST customer support in the industry, and will send you out any free parts if they break.
Conclusion: I would definately buy this regulator.
It is fairly cheap, but delivers better performance than just about anything else on the market.
Evil also has amazing customer support.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Viperking Wednesday, June 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Air america stuff, wgp, cp, AKA,
Marker Setup: 2005 Shocker w/Vision (Black)
Ultimate freak set w/AA 14" front (Black), SS back, SS inserts
Smart parts Q-lock low rise (Black)
NDZ LP bolt kit (Red)
NDZ Swivel Bolt guide (Red)
NDZ Ball Detent (Black)
NDZ SST manifold
NDZ Ripper trigger (Red)
NDZ Snatch grip (Black)
NDZ ASA w/port (Black)
AdvantagePB Speedy 2 board (Yea Bring it pal)
Halo B w/ victory board, Delron cone, dual 9V (Black)
Shocktech Straight drop (Black)
Smart parts ON/OFF adapter
Cross fire 68/4500 HP
Black macro line
Tons of stickers everywere !
Strengths: UNREAL chrono speeds (my setup with this is 298,298,298,298,299)
Weaknesses: I have to agree the break in period, but WELL worth the wait.
Review: everyone knows the shocker isn't the greatest for being consistant. I used my 03 to break in the reg (it was great right out of the package) it chronoed at 280,281,280,279
after playin the weekend. I put it across the chrono after cleaning it and the gun, it was still +/- 1. my 03 only has a HE bolt on it. so a few weeks later I put it on my 05 Shocker... I'm tellin ya right now after what I saw my 05 do with it that sat, YOU CANNOT afford to get one (or two). my 05 went through almost an entire CASE yes I said "entire" on 1 fill of my tank at 4300psi, I had less then a half bag AND more then 500psi left in the tank. right now my 05 is running at about 140 psi and I normally run it at 290-295fps. this IS the only reg I have that will allow me to do that on my 05. so if your lookin to get the BEST reg out there it's the EVIL DETONATOR !!! hands down. if you don't want one all my others regs will be on Ebay soon.
Conclusion: This is the best Reg you can get . !!! I got mine from Ebay for $60 w/shipping
Why ? thats a stupid question JUST get one and you'll know WHY and if not, hey it's your problem not mine.

Come to the EVIL side, and You will see my power (hehe always wanted to say that)
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 1st, 2005 at 12:16 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Rishardo17 Saturday, September 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock rodeo reg.
Marker Setup: Spyder Rodeo, teardrop barrel, Evil Detonator, Trinity feedneck and Trinity 7D front block
Strengths: Looks cool
super consistant
super low pressure
Weaknesses: Not sure of any yet
Review: My Spyder rodeo will re-cock at only 100 PSI. I operate it at about 300PSI. I think im going to experiment with some lower pressures though. For such a good regulator the 50 bucks at actionvillage.com seems pretty worth it. This works very well, and looks awesome with the trinity 7D front block.
Conclusion: Awesome,Awesome,Awesome
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Justari Friday, July 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
32 Degrees Pure Energy regulator - How do they compare? Apples and oranges, kiddies. Apples and oranges.
Marker Setup: 2003 WGP Autococker Prostock
Evil Driver barrel
Evil Detonator reg.
Viewloader Revvie
Maddman spring kit
Centerflag 4500-65 HPA
WGP Orracle front end
Strengths: Rock-solid consistency
swivel mounting on bottom
Weaknesses: Break-in period... 2000 balls to get it right.
comes only in black
Review: I have finally gotten through my break-in period of 2000 paintballs- most of that just shooting stuff in the back yard. I went through a fair amount in the woods with several games, with plenty of eliminations on the opposition.

So... after the break-in period, I chrono'ed my autococker and I'll be whipped if consistency isn't absolutely rock-solid. When I first mounted the detonator, I was getting anywhere from 274 fps to 281. Now- it's gotten much more consistent: 278, 278, 279, 278... I certainly can't complain about that!

I replaced my WGP Orracle regulator with this Detonator, and I have absolutely no regrets on doing so. As good as the Orracle is, the Detonator has taken my marker up a notch on consistency. It's putting paint on paint regularly, thanks to my current setup.
Conclusion: I've read my share of reviews on this site, and I could question some of the reviews.. but the 20-odd reviews that I've read on the Detonator is spot-on. I cannot recommend another regulator in this price range ($50-$60) that can outperform this one. Do yourself a favor and buy one, if you wish to honestly improve the performace of your marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Algernon Friday, May 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
WDP mini
BL torpedo
WGP standard

Marker Setup: Evil Pimp
ghetto 7.0

Alien abduction angel LED
pred II
Strengths: Looks.
Weaknesses: Poor Evil QC.
Review: i got a bad one i guess. i just broke the thing in after nearly 4 cases and it blows on me. my pimps noid is leaking and i cannot adjust the input pressure. oh, and it jingles when i shake it. i have yet to crack it open to see what has gone bad, but it IS broken. i'm sure it's a fine reg and i just go a bad one.
Conclusion: None. I can't recommend it but i'm not going to tell you to stay away from it either.

EDIT: i rebuilt the thing and it seems to be working OK now. changed rating accordingly.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Friday, May 26th, 2006 at 1:59 am PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

punkrex Saturday, September 8th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Bob Long
Palmers
Marker Setup: Minimag with Emag valve - ULT and Level 10
Intelli frame
Revi
Freak Kit with AA front
Strengths: I experienced none
Weaknesses: Poor quailty control.
Bad customer service.
Review: I purchased the reg to build a LP spyder. The first time I took it out to fine tune, the reg bled very badly around the swivel. I attempted to fix it on site but I couldn't get the leak to stop and it only became worse. I called the phone number listed on Evil's website, only to get some parent company who forwarded me to a various voice mails once I explained my situation. I left numerous voice mails to about three different extensions and never received a call back. So, at a last attempt, I mailed the reg back to the company along with my Warranty card and a letter stating my frustration. It’s been over 6 months and no one has ever contacted me... what a load of junk if you ask me. I read some bad reviews but a lot of good ones and figured I would not have the same luck, I was wrong.
Conclusion: Word of advice, get a Palmers Stabilizer, it’s worth the money.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

baseballbond Tuesday, July 5th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
This is my first regulator
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
Custom Candy Orange Paintjob
Low Pressure Kit
Double Trigger
Custom Trigger Modifications
Crossfire 47/3000 tank
Egg 2
7 Piece Empire Barrel Kit
Strengths: Consistent
accurate
efficient
Air input on bottom of regulator
Easy to Adjust
Price
Weaknesses: Break in Period
Long
No gauge port
Review: I got this regulator and the regulator didn't come with a manual on how to adjust it. so i called evil, which had great customer service, and the told me how to adjust it. The regulator was then really easy to adjust. The regulator made my gun quieter and more accuarate. But, the break in period for this regulator takes along time, 2,000 to 8,000 shots I've heard. The velocity with my tippmann is pretty consistant and I haven't even fully broken the regulator in yet. I also noticed that this regulator seems very long about 4 1/8 inches, but some people may like that. This regulator has the air input on the bottom of the reg which is great. But, there in no gauge port, which is bad for guns like my tippmann.
Conclusion: I would strongly reccommend this product. You can get this product for fairly cheap, i got mine for $52.00 brand new online. But, the break in period for the regulator takes way to long so I give it a 9.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, December 31st, 2005 at 4:42 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media