paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dragun Dragunfly Regulator / Dragun Dragunfly Regulator / Dragun Dragunfly Regulator / Dragun Dragunfly Regulator

Dragun Dragunfly Regulator Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dragun

Buy Dragun Dragunfly Regulator

Paintball Regulators

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dragun Dragunfly Regulator
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 14
Average Rating: 5.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $79

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Designed for the low pressure requirements of the Dragunfly. Available in either nickel or black
Product Availability 
The Dragun Dragunfly Regulator is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
grr_link Wednesday, September 17th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Bob Long Torpedo Regulator
WDP Angle Mini Regulator
WGP Black Magic Regulator
Marker Setup: M3 Dragunfly LCD Grey
Dragunfly Regulator
16" Armson SSR Barrel
Psyco Balistics Dropforward
Palmer Stabilizer- Female bottomline CO2 Reg.
Custom 26 oz. Antisiphon Tank with Smartparts On/Off and Pressure Gauge
Custom M3 Dragunfly Beaver Tail
Custom Palmer Rock-the-boat Cocker front reg
Empire Reloader sound activated Hopper

and...

Bob Long Shocktech Intimidator
66.6 BPS select fire board
Custom 80 bps Pneumatic Charge Hopper
Custom Test Flight 17" barrel with Test Flight Rifling and Shifted Porting
Dual Gas feed with WDP Angle Air and Same CO2 System as above
All Bob Long Milenium Intimidator Upgrades
AGD Graviton Feed Neck (No longer in production)
Test Flight 42" Coiled Remote
Palmer Stabilizer- Male Fore Grip Reg.
Palmer Stabilizer- Femail Botomline Reg.
Palmer Stabilizer- Inline for Remote Reg.
Test Flight Spin Shot Bolt
Test Flight External Agustable RT Box (Response Reactive trigger when turned on)
Strengths: works well with nitro and VERY well with CO2
Works well with most markers.
Weaknesses: Very unconsistent with some markers like Phantoms, Brass Eagles, Mags, High end cockers, and Tippmans.
Review: Decent Regulator. I found my consistency on my Dragunfly a little off when I first got the regulator on it. I got my secondary bottomline reg (Palmer Stabilizer- Femail) and I imediately noticed that my consistency was improved dramaticly. I never got that good consistency with just my Stabilizer. The reg works VERY well with CO2 witch is the main reason I got it.
Conclusion: I seriously recomend this reg. to any diehard CO2 Fan like me. It literaly makes your CO2 run like Nitro, but I still recomend the use of a special water filter, anti-siphon tank, X-chamber, or secondary botom line reg with the Dragunfly reg.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

DarkeWolf Tuesday, December 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
CP one-piece, AKA Sidewinder
Marker Setup: 04 Dragun TES, ACP delrin bolt, 68/3000 crossfire, evo2 loader, odyssey twist-clamp feedneck, AKA Sidewinder reg, dragun The One board.
04 DragunFly LCD, evo2 loader, odyssey twist-clamp feedneck, wrath reg.
Strengths: Inexpensive, good recharge rate
Weaknesses: See review body for details
Review: Ok, this reg came stock with my TES. Overall, it's got a good feel to it when you have it mounted, and are holding the marker.
the stock reg however comes with the infamous "funky dragun fittings" of some strange metric size, so you cant use a standard metric, or standard line fitting with a metric adaptor with it.
Its easy to change your pressure on it. just put in an allen wrench and turn the screw.
Be kinda nice if you could put in a guage for markers that dont come with one.

at the chrono, this thing SUCKS! I couldnt get mine to get up past 230 fps, without cranking it up past 600 psi, which is OVER the TES's normal operating pressure. I was trying to get this thing to go up to 285 and was getting spikes between 201 and 230 with my crossfire 68/3k. That is just HORRIBLE.

About the only real strength that I can say that this thing has, is that it can keep up with high rate of fire. I was running strings as fast as my z-boarded evo could feed it, and there wasnt any drop-off at all.
I've heard that doing the mac-dev mod to the disks will help to increase the consistancy, but I havent been able to try it out yet. Because I CANT GET THE THING TO COME OFF MY MARKER!!!
Conclusion: Get it only if you are really hard up for a regulator, and dont have very much money to spend on it. Otherwise, keep saving up and get a much better reg like an AKA, a CP, Bob Long.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

adamanadragun Monday, April 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
system x
black magic wgp
Marker Setup: dragun one
delrin bolt
marco line 3 by 2 drop
Strengths: Looks nice that about it easy to use
Weaknesses: Slow and unconsistence
Small
On use one kind of insert to hose long and thin
Review: not the best reg around more like its crap only one type of hose insert long and thin so you cant use a regular hose fitting and the drop forward insert is the same way long and thin find a different regulator maybe a bob long and try to find a nice drop and a new bolt that is what I recommend
Conclusion: Get this if your cheap and have no money get a systemx or bob long
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

speedballer500 Friday, February 18th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
dead on paintball expansion chamber and stock expansion chamber, but not any other regulators.
Marker Setup: '04 Imagine
3a flame drop forward w/ on/off asa adapter
demon 14' barrel
bandit delrin bolt
new designz hp valve
evlution 2 electro hopper
dye sticky grip
trigger micro-switch 50 grams
macroline hose
shock tech spring kit
dragun regulator
smart parts 0-700 psi gauge
modified vertical adaptor
polished internals
Strengths: It regulates pretty decent. not the best, but it's alright for it's price.
Weaknesses: It's pretty small, so it's not that comfortable. Not the best regulator.
Review: This regulator is alright. It surely isn't as good as a palmers or a custom products, but you get what you pay for (it's pretty cheap, I got mine for 30 off ebay). It's actually a lot smaller than it looks, though. The regulator might look normal, but there's another piece that the regulator screws into that makes it longer. The regulator itself is actually really small. I don't feel comfortable with it being that small because it might not function as well.
Conclusion: It's not the best, but it's good enough for it's price. It's pretty small. Some might prefer small, though.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

freezerburn456 Friday, April 23rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
All Max-Flo, Black Magic, Torpedo, Sidewinder, Random stock regs
Marker Setup: 2003 Dragunfly mech, works grip frame, full freak kit, dye sticky grips, derlin anitchop bolt, bob long torpedo reg, halo b hopper(it is the only one that can keep up with me now), custom blue to black paint job--not the stock factory one

Strengths: it is somewhat consistent, looks good
Weaknesses: it jumps around alot
Review: Okay--I run all my guns on nitro, even my friends cheap spyders. this reg jumps around like a mexican jumping bean with nitro. after one day i was kiked out of 2 games because i chroned hot. if i would have been at a tourney i would have been disqualified and the team would have lost. now if you are just playing rec ball then this reg is ok for a certian ammount of time, but lets face it consistancey does matter. other than looks this reg is usless for nitro, and get a boblong torpedo or a black magic for like $45 used.
Conclusion: i give it a 7 because it works just not verry well
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MecTurtleCocker Saturday, March 31st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Various regs...

Air America Messiahs, Vigilantes, etc.

AKA 2 Liters, Sidewinders, etc.

Palmers Stabs.
Marker Setup: Turtle Autococker Half Block Custom Milling and Anodization
All Turtle Internals
All Belsales Front Block Pneumatics
Nickel Palmer's Pursuit Shop Fatty Regulator
WGP kaner Kit
KAPP Reflex II Nickel Hinge Frame
Dye Stickies 3
Halo B (Overkill on a mech cocker, but who cares? Its off my other gun anyway...)
Strengths: Cheap..ish

Shiny

True pressure compensating regulator

Consistent (After MacDev mod)
Weaknesses: Horrid recharge rate
Review: This came stock on my Dragunfly. It's pretty horrid in terms of recharge when used with Co2, and is somewhat nice with HPA.

It's a true pressure compensating regulator, not a regulated on/off like found on an Ion, so it's consistent.

The MacDev mod must be performed to get really good numbers across the chrono. Basically, you must match the shims so that they make tons of little "pie tin" shapes.
Conclusion: Somewhat nice, yet somewhat crappy at the same time. 5.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

wolf'sRevenge Saturday, February 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Black dragun lcd new reg., tsa backman lcd halo ,68ci 45k tank,zantram dragun tooth blade trigger, top cocking body, dragun drop, adjustable feed neck, wdp reg
Strengths: Great with co2
ok with hpa
Weaknesses: None for the price
Review: When I used this reg on my marker I first used compressed air it worked fine with velocity of 230fps 10+- on a string of 15bps but generally that is ok but on time my tank broke so i had to use co2 which i got 260fps 5+- overall it is a great reg for a stater gun but for high end guns use better
Conclusion: I recommend it because you can find it sometimes for less then 20 bux
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tiekwando Sunday, January 16th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock reg on mag, CP reg, bob long
Marker Setup: TES, anti-siphon CO2, CP 14 barrel, trigger job
Strengths: Cheap, comes stock, it actually is a reg.
Weaknesses: Jumps around, not consistant for a reg
Review: this reg is only good for a few things.

1) it comes stock and if ur cheap you can get them of ebay for $10 or so.
2)if u have never used a reg, then this will be a big up for you because it does add some level of consitancy.

now whats bad.
1) its inconsistant and jumps around. I was firing between 276-262 and that was just a single shot, not firing fast at all. Also i was using a 3000 psi Pure Energy HPA tank when i got those numbers.
2) (this could just be the gun) its really hard to get this reg up above 280 without a spring kit.
Conclusion: Dont go out and buy this product. if it comes on your gun stock ok. Or maybe buy it if you want a reg cheap, and can find this for $10 on ebay. Otherwise go with a Bob Long or CP reg. Trust me there a hell of a lot better.
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 16th, 2005 at 4:19 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

goldengun Thursday, January 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None as crapy as this.
Marker Setup: Dragunfly LED
Prototype T-board
JAM bolt
Dragunfly reg(Duh.)
Strengths: None.
Weaknesses: Unconsistent, cheap, breaks, velocity spikes, and the price if you get it aftermarket.
Review: This comes stock on most dragun guns, such as d-flies, TES, black dragun, etc. For a stock reg, it sucks, for an aftermarket reg, it really sucks. It is unconsistent(+-15 fps) and it shoots up rapidly.(velocity spikes). Mine just crapped out on me, so I got a CP regulator. It's the best.
Conclusion: This reg blows hard. Don't get it, and if it came on your gun, get a new reg ASAP.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

suXor Thursday, November 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Marker Setup: Dragun T.E.S.
J&J 14" Ceramic
Lapsco Twist Tight Low Rise Feedneck
20oz CO2 Anitsiphoned
Halo TSA Frontman
Strengths: Seems to be very good with CO2!
Stays at setting well
Consistant
Weaknesses: TES version of REG has Dragun specific threads :(
Review: Was aprehensive at first of a Reg that came with a mid-priced eMarker. After plowing 400+ dry shots through it to see if I could freeze it up, I was impressed. Not one freeze up! Sure my tanks are A/S'ed, but it still got damn cold. I would have to say it's pretty tolerant to CO2, but I will see how long the o-rings last.

THe only downside is that on the TES, the reg has special threads and are recessed deep in the reg, so there are no adaptors.
Conclusion: Overall first impressions are real good on it's consistancy and tolerance with CO2. I am giving it an 8 due to the stupid NPT threading problem.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media