paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dragun Dragunfly LCD / Dragun Dragunfly LCD / Dragun Dragunfly LCD / Dragun Dragunfly LCD

Dragun Dragunfly LCD Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dragun

Buy Dragun Dragunfly LCD

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dragun Dragunfly LCD
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 20
Average Rating: 8.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $600

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
LCD Screen w/Shot Counter, Dwell Adjustment, Timer
15 BPS Preset
20 BPS Capable
Aluminum Double Trigger
SMC 5-Way Valve
Custom Milled 45 Frame
Custom Milled Body
Quick Release Bolt
2-Piece Vertical
Dragun Thread Barrel
Custom "Fly" Beavertail (sold separately)
Low Pressure Operation
Product Availability 
The Dragun Dragunfly LCD is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
TzeentchianGod Sunday, January 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months20 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
I have shot Race Grip and E-bladed Autocockers. Other than the price (and an eye), there really is no difference.
Marker Setup: Dragunfly LCD
Freak Kit
Egg II
Recommended
Upgrades:
Get an aftermarket barrel ASAP. The stock one isn't fit to hold down papers in a windy office.
Strengths: Fast. Accurate. Inexpensive. What else do you want out of a marker?
Weaknesses: Stock barrel sucks. Can't use Halo B on this marker.
Review: When I first got this marker, I had lots of problems with it. It chopped like crazy. I just couldn't figure out why. No matter how much I tried to adjust the pressure going into the marker and the recocking pressure, it would still chop. I even had a JAM bolt in the thing! I thought this was the worse marker in the world.

Then, I learned my problem. The Halo B was forcing balls past the detent and thus, major choppage. I put a different hopper on it, and gave it to my friend who has owned autocockers since they hit the markets. I had never owned a marker like this, and I had the recocking pressure up way too high. After he adjusted it, and I picked up an Evolution II hopper, my problems disappeared. I haven't chopped a ball since.

My first real test came at Tombstone Paintball park in Corona. I had a great day. The marker shot really well. After owning a Spyder, I just wasn't used to the accuracy. I was getting so many guys out of their bunkers and in cross-field shots, I was in heaven. I was also going through paint much faster due to the speed of this marker. I had to quit mid-way through and let my nephew have all of the paint that was left (it was his first day).

I've used it a few times since. Still not a single chop. I love this marker. I especially love the looks on the faces of my friends who have E-blades or Race Grips when I tell them how much I payed for the whole marker, and mine shoots just as fast as theirs does.
Conclusion: Get it, but don't be under the impression this marker will be as easy to use as any old Spyder. There is a learning curve to this marker, just like any other 'cocker. Once you get it tuned just right, you'll wonder why people spend $1000 more on markers that aren't faster or more accurate.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

VooDooAddict Tuesday, October 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months13 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Closed Bolt:
Shocker 4x4 (Own)
'96-'98 Autococker (Borrowed)

Open Bolt:
Automags (HyperValve, HyperFrame, MicroMag, Classic)
Classic Spyder (Before any parts were available)
Marker Setup: Dragunfly LCD
- Anti-Chop Spring Loaded Bolt
- 70/4500 Centerflag Pre-Set High-Presure Tank
- AGD Warp Feed (Intelifeed link to trigger) with a Classic VL 12V Rev
- custom made 8" Carbon Fiber Small Bore Barrel NO Porting
- Smart Parts 14" All American Large Bore Barrel
- In-Line ASA Extension with Centerflag Gauge for reporting output pressure of the Dragun HPR.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Anti-Chop Bolt if it isn't included with your Dragunfly LCD
Strengths: Cost
Closed Bolt
Electro Trigger prevents "Short Stroke"
Spyder Barrel Threads
Weaknesses: CAN'T use Autococker parts.
Spyder Barrels Don't always fit.
Flips into FullAuto.
Review: Background:
I've recently gotten back into paintball. Thanks to a decent paying job that I don't need to work weekends. A large part of paintball for me is taking out friends and family with me. And having decent equipment for them to use so that they don't need to be frustrated with poor rental equipment. I have an old Shocker 4x4 that was my main marker before I quit a few years ago. And a few Automags that were backups and loaners. The Shocker 4x4 is a great zero frustration marker for people who haven't played much paintball. It has never broken a ball on me in the breach. Never. Nothing seems to frustrate a new player more then a break. It also has no external moving parts. My problem was if I loaned out the Shocker ... then I had to use on of the 'Mags. With the new trend for more brittle paint to get more breaks on your opponent ... the Classic 'Mags have become virtual paint grinders. That made me dread using the 'Mags, and never want to loan them out. While I wanted my guests to have perfect paintball days ... I didn't want the frustration of shooting a paint grinder for them or for myself. When looking into upgrading my old automags to work with the latest generation of brittle paint (Level 10 Kits + ULE Bodies). I came across an add for the Dragunfly LED for a less then my Automag upgrades would have cost. I was shocked at the low cost for a new closed bolt electro marker. I did a little more research on the Dragunfly and decided to satisfy my longtime Autococker curiosity with a Dragunfly LCD.

Expectations and Goals for my new Dragunfly LCD.
- Get a spare marker that I will be happy to use when I loan the Shocker 4x4 to a friend.
- Introduce myself to the world of Autococker maintenance. After loving the light kick and accuracy/consistency of the Shocker 4x4. I've always been interested in owning the classic closed bolt semi. I have also wanted to teach myself how to adjust the timings of an autococker.
- An Autococker with electro trigger should get rid of the short stroke problems I'd had in the past with borrowed mech autocockers.
- I had plenty of after-market Spyder Barrels that were just sitting in a box begging to be put to good use. Dragunfly's were listed in specs as using spyder threading.
- I'm not looking for something to win tourneys with. I prefer the no stress of paintball for recreation. Tourneys were one of the reasons I stopped playing the first time.

Generic Purchase Info (Shop/Seller and exact pricing details left out to respect PBReview's rules):
I bought the Dragunfly LCD off Ebay NEW for under $250 in Mid year of 2004. Marker was shipped direct from DragunEmpire, but I'm unsure as to Model Year.

The Dragunfly LCD arrives:
The Marker arrived in it's own case with a Parts Kit (I paid extra for the parts kit) and an AntiChop Delrin Bolt (included with my Dragunfly LCD). I quickly swapped out the standard aluminum bolt for the Delrin anti-chop. After placing a 9v battery in the grip, I gassed up the marker. After listening for leaks and hearing none I pulled the trigger. To my surprise, holding the trigger down kept the bolt in the rear position just like a mechanical 'cocker. To my dismay, while holding the trigger down, there was a leak. The leak was coming from one of the small lines connected to the Ram. The hole was close to one of the fittings and I was able to just trim hole off the line and reconnect it. 3 minute fix. Now that the marker was working I proceeded to adjust the timings properly. 10 Minutes later I had a working and timed Electro Autococker. (Check the Autococker forums here on PBReview for information on how to time an Autococking marker. I can't post links in a review) Now I wanted to see how it looked with my 10" Custom Made Carbon Fiber Spyder Barrel ... The barrel didn't fit. After some experimentation I found that the barrel threads are based off the original spyder specs. These are slightly different then the spyder threading most people know. It's very frustrating because most Spyder barrels will almost fit ... I managed to force the 8" Custom Carbon Fiber onto the marker. It was risky ... but in the end it worked great.

The First Outing:
Indoor Airball Field.
Finding that the Standard feed-neck was too small for my spare Rev 12V was disappointing. I knew that I could later sand it down. For now the VL200 fit it fine. I adjusted the firing rate to 6bps so as to not drastically out shoot the hopper. Went to the Chrono. Needed a slight adjustment to get it to 270 (that field's limit). 5 Minutes later I was in a game. With my custom made carbon fiber 8" barrel it was shooting wonderfully accurate and consistent. Field paint was Draxxus(sp?) Blaze. I didn't break a ball. The Anti-Chop Bolt did it's job. One problem I ran into however was that after the second game I noticed that my marker had flipped into Full-Auto mode... The LCD buttons can accidentally be pushed with gloved hands holding the marker. Thankfully this didn't cause any problems. Overall I was very pleased with my purchase.

The Second Outing:
Indoor Airball Field.
I decided to get fancy with it. I placed one of my old warp feeds on it. Same field. The combination of the Warp Feed and the Dragunfly LCD = Paint grinder. I switched to the VL200 again and everything was fine. As it turned out I had a miss aligned powerfeed ball-stack in the Warp. After some dremell tool modifications to the Vertical powerfeed adapter... I decided to try it again.

The Third Outing:
Outdoor field. Bring Your Own Paint.
Tuned Warp + Dragunfly LCD + Zap Spank Paint = Many angry opponents. With the properly aligned ball-stack and a BPS set to 12 max. The setup started pissing people off. With no hopper sitting on top of the marker ... they couldn't hit me. I ran into problems latter in the day when I ran out of fresh Zap Spank and had to start using some old paint (I won't mention the brand since the brand is OK ... it's just that it was old). This outing was also the first day my new girlfriend went paintballing. She was able to use my Shocker 4x4 and it gave her Zero problems. She wants to go again!

Did the Dragunfly LCD marker satisfy my goals?
- I now understand Autococker Timings.
- I have a nice marker to use when I loan out my Shocker 4x4
- I have an Autococker that I can't short stroke (this is a good thing). Disappointing the LCD board does not time the bolt forward motion for me. But something I can live with.
- Some of my Spyder barrels fit (with force) ... but not all.


EDIT: I've since sold the Dargunfly. I'm running Ions and Shoebox Shockers for mains and loaners these days. Before I sold the Dragonfly I played a few outings with a Warp Feed attached. It was great. Been missing the warped Dragunfly lately ... so I'm going to be setting up a warp drive on an Ion soon.
Conclusion: For me: This marker was exactly what I was looking for at the time, and performs to my expectations. But, due to the problems with Full-Auto, the poor choice of old Spyder thread standard, and incompatibility with autococker parts... I'm going to give it a 7.

Recommendation: I have a hard time recommending this marker, however. It leaves no upgrade path due to it's incompatibility with Autococker parts. The Full-Auto issue could keep out out of tourneys. There are other nicer performing electro's with much more standard parts. The Dragun T.E.S. and Dragun TheOne both have a much larger following and more available upgrade parts then the Dragunfly.

For someone who absolutely must have a Closed Bolt Electro, but doesn't have funds for an E-Bladed Autococker. This is a way to go on the cheep. But please, please get the anti-chop bolt. I can't express how many times I saw the bolt pinch but not break balls. With a standard bolt it would have been slicing those balls.

For everyone else in this price range who's just looking for a good mid-range Electro I'd give serious consideration to:

Dragun T.E.S.
PMI Piranha E-Force EVO 04
Dragun TheOne
(My TheONE review will show up in a month or two. A New TheOne is in transit to my door.)
Indian Creek BKO
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, February 8th, 2006 at 11:15 am PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

DBolton69 Tuesday, January 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Autococker, Shocker - cheaper and just about as good, once adjusted.
Marker Setup: Black Dragunfly LCD
Custom Products 14" barrel
Crossfire 68ci, 4500psi
Halo B (yes, it does work with this marker)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Stock barrel needs to go and pronto!
Feed tube
Strengths: Awesome accuracy w/nice, flat trajectory
Quick! 15-20 bps easy with Halo B
Weaknesses: Needed tweaking to work excellent...had to experiment to get max. performance
Review: This marker is awesome if you are familiar with ALL aspects of paintball markers. It unfortunately does NOT come ready to go from the factory, but for the price, after adjustment it is just way to good to pass up for the price (got mine with JAM bolt and Dragun D-Reg for $377 after tax). It is accurate (with a good barrel and good paint) and is extremely quick. The JAM bolt is awesome......over 4000 paintballs shot with no chops or breaks in the barrel. Some blowback issues need to be addressed to ensure the JAM bolt is working optimally, at least in my case....again, if you know what you are doing, it is easy to adjust.
Conclusion: Overall, very pleased. I gave it an 8 because it was supposed to come out of the box ready-to-go and did not. This will frustrate new players and that is not good for the sport. A very good buy for experienced ballers.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Chattertooth Thursday, August 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
1st time with a 'cocker,spyders, b2k, timmys, impulse, automag rt pro, all tippmanns
Marker Setup: Gray Dragunfly LCD
Jam bolt
Empire Reloader
14" Aci zero Gravity graffitti series
Kapp DZIII with on/off
aci 47ci 3000psi tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Black magic reg, ram, Freak kit, fast loader, some milling to drop the weight. Use only compressed air with any marker. Even if it says you can use co2.
Strengths: accurate, fast, Just dang sexy
Weaknesses: Heavy as a bear
Review: Needs attention out of the box but i have taken it to the field 2 times and can honestly say that it turns heads because of the rate of fire. It is surprisingly fast and very accurate.
Might want to buy a carrying strap for your setup because this baby is a pig! After playing for 3 hours it feels like it weighs 50 pounds. But i am definetly satisfied so far. The price is almost ridiculous for everthing you get. $235 for everthing which includes the drop, jam bolt, macroline setup, and the plastic carry case. I dont see how you could go wrong with this because it is so cheap to buy. Your talking 700 bucks if you want the same out of the high end worrbladed cockers. Huge difference.

All cockers have there little quirks. Yes even the $1200 Karnivores. So remeber that when you are seeking the right marker. $2000 or $235 everything needs attention when it comes to timing the marker and maintenance. I dont think that any cocker will come timed to your needs straight from the maker. So if you decide to get it and its not ready to let her loose straight out of the box then give it a little time and care before you write it off.
Conclusion: Buy it. Get it timed. Add all the upgrades your little heart desires and you still wont come close to how much you would pay for the "high end" cockers that have the same or less performance mods.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 15th, 2005 at 8:47 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ethan592 Sunday, May 23rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Orracle e-cocker
E-99
E-blade
Marker Setup: Dragunfly LCD
JAM Delrin Bolt
Empire Reloader
Magnet trigger mod
SmatParts Progressive
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel
Fast hopper
New Drop
Strengths: Very Cheap and Fast
Weaknesses: Hard to find upgrade parts
Review: I got this gun for only 250 on Ebay and i was thinking this will just be a gun i will sell again in a couple months but now its my main gun. With minimal upgrades u can take on timmies and angels. With my blade trigger and magnet mod i can easily get this up to 18 bps. With a lighter switch i am sure i can max it out.
You absolutely need an electro hopper. Its nice cause u can set it to limit it to how fast ur hopper feeds. The that comes with it is also ok but if u have the cash feel free to upgrade it. The stock drop that comes with it is really pathetic. My tank didnt fit on it so i had to move it back a bit to fit. Its really hard to find parts for it. It uses spyder things in some places and cocker things in other places. The drop is spyder as well as the barrel. It was hard to get a new drop to work with the reg but other than that it was a GREAT investment
Conclusion: Great gun for the money. Only takes minimal cash to upgrade
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

olred8u Tuesday, October 21st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
E-blade cockers
Marker Setup: Dragunfly mechanical and others
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel, bevertail
Strengths: I think I can safely compare it the the strengths of the e-blad cockers.
Weaknesses: It dosent have an eye, if it did it would be awsome. Grip is big.
Review: ITs a great gun. IT can keep up wioth an e-blad, although II have really never really had an e-blad before. The big stickler is that it doesnt have an anti-shop eye. IF it did I think I wiyld fell better in saying it could hang with the E-blad cockers. However you can buy a anti-chop bolt called the Jam bolt. This will help alot. I dont think it can hepl as much as a Anti-chop eye but if you really want one, get the bolt.
Conclusion: Its a cool gun. Its not to expencive, especially when compaired to the Orical autocoocker. When it comes out wiht the eye then, dont hesitate to get one. Im giving it an 8 because it dosent have an eye.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
13 Comments - Add Comment

natdawg22 Friday, January 14th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Imps, Shockers, Nerves, Ions, 'Cockers, Timmys, Tippys, DM5, etc
Marker Setup: Black Ion
PE 72/3000
Egg2
Freak 16"
Recommended
Upgrades:
New trigger
Barrel (freak, boomstick, AA)
Strengths: Quiet, Reliable, Fast
Weaknesses: None really, except 'cockers are expensive
Review: I dont really have much to say about this, its pretty cheap for such a good gun. It looks cool, but it just needs a new barrel. Buy this gun, its basically a 'cocker so if you want the cheaper version of one, get the Dragunfly, LED or LCD. Good for back players, cuz they are quiet and accurate.
Conclusion: Buy it if you are a back player, they wont find you right away, its accurate, and fast
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, May 24th, 2005 at 11:41 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

1ofkind Saturday, April 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Actual autococker, spyder
Marker Setup: flame 3a drop, 12v revy
Recommended
Upgrades:
Another gun, but if you want to actually stick with it atleast a barrel and motor hopper.
Strengths: Antichop (pinches)
Low pressure
quiet and smooth and sexy
Weaknesses: Leaks out of the noid
leaks
hard to shoot
Review: We'll when I got mine, days before the big promotion which really screwed all the people the bought one when they first came out, it didn't even work. Had leaks all over, ram was broke, redicilous trigger bounce, and I miss out one buying the gun with a free dragon reg and drop. We'll I sent it back and they said they fixed it, and even gave me a free dragun reg. STILL DIDN'T work, sent it back again and It worked, and the tuned it out nicedly. It worked in barely any air, I mean It be working fine and I'ed check the gage and there was almost no air in the tank.

As for the antichop bolt system, its pretty much a through toghter idea seeing its so simple. My friend was speed hungry and somehow did chop a ball! But I never personally chopped, I still pinched and the ball broke in the barrel. When I would take the bolt out expecting a mess there would olny be a dab of paint at the tip of the bolt.
Conclusion: We'll after my first day of useing this gun I quickly sold it on Ebay, and in about 2 months he said it was leaking from the noid, I told him what to do. I wouldn't buy this gun. I'ed rather use the old school cocker, I never chop with em anbd there very accurate and fast and light.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Extremesport Sunday, January 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 29 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
E Blade, Autococker,
Marker Setup: I shoot a Bob Long GZ timmy....
Recommended
Upgrades:
Sell it and get your money back
Strengths: There are none except it is cheap,
Weaknesses: This gun chops like crazy. Used a 67/3000 tank to shoot 250 balls
Review: This marker is probably a little worse than a Brass Eagle Avenger or Triton. I would rather own a Brass Eagle blade and you probably have a better chance in a tournament using one.

There is probably a reason why in mid production they replaced the bolt with an anti pinch bolt, and it was not to give you an already upgraded product. The marker is an bad attempt to put an OK spyder trigger on an autococker.

This gun had velocity fluxuations of over 70fps withing 10 shots. The only thing that was consistent was the fact that it was not.

We shot 1000 balls and went thru 2 ball detents, not just one one gun but the two that we have.

We even had them worked on at World Cup in orlando and when we got them back they were worse then when we got them.

I think this company is on the way out AGAIN. for the second time.. be very carefull....



Conclusion: Don't buy this gun and for sure, don't sell it. We have two in our shop and we will not sell them. They have been sold once and came back and I can not bring myself to sell it to anyone. I would rather eat the 600 I paid for them. There is no customer service either.........I will use them as prizes or something......

If you have one, I am sorry... trade up to a Spyder Compact 2 in 1. You will be happier
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
26 Comments - Add Comment

GrimReapper20 Tuesday, February 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
WGP AutoCoker
Marker Setup: DragunFly LCD
Halo TSA
47/3000
(Switching to an Ion)

Tippman 98 custom w/RT
Spyder Xtra
Strengths: Short trigger pull
Weaknesses: Chops, Jams, Eats Batteries, Gas Hog, Inaccurate, Poor range, Gas leaks.
Review: Me and two friends went and bought Dragun Fly LCD's. The shop owner told us what great markers they were and that they were better then WGP. We thought that sounded great and so we bought them. Not long after that is when the problems started. First it was Gas Leaks. I didn't think to much of this because it going to happen with any marker from time to time. The only problem with the leaks was how frequently they occurred. Then the three way itself started leaking, then it was the Macro line. Also when the marker was not leaking it would eat a 68/4500 in about 500 shots. Also it has poor accuracy and range. I have played in tournaments where I do not even bring the marker with me, I would play with my 98 custom. When I am playing with my team, I am the back player, and I could hit hardly anything with that thing. I couldn't even reach the back of a 5 man field with it, it only went to there 35. On top of that it could not hit anything. When i would point the marker down the lane I wanted to shoot, it would eather arc wide left or right, that was it would shoot paintballs. Any other time I would play it would look like a shotgun style spray affect. The anti-jam bolt made the choping even worse even with my Halo tsa., but the stock bolt would jam around every 5 shots when you started getting up to speed. My two friends that bought theres have sold theres and bought an Ion, and a Wrath. They both love there markers and how well the work compared to the Dragunfly. I have fought with that thing for around a year now and i have had it. No one came seem to fix it eather. Also after I switch markers I wont go through a batteries every few hours as well. I guess I kept my this long hopping it will work for me. But it never has and probably never will. Maybe there are others that have got there to run with the best of them and I am just speaking from experience along with my friends.
Conclusion: Do not buy the marker. If you want a cocker go with WGP
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media