paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Empire 3+2 Harness / Empire 3+2 Harness / Empire 3+2 Harness

Empire 3+2 Harness Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Empire

Buy Empire 3+2 Harness

Paintball Packs / Harnesses

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Empire 3+2 Harness
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 18
Average Rating: 8.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Empire's line of harnesses have arrived on the scene are are sure to provide you with the carrying capacity you need. - Innovative, light-weight design
-Heavy Duty styling
Product Availability 
The Empire 3+2 Harness are older, so while they may be available used and in a few cases new, they are not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
FireFox Thursday, January 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months7 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Java, WGP Tactical, and some no names
Marker Setup: Vision Shocker SFT
Strengths: Comfort
Quality
Size
Weaknesses: Price
No extras
Review: This is a very comfortable pack that comes in different sizes (S-M) (M-L) which is a rarity for harnesses. It's usually one size fits all. Also comes in different pod carrying varieties. Mine is the above shown 3+2. 3+2 means you can carry three pods of paint in it's usually loops, and if you want, comes with folded away elastic loops that can carry two more (for those of you who don't know).

Why I love it. I'm a front player, and this pod is extremely low profile. The waist band on this thing is extremely wide, so from top to bottom your pods are pressed closely against your back. In other words, if you are crouched or hunched over, your pods aren't as likely to be pointed up straight in the air.

The three main rings are capped by dual elastic bands. This is a great feature because they act as catapults. When you unvelcro the bottom to remove a pod, the elastic band will give a little bit of push down to help the pod out. They won't shoot out or anything, but if you use tall 140 pods like I do, it puts alot of tension on those bands. Consequently, you shouldn't leave pods in there when your'e not playing or you'll wear out there effectiveness over time.

Because of the wide belt and large amount of surface area against your back, this pad is excellent at staying place during a full sprint. Modest padding on your back feels good too.

On top of the huge amount of velcro in the front that keeps this thing on is a second smaller band of velcro that goes over the first one with the Empire logo on it.. Just picture wearing two belts in the front. It really seems like over kill, and pointless unless you dive. I tend to go head first on my belly into the ground when making a break for a bunker. With this thing, I had no doubt that it was not coming off thanks to that redundant layer of velcroing. No chance this pack falls off. No chance.

Finally, it really, really looks cool.

The Not So Good:
There's no pockets on here for any little thing. But then I looked down at my paintball pants and realized I had like 42 pockets all over the place. So really, what's the point. But I figured it merited mentioning.
Also, price. But the truth is, all harnesses over 20 bucks are overpriced.
Conclusion: If it's good enough for Chris Lasoya, it's good enough for you.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 1st, 2004 at 8:44 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

f2f4 Monday, April 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Some $15 generic pack... downright awful, compared to this.
Marker Setup: If you REALLY wanna see my setups... which I doubt, go to:
http://www.freewebs.com/f2f4
Strengths: - VERY durable
- Excellent fit and support
- Easy to take out/add pods
Weaknesses: - No pockets (Doesn't matter to me)
Review: This pack, along with the C5 and NXe, is among THE BEST OUT THERE. The comfort and adjustability is insane, and the huge front elastic strap ensures that the pack will lie flat against your back, even when bending over (as opposed to most other packs that will stick up in the air). Another key feature is how well the pod-release system works. When you pull the strap, the pod is literally ejected out an inch or two into your waiting hand, saving a lot of time. This pack is also made of some very durable stuff, will all the seams double and triple-stiched. The lack of any pockets doesn't matter to me, since my pants have more than enough.

UPDATE: Sadly, over the course of about 8 months, the velcro on this pack seems to have literally disentegrated. I hope Empire has fixed this issue, because if not, that's uncool...

In the meantime, look into the newer CP and Syndicate packs. Same exact design, higher quality.
Conclusion: Low profile, light-weight, awesome back support (no more back pain for me at the end of the day), and a really nicely-working "pod-ejection" system. This has to be one of the best packs I've ever used.

UPDATE: Until it fell apart, that is.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 18th, 2005 at 9:16 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pballhoser98 Monday, February 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
jt usa tournament harness
Marker Setup: ICD Freestyle silver to black fade with an evo II. used to have a tippmann 98 Custom with a response trigger, J&J 2 pc. stainless 14 inch barrel, Viewloader Revolution loader, low pressure kit, Crossfire 3000 psi 68 ci preset, and double trigger
Strengths: Holds 140 pods, keeps them in unlike jt tournament harness, dont bounce around
Weaknesses: Slide around on waist when crawling, ejecto pod system, no squeegee pockets
Review: I got this harness last Xmas and it's great. holds 3 in the sleeves and 2 in the loops. But i play Xball so i only use the 3 sleeves. The good things about this harness is that it is durable and does not bounce around your waist when you run, it is pretty light and is breathable, and the pods have a very tight fit. The few bad things about this harness is when you are trying to reload and open up on of the sleeves, if you dont grab it right away it will fly out of the sleeve either into your hand or onto the ground. Also if you play front like me and are crawling around in the snake, the harness tends to slide around to your waist.
Also there are no pockets for squeegees. I cut the top part off of the harness so the pod sticks out instead of being wrapped around that elastic stuff
Conclusion: Overall this is a good harness for any player, its does its job.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, March 27th, 2005 at 3:33 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sleeperide Friday, November 14th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
redz pro pack 4v+1h pack, redz dimension 5+4 pack, and the old school stuff that i forgot the names
Marker Setup: Psycho Ballistics lighting autococker black, empire barrel kit, black ice regulator, Psycho Ballistics drop forward, 88ci 4500psi cross fire stubby, 12v empire hopper.
Strengths: no sagging when pack is fulled with paint, well made and tuff, looks great
Weaknesses: just a little pain to take off and on
Review: well i been using redz pack for a long time say 2 to 3 years, and i haven't found a pack that keeps tight on you, when you have a half case of paint on your back. also it got to look good when you are wearing it. because 40% of paint-balling is to look good. i used the pack for the first time 2 weeks ago at a local field. it felt like there was nothing on me the hole day. i could be sitting down, walking, run, or crawling. it just was still sitting my back.

well the good and the bad!

GOOD

1. looks really good
2. fits tight and doesn't move
3. no sagging from weight of the paint
4. made to last
5. great for the price

BAD

1. to many logos of empire on it. not saying it is a bad thing! but come on we know who makes it
2. takes a little more time to take the pack off and put on then other type of packs.
3. belt size hard to find
4. only comes in black for now
Conclusion: well my conclusion for the pack is. the pack is the sweeties pack for a noob or a pro. so if you are just starting out or been playing for half your life. this pack is the one to get. great for front players to the back players. the only problem from the pack for the bigger players is finding the right size. i give it a 10 out of 10
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, November 14th, 2003 at 9:59 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

impulse24062 Thursday, November 6th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Reds, DYE, RASE
Marker Setup: -2k3 Imp
-All ND internals and LPR
-Nitro Duck 68/4500
-HALO B
-14in Freak kit
Strengths: -Comfertable
-Light
-NO BOUNCING (even w/ all 5 tubes loaded 140rd)
-Holds 5 tubes
Weaknesses: None I could find
Review: Well I play Xball and anyone who has played Xball will tell you you dont need to be dragging a big huge pack around becasue all the games are very fast, even backmen usually only have a 3+2. As a front tapeman (snakeside) I only use the 3, the games are only a few minutes long at max, lol, one round went 17 seconds, but anyway...iit is very tight to my back, I am yet to be shot in it, but it defiatly doesnt sitck out the sides any at all. It never bounces on me, even when i make a mad dash to the 50, I have never had a bounce problem, stays tight to my back at all times and wont slide off when sliding. It is easliy coparible and equal to (my opinion) any Redz or DYE pack, and in my opinion better looking, thats why I chose it, the 3 seemed the same, but I thought the Empire looked the best so i got it and it was a good decision.
Conclusion: Buyt this pack, also MAKE SURE YOU BUY THE RIGHT SIZE!!! They caome in small-medium, and large to extra-large. You really cant go wrong, if you are stuck between the Redz, DYE, and wutever other kinds, get this, I think it looks cool, and looks are all that matter right...?
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SBallJunkie Thursday, July 1st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Redz, Dye, Evil
Marker Setup: Alias Intimidator, Techna Rapier, Dye UL, CP Rail
Strengths: Aesthetics, strong waist strap, doesnt bounce everywhere while running
Weaknesses: Pathetic velcro straps, annoying additional pod holders
Review: I purchased the Empire 3+2 a little over 6 months ago, and initially loved it. It looks great, holds very tight to your body, and has a great waist strap. It sits very comfortably on the body and virtually eliminates bounce. However, the velcro on the pod holders is awful. I take great care of my stuff, and after 4 months the velcro had already started to completely peel off from the pod flaps. I cant even tell you how many times I've had pods dump out of my pack off the break. Being a mid player, reaching for a pod and coming up empty handed really sucks. A couple of my teammates also had Empire packs, and experienced the same problem after a couple of months.
Conclusion: Definitely not worth the cash. It doesnt bounce, so what? There are lots of other packs on the market with superior quality that offer the same features of the Empire. Spend your money elsewhere.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

thundercat101 Friday, August 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Diablo 4+3 pack
Marker Setup: ion shoctech feedneck, new designs qev, blade trigger, empire on/off with srail, empire eleven piece barrel kit, 47c 3000 pure energy tank with redz cover
Strengths: Price.......it was like 40 at the field i bought mine from
Looks
Quality
Weaknesses: The elastic was tuff to break in
Review: All i can say is that if your a fan of empire and its quality poducts than this pack is for you. this thing is tuff i put it through hell every week and hasnt even started to dethread...lol i play snake just to give some idea of what it goes through
and this pack isnt just for empire fans if your a rec balle lookin for a good pack for a good price this is the one for you...........holla!!!
Conclusion: I give it a ten because of its comfort quality and looks.....the elastic was stiff at first but thats to be expected with new packs
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Im a Chimpanzee Tuesday, January 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMI Camo Pod Pack
Marker Setup: ACI Blind Rage
Psycho Ballistics Z-Drop
Evlution II
Crossfire 68ci/4500psi Carbon Fiber Compressed Air Tank

--SOON--
Smart Parts Impulse
Strengths: Tight fit
Price (i paid $30)
Comforamble
Weaknesses: Too hard to place pods back in the 2 elastic bands
Review: I recently bought this pack and i love it with the exception of the +2 part of it. It just to hard to put the pods back in the elastic bands in the middle of paintballing. Overall this is a great pack. Its lightweight and easy to grab a pod fill up and put it back with the exception of the bands. Pods will even stay in the hold with the strap open.
Conclusion: I definitely recommend this pack for someone who wants a great pod pack but doesn't want to haul loads of paint on their back. I kinda wish i got the bigger pack though so i could carry more paint. I give it a 9 out of 10 because you cant put the pods back in the elastic straps in the middle of the game.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 8th, 2006 at 8:29 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

bunkerboydrew Sunday, October 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
dye attack pack
jt speed pack
circle pack
Marker Setup: 04 vert(prostock) cocker E2
sto kaner barrel kit
70ci crossfire
Empire reloader b
Super fly bolt
Pursuit custom shop quicker ram with QEV's and micro rock lpr
CP shorty
Dye attack pack
Lock lid pods
Profiler

Shocker black 05
Stiffi 14 in .689
NDZ stinger bolt
NDZ roller blade trigger
Q-lock
CIP unimount

senario gun
A-5
RT
flatline
full stock (so it looks like and MP5 or SP89)
remote
6+1 black
CP pods
Strengths: Durable
holds pods tight
ejection straps
many straps to hold it tight on your body
Weaknesses: Not very much padding but it was still very comfortable
Review: Our backman has a 5+4 pack just like this and one day I got to messing with it enough that I asked him if I could play a game with it to see how it was. It held the pods tight so there was no moving around or shaking of the paint. This limited the noise to almost nothing. The ejection straps are nice but they caught me off guard since I was not used to them. They will fall out of the packer without you even pushing on the pod. After I got used to the ejector straps(pulling the Velcro off and waiting for the pod to fall into my hand I found that it took little effort and increased speed while reloading. I got caught in a small stand up bunker that I didn't exactly fit well behind, I was still able to reload because I didn't have to fight the pack to get my pod there's no more motion that moving your hand when taking a pod out, its great! This pack also had many straps that pull it to your body tight, they stretch while play to insure a sung fit all thought play(my dye attack pack also dose this as well as the circle). There wasn't very much padding but it was still very comfortable without anything putting pressure on your body. Its made very tall(from the bottom which is about where the pods lid is when in the packer to almost the top of the pod) this makes it very stable and comfortable. This pack has been in use for almost 3 months and still shows no signs of wear.
Conclusion: Durable comfortable pack made by empire with the ablity to reload fast with the ejection straps for a decint price. At least go out and try one on it will have you hooked the min you realize how comfortable it is.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, October 14th, 2005 at 11:23 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nerdcore Thursday, August 18th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Redz Dimensionz pack - similar.
Action Village 4+1 horizontal pack - total newb pack.
Dye Attack pack (old one) - more comfy but pods bounce & wobble.
NXe - best, imo. Better padding, better straps, no bouncing pods.
Marker Setup: 2k5 timmy
Lucky Un1tech barrel
CP direct mount
Kila detents
Empire B2
Guerilla Ambush 68/4500
Strengths: Fits well.
Doesn't slip.
Weaknesses: Hard to get pods in.
Pods don't "spring out."
Review: Not sure why i bought this pack. I want a new one & wanted to support my local shop. But this pack isn't any better than my Redz Dimensionz pack (except the Empire one is cheaper).

Same back-belt-type wrap-around style but with a rubbery textured backing so it won't slide around on your waist. Comfortable enough.

Pods don't slide in easily. Even when i have the pack off. And the whole "pod ejection" thing doesn't work as advertised. The pods just sit there.
Conclusion: Nothing special. There are better packs, like Dye, Proto, Redz, Ronin...
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, December 13th, 2007 at 10:03 am PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media