paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Palmers Pursuit Shop Vented Brass Barrels / Palmers Pursuit Shop Vented Brass Barrels / Palmers Pursuit Shop Vented Brass Barrels

Palmers Pursuit Shop Vented Brass Barrels Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Palmers Pursuit Shop

Buy Palmers Pursuit Shop Vented Brass Barrels

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Palmers Pursuit Shop Vented Brass Barrels
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 9
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $90

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
They are availible for Spyders, Angels, Cockers, and Automags up to 14".
Product Availability 
The Palmers Pursuit Shop Vented Brass Barrels are newer, so they should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
af895 Friday, December 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months12 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
PPS Brass 14" unported, Hammerhead Battlestikxx Recon kit with 5-backs, OpsGear Interceptor 18", stock 14" ported barrel, Smart Parts "Stealth" 19" ported barrel kit all on an SP-8.
Marker Setup: Palmer Pursuit Shop Blazer ser#: BZ2581, Right-hand feed neck
12" double-ported PPS Brass barrel, matched with sight bead, brass finish
vertical male stabilizer (a PPS high-pressure regulator)
Pure Energy 68/4500 HPA bottle
Pure Energy remote line
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything above Walm*rt level. Pro-Caps white box or any of their sub-brands like Draxxus and X-ball.
Strengths: Elliptical honed PPS Brass barrels will shoot ANY paint extremely well.
Weaknesses: Uhhhh...heavy?
Review: Background
My respect for and patronage to Palmer Pursuit Shop (PPS) started with an experiment. I wanted to try some or all of the major "heavy hitter" barrels on the market to cut through the hype and see what really performed. I had no preconceived ideas, just a bunch of cash for paintball gear and an open mind.

I was shooting an SP-8 at the time which is an Ion in a mil-sim shell designed to look like the XM-8. It shot well and I had it tuned to be consistent.

Side by Side Barrel Testing
Of all the barrels I tried, listed above under "similar products used", the PPS brass was the most consistent and forgiving on the SP-8. It shot a variety of paint well, ranging from low-grade field paint to white-box to high-end Hellfire. Further, it tended to shoot tighter groupings with all paint than any of the other barrels I tried.

The Side-Effect of the Side by Side Barrel Testing...
This tweaked me to the fact, while PPS doesn't heavily market their products, they just build excellent gear that works well.

I ordered a PPS Blazer fully mechanical semi with a 12", double-vented barrel, matched to the marker with a sight pin installed.

Wow. With double-venting ("porting") it's whisper quiet, on par with many electronic tournament guns I've tried and often shoot next to.

It is, like the unported 14" I'd previously tried, very consistent, accurate and tolerant of a variety of paint.

Why do PPS Brass Barrels perform so well?
The *theory* behind the PPS brass consistency is their elliptical honing which makes the muzzle and breech slightly tighter than the midsection. This acts as a "quasi-kit" but without any inserts needed and with no specific bore diameter but rather a general bore-size range that accomodates smaller and larger sized paint - a variation seen not only between brands of paint but paint in the same case.

Further, PPS has indicated they believe brass to have the lowest coefficient of friction against the gelatin that a paintball shell is made of. Brass is also a material that's easy for them to work, making it more practical for them to work the interior of the barrel to the elliptical profile they believe best.

Palmer is also making smaller bore barrels - they also feature elliptical honing but have a slightly smaller "average bore" for users of smaller diameter paint.
Conclusion: I don't see myself EVER buying another brand or style of barrel. The Palmers have perfected barrel technology.

They are also too humble to toot their own horns about it in paintball magazines or online. I'll be one of their supporters to do the horn tooting for them:

PPS is to paintball what Hattori Hanzo is to swords.
Only the select few will ever know this kind of quality - you should be one of them.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, January 1st, 2007 at 10:10 am PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, April 24th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: tippmann A-5
Recommended
Paintballs:
it is very versitile
Strengths: well lets start with looks, its brass, i have a black A-5, sounds like a problem but definitley is not. i used army tape through out the body of the barrel exept for the vented wholes. army tape makes it look like a mp5 with a brass scilencer at the end. im a big scenario guy and i think that kicks ass
no for preformance
1. dead close accuaracy, and when i say dead im serious cause thats what everyone is after one shot
2. quiet as a pin
3. very smooth with paint
4. made by palmer :)
5. it is honed
Weaknesses: some people say weight but thats only if u are a 5 year old kid who doesn't eat his veggies
Conclusion: this is one of the best barrels i have used, it is qaulity and that is important to a lot of people. if u want a accurate, quiet barrel then this is it for u
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, December 31st, 2000
 
7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: Very, very accurate (consistent), very quiet and efficient (20fps increase over stock phantom barrel - both 14").

Company very good to deal with, quick delivery and made to your specs.

Looks good (I like the brass look).
Weaknesses: Made of brass; requires frequent cleaning/polishing (ownly takes 2 mins), soft material (have to worry about scratching), heavy (although no heavier than SS).
Conclusion: I'd definitely recommend purchasing this barrel. My dream barrel would be a two piece, SS or titanium (for durability) and aluminum (to reduce weight), with Palmer's elliptical bore.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, August 22nd, 2000
 
3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: The most versatile barrel out there as far as using different size paint. Shoots marbs as well as nelson. It is by far the best barrel I've used. Very quiet dart shooter.
Weaknesses: Made from brass so you can scatch the bore up if your not caring for it like you should.
Conclusion: I would highly recommend the 12 inch vented version of Palmers barrels. They are eliptally honed is what sets them apart from all others. You can have them nickle plated, or powder coated on the exterier for looks. Glenn Palmer's research of materials led him to brass as the best metal for paintballs and the eliptical honing job he does makes a believer out of me. These barrels are just flat out the best I've used. ie. Lapco,Dye,Taso,Smart Parts,JJ Ceramic.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kurama Sunday, January 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Quite a few barrels
Marker Setup: Pewter Freak Factory Impulse #206 (Silver Highlights)
Maxflo Manifold w/ 68/4500 tank
EggII (Yboard. Zboard had problems so I'm getting a HaloB soon)
Recommended
Paintballs:
Atmosphere and Stinger shot great. Not so well with Hurricane.
Strengths: See Review.
Weaknesses: See Review.
Review: Strengths:
Custom feel, done by Palmer
Best honed barrel on the market
Great sound/efficiency balance
Brass is dead sexy
Very accurate. I'm a firm believer that all barrels are equal in accuracy with a good paintmatch and effective barrel length. The smoothness and honing on the inside greatly surpasses that of any other barrel. My shots were flat and straight, and they flew true. I got some extra distance before they dropped.

Weaknesses:
Brass is heavy
The holes on the porting were uneven sized, and the sizes showed no pattern. There were no bad effects I could notice, though.

--------------------

I used this on my friend's dad's automag. I nailed 6 or 7 guys each round with it. Shot groupings are amazing!
Conclusion: Brass kicks ass.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

steak_23 Saturday, February 7th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Flasc Double Thread
J&J
Redz Kit
progressive
Marker Setup: Bt Delta
Flasc Double Thread barrel
Remote Line
70Ci Pure Energy 3000PSi Tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
Most will work
Strengths: Accurate
Weaknesses: Heavy
Expencive
Review: This is a great performaning barrel! I need to say that first, it shoots great with fantastic accuracy! Its on par with my Redz Kit and my Flasc Barrel which says alot, I hear you dont need a kit with it but I generally dont use more then one insert in my Redz anyways so that doesnt nessisarily mean much to me but its a nice feature I suppose if it works.

I can say that the barrel is very heavy being made of brass, not like its gonna hurt your arm from carrying it or anything but still it is heavy. it fits in my Delta Shroud which is cool but I have a 12" so it does hang out the front, I got the apex adapter but I dont like messing with the screws as ive lost one and hate putting screws into my barrel so I dont use it all that much

not much else to say, its Very accurate, if you have money to blow then its not a bad pick, even tho you can get barrels with just as good accuracy for less then half the price.
Conclusion: great barrel for accuracy, if it were $40-$60 id give it a 8-9 and if it werent so heavy a `10. but my other barrels is just as accurate and less then half the price. so it is overpriced. I understand they are custom made but the fact that the price is high still remains.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Feed Kill Chain Sunday, February 17th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts All American 14" (Palmers less picky more accurate with majority of paint unless the SP was specificly matched to optimum paint).

Flatline (Better distance but poor accuracy even when matched to optimum Paint)
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Tippmann Double Trigger
TechT Vortex Mod
TechT Lightening Rod
TechT Squishy Paddles
TechT QEPH Mod
Shocktech Drop Foward
Shocktech Superfly Bolt
Polished Internals
Palmers Pursuit Male Stabalizer (With Gauge)
Palmers Pursuit 12" Barrel
Single Spiral Porting Option
Polished Black Finish
.690 Bore Size
Ball Dent Option
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything
Strengths: Shoots Anything (.690 Bore), Good to Excellent Accuracy.
Weaknesses: Weight, Price (Once you add on barrel options).
Review: I have heard many things about the PPS Brass Barrels. After buying one I can say just about everything I heard was true including the negative.

(Be aware that my review is with a barrel thas has a bore size of .690, I feel that if I ordered the .685 bore size that this barrel wouldnt be able to handle swollen large rounds of .690-692 caliber).

The Good - This barrel will shoot anything. No you dont understand, This barrel will shoot ANYTHING. I have put about 2,500 rounds of the most rotten, swelled up, dimpled field paint you can imagine without a single break, I have also run out of ammo in games and picked up this very same paint off the ground after it has been shot at me / dropped and shot it back at my opponets with no breaks. And it did this with pretty good accuracy. Now get a quality paint and accuracy goes from good to excellent (Marbs are a dream, I usually shoot Diablo Formula 13 because my friends Flatline likes this paint, and they are also good). Hold this barrel up to the light, and look at the mirror like smooth as glass finish inside the barrel and show me something that has a superior hone.

If your sick of worrying about how your barrel is going to perform with paint, you constantly go to fields with fieldpaint that tends to be unshootable, get this barrel. Im not going to go into detail about the technicals of the barrel, but one of the main reasons its so excellent is the eliptical bore shape that offers a good match to whatever paint somewhere in the barrel. That and the fact that brass has the lowest friction coefficient with paintball gelatin. Do the research, read the reviews, and you will be so blown away your going to think this barrel is all hype, trust me I did, but now that I have it, its the real deal... Also I would like to add that I got the single porting option (Due to reading about a moderate amount of porting being good at dispersing air turbulence behind the ball) and the hidden bonus of this single porting option was that it made the guns retort much more quiet. When I shoot next to other A-5's I wince at the noise level, I would imagine with the double spiral porting option and the smaller bore size this would be a very quiet barrel indeed.


The Bad - Luckily the negative points of this barrel arnt many, and are mainly a personal preference not neccesarily a pure flaw. Ok the first thing I notice is the barrel is very heavy. Im not a wimp, I am not complaning, but the barrel is heavy for what it is being made out of solid brass and it will throw off your gun balance if your using a remote and dont have a stock. I dont use a remote anymore and I dont have a stock and my A-5 is front heavy, even with a drop foward locating my tank under the grip and back of the gun. Some people say its to heavy to use, other people say people are wimps and its fine, The reality is its a heavy barrel that can throw the balance of your gun off so be warned (I am a Palmers fan for life and love the barrel but I am giving it a honest review and want people to be aware). Alot of the high end space guns / eguns are very light and well balanced this weight will definetly be noticeable.

The other bad point (For most people) is going to be price, yeah the basic barrel isnt to bad, but add on a black finish, some porting and a ball dent option and all of a sudden your 60 dollar barrel is a 140 bucks.
Conclusion: This is the ultimate barrel for people who just want to paintball and want to stop obessing with paint to barrel matching in order to get good accuracy. This is also the ultimate barrel for people who play at fields who only let you use garabage awful paint (And this barrel will shoot this garbage paint with good accuracy!). Buy quality paint with this barrel and you will have excellent accuracy, but if you want the to achieve ultimate accuracy I have seen Hammerheads and Lapcos that have shot tighter groups. But how often do you have the perfect ball for barrel? Get the Palmers slap it on your gun, shove whatever you can find into it and worry about your kill death ratio, not cleaning out your breaks. This product gets a 10 from me as it really is unbelievable as to how it will really shoot anything with accuracy. the negatives arnt enough to detract from the score.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, February 17th, 2008 at 1:45 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

fcatman Monday, February 11th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
WGP stock barrel on Trilogy Tactical
J & J Edge barrel kit (on Spyder markers, not tried on the 'Cocker)
Marker Setup: Autococker Trilogy Tactical SF Camo
Shocktech lever clamping feedneck
Shocktech bolt pin
Alamo City PB Delrin bolt
VL Eye Force loader

Spyder Fenix ACS
T-Board Version C
Stock clamping feedneck
VLocity JR loader
J&J Edge barrel kit
Bandit Bolts high flow valve
Alamo City Paintball Supply delrin valve cup seal
SPPS Snapdragon Magno-trigger
SPPS 50 g micro switch (splice type)
HPA and CO2
32 degrees spring kit

Spyder Rodeo
J & J Edge barrel kit
CO2
Zap / Archon Hopper gravity fed
32 Degrees spring kit
Evil Delrin Bolt / Stock bolt with venturi removed
Bandit high flow valve

Autococker Trilogy Pro SF (sold it)
ACI Griffin (sold it)
Syndicate Paradox ELE (sold it)
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any probably. I've been using some semi-dried out Visible Impact that breaks on the first or second drop from 6 feet (pretty brittle)

PPS will custom make your barrel bore diameter (I got a mediumish .690 to cover any field paint I may encounter)
Strengths: Inexpensive (see review)
Efficient
Accurate (see review)
Dead sexy
Weaknesses: Heavy
Need to polish occasionally
Review: WOW.

First the bad: the 11 inch brass barrel is heavier than the 14 inch stock WGP barrel. I also hear that the barrel will do lousy after a ball break. I have shot half a case through it and not had to find out (no breaks).

Now the good!

First, this barrel is actually fairly economical when you realize that it replaces an entire barrel bag full of barrel backs or inserts. The elliptical honing will work with a wide range of paint diameters (and work very well, on the principle that the pressure and g-forces will flatten the paintball as it accelerates through the barrel). If you have a closed bolt marker, the "wedgits" available will act as secondary ball detents - no more (or at least fewer / less) roll outs!

Second, this barrel is fairly quiet (I got the single spiral vented, the double is supposedly even quieter but less efficient).

Third, this barrel is efficient! (Hey, maybe the double spiral vented is still pretty darn good?) I instantly got 50 fps velocity increase switching to this barrel from the stock WGP barrel. Yeah it was a better paint / bore match, but it seems that the shorter length of the 11 inch barrel and the elliptical honing combined to help out on efficiency. I'll post actual number of shots per tank after I get in a few full 3,000 psi fills.

The looks? I think it looks great. Very old school. You can get them bare brass, nickel plated, glossy black or matte black powdercoated.

Accuracy? Top notch. But perfection can't exist for a liquid (almost) filled semi spherical projectile like a paintball, can it? I can shoot ball on ball at 65 feet with my 'Cocker with the stock barrel too.

Conclusion: Definitely look into one. Maybe not for you if you want insane light weight or tend to chop a lot of paint, but perfect for me. The two reasons it gets a 9 instead of 10 are: Weight (not a biggie) and possible accuracy issues after a ball break (love the J & J for that!).
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bvdave Monday, October 29th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Winforce (good)
j&j (not bad)
redz kit (great)
Empire Kit (not bad)
Linear (not not bad expecially for price)
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Super RT
Drop Forward with macro line
carbine stock
TechT Vortex
TechT lightning Rod
X-7 cyclone system
x-7 Hopper
a/s 16oz co2 tank
a/s 3.5oz backup co2 tank
TACAMO M16 Sight Rail/carry handle
TACAMO Mag Well
Tacamo 30rd steel magazine
Recommended
Paintballs:
Zap Spank, Zap Cryptic, basically anything really due to eliptical honing
Strengths: Acts like a mini barel kit
looks (i love the basic no flare look)
Weaknesses: Doesnt shoot through breaks the greatest,. not bad but not the best eithor
Review: All in all this is an awsome barrel, I have been using it on my autococker for a bit now and am pretty impressed, I even played a few rounds with seconds and it still held its own quite well.

the Brass gives a lower friction meaning less co2 used, and more accuracy. I had a redz barrel on before chronoed at 270. I put on the palmers and boom! 360FPS, I was able to turn my co2 way down meaning I saved a ton of shots per tank, and I thought I got lots with the redz kits! I played for 6 hours and didnt empty a single 16oz tank. so I still dont know how many shots per tank it gets yet, in the other games I rotated between my a-5 and the autococker so I still have yet to use a full tank in a day. not bad so far :)

Accuracy was great, better then my redz, even better then my winforce and much better then my J&J or anything else ive used, for the money winforce is still my fav but for the accuracy its definatly Palmers. it was ball on ball all day (save when it was windy lol)
Conclusion: If you want a cheep barrel then winforce is best for your money, but if you want the best barrel then definatly go palmers!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media