paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Brass Eagle Talon / Brass Eagle Talon / Brass Eagle Talon / Brass Eagle Talon

Brass Eagle Talon Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Brass Eagle

Buy Brass Eagle Talon

Paintball Pump / Stock-Class Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Brass Eagle Talon
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 243
Average Rating: 6.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $50

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Talon combines price and performance for anyone interested in exploring paintball for the first time. Uses 12 gram CO2 cartridges.
Product Availability 
The Brass Eagle Talon is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (25):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Vaypourus Monday, November 19th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
3 years11 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: 98 Black Teflon PF RT automag with $1000 dollars invested (too many goodies to list...look at the forums)
Strengths: Well.....I bought this gun over 3 years ago for $30 bucks. Since then, it has seen prolly 15 cases of paint. I have put absolutely no money into it, and I didn't even oil it the first 2 years I used it, always thinking I can always buy a new one when it wears out. Well, almost 3 and a half years later, it still works like it is out of the box. I beat the hell out of it, and it is more reliable than my mag (which has only died once....).
Weaknesses: 1. It is a brass eagle(nuff said)
2. goes through 12 gram CO2 cartridges like its going out of style.
3. It does break paint on occasion..about 10-20 a case(if not more).
4. The range is bad; you practically have to be on top of them to hit them. Accuracy is suprisingly good, even if you have broken a ball.
5. There are NO upgrades...if you want mods you have to do it yourself.
6. its plastic...scratches very easily and can crack (my friend's did when he smacked it on a rock).
7. Its made by Brass Eagle
8. its a pump, so the rof is relatively low.
9. Did I mention its a Brass Eagle??
Conclusion: For the money, durability, reliabilty, ease of use, and pure fun of owning one, I give it a 10 all the way. From a seasoned paintball player's POV, I have to only give it a 3 for performance, upgradabilty, looks, and cost to use it (the 12 grams can be expensive if you play a lot). Its an excellent starter gun, a backup gun,and a gun for projects( I am considering using the valve for a paintball shotgun/grenande launcher). I would highly suggest buying one for these reasons. Don't expect it to be anything it isn't-
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

aussey4real Sunday, November 23rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle: Blade, Samauri, Tigershark
ACI: Maverick
PT extreme
Tippman: Pro Carbine
Marker Setup: Talon Ghost (smoke color)
Vl 200 round hopper
12 gram co2
not too exciting

Tricked out spyder e99
all american 2 piece barrel
richochet hopper
shocktech delrin bolt
phsycoballistics on/off drop forward


Recommended
Upgrades:
-A 200 round hopper, The hoppers that it comes with sucks and it takes forever to load paint into them. Some people think that you should spend 10 bucks and get a co2 adapter for a tank, but i personally think that it is fun loading co2 into them. I wouldn't get a scope even though there is a mount for it b/c it is just a paintball gun. There really is not a lot of upgrades for this gun.
Strengths: makes you get close to ppl, lighweight, doesn't chop alot for a pump. inexpensive
Weaknesses: Barely any upgrades for it, Plastic, and short range
Review: It MAKES you get close to people and have awesome fire fights. They are really fun to just mess around with around the house. They are cool looking with a new hopper. The scope mount thing actually works well as an aimer. I used a wood board target to check it. It is fun to load the co2 in when it runs out. Very lightweight. Extremely cheap. It is very easy to assemble or take apart if paint chops. which is pretty rare if you have the right paint. It doesn't have a battery that you have to worry about changing and things like that. Yesterday I played a game with some friend and we got within 15 feet of eachother every game. I had 5 different kinds of paint that I had accumulated over the years and I used it up and only 2 balls chopped out of 500. Which is good for a pump and some crappy paint.

It is plastic, It takes a while to unscrew and clean, It is looked down on as a newbie gun. It doesn't have much upgrades for it. Can't shoot too far. You have to pump it and can't shoot it that fast with accuracy.
Conclusion: This is an awesome gun that you should spend the 30 bucks and get to have an awesome time paintballing and enjoy the sport and have really close combat. This is when paintball is at its best and fun. This marker doesnt break easily and does not require much mantinence. You should buy it today.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

Capman Saturday, July 6th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
In sort of a class of it's own.
A better option than the Blade.
Marker Setup: Stingray II Ice, painted black. I use the 12 gm CO2 setup and a 45 round hopper. This keeps the gun light and maneuverable. Also the simple setup is fine for a Rec' Baller which is basically all I am.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I'm not sure what to upgrade on this, but I'll bet that there is someone out there that can do a bunch of mods to this. C'mon I have seen people trick out Blades. So if you have the imagination Go for it.
Strengths: Entry level marker, Which will introduce numerous players into the game.
It does work and shoot, Therefore can be considered a threat to any other player no matter what they are holding.
Price range.
Easy to find and purchase. (Local Retailers)
Weaknesses: I will not say much negative about this marker since I always look on the positive side of things.
Only thing I can say is that if you mention you have one of these, some of the teen newbies in this forum (who claim they have Angels and Autocockers) might give you a bad time.
Conclusion: I can assure you that on a paintball field no experienced, mature player will trash you for having one of these. The experienced, mature player will respect and recognize the fact that it is a marker no matter what quality that has the potential to put a mark on them. It will be recognized as an entry level marker which will introduce numerous new players into the game.
A few posts down someone mentioned that you don't have a chance in a standoff with an Angel. First of all, I have never even seen an Angel on the field nor do I know or have talked with anyone that owns one. Chances are that you will never see anyone carrying one either due to the enormous price.
Anyone that bashes someone because of their marker is the Newbie in my book; inexperienced and ignorant to the fact that any marker is a threat. On the other hand the basher might just be an arrogant fool who as far as I'm concerned can just stay home. I don't direct this at any negative post. If you are seriously posting negativities about a marker than please do so, it will help players who plan on making a purchase on a marker. What I am talking about is comments like this one made by Piranhaman12 about the Stingray.
"This gun is a discrase to the sport of paintball, I dont seee why anyone would make a gun this bad. made by brass eagle. Out of 40 balls it probably chops like 10 . THis gun totally suxs. It suxs it suxs itsuxs"
Posts like this should be ignored. It's biased, arrogant and as not to be a hypocrite myself, I will not even mention his spelling, grammar and punctuation.
In short, no matter what you have for a marker the key is to go out there and have fun. Welcome new players whether they are carrying BE Blades or 'Cockers. Make posts not insults here.
MB
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

MRFIXIT08 Thursday, January 29th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
sheridan XGS, talon ghost, black max,
Marker Setup: pro/carbine with tippman 14 inch lapco bishot red dot sight and air tipps collapsible stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
you can get an adapter to where you can use regular co2, but i think its fun with the 12 grams.
Strengths: Surprisingly accurate and durable for plastic. Light. Maneuverable. Cheap. You get what you pay for.
Weaknesses: Hard to pump, not any purchasble upgrades, not terribly gas efficent.
Review: It seems like it's just a fad anymore to diss Brass Eagle. I think most of these negative posts are just based on heresay, rather than acutal experience. Don't get me wrong, Brass Eagles has made some crap guns. But this isn't one of them. This gun works and is very accurate at close quarters and medium range. I don't know why there are people comparing these to Tippmanns or Spyders. This is an entry level marker. That's it. Although I think it'd be fun to mess around with.

The ROF actually isn't to bad, because if you hold the trigger down while you pump it will fire, however if yours is old and worn out like mine was I wouldn't reccomend that. I was messin around with it the other day and I guess I pulled it to hard, and the pump handle broke off. I was saddend, this gun is somewhat a piece of paintball nostalgia to me. But maybe I can fix it.

The accuracy is exceptional, getting a 8-9 inch grouping at 75-80 feet. and despite the fact it's all plastic, it is extremely durable as well. I mean for a couple of years when I didn't have paint, I'd resort to shooting dogfood out of it ( to this day still performs approvingly), thinking that i'd either never use it again or even get back into paintball. But when I blew an internal oring in my carbine I pulled this out and was delightfully surprised. I managed to get a good number out that day.

As for gas efficency, it's not good but not necessarily bad either. Maybe 20 good shots with a 12, another 5 that you will notice a decrease in velocity. But then again it's a 15-25 dollar gun. What's to complain about?
Conclusion: Desite the fact that are no upgrades, its a good little gun that can be used for back up or just messin around with. Don't listen to half the reviews on here. I meen seriously, your comparing this gun to guns several times it's price. So considering its price, performance, and to make up for all the baised reviews, i'll give it a 10/10.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, September 3rd, 2009 at 10:36 am PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

Marius423 Monday, March 31st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Not many. I have had this for 5 years but just finally got heavily into paintball so thats why my exp and period of use are different.
Marker Setup: Powerfed Automag, 68/4500, Empire reloader, armson 9" barrel, psycho ballistics drop forward with gauge, 20 oz co2 as backup.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Bottom line tank adapter kit. and a gas through stock
Strengths: Durable as hell.
Cheap (around 25 now)
fun.
Weaknesses: Not very far of a range.
no upgrades, but no biggie
Review: Ive had this for 5 years and for the last 3 it has spent its life in my garage with tons of crap on top of it. Well i decided to dig it out yesterday and low and behold, it still worked! I just oiled it up and it worked like the day i bought it. Now the range isnt the best but the accuracy is dam amazing for this gun. It is pretty loud but eh no biggie. I suggest this for the person who wants to screw around with friends or target shoot, or for the younger kid who wants to start pballing but the parents are kinda leary about it.
Conclusion: As i said before its a great starter gun just not the best thing in the world. I do give brass eagle props for releasing this marker again as the ghost which has a better body and such. I give it a 7 because it isnt amazing but its exactly what its supposed to be. a marker for the person who wants to mess around with pball
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

theIornhorse Saturday, May 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
umm...my friends brass eagle once
Marker Setup: piranha ext pro g3,14 inch j&j ceramic barrel,Boss bolt ,high flow pin & cupseal,20 oz anti-siphoned pure anergy co2 tank.
electronic2k3 triger frame. Blade trigger.
Recommended
Upgrades:
not applicable
Strengths: cheap
great for the price
fun to just mess around with.
Weaknesses: made of plastic
pump
uses expencive 12 gram cartreges.
Review: well ive read many people bashing this gun but that must mean that they are not useing it in the right places. as in i WOULD NOT use this in a tournament,big game or scnario game because it just doesent perform well enough. i WOULD use it in the backyard,just fooling around,playing with friends etc.. you could use it in a game if you want to but i would not recomend it. It's cheap only about 18 dollars at walmart with the co2 cartreges. Iam not going to bash it because its not as good as most entry level markers. Iam not comparing it to my main gun eather witch can shoot 15+ balls a second(see marker set up) because it just can't comapre to it but its perfect just for having fun. iam not trying to make it do what it can't so for what it does and can do it gets a 10 not compared to other guns. if it were it would probley get a 1 sorry it's the truth. but as i said 10 for what its capible of doing.
Conclusion: ..Please read the review..
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, November 21st, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
2 years3 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have tested many Spyders, TIppmanns, Angels, autocockers...you name it.
Marker Setup: Tippmann M98c With dye stickies, RT trigger, Custom silencing, J&J2 peice 12", custom built Flame drop forward, 4500 Nitro, 12v Ricochet. And extras

Talon with custom made parts including barrell, co2 expansion, stock, and dye sticky grips custom cut.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Its good the way it is (unless your gonna do some custom work on it)....I sure wish the barrell was longer though
Strengths: Its light
Cheap
Durable
Shoots far and accurate for the size of the barrell.
Easy on C02
Cool to tinker with
Great starter gun for the price!
Weaknesses: Needs a better and longer barrell
Needs more upgrades ...I made most of mine:-P
Conclusion: This is a great pump/starter gun. When I used to play with this baby I hit probably on average 2-4 people per game if there were 6 playing(depending of course on how many were playing) This shoots far and decently accurate for up to 30 yards. I reccomend this to anybody who wants to pay nothing and get alot! Go buy this gun...
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

b1gf00t88 Tuesday, July 8th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
toilet bowl
Marker Setup: gun
Recommended
Upgrades:
no upgrades
Strengths: it shoots
cheap
good target practice
Weaknesses: listed below
Review: 1. DON"T BUY THIS GUN if you're into tourney
2. When cocking, it takes a lot of force to click it.
3. When shooting it has 10 shots that have descent power (250 fps) then outta gas.
4. has only a 10 round tube.
5. The pump handle actually marries up with the frame of the gun before it clicks, meaning that you have to push against the plastic to get it to click.
6. 12 gram cartridges only last 20 shots; the rest of the gas can be used to breathe in for buying this gun.
7. a small package of these cartridges costs like 6 bucks, compared to a nice 20 oz. that can hold a lot more pressure.
I'd like to say a lot worse about this gun, like screws that come loose over time and it's all plastic, but there are some descent strengths like it can be used as a backup gun if you plan on wearing out your arms from recocking this gun over and over.
Conclusion: For the money, you get what you pay for (bout 35 bucks at sports authority). If plastic frames, barrels, and self loosening screws are your thing, then get this gun. If not, then get the diablo sabotage. I fond this gun to be absolutely horrible and discraceful even though i don't play on a team, or i didn't even play with this thing at all. It was just something that my dad got me as a present or something. For only a few bucks more than this you can get something that can be shot and is worthy of using paintballs. All in all, if you want a super cheap backup gun or you're too cheap to buy a good gun, get this cuz it don't really break, or at least not at me just remember to put an o-ring on the nozzle of the inlet where the co2 cartridge goes cuz this gas is valuable.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

gdog5 Saturday, September 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
pgp, similar in that you pump it
Marker Setup: too many guns to list
Recommended
Upgrades:
only home mods
Strengths: It works
Quite accurate
Not as bad as i thought it would be
Weaknesses: Double feeds!
Triple feeds!
Holding pump handle can break paint in barrel
Review: I got this through a trade and i was suprised by how it performed. I was expecting complete and total crap, but its actually a half decent pump. It was pretty accurate in the few games i played with it. It does double and triple feed though. And its terrible when it does that in a key situation. Im modding it for a spyder detent and hopefully that will work.
Conclusion: Not bad for the price, but buying it will leave you wanting more out of a gun.
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, September 4th, 2004 at 10:26 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Spike242 Saturday, July 31st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Recommended
Upgrades:
All the upgrades are home mods
Strengths: Cheap
Easy to fix
Fun to not worry about
Weaknesses: Chops balls
Not air efficient
Everything else
Review: I have to say, I like this gun a lot. It's cheap as hell and I don't give a rat's ass if it breaks so, it's fun to not have to worry about. It's interenals are about three pieces and a spring so nothing can really go wrong there.

The bad? Well, everything. But for 20 bucks, what do you expect? The major thing is chopping balls and double (or even triple) loading. Watch out for that.


Conclusion: For the price, I'd recommend anyone to get it. Just get one to mess around with or to just play a quick game in the woods without gassing up your tricked out cocker or impulse or whatever you have.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (25):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media