paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dragun Dragunfly Mechanical / Dragun Dragunfly Mechanical / Dragun Dragunfly Mechanical / Dragun Dragunfly Mechanical

Dragun Dragunfly Mechanical Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dragun

Buy Dragun Dragunfly Mechanical

Paintball High-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dragun Dragunfly Mechanical
[ View Photos (12) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 68
Average Rating: 8.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $300

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Aluminum Swing Trigger
Custom Milled 45 Frame
Wrap Around Grip
Micro-Body Design
Quick Release Bolt
2-Piece Vertical
Dragun Thread Barrel
Custom "Fly" Beavertail (sold seperately)
Low Pressure Operation
Product Availability 
The Dragun Dragunfly Mechanical is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
bacaboy76 Saturday, December 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months20 of 21 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Black Magic, ANS, Veangance, nightkast
Marker Setup: Dragunfly Mech. (blue), anti chop bolt, wgp frame, bomb 3-way, sto ram, black magic reg, tickler lpr, empire barrel kit, 68/4500 crossfire. i believe thats it
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, reg, ram, bolt (delron), 3-way (block needs to be retapped)
Strengths: -very accurate
-quiet
-low press.
-cheap
-good ROF
Weaknesses: - Little Heavy
- Bolt (scratches inside)
- barrel (I have seeen worse)
Review: I have to say that this has to be the best closed bolt gun on the market for this price in matter of fact i don't know if there is another gun for this price. The gun i would have to say would beat out a stock vert. autococker. it came w/drop, reg., and bevertail. This is an excellent gun and is perfect for anyone who is going from a spyder to this because it is cheap and can use spyder barrel threads, it is also good just to get the feel of a closed bolt gun. It is also very accurate and u can tear up the field w/it. The only reason i say the safety as weaknes is because the refs at the field i go to gave me a really bad time and it really pissed me off so thats y i put it down but it isnt really any big deal.

Update! About 8 months worth use.

Alright well i have had some time to really get the feel for this gun and it has given me a couple problems particularly in the realm of the pneumatics. After about 4 trips to the field the 3-way started to leak and it was really minor and by tapping the actuator it would stop and i relubed the o-rings and it stopped all together, problem solved right, wrong. So i went to the next possible problem maybe i got the trigger pull to short and thats why its leaking well it still did it after i retimed it so i went and got new orings. The thing still leaked so i just went out and got a new 3-way, wow what a difference the 3-way made its so smooth and an even shorter pull, it also helped me keep more consistant pressure w/o the leak. Well then the ram started to leak and i just popped a new one on because i just didn't like the stock one on it anyways. i soon discovered thought that i also had to replace the pump arm because the threads on the back of the ram wouldn't fit the stock ram (ya more money spent). O well that was the last of my problems and the rest of the mods were just to get the best performance out of the gun and i deffinately have to say that it holds its own on the field. really great gun and i still have saved alot of money even after the upgrades. O one last thing is that if u change out the trigger frame u have to drill out a little space on the front of the new frame. Just look at the dragun frame thats what u have to do.

O and i changed the rating because of the problems, but its still a great gun and an 8 is still up there.
Conclusion: I would say to get it it really is a great gun and a perfect backup for my nightkast and i make fun of my friends because it can keep up w/there really expensive markers. I do hope that they make a eblade for it then it would be able to keep up w/my nightkast. great gun!
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, August 4th, 2004 at 3:38 pm PST
I found this review  
20 Comments - Add Comment

freezerburn456 Sunday, February 1st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
autococker wgp, many spiders, angel speed, 04 dynasty shocker, alias timmy, and last but the best "drum roll" a 03 phantom!!!
Marker Setup: 2003 Dragunfly mech, works grip frame, blue dye stickies, antichop derlin bolt, custom blue to black fade paint(not factory black to blue), ans gx4 drop, black magic reg, orracle 3-way, orracle tickler reg, planet eclipse ram, custom spring kit, 68/45 tank, evo 2 hopper w/ z board
Recommended
Upgrades:
new grip frame is a must, new barrel-stock suks, anti chop bolt-stock chops like its nobodys buisness
Strengths: accurate with upgrades, great value, comperable to $1,000 guns see review for more
Weaknesses: trigger pull is like pulling a brick, chops like there is no tommorow
Review: when you first get this gun dont throw it on the ground!! just read this review and decide then to throw it on the ground. when i first got this gun i thought it was a piece of crap. then i put a few upgrades on it. at first the trigger pissed me off, then i chopped the spring. this worked really well, and took next to no time(if you want to know how to just look in the comments). after that i just gave it a good lube job(that is also in the comments). the only reason that i put the works grip on was the looks, and it could fit the kind of beaver tail that i needed. as for all the other ups that i have put on, they are just for the extra preformance that i require as a professional.
first-GET A FREAK BARREL!! if you cant afford a whole freak system, buy the freak junior off the trading forum of this website. then make a friend that has the inserts that you need.
second-run this gun on nitro. that will help the freak and will save the gun.
then just do whatever you like. customize your gun to the way that you like it, and how it feels best. i put ups on to meet my needs and keep it modern.
[update]
i was bored this morning and i decided to re time my friends stock dragunfly, and man i have forgotten how fast those things can be. after only 30 min of timing and tweaking i got the operating pressure down to 300, and i maxed it out at 12bps. thats crazy fast for a mech cocker....now it runs perfectly but could somebody help me with this one problem--once out of every 30 shots about the gun dosent recock, i have taken the whole thing apart ti try to figure out the problem but cant see it. im thinking that it might be the spring, but just let me know.
Conclusion: this is a good beginer gun, and it is also a good advanced gun. i give it a 10 because it is easy to clean and amintain.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, April 24th, 2004 at 9:46 am PST
I found this review  
33 Comments - Add Comment

LaNcerZ469 Monday, March 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
VF Cocker (better pnuematics, doesnt look as good as the fade)
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra
Palmers Stabilizer
3A Barrel
Eggy II
ESP Frame
32* Universal Drop
Custom modded venturi bolt Crossfire 68/ 4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
NEW BARREL, Anti-chop bolt (from dragun), custom fixes (check review), revy
Strengths: Price, look, accuracy
Weaknesses: heavy, NEVER USE CO2
Review: Ok, my friend asked me to take this gun and fix the timing and trigger pull for him (he played with it too much) and this is how i started to use this marker.

he messed up the pnuemaitcs so he would short stroke, gun wouldnt re-cock, and his FPS didnt make it past 50 feet. (we were using co2 and everything freezed up even dry fireing sucked)

After i got my nitro i started all the dirty work. First i set his regulator at about 175psi and i has to reset his LPR. After these two regs were set CORRECTLY he wasnt short stroking anymore and cocked everytime after (remeber using nitro now)
At this point his fps wasnt up yet but thats just simple velocity adjustment where the cocking rod is.

Now the trigger pull out of the box s*cked n*ts. It honestly felt the the tigger was rusted and the pull felt like a regular mech spyder. After taking the trigger frame off the marker, i oiled the area where the trigger and the sear made contact and the rusty feeling went away after some trigger pulls (duh oil it!). For the trigger pull i just took the grip off the frame, took out the sear spring (its sitting right there can't miss it) and cut it a LITTLE! This solved my buddies trigger problem.

This gun is great for starter upgrading from a spyder beacuase the quietness and accuracy is great. After some quick fixes and Nitro this gun is a real beauty for the price. On top of the Dragun made the barrel threads spyder threads so if you are upgrading from a spyer or something like that, your "high priced" barrel you just bought will not go to waste! Also its a little on the heavy side, but i like it like that.
Conclusion: All in all, this is a great marker, if i had to choose a marker around $250 this marker has great performance and looks. With my few mods and good care... this cocker is the best if yoru trying to step up your game without a grip of money to be spent

I give it a 8
10 for price,looks and performance
6 for crappy trigger pull and self fixes
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

arnelcheeze Friday, January 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel IR3, Intimidator, Spyder Fenix, Spyder Imagine, 2002 WGP Autococker
Marker Setup: 2003 Dragunfly Mech, Check-it JR3 2 peice barrel, NitroDuck 4500 91ci HP with MegaReg, Dye Sticky Grips.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel upgrade is a must, you should run HP on this marker, and a new grip will help. Lighter trigger springs will help the harsh trigger.
Strengths: accuracy with is righton, the price is great - got mine for 198$, very quiet
Weaknesses: stock barrel sucks, if youre a puss the weight can be an issue, trigger harsh.
Review: This marker lives up to its name, its FLY. Really for the price the Fly Mech is perfect (got mine for 198$ with shipping, reg and beavertail). 1st thing is to replace the barrel, the stock barrel honestly sucks, balls were rolling out of it like it was a hopper, but who runs stock barrels anyway? (remember its a Spyder threaded barrel) Run HP on this marker, although it can run low pressure i prefer to run it at about 300-350psi to get the front pneumatics kicking, the gun is accurrate, from my experience as accurate as any cocker on the market i was getting 5 inch groups at 30 feet with HP at 280fps. The action of the pneumatics is precise and reliable, but as with any non-electric cocker if you half-ass your trigger pulls your gonna chop some balls, the trigger is harsh and heavy, but with a 5$ spring kit or a roller sear you can fix that problem. Rate of fire with the spring change is not too shabby, now that i tuned my trigger to how i like it, i can really throw some paint and accurratly. The grip is ok but i prefer the Dye Stickys which i run on all my markers. The anodizing and milling is near perfect with some minor hard to see imperfections but who cares... no one will be looking at your marker with a microscope! The look of the marker gives it an Angel look with a definate cocker performance.
Conclusion: The DragunFly Mech is an exellent marker, the price, reliability, and accurracy are the strong points. With the above upgrades, you can hang with the WGP's, angels, and intimidators out there.... for 75% less....i wouldnt say its better than the real AutoCocker but for 198$ and some upgrades, i love to take those high dollar guys down and they always ask what kind of marker im using... If you wanna be differant and save some money the DragunFly Mech rocks...
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

kmorris1 Thursday, February 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
2003 WGP Autococker
Marker Setup: Dragunfly Mechanical
Empire Reload Hopper
Derlin Bolt
48cu/3000 psi nitro tank
Rest of gun is Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel - stock is pretty nice, but I recommend a new one if you have the money (freak, freak jr., dye boomstick, etc.)
Trigger work - If you don't like the stiff trigger, get some spring work done, or buy some new springs, or just buy a new frame.
Strengths: Accuracy
Milling
Price - got mine for 195 on www.ontoppaintballcom
Takes Spyder threads
Quiet
Weaknesses: Doesn't take CO2
no other weaknesses
Review: I just bought this gun about a week ago. When I took it out of the box, the first thing I noticed was the milling. This gun looks amazing. After I disassembled the gun, I oiled everything and then reassembled. I shot about 500 rounds testing the gun out and everything worked fine. The accuracy of this gun is great. It is also very quiet. When you shoot the gun, all you hear is a sound as the ball leaves the barrel. It is almost scary
Overall, the Dragunfly Mechanical is awesome. It is a great buy at the price and anyone who like autocockers should get it.
DO NOT SHOOT THIS GUN WITH CO2. If you do, your parts will freeze up. Go with nitrogen or compressed air.

EDIT/UPDATE-------------- I have now shot around 2000 paintballs and only had one break with my empire reloader hopper. Pretty awesome gun
Conclusion: Get this gun. It is a great gun for Intermediate players as well as advanced players with a lower budget. With the low pricetag, this gun is a must have, even if you only buy it for a backup gun. You can't go wrong buying this gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 15th, 2004 at 6:55 pm PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

ST6 SIMS Tuesday, June 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Compact (not that great)
Tippmann 98 Custom (pretty good)
Evolution Autococker (never had a chance to use it, needed the money)
Marker Setup: Dragunfly Mechanical Autococker
3A 47ci/3000psi Nitro Tank
eVLution II Loader
12" Teardrop Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nitro, (CO2 will screw up the timing if not the pnuematics)
Barrel (stock barrel is decent but if you want better performance you need a new barrel)
Electronic hopper (egg 2 is needed, a 12v revvy is fine)
Strengths: Very cheap
Looks cool
Very quiet
Fast for mechanical gun
Weaknesses: Stock barrel isn't that great
Trigger pull is VERY Heavy
Review: When I first got this gun I wanted to take it out to the field that very moment. I wanted to tear though some peeps. My main concern was the fact that the trigger pull was very heavy, so i wouldn't be able to shoot very fast. I took it to the field and they just slapped a lighter spring on and lubed it up and it was super duper light.
Also I went to the field and neglected to get my gun timed because I previously owned a spyder and I was so excited to use it. At first my dad was saying that I got it for so cheap because the guy new it was broken. I explained to him that it was my fault it wasn't working and why cocker's need to be timed. REMEMBER TO GET THIS GUN TIMED!
Make sure you use Nitro with this gun. I used Co2 my first time not listening to people who said don't use Co2. What happened? It threw the timing on my cocker off. $25 bucks down the drain. NITRO IS A NECESSITY.
Also if you want an extremely accurate gun, you're gunna want a new barrel. It accepts spyder threads which is kinda wierd but who cares. The stock barrel is decent. I got about a 10 in. spread at about 45 ft, which is decent for a stock barrel but not that good for a serious player. I recently bought a teardrop for this gun and it now shoots like a dream. With my stock barel I was taking out guys with $800 guns. Now I'm taking out guys with Angels, Shockers, DM4's, trix's, you name it.
Also if you want to shoot a little faster grab a WGP Hinge trigger frame for $50 bucks on ebay and that will help you out a little. I can shoot about 11 bps with it.
Conclusion: All in all this is a pretty good gun. Just get a few minor upgrades for it and you'll be tournament material. Recommended gun go get it NOW!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

dragunuser Friday, March 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Never used any other closed bolt cockers, only open bolt blow backs.
Marker Setup: Blue Dragunfly mech, System X LPR, bottom line to adapter with on/off, 68 ci 4500 psi HPA, new barrel and revy w/the x-board. I shortened the stock trigger spring and thereby lightened the trigger pull substantially. It fires easy and fast now. (Don't take off too much though... or it won't fire at all.)
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel and soften the trigger spring.
Strengths: Great price, super quiet, very accurate, spyder barrel threads makes finding barrels easy.
Weaknesses: Original trigger pull heavy. Upgrades are still a little hard to find (besides barrels).
Review: My friends are envious and I enjoy it a lot. It has been awesome to play with. People are just so amazed at how quiet it is when it fires. It has Good range and very good consistancy/accuracy. Not sure how a delrin bolt will help, but I might try one soon.
Conclusion: If you don't have a cocker yet, and you don't have $500 (or more) to get one, then buy a Dragunfly. I've been killing the guy with the Angel as much and at the same range as he has me.... he paid $800 for it. The Dragunfly is well made and does what the other cockers do. You can't beat the price. So even if you have the extra money to buy the "real" cocker... buy a Dragunfly and use the extra cash on paintballs like I do.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

klecticdj Tuesday, February 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
M3 Black Dragun LCD: not as accurate and about the same ROF.
Marker Setup: ANS GX-4 (Palmerized)
Palmer Stabilizer
Palmer Rock Regulator
Palmer Quick Switch 4-way
Stock 14" ANS Barrel
Lapco 12" Snapshot Barrel
ANS Delrin Venturi Bolt
Pure Energy 68cu/4500psi
20 oz. CO2 with Coiled Remote Line
Gas thru Stock
eVLution II
Q-Loader

Dragunfly Mech
Palmer Stabilizer
Palmer Rock Regulator
A/A Back Barrel w/ Freak Tip
ANS Drop Forward
Recommended
Upgrades:
Palmer Stabilizer and Rock Regulator, but the Quick Switch 4-way won't fit because it has different threading.
Strengths: **Based on Upgrades**
Quiet
Accurate
Air efficient
Decent Rate of Fire (ROF)
Low Pressure
Weaknesses: Cannot Upgrade 3-Way
Heavy
Poor Trigger pull
Expensive compared to Ion+Trilogy Series
Review: **This is an Update on a previous review from my djFeedBack acct**

Registered that account before I realized I already had this one.

Three Reasons NOT to Purchase this marker:

*Reason 1*
The Dragunfly Mech at stock worked fine 2 years ago, however, with the advent of affordable high end markers such as the Smart Parts Ion and Worr Games Trilogy Series, spending the time and money to upgrade this marker is pointless.

The cost of purchasing an Ion or WGP guarantees the compatibility of upgradeable parts, which is not guaranteed with the Dragunfly Mech.

*Reason 2*
The Dragunfly Mech has Spyder barrel threading and 3-way threading different than cocker threading.

*Reason 3*
The trigger job takes time and patience that I'm sure most players are not willing to take in order to increase the ROF.

For the current owners of this marker, here are the steps for modifying the trigger to a lighter pull:

Step 1:Take apart the trigger frame. Disconnect from marker and take off the grip, beaver tail and spring.

Step 2:Cut 2 or 3 mm off the spring to soften the pull. **Remember once it's cut too short there is no going back. Cut bit by bit until you get a softer touch on the pull. This can only be done by feel because there is no perfect process.

Step 3: Gain access to and compare the trigger frame to another cocker frame. Taking a small allen wrench or hex key, tighten the small screw behind the trigger until the pull matches that of the cocker frame. **This means that the ratio of the pull of the trigger matches how far the hammer drops in comparison to the cocker frame. You can play with how long or short the trigger is pulled, but it is ideal to adjust the shortest pull possible for the gun to be fired.

Step 4: Reinstall and light 'em up.

**Timing an autococker is essential to the ROF of the marker, therefore, this trigger job must be completed in sync with the timing.**

Punch in a Google search on "autococker timing" as there are serveral approaches (I recommend cockertech.com).
Conclusion: In an attempt to install a Palmer Quick Switch 4-way, the stock 3-way broke and the 4-way did not fit the smaller threading.

As a result, I had to convert the Dragunfly Mech into a stock class pump because there are no aftermarket replacement parts.

**Note: There are no stock class pump conversion kits that fit this marker since the front block is different from an autococker. Rigging up your own is all you can do. Not even the WGP Sniper II will fit.

I hope this review is viewed by anyone that has considered purchasing this product, to do extensive research into other products.

Although this marker held me over the past 2 years, I gave a product rating of 4 because it cannot compare to affordable high end markers even with all the upgrades (over $250 worth).
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TRIPLE_F Sunday, December 28th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
warped sportz ir3 cocker, tippman 98, brasseagle, jt excellorator3.5
Marker Setup: Halo, pure energy 88/500 HPA, dye ironman Boomstick
Recommended
Upgrades:
I prefer HPA to the Co2. The co2 quickly turns this thing into a Snow Thrower
Strengths: The quality of the product for the price!
Weaknesses: It's not as fast as an LCD

Review: I bought one of these on ebay for 210.95 shipped and for the money this thing is unreal.
I did have to cure a fitting leak right out of the box. I had to also dial in the timing. When I first tried it we used Co2. The marker quickly froze a performance suffered. I installed a pure energy hpa set up and ooooohhhh baby. The stock barrell works fine but I personally like the dye Boomstick. A real bonus is that I didn't need to buy a new barrell, the dragunfly takes the same threads as my spyder. I look at thais as a bonus for anybody stepping up from a lower end marker. The trigger pull must be complete. When unloading quickly you can not treat the trigger as an electronic type. but if your consistent with the mech. you can unload a lot of paint with deadly precision.
Conclusion: If money has been a hangup in the past, look to this weapon to step up into the next class. It's priced to sell and it's good quality
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
11 Comments - Add Comment

Feelthepain Sunday, October 5th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Talon
Brass Eagle Tiger Shark
Brass Eagle Raptor
Spyder Extra
Game Face Bone Daddy RG
Marker Setup: 2003 M3/Dragun Dragunfly mechanical
autococker regulator with 190 psi settings
32 degrees drop forward with on/off
68/4500 2002 crossfire carbon fiber tank
ghetto-rigged beavertail
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
trigger spring
Strengths: accurate, good paint/barrel match
quiet, uses low pressure
great milling
spyder threads
sturdy
cheap
Weaknesses: heavy trigger
needs new barrel
doesnt take autococker parts
doesn't come with a beavertail
Review: This I can say is my first autococker type gun. At first I knew nothing about them and such but did much research on the net to find out what all i needed to know. As well as I had a gun mechanic to help show me everything. In my personal preference, i love this gun. The balance is to my liking and the trigger pull is what im used to. However it is very hard to pull, if your not used to it. I found it pretty easy to work on and adjust to my personal taste, which i like very much about autocockers. The gun takes spyder threads, although some people dislike, i like because my bone daddy had spyder threads as well. Yet the gun did not come with a beavertail, so I'm having to look for one. The gun does work with co2, but i do not suggest it. It will tear the o-rings faster and turn the gun ice cold while firing hot. The gun is very pretty out of the box and is only a little heavy. Not recommended for people who can't handle the weight for extended periods of time. It's cheap, and works just as well as any autococker, so long as you take care of it. The barrels ok, but id recommend changing it immediately if you want accuracy. I wouldnt worry about changing the bolt, it works nicely for now, but you can get the anti-chop bolt if you feel like its necessary.
Conclusion: its a good gun to buy and worth the money. Regretably, not many parts are out for it since its new. You can buy it now and become familar with it while parts start to come out for it then you can change them and know what your doing or looking for. Its a good gun for tournys and for any intermediate player to upgrade to.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media