paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Ricochet 2K Ricochet Apache / Ricochet 2K Ricochet Apache / Ricochet 2K Ricochet Apache

Ricochet 2K Ricochet Apache Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Ricochet 2K

Buy Ricochet 2K Ricochet Apache

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Ricochet 2K Ricochet Apache
[ View Photos (21) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 169
Average Rating: 8.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $129

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
A bend sensor in the feedneck, a unique Ricochet feature, signals the loaderís electronics as to when a ball has fed and the agitator must be spun. On the rear of the loader, the Apache features an LCD control panel with a built in game timer. Ricochet development expects the production model Apache to feed at speeds of 17 to 19 balls per second. While factory rated to 190 paintballs, the prototype held 180 without pressure on the paint. In testing, the prototype emptied itself very efficiently in 10.0 seconds of its entire capacity yielding an emptying rate of 18 balls per second. This should not, however be confused with an on gun performance rate where the flow of paintballs has more of a start and stop nature.
Product Availability 
The Ricochet 2K Ricochet Apache is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (17):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
SocraticB Sunday, May 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year132 of 138 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
HaloB; Egg; 12v Revy w/X-Board & JMJ Impeller; 12v Revy and 9v Revy

Only the Halo fed faster; Apache fed AT LEAST as fast as the Egg. It was as light as a 12v Revvy and had NO problems with forcing balls past detents, like the Halo does on some setups.
Marker Setup: 2K3 JMJ Crusader Viking w/ WAS, Mac Dev Conquest 68/4500 at 450psi output, stock feed neck, one wire detent, AND
2K3 Evil Omen, PMI 68/3000, stock feed neck, no detent.

Both tested with 2 brands of Diablo paint ranging from .685-.689 ID.
Strengths: Fast
Light
Easy use
Can work as a gravity-feeder in emergencies
Appears durable
Weaknesses: Loading is a PITA;
Slows w/low on ammo.
Bad fit in screw-collar feednecks.
Review: I. DESCRIPTION OF TESTING:

Bought the Ricochet 2K2 Apache recently, tested it out in the shop on my Viking and a buddy's Omen. I was very impressed.

We used some Diablo field paints, (Diablo Heat and a Diablo generic-box type), that had been sitting for a couple months; one was fragile and had a lot of variation in size, the other was larger, more consistent in size and less prone to breaks. We tested on both markers in single-shot style over a chron, and at rapid fire in both burst and empty-the-hopper style. We used about 1000 rounds total.

I can get the Viking going pretty fast, and my buddy's Omen has rather sick bounce. We can't calculate the BPS, as neither marker has a readout of it. Tried an X-boarded 12v Revvy w/ JMJ impeller, and both markers easily outshot it at least 1 in every 7 balls or so.

II. STRENGTHS:

SPEED: This is the most important facet of any loader. Neither marker EVER outshot the Apache, even at the highest speed we could get them to when firing to empty a full hopper. I can't remember when I had to come close to doing that on the field, so I believe we tested it in speed conditions it won't have to deal with in real life. There was no jamming, overfeeding or other problems. The bend sensor in the neck caused the Apache to feed when necessary, without problem. I have had problems with my Halo forcing balls past my detents; this was not a problem here.

SIZE/WEIGHT: Apache sits low on the marker, (when in appropriate feedneck, see Weaknesses, below), is light and takes 2 9v batteries that are placed in a clip then inserted into the loader body. It is much lighter than a Halo, and about the same weight as a 12v Revvy.

DURABILITY: It is made of lightweight plastic that appears to be stronger than the thin-shelled Brass Eagle Eggolution plastic. Reports indicate it is durable; based on my review of the Apache, I will take them at face value until proven otherwise.

ON/OFF: Very easy on/off switch with LED display that beeps loudly when it turns on, and a game timer. The display seems to be a little overkill; I'd have been happy with just an on/off. Game timer is nice touch; makes that one less thing I have to take with me on the field.

DESIGN: No force-feed means my Crusader won't have problems with balls being forced past the detent, messing up the eyes. O-Rings on the feed neck will help it fit snug in most feed necks, however, it was a little loose in a feed neck that my unsanded Halo is a little loose in. It was VERY tight in all other feednecks we tried. I'm not sure I buy the hype about the angled body deflecting shots - I think that's prolly just marketing at work.

PRICE: $85 isn't a bad price, when you consider that it's cheaper than a Halo and only $10 more than an Egg, and will be cheaper to keep fed with batteries than the Halo, and possibly the Egg. I've heard some horror stories about Egg shells and feednecks breaking and cracking, and if the Apache's plastic proves more durable, the extra $10 is more than worth it. It's a tad expensive for most woods-ballers, who don't generally need the Apache's kind of speed.

III. WEAKNESSES:

LOADING: The top-loading was a PITA, until we had a little experience with it. Still, you have to tip the marker sideways to make sure you don't lose balls when you load it. That can lead to having a bottle or arm exposed and you in the deadbox. A little basic skills and attention to detail should prevent this.

SLOWDOWN: I've edited this review to address the slowdown in feed speed the Apache has when about 20 or fewer paintballs are in the hopper. The paddles are very flexible rubber rods; they seem to catapult the balls about when there aren't too many in the hopper, which prevents them from going down the feedneck. I have noticed slowdown due to this effect, as well as some blank shots while the Apache tried to catch and feed the stray balls.

FIT TO NECK: I've edited this review to address the issue the Apache has with fitting into collar-style clamping fee necks. While the Apache fits just fine in normal and screw-clamp necks (like the popular CCM model), it has a problem in the collar-style neck. First, the Apache's neck, especially with the o-rings, is too wide to fit in a collar-style neck unless the collar is screwed all the way out; it also seems to stop most collars before they screw all the way down, leaving the Apache a few eighths of an inch higher than it needs to be. Second, the o-rings on the Apache's neck get ripped up by the tightening screw collar. Finally, the supporting plastic flanges on the Apache's feed neck cause the Apache to sit up a little higher than I'd like.



Edits: Added analysis of fit to collar-style clamping feed necks; 2-4-05. Corrected BPS feed rate error from 18 to 15, responded to comments. I will try Apache out on 17 BPS marker and post finding; 1-26-05. Added comments on bend sensor and bolding; 4-8-05.
Conclusion: IV. CONCLUSION:

I can't reach the 22+ BPS the Halo claims, but I can come close to 15, and the Apache fed our markers every ball we needed. No missed shots, low profile, less expensive than comparable loaders, appears to be durable, easy to use, no forcing balls past your detents. Unless you actually NEED to shoot more than 15 BPS on the field, there's no reason to get a Halo; get the Apache. If you play mostly woodsball, use a mechanical marker or can't get your marker going more than 12 BPS, all you need is a 12v X-Board Revolution at best.

This hopper loses one point due to the top loading issues and problems feeding when only a few balls are left. It loses another for the feed neck issues and lower ROF than the highest-end loaders.. It is still the best value in a high-end loader (as of 5-19-04)
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Friday, April 8th, 2005 at 6:52 am PST
I found this review  
36 Comments - Add Comment

Ice-Child Thursday, March 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months30 of 32 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ricochet 2K
Revi
Egg
Egg II
Halo
Halo B
Marker Setup: Racegun Halfblock
Nitro Duck 68/4500 X-Stream
SM-1 Barrel System
Strengths: Speed
Deflection
Fit
Timer
Shot Counter
Battery Guage
Weaknesses: None that I can think of
Review: I have run probably every agitated hopper made at one time or another. I liked the Ricochet 2K and was using it for a long time. But after I went to a Raceframe on my Gen X it just couldnt keep up. So with a little playing on the 2K I was able to speed it up a bit. But not much. So I tried about everything else that was fast at loading. Halo Downside is what kept me looking. Then Ricochet came out with the Apache. At a feedrate of 17-19 bps it will keep up with just about every electronic marker out there. Not many people can shoot 17 bps without going full auto or turbo mode. So it should keep up with just about everyone. It still maintains its deflection design which adds to its usefulness. A tad pricey but worth it. Weighing in at 16 oz with batteries versus the Egg II at 20 oz and the Halo B at 24 oz. If you are worried about weight at all it is the lightest in its class. It keeps up with me and my Racegun Halfblock, so it should be able to keep up with you. Only found one downside, which really isnt a downside at all. I let the batteries get a little low on me and it slowed way down. Other then that, which was really my fault for trying to run a set of 9 volts to far, I have 0 complainants.
Conclusion: Fast, Light, REALIABLE (Halo B isnt), well worth its price.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

ghost271 Saturday, July 31st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month21 of 22 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Revies
Marker Setup: '04 Immortal Viking, Pandora Board, Cp Rail/ASA, 45/3000 Pure Energy
Strengths: Reliable
Timer
Consistant
FAST !!!!!
Weaknesses: None that I have experianced
Review: Well I bought my Apache off of EBAY for $75 NEW !!! I thought that was a great deal so I scooped it up. I have seen videos of HALOs having problems and heard horror stories on other forums as well. I am not dissing the HALO by any means, but from what I've read and seen on the videos I couldn't justify the $200 CAD price tag. I have heard better reviews about the EGGS but I can't stand the look of them. I have always liked the look of the Richochette and seeing the increased ball feed limit of 17-19 bps I knew this was the one I was going to get.

The one I recieved didn't have all 3 sets of O-Rings so I wrapped some tape around them until it fit snug in my feedneck. I contacted the lady I bought it from and they are on route as we speak. While running around in the bush and doing some nice slides I had no problems with the hopper coming loose at all. Snap Shooting from around trees and angling the gun at 45* had no effect on ball feeding either.

Consistancy was flawless , and fed as fast as I could rip and I was RIPPING MAD ROPES !!!!!
Conclusion: If you can CONSISTANLY fire more than 19bps then look at a Relaoder B from what I've read and if not, the Ricochette will serve you well. At this point in time I am obviously not shooting faster than this loader so it is perfect for me. Sometimes I think people buy the most expensive goodies so they look 'Hardcore' and not out of necessity.

For $75-80 I don't think you can go wrong. Buy one. 'Nuff said.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, July 31st, 2004 at 4:08 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

finky Saturday, March 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: wgp 03 vert cocker,apache hopper,pure energy nitro tank,e-blade,pschoballisticsmed bullet drop forward
Strengths: light ,fast ,alot faster than egg,looks good
Weaknesses: none
Review: i have had this hopper for about a week and it is the most amazing hopper i have ever used and for a good price i got mine for 95 dollars.before i had a normal ak and it just couldnt keep up and now i just got back from playing and it went way past my expectations
Conclusion: it is a great hopper for a great price it is the best hopper i have ever used i reccomend you go out and buy it right now
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 13th, 2004 at 3:07 pm PST
I found this review  
16 Comments - Add Comment

jcmcdonald Friday, February 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ricochet AK/2K- the predecessor, not superior, but quality
Egg- Crap comapred to the Apache... outright. slower, uglier, sh*tty quality, only advantage is higher capacity
halo- only advantage over apache is force feed (allows you to shoot sideways)
Marker Setup: Featherlight Viking (wased w/eyes) cross45/4500, apache laoder, empire barrel kit
Strengths: Fast, light, game timer, no sanding, looks sweet, feeds like its vomiting paintballs :)
Weaknesses: NOTHING IMO
Review: I cant belive this thing... I got a great deal ($80.00 new) and I thought it was impressive just emptying into a pod... then I saw it hit 18 without ANY problems... probably coulda went higher but my fingers cant walk that fast :).... Remember what everyone said when they first put the Halo on their angels and impulses and timmys? this drew the same reactions tonight...

This is one of the most well designed loaders ince the halo. Id say they are Equal when the pros and cons are balanced.
Conclusion: Buy it and use it. If you have a halo, and it works well for you, stick with it. Personally, I prefer a little lighter weight and the looks of the apache. If you are using an egg, sacrifice it to whatever god you pray to and buy an Apache. They are superior in every aspect aside from paint capacity.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

TheMedievalMan Tuesday, May 3rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Gravity fed, always needs shaking, and you will chop if your gun is too fast.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom with Flatline Barrel, response trigger, Richochet Apache (the updated 2005 model), double trigger, Clear Dye Sticky Grips, Rocket Cock II, Dead On Rear Velocity Adjuster and Tippmann expansion chamber.
Strengths: Fast for all fairly fast guns, can be a gravity fed hopper in emergencies, light.
Weaknesses: In gravity mode you have to shake it because the paddles get in the way.
Review: This is an excellent electric hopper for paintball guns firing no faster than around 18 balls a second. You could use it for 20 bps guns but it wasnt designed to keep the balls flowing at a high rate of fire at that speed. You must remember that the number of feed that the manufacturers advertise is usually how many balls per second their products feed off the gun. But the stop and go nature of a hopper that is on a gun might feed one or two balls slower than advertised. Or it would feed that amount, but expect ball pinching, or even chops if you fire at a fast enough rate for a certain period of time. I use a 98 Custom with Response Trigger that fires at maximum 15 balls per second and that is right below the maximum rate of fire that this hopper feeds. So I NEVER have a ball chop. Its a very reliable set up. This electric hopper is very light and I love it. I wouldnt replace it with a revolution or even a halo or any other hopper (unless they gave the halo to me for free, and even then it would depend on which type) because this one has exactly what I am looking for in a hopper. For example, if I run out of batteries in the middle of a game (which has happened at least once to me so far) its not a problem, I can still shoot in burst, or semi auto with gravity feed. The only thing however is that you have to shake it more than you would a regular gravity feed hopper because the paddles slow down the drop of the balls in the feed tube. But its better than not having feed at all and having to call yourself out or change to gravity feed, or change batteries as you are getting shot at! The sharp angles of the hopper do deflect balls better than a more traditional design, but that is only at certain angles, distances and speeds, which is still a better chance than other hoppers. Its also very light, I am surprised even when fully loaded how light it feels on my gun. I like the LCD display, the very useful the game timer, but it is a four button set up and it can be very annoying to have to change the time you need on the timer. For example, you cant go back, only forward. If you had to go to 4:00 minute game timer and you are on 5:00 minutes, then get ready to go all the way around clicking on the button past 99:00 minutes until it restarts just to reach 4:00 minutes. Very annoying, dont make a mistake and go over other wise you have to go through all that all over again! The built in 20 minute automatic shut off is useful to save on batteries for the forgetful, like me. And it holds a decent amount of ammunition, around 180 before you have to squeeze in an extra 10, which I do not recommend you try to do. As of now, the Apache 2005 models are the best, before that the early ones did not feed very fast but Ricochete fixed that by updating the internals. You can get new internal upgrades like a 2005 model if you own the early models pretty cheap I hear for around $10, maybe a little more, I dont know, try looking at their website. Also the feed neck can have the o-rings changed for different sizes for customizability, a very nice feature for flexibility.
Conclusion: You can get a Ricochete Apache for between $50-$80 in most places. I got an LCD version for $55. Its a great electronic loader that is very reliable. I must have fired 6000 rounds from it by now and havent chopped a ball yet because its around 3-5 balls per second faster than what my gun shoots. Get this electric loader for your gun if it fires 18 bps or lower!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 8th, 2005 at 5:24 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

YoBoneDaddy Wednesday, April 20th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
- Ricochet G2K (Same deflection Engineering, but gravity fed)
- VL200 (Not comparable but still a hopper)
Marker Setup: 2005 Piranha R6 EForce
- C5 Concussion 47ci/3000psi
- 2004 Ricochet Apache
- CP 14" Classic barrel
Strengths: - Speed
- Looks
- Cost
- Controls
- Battery Tray
- Upgrades/Replacements
Weaknesses: - Slow with last few balls
- Can jam
Review: Cost (pro)
I got my Apache 2K5 off of EBay for less than 90 bucks Canadian shipped. That's less than an X-Boarded Revvy around these parts.

Speed!
Successfully fed a Victor II with a Dragun TES frame. I was doing a good 12BPS and it should no signs of trouble. I consider 12BPS fast and most loaders that say they can do 12BPS can't

Looks
I originally bought a Ricochet G2K, not because I believed in the ricochet technology but because I thought it looked really cool. The Apache is no exception. Whereas the G2K is a horrible gravity fed hopper the Apache is a great agitating hopper with the same pretty looks.

Controls
I got the LED version and I think it's a solid investment. Put it on your marker, press the button and rock out with your... well just rock out.

Battery Tray
I've read all the reviews on the Evo II and the reports of the battery hinge constantly breaking worried me. When I pulled out the battery tray of the Apache I just thought, "That is freakin' clever." If you haven't seen one it allows you to drop your 2 9vs into the tray and slide the tray in place, kind of like a clip for a machine gun. Nicely done

Upgrades/Replacements
If you want to move from a 2K3/2K4 to a 2K5 (faster feed by +~2bps) you can just give Ricochet a call and it'll cost like 10 bucks! My window cracked and they sent me a brand new set of shells, free of charge, no warranty information required.

Negatives...

Slow with last balls
Get down to the last 10 or so balls in the hopper and your feed rate will chug to snail's pace. It bounces more balls around then it feeds some times. When you get to the end throw in another pod and you're good to go.

Can jam
Yup, I've had it happen and when it jams it jams. I think I had to shove a swab up into the feedneck and manually bend an arm out of the way to loosen up the stack. However that was just testfiring with some year-old Zap rec paintballs. It has never done it on-field in a game.


*UPDATE* Since some cry baby thought I shouldn't review this until I "really" used it (pardon me I think my review was still a lot more real than OMG IT'S THE BST EVR!) I can give you an update. I take back what I said about the feedneck, the elbow I was using blew, way too wide. I used it on the bone daddy with a new Elbow and it was stellar. Locked in like a pittbull. Similar results with an Evil Smokestack on my shortlived Dragun/Spyder and also fits perfect in my R6. I managed to test fire half a loader with my VictorII/TES (tes frame on a spyder) and it fed perfectly, no problems at all. One of the windows broke that day of play... don't know how it happened but I emailed Ricochet and the guy just asked for my mailing address, and sent out a brand new set of shells! Now THATS customer service. To this point I love this hopper. It's light, it's not too loud and it's not too high up on the marker. I'm going to try it on my R6 this weekend hopefully, I'll let you know.
Conclusion: If you can find it for a decent price I'd say go for it, it's a great investment as agitating hoppers go, and it has similar performance to a Egg II without all the falling apart. If you have a marker that fires at 17 BPS or under this hopper would be awesome for you. Or if you have a high end marker with a good eye I think this would be fine as well. Only reason not to get it would be if you require 15 BPS or more, you can't find it for less than $90 or you have too much money burning a hole in your pocket. Me, I can't wait to get my next marker so I can put this puppy through its paces! -1 for the brittle windows and the high MRSP.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, November 11th, 2005 at 1:53 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

dpg3 Wednesday, February 4th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
halo b (feeds a little faster)
Marker Setup: diablo ar-1
ricochet apache hopper
pure energy 48/3000
Strengths: Light, fast, cool design, holds 185 paintballs,
Weaknesses: B+ battery life
Review: I love this hopper it feeds 20 bps which is only 5 bps lower than the halo b, but who shoots 20 bps anyway? My friends make fun of me becuase they think it's ugly and looks stupid but I'd have to disagree. It look so aerodynamic and has never jammed or broke a paintball before and it is easy to replace the batteries. This hopper is strong I have dropped it multiple times and not even a scuff mark!
Conclusion: so buy it, if you want a cheap, reliable, light, and fast hopper, get it NOW!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, February 26th, 2009 at 5:14 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bpiatt Thursday, January 8th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
VL 12v Revy, Halo, Empire
Marker Setup: 68 Automag Classic
Level 10, ULE Body, Intelliframe, Freak Barrel Kit, CP on/off, Palmer Stabilizer, DYE Sticky Grips, CCM Clamping Feedneck

2003 Vertical Feed Autococker
Sanchez Pump Kit, E1 Frame, Smart Parts Tear Drop, Smart Parts Vertical Maxflo Reg, Check-it on/off, Supafly bolt
Strengths: Light
Descent Speed
I personally think it looks good
Price
Weaknesses: Loud
Review: I am satisfied with this hopper. I got it from action village for 20 dollars. You will not get a better hopper for this price. I have not tested this hopper on any electronic markers, but I have never out shot it with my mag. It does annoy me with the loud noise it makes when it agitates, but for 20 dollars I really cannot complain. This hopper also functions as a gravity hopper which is also an awesome feature. I run this hopper on my pump aswell and its nice not having to listen to the loud noises it makes when its agitating. I have however never had a ball deflect off the hopper. Anytime ive been shot in the hopper, even on the side, the ball has broke. They also claim it feeds 17-20bps, im pretty sure its more around 13-15, but I have no scientific proof to support this statement. I have filled it and ran it into a pod, but I did not time it. It seems about equal feedrate to my 12v revy.
Conclusion: Overall I would recommend this product. Actionvillage sells them for dirt cheap, and at this price range I would not recommend any other hopper. It looks nice, feeds as fast as I need it to, and is very light. If your on a tight budget and dont mind some hopper noise pick it up.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Lord Manimal Thursday, September 23rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
9volt revolution
12volt revolution
"The Egg"
Marker Setup: Too many to list
Strengths: Durability
Functionality
Weaknesses: The "tape sensor" doesn't seem very durable
Led on the back does NOTHING usefull.
Review: 195 balls held, MAX. 190 comfortably.

Can dump out hopper in 12 seconds on the nose. (4 or 5 of those seconds are spent with the final balls rolling around with the arms trying to grab them to force them down).

The apache appears to be made of a somewhat brittle plastic, which doesn't inspire too much confidence in it's durability. I could be wrong here, but compared to the old fashioned viewloader revi's and traditional gravity fed hoppers, it doesn't seem as durable. (Recent testing has proven this to be an unfounded concern. It's MORE durable than the Egg, trust me.)

The apache itself is almost perfectly balanced when full of paint, which surprised me. It can hold more balls forward, opposite of the battery compartment, so it balances out the weight when full. When empty, more weight is to the rear of the hopper, of course.

The two pronged feed arms really surprised me. Compared to the Egg hoppers 6 arms, it just doesn't look like it could seriously compete. Turn it on however, and it's raining down balls just as fast as the egg.

The LCD on the back is pretty much useless. For all the buttons, all it really does is act as a game timer (and impress n00bz). I don't know about you, but in a game where I'm worried about time, the last thing I want to be doing is glancing at the back of my hopper and checking how long it is till tea time.

The battery compartment is a work of art. It acts much as a removable hard drive bay on a computer. Depress one tab, slide out the drive (batteries) and then just slide em back in when you're done. Simple. No inserting battery plates, and crap like with the Egg. The battery compartment also stands about 0 chance of falling out, unlike it's Egg counterpart competition. (Don't get me started on that flaw with the egg...)

The apache also has o-rings on the neck itself, so when it fits, it FITS. Almost too difficult to get out in fact. A locking feed neck is NOT required with the apache. It might even be useless in a sense; the locking feedneck that is for the apache.

The way that the apache senses when to activate, is also unique. It uses a "tape sensor" which is a peice of plastic circuit board that just dangles out over the opening. When a ball falls, the sensor notes it, and activates the agitator arms, which feeds balls into the opening. The concept works well enough, except on one occasion. When you fill the hopper from empty, and the agitator arms happen to be over top of the opening blocking it, no balls fall to turn on the arms, so you have no paint falling. I can imagine that being a severe problem when the game whistle blows and you take those first few BLANK shots, only to find the need to stand there and shake your gun till the arms activate. After balls are in place, there are NO problems, but still I wanted to note that. Also the durability of a plastic circuit board being bent thousands of times a weekend doesn't strike me as being particularly high. I haven't had this thing for very long obviously, but I forsee problems with that in a year or two tops.
Conclusion: Worth every penny. End of story.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (17):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media