paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dark Horizon Model 98 Titanium Hammer / Dark Horizon Model 98 Titanium Hammer / Dark Horizon Model 98 Titanium Hammer / Dark Horizon Model 98 Titanium Hammer

Dark Horizon Model 98 Titanium Hammer Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dark Horizon

Buy Dark Horizon Model 98 Titanium Hammer

Paintball Custom 98 Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dark Horizon Model 98 Titanium Hammer
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 6
Average Rating: 9.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $60

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
60% the weight of the stock steel hammer. The titanium surface is almost as slick as the surface of a non-stick skillet. The lighter hammer weight reduces cycle noise and kick at the same time increases gas efficiency, accuracy and cycle rate.
Product Availability 
The Dark Horizon Model 98 Titanium Hammer is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
challes2000 Wednesday, February 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock hammer which is way heavier
Marker Setup: Tippmann M98C with several aftermarket barrels(Lapco and JJ), Dark Horizon Lite Hammer and Dye Sticky grips with 16oz stubby CO2
Strengths: reduces the recoil alot-good customer service-moneyback guaranty
Weaknesses: none
Review: The Dark Horizon Titanium Hammer is a great upgrade for the Tippmann Model 98C.
It weighs way less than the stock hammer so when you go to shoot your marker it has alot less kick. If I had to put a number on it I would say my recoil was reduced by at least 80% which is amazing. Now I can rapid fire and my marker stays right on target.
Even with the reduced weight of the hammer by adjusting the velocity screw my marker is still able to shoot over 280fps. No other modification was necesary to get these great results.
Conclusion: This is an upgrade that you can install on your gun very easily and it offers a major improvement over stock with no added headaches. If you want to reduce the recoil of your marker I highly recommend this
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, February 26th, 2004 at 10:57 am PST
I found this review  
10 Comments - Add Comment

CustomPro595 Tuesday, June 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stainless Steel Model 98 Hammer
Marker Setup: CustomPro
Cyclone Feeder
PCS 98 Adjustable Car Stock
14" Smart Parts Tear Drop Barrel
Dark Horizon Model 98 Titanium Hammer
Lapco raised Sight Rail
Some sort of makeshift sling
Strengths: Lighter than the standard one
Polished
Easy to install
Weaknesses: None (cost is not one)
Review: Let me just clarify this to some people, 60 dollars for a hunk of titanium is a pretty good deal. It is very expensive. The wieght of this product is less than half the weight of the original steel hammer. It is also shiny, and very appealing to your eyes to look at. The next thing is that 'installation' is absolutely NOTHING. Replace the old bolt. That is it! I have used it and while using a stock , and lying prone on the ground for maximum accuracy, I noticed a significant difference in the accuracy(increase) because of less recoil, also in recoil obviously. The gun was quieter and its center of gravity was shifted because of less weight.
This product is very reliable, and probably better for your gun performance wise. Couple this with a RT and Cyclone feed and you will be able to feed 15 Bps EASY with this product.
Conclusion: This product i s a must have to improve the performance of you 98
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, June 27th, 2006 at 6:43 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

nateisgreat9 Saturday, January 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Normal Hammer
Marker Setup: Tippmann 90C
Apex barrel
ADCO Sure Shot
double trigger
rocket cock II
3 position car stock
cyclone feed
rufus dawg venturi bolt
R5 Ricochet
Vertical air adaptor
pro team intudor foregrip
DYE grip
dark horizon titanium hammer
maddman spring kit
Strengths: Way light
No recoil
Weaknesses: I guess price
Review: This thing is totally sick... there is absolutley no recoil what so ever... maybe its cause i got a stock... but for me, there is no such thing as recoil.... this thing is pretty crazy... i can walk my tippmann now... when you first get this product and take the normal hammer out.... you will notice a huge difference on how light this thing really is...
Conclusion: I'd say get it... but it is 60 bux to get a hunk of titanium.... i'd giv it a 9.5... cause of the price
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Beowolfff Friday, June 3rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock brick
Marker Setup: 98 Custom on Nitrogen / Flatline / Remote Line / ShockTech Bolt /Dark Horizon Hammer / Smarty Ion
Strengths: Titanium
Weaknesses: Pricey
Review: The Dark Horizon works. End of story. Simple physics should prove to anyone that doubts this that : mass + velocity = impact.
Don't believe it? Shoot yourself with your marker....now throw a brick at your foot. Which hurt worse?

The bolt on a 98 is a chunk of aluminum that will - in a lot of instances....crack the rear housing on the markers after long usage.
The titanium hammer is about 60% lighter in mass than the stock one. Less mass traveling = less internal weight being thrown back and forth in the housing.
This equals far less recoil, as well as overall weight on the marker itself. The marker will also shoot faster....especailly if you have an RT installed.
Simple stuff.
Conclusion: Want your marker to act like a new one? get the DH Titanium.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
13 Comments - Add Comment

tippmannrocks42 Wednesday, January 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock hammer
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom (silver)
32 Degrees whisper barrel
Response Trigger
rocket cock
psychoballistics double trigger
Dye sticky 3's
Dead on bullet on/off drop forward
crossfire 68ci 4500psi nitro tank
cyclone feed system
dark horizon lite titanium hammer
Strengths: Iite, has alot less kick than the stock hammer, much more consistent shots.
Weaknesses: Its a bit pricey i guess.
Review: This hammer is the best their is in my opinion. the kick of mi tippy is alot lighter and better managed with mi response trigger. Shot consistency is much much better, i could shoot a tree like 3 inches thick from 50 yards, no joke, and i did it like 10 times in a row.
Conclusion: another great upgrade for the tippmann 98 custom. Anyone who wants better concistancy in their shots should buy this emmediatly, and less kick too.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Model98Tuner Wednesday, February 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None, I've never seen another aftermarket hammer.
Marker Setup: Tippman 98C
BT Combat Stock
LAPCO 14" Autospirit Barrel
Tippman Foregrip Expansion Chamber
BT 3PC Vertical Adaptor
Dead On Gold Power Tube
Dark Horizon Titanium Hammer
Shocktech Supafly Bolt
Maddman Spring Kit
APP Stainless Kit
Tippman Cyclone Feed System
Tippman Response Trigger
Tippman Dual Component Adaptor
OpsGear Raised Sight Mount
BT Bipod Adaptor
BT Bipod
Lapco Cocking Knob
Shocktech Gauge Adaptor
Pro-Team Tac-Cap Hopper
SpecOps 3PT G.G.S. Sling
Strengths: Titanium, Build and Machining Quality
Weaknesses: None
Review: First off, I have to say that this hammer may not be the most important upgrade but, it is a great upgrade none the less. Even the customer service at Dark Horizon was excellent. In the understanding that it was titanium, I neglected the price because it didn't quite bother me.
I'm not sure if the hammer or one of my other components caused this but, before I tuned my gun with a spring kit I noticed that with the hammer in, the velocity and gas efficiency was sharply reduced. Whether it had to do with the hammer or not, I don't know but it may be something to look into.
Also, after about 5000 cycles you could tell that there was some significant wear from the sear but an insignificant amount from CVX Blowback.
Conclusion: Overall, wonderful product, no regrets at all. I would do it again, and probably will.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media