paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / MACDev MatchStik 5 Piece Barrel Kit / MACDev MatchStik 5 Piece Barrel Kit / MACDev MatchStik 5 Piece Barrel Kit

MACDev MatchStik 5 Piece Barrel Kit Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount MACDev

Buy MACDev MatchStik 5 Piece Barrel Kit

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


MACDev MatchStik 5 Piece Barrel Kit
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 22
Average Rating: 9.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $99

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features include:
2 piece design, interchangeable sizes
5 piece kit (3 bores, 2 tips)
Super concentric design ensures that the barrel shoots straight every time
Autococker threading or Spyder threading
Optimum porting for quiet operation and long trajectory
Bonus display/storage case and foam liner
Product Availability 
The MACDev MatchStik 5 Piece Barrel Kit is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
pbAddictWI Wednesday, March 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
freak, boomstick, cp, scepter
Marker Setup: Murder inc. BKO 2003.5, match stick barrel, aka tornado valve, aka mitty maxx, palmers micro rock, cp grip reg, cp flame drop, shocktech bolt, center flag 68 4500 tank, egg w/ Z board
Recommended
Paintballs:
anything and everything
Strengths: insanely accurate
light
quiet
no inserts
cleans breaks well
tip & back alignment
Weaknesses: not a damn thing
Review: everything about this barrel kit screams quality. anyone out there that is having a hard time trying to decide on what barrel to get this is the answer. i was between a boomstick and scepter. i don't like inserts and i am not rich either. the first time i saw the match stick i new it was the right barrel. first few times using it i was blown away.
my groupings were straighter and tighter then ever before. the accuracy of my snap shooting increased, as well and my down range field shots. it made my gun really quiet. depending on what type of paint your shooting it cleans breaks pretty well. the look of the barrel is sweet so it looked awesome on my gun, plus i never have to mess with any inserts like a freak or scepter. i could not be happier that i decided to go with the match stick over a boomstick, freak or scepter. for only $99 you get three backs(.685 .689 .693) so you can shoot any size paint, and two tips 12" and 14" both front mid and back players can use this kit. both the tips and all the backs align up perfectly with each other. there is just nothing better in my eyes.
Conclusion: overall the thing is amazing. couldn't be happier. mac dev put a lot of time and effort into making this barrel, three backs and two tips for only $99.... amazing, just like the barrel. for get over priced names like SP and Dye, mac dev is the way to go.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Synergy Monday, December 1st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
smart parts
Marker Setup: CYborg,68 3000,idian springs loader(me shoting 11bps thur it priceless)
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any with a good bore match, but hey you have more then one back so any paint will do fine!!
this makes $hit paint look good!!
Strengths: inner finish!! super slic bore
good self cleanner
Weaknesses: none.
comes off marker fine if you dont put it on with a spanner.
Review: best of all it comes with the two most popular tips (14in good for sup-air)(12in good for speedball)
and the most poular backs so u can match it to any paint!!!!!!!
VERY VERY NICE 2 PIECE KIT.
it is so cheap!!
this is a very nice looking barrel.
very light
Conclusion: GO OUT AND BUY ONE NOW!!
DONT BE FOOLED BY BRAND NAMES (pffft like MACDEV aint a brand name)
if you want to waste money and look like a dope buy a freak or a dye.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tdamon Tuesday, November 18th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
J&J Edge, Dye Boomy, All American, Feak Kit, Custom Products, Lapco
Marker Setup: 2K2 Bob Long Intimidator.
Recommended
Paintballs:
I've only shot RPS through it.
Strengths: Smooth Bore
2 Piece
Light Weight
Accurate
Weaknesses: One of my backs (.693) has a misalighnment
Review: I really liked this barrel. It's cheap and it's shipped with three backs (.685 .689 and .693) and shipped with two tips (12" and 14"). I use to own a J&J edge kit and I can't tell the diffrence between the two. It's accurate and quiets my timmy down alot.
Conclusion: Very good barrel, can hang with the other barrels on the market, half the price of a full kit. Have a misalignment problem (but can be replaced)
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, November 18th, 2003 at 9:00 am PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Anthony Sordi Tuesday, December 16th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
i have owned a wgp kaner and then this match stick
Marker Setup: e outkast with loads of mac dev and eclipse parts all that is left original is the wg frame and blocks
Recommended
Paintballs:
they all work
Strengths: cheap made by a good company and quality
Weaknesses: case silver instead of chrome
Review: I just got this match stick barrel kit. I already own every cocker upgrade mac dev makes so i decided to try out there barrel. The barre kit retails for 185 canadian were i live this is a very decent price. The barrels are light and are made with quality in mind. The anodizing is of very good quality. The back sizes are all usable and have the most common sizes 0.689 this is very good considering dye doesent make a 0.689 back, The 2 tips have plenty of porting to keep you gun nice and quiet. The balls shoot nice and accurate. The only down side to this barrel kit is mac dev lacks to make there parts in chrome i know this and have alot of mac dev silver on my gun so it looks fine but if you are going for an all chrome and black gun this is not for you. The other minor weakness is the case it is padded but isent really made to last. But all arround great barrel the 2 problems i have with it really dont affect me at all i like the silver and the case was replaced by and aluminum case.
Conclusion: Great barrel kit nice and cheap made to last shoots great
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, December 16th, 2003 at 12:15 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

RUNandSHOOT Monday, July 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Dragun The ONE
Recommended
Paintballs:
Marbs, all stars, chronics
Strengths: Accurate.
Light weight.
Cleans well.
Quiet.
Insertless.
Weaknesses: Check for bents in backs.
Case isnt great.
Review: This is a great barrel kit and well worth the money. As stated they are creating a new barrel kit with more backs and also a 10" front. If they sell them separately I am going to buy the new backs and the new front (hopefully they come out with it.) Anyway you can either wait a few months or get this one right now. Both will probably be great. Just make sure you check your backs.

Both barrels are very accurate. I wont go as far to say its ball on ball but the grouping is very very close.

Both barrels are light and from my personal experience it makes the marker well balanced.

I preformed a barrel break test as I found that others have done and after a couple of shots the barrel basically cleaned itself.

Both Barrels helped my marker become very quiet compared to the stock. Very helpful.

Lastly the fact that this kit doesnt have inserts so no more worries about denting or losing inserts. Although it doesnt mean the bore backs cant be dented.
Conclusion: This is one of the best barrel kits for your money. Sure it doesnt have tons of bore backs but the ones you get fit most to all the paintballs you would normally buy. It has done me great for the short time I have had it and it will do great for years to come. I do however must say if you dont have another hundred or so to spend I would personally get a Powerlyte Scepter Kit. Although it has inserts which contradicts my comments here these inserts are very strong and the barrel kit is well worth it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, November 28th, 2004 at 10:28 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

e2frontman Sunday, March 6th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock barrel
Freak kit
Evil Pipe kit
Marker Setup: 03 Vert Cocker
Eclipseblade E2
Nexus ram w/QEVs
Shocktech Delrin bolt
MacDev Matchstik barrel kit
Crossfire 68/4500 N2
Evo2 loader w/Z-board
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything round
Strengths: Highly accurate
Extremely quiet
Good value
Weaknesses: Limited bore sizes
Packaging not great
Review: I bought this barrel kit from my boss shortly after I got my stock cocker. The accuracy immediately improved, but the biggest thing I noticed was the noise reduction. You really cannot hear anything from about 15 feet away. As accurate as the Freak kit, and much quiter than the Evil Pipe. Kind of hard to find though, the only place I've seen it is on the MacDev website, www.macdev.net
Conclusion: This kit provides tourneyy caliber performace for a frec-ball price. An all around great kit, from the value to the performance.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

iridea929rr Saturday, January 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Boomstick, Freak, Evil Pipe
Marker Setup: Texas Storm Timmy
Recommended
Paintballs:
makes no diff!!!
Strengths: Shoots darts! Quiet! Awesome Barrel! Price!
Weaknesses: NONE! NONE! NONE! NONE!
Review: My thoughts were, hey, macdev makes good stuff. So why not try it out? You definitly get more than you pay for with this barrel. 3 backs 2 tips. It's everything you need for all sizes of paint. My suggestion is to buy one before the price goes up!

This barrel shoots darts, it a ball pops in the barrel it cleans out very well. It just does what you want it to do, there isn't much else to say. BUY ONE!
Conclusion: Awesome Barrel, Awesome Price, It's all you'll ever need! GET ONE!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Hideous Wednesday, November 5th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Freak, All American
Marker Setup: Sonic AC 03
Conquest air 68/3000
Long Shockteck drop forward
ANS race frame
Recommended
Paintballs:
Chronic
Strengths: easier to use than inserts
Weaknesses: can be difficult to get off your marker
Review: They come in a cheep plastic sleeve - in a foam insert - not a field usable box, so you have to buy a box.

They are made for cocker and spyder threads

Nice finish on the barrels

There is 3 sizes .695, .689, .691 and 2 barrel tips.

I couldnt see any difference in accuracy between tips with the Cocker

Here in Australia we pay more ~$163 US by the time we get a delivered.

Note that the first stage is difficult to get off. It would have been nice for some "grip" flutes to be machined in - or a tool to removed teh barrel from the mareker when it is on tight.
Conclusion: I would recommend these for those that only use a few brands of paint. Expensive.


Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

N_toxicated Friday, June 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
j & j edge kit 5 piece
stock
boomstick
Marker Setup: b2k4 - cp reg, cp on/off w/ cp perfect rail drop, waiting for vapor valve, delrin pull pin, z-board egg, polish internals, and edge kit

tes - jam anti-chop bolt , maddman rocket valve, psycho drop, polish internals, and matchstik
Recommended
Paintballs:
any, the three bores should fit almost any
Strengths: Quality
its mac dev
accuracy
Weaknesses: Ummm... nothing really, this is a good barrel kit
Review: Well you know you are gonna get a quality product because its mac dev. this barrel system is great. Accuracy is pretty much on top of each other and it cleans through breaks ok, not the best, but good enough. Its worth the Benjamin you have to lay down for it, just as accurate as a dye boomstick, but for a cheaper price.
Conclusion: Thinking about getting a boomy ?.... consider a matchstik
not saying boomstick sucks or anything ... i think they are one of the best out there, but the mac dev matchstik is pretty damn close
buy now now now now
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

speakerbox Tuesday, April 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
j & j ceramic barrels, progressive
Marker Setup: cyborg- not telling
Recommended
Paintballs:
I would recomend x balls
Strengths: Super accurate. Very quite and its realy cool looking
Weaknesses: I didnt find any problems
Review: Think is a great barrel fo thoughs of you that wont to up grade to a way better barrel set up. you can change the sizes so you wont break paint plus the bore size make you shoot more comsisant. the invest maint is realy worth it. I will give that upper edge from you apponiants. You will have more accuracy and so one
Conclusion: Great barrel get one if you have the $$
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media