paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / White Wolf Airsmithing Fr-Antom Barrel / White Wolf Airsmithing Fr-Antom Barrel / White Wolf Airsmithing Fr-Antom Barrel

White Wolf Airsmithing Fr-Antom Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount White Wolf Airsmithing

Buy White Wolf Airsmithing Fr-Antom Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


White Wolf Airsmithing Fr-Antom Barrel
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 10
Average Rating: 9.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $60

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
One piece barrel for Phantoms that takes Freak inserts yet look like a boomstick. 10" over all length works with Regular Phantoms and Micro Phantoms.
Product Availability 
The White Wolf Airsmithing Fr-Antom Barrel is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Thourne Monday, May 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Fr-Antom I, Various Freaks, DYE barrels, Lapco's, Various SP single bore barrels, ACI Zero Gravity, ect. (Pretty much every popular barrel introduced into the PB world:))
Marker Setup: VSC Phantom
Recommended
Paintballs:
Pretty much anything that is fresh will work with this barrel - it has changeable bores.
Strengths: Inserts can be switched out and the new design looks killer. 2 sizes now.
Weaknesses: There really aren't any weaknesses. The design is first rate, the workmanship is great.
Review: I reviewed the Fr-Antom I and I wasn't going to review the Fr-Antom II, but I still see a lot of people on these boards and others ask about the barrel so I figured I might as well put something up here as well.

I must first say this. The insides of the Fr-Antom I and the Fr-Antom II are identical (If you want to see my review of the Fr-Antom I look here: http://www.pbreview.com/products/reviews/2323/ ). The only internal difference is that the area of the barrel that would be called the "tip" area. It is longer on the Fr-Antom II. This isn't really a benefit or a weakness. It just creates a longer or shorter barrel. The Fr-Antom II comes in 12 and 14 inch sizes so there is a little more variety for the the user to choose from. The user can also pick either silver or black as a standard color and have it shipped out immediately or the user can choose any of the custom Phantom annoes and have it made to match their custom gun. This is a big plus that other aftermarket barrels do not typically offer unless you have it done yourself. See http://www.whitewolfairsmithing.com/barrels.htm and scroll down to the Fr-Antom barrel section for custom ordering and specs.

This barrel in general is a wonderful innovation for the Phantom. It has really filled a spot that every other aftermarket gun accessory has - the adjustable bore barrel system. Because of this I think the Fr-Antom line is a wonderful accessory. The Phantom line (direct from CCI) does have the detent rings, but these rings in my opinion are a far cry from a useful innovation. I busted many many balls in my barrel after using this system, and then when I went to squeegee I would lose the detent ring because I was in the heat of the game and would forget about that little part. The Fr-Antom is wonderful for all those players who already have a set of Freak inserts for their other guns. Now for less than the cost of a front and a back from SP they have a working Freak setup for their Phantom.

The look of this barrel is in my opinion quite amazing. When I first saw the prototype I was very apprehensive. I actually considered asking Joe to do mine with a custom porting design, but once I saw it in person I realized that he had created a wonderful piece of art. It kind of resembled an old stock Emag/RT Mag barrel, but it had a new twist to it. After playing with both the Fr-Antom I and Fr-Antom II for a considerable time each I now only play with the Fr-Antom II just because it is so different looking. When people see it they don't recognize it right away and that is a very good thing. It is unique and that is what playing stock is about to me.

The sound from this barrel is pretty much the same as every other aftermarket barrel out there. I can't really tell that it is more or less loud than the Fr-Antom I (which was very quiet) or from my DYE barrels or my SP Freak barrels. The difference in port is that this barrel only has porting on the last 2 inches or so where the other barrels I just named have porting at least in the last 4 inches and 6 inches or more in some lengths. I think this barrel is just about as quiet and because of the lesser porting it should be a little more efficient, but as of yet I haven't run any efficiency tests.

The Fr-Antom does have some competition in the form of the J&J Edge and in a set of any single bore barrels purchased in multiple barrels (IE Lapco Microshot, Autosprint, BigShot), and these other systems are good. When making your decision you have to determine the cost to benefit ratio. If you already have a Freak kit or even an insert or two your only investment will be $60. If you don't have the Freak set buying an insert and the Fr-Antom will only run around $70, but then you only have a single bore barrel. For the Edge your cost will be close to double that. For the Lapco combo you may pay even more than the cost of the edge. So the Fr-Antom is a very good deal. You also have to determine if the looks of the barrel fit your style as well. I personally like the Fr-Antom and the Lapco, but don't particularly like the Edge, but others do. This is all personal preference. But I hope I've given you enough facts to make a very educated guess when purchasing a variable bore Phantom barrel, and I hope you pick the Fr-Antom.



Conclusion: Look around see what you like, and then go with it. Even if you don't go with the Fr-Antom it is still a sweet little barrel, and has really helped with stopping roll outs. It works really great and anytime I go play with my Phantom I'm always shooting a Fr-antom barrel just because it wouldn't be convenient not to.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 17th, 2004 at 10:54 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Thourne Wednesday, October 8th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Phantom Barrel, Lapco BigShot, SP Freak, SP Big Daddy, DYE Boomstick, DYE Stainless, DYE Aluminum, ACI Zero Gravity
Marker Setup: Phantom VSC, Angel Mini-Reg in verticle air position, and HPA tank in bottomline ASA.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any that are round and fresh. It takes freak inserts so any size will work!
Strengths: Adds versatility to your Phantom.
Doesn't cost a fortune.
Better than CCI Detent Rings.
Weaknesses: It only comes in one length, and you have to provide your own Freak inserts.
Review: Any Phantom owner knows that finding aftermarket barrels can be a pain in the butt. Lapco, DYE and Smart Parts are about all you can find and those are typically in very limited quantity, and you typically pay more for those barrels. For some reason these manufacturers are intent on using stainless steel for the building material, and this adds unneeded weight to a very lightweight gun. On top of that you usually can't match your barrel to a specific paint. You have to buy paint to match the barrels you own. This product solves that problem for Phantom Owners by utilizing the freak insert system to a completely new design by White Wolf Airsmithing Inc.

This product looks like a 10" DYE Aluminum or Boomstick, depending on your pump handle size. If you have a Micro pump handle it looks similar to a DYE Aluminum and if you have a Regular size pump handle it looks like the end of a DYE Boomstick. It is a one-piece aluminum barrel that comes in many finishes. On the inside this barrel is much different than a typical one-piece barrel. Joe White, the maker of this barrel spent a very long time using trial and error, and his C-n-C Lathe to make the chamber that holds the Freak insert be the perfect diameter so no o-rings are needed to hold the insert centered in place. On top of that the design of the Phantom makes the insert screw perfectly in place so the insert locks between the breech and the chamber that holds the insert. This system works much better than the detent system created by Phantom creator, Mike Cassidy. You get a much more efficient accurate marker, and still reduce roll-outs because the paint is perfectly matched.

The finish of this barrel is top notch. I got the first one to be completed and was amazed at the quality Joe put into this barrel. The inside of the tip (where the ball actually touches) is polished as good as any other aftermarket barrel I have ever own (and I have owned almost all the big names barrels). The chamber that holds the freak insert is the perfect size. The insert goes in and out without any friction, but has absolutely no room to wiggle once it is in the barrel. If I look down the barrel the insert is perfectly centered, and the barrel looks like a glued two-piece when I look down the barrel.

When I first shot this barrel I was completely amazed. I was expecting a little lower quality than other two-piece barrels because the insert isnít held in with o-rings. Iím glad to say this barrel shoots better than the stock barrel, and shoots as good or better than any other aftermarket barrel Iíve owned.

This barrel is simply amazing, all Phantom owner should consider buying one, and if you already own a Freak system there is no reason not to buy one. This product really fills a niche that Phantom owners have been wanting filled for a long time, and for the price it is too good to pass up.

Joeís service was also amazing. He tells you a product will be shipped and sticks to his deadlines. He is also very professional and courteous of the thousands of questions I have asked him over email.
Conclusion: This product is wonderful it adds even more versatility to the already capable Phantom. If you already own a Phantom and a Freak go ahead and buy this barrel. If you just have a Phantom consider buying the Freak so you can use this barrel to its fullest potential.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, October 12th, 2003 at 5:29 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

apunkjunkie Tuesday, March 23rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Fr-Antom I
Marker Setup: Modified SC Phantom w/clear parts, 45/4500 nitro and Fr-Antom II barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any
Strengths: Takes freak inserts
Cheap
Weaknesses: None
Review: This is just like the Fr-Antom I barrel, but with a different look. This is an awsome barrel. If you already have a freak kit for other guns, you can just use the inserts for this. Very unique looking front end and porting making people ask what you have. Worth every penny. Fast shipping and great service.
Conclusion: Great custom airsmith. Highly recomended for this barrel and other products.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

yockey Friday, January 23rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
CP one piece X2, Freak, All American
Marker Setup: CCI Vertical Stock class Phantom, 4 oz tank with SP on/off, Frantom barrel, trigger shoe, 45 grip with adjustable Tstock
Recommended
Paintballs:
any good qaulity paint that firmly fits the slide of choice. Currently I'm using Fuel with a 691 Stainless Steel slide
Strengths: Cheap, looks cool, quiet, accurate, more consistent, short, slides fit well
Weaknesses: hard to find, only in 10 and 14 inch length
Review: Magnificient barrel, takes all the top of the following categories in my book,

price to performance ratio

length to accuracy ratio

length to sound ratio

The barrel's o ring fits into the breech so well that it's difficult to get on and off. That means it will never come loose in a game.

Consistency is considerably easy to maintain due to the fact that you can now match any paint to your Phantom. Including paint that didn't fit the stock barrels, like Hellfire, Blaze, and many other good small bore paints.

Slides will not slip or rotate, or have any play inside the barrel, because they fir like a glove.

Looks like a Boomstick! Which is a good thing to most people. At least me.
Conclusion: If you have a Phantom, then consider this upgrade. Simple, and now you can buy any paint you want for your Phantom. Stock rocks..............
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dockman Sunday, January 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
About every kind of barrel made
Marker Setup: Black VSC Phantom
-Pun Dual Rod Undercocking
-Pun bobed and gauged valve
-Pun speed block
-Frantom 2 with SS inserts
-Twinky Stock
-11" nickle barrel
-Red Dot Sights

Prolite, VM68, PGP.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything
Strengths: You have eight bore sizes to shoose from.
Weaknesses: None that I could find, everything in perfect.

Review: This is hands down the best barrel I have ever used on a Phantom, it shoots perfectly straight and is very versitile.

The build on the barrel is first rate and the anno job is flawless, all my stainless steel inserts fit perfectly.

I really cant say much other than this is a great barrel.
Conclusion: If you have the green by all means grab one of these barrels, you will not be dissapointed.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 2nd, 2005 at 4:49 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

aeronmb Monday, October 31st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Have used many, many, many single-bore barrels made for the Phantom.
Marker Setup: Phantom HSC
-Lots of barrels (ANS/CCI/DYE/J&J/SP/WWA). I am a barrel whore! ;)
-Pun's Bobbed/gauged valve w/ 32 degrees 1200psi gauge
-Pun's Dually Undercocking Kit :)
-WWA Ghost Ring
-Carbon Fiber Feed Tube
-CP rail
-CP on/off w/another gauge
-Lever Changer Drop-out mod
-Trigger Shoe
Recommended
Paintballs:
Always the fresher the better, but if they're close to round, they'll work!
Strengths: Nice build quality. Looks good. Works well.
Weaknesses: Must have your own Freak Inserts (a good thing if you do already).
Review: I have both the 8" and 12" versions and like them very much. The craftsmanship is excellent and they spice up the looks of any setup. Both are very light, but feel solid in the hand. I was impressed at how well the inserts fit both barrels - perfectly.
The 8" is nice for getting in tight and seems to be a bit louder than the 12" Frantom II (both are quieter than the stock barrel). The 12" is balanced well and is useful for sticking through a bit of brush or sighting down (Undercocking is extremelly helpful [and suggested] to help at sighting down the barrel. It gives one buttery-smooth pump, too, but that's for another review). Considering no barrel (or kit) will work its best with old, crappy, football-shaped paint, both these barrels shoot darts; there are no differences between the two as far as accuracy goes. They don't break paint often, but both handle breaks well and I don't feel the need to immediately go for the squeegie. CO2 effeciency may vary slightly (minimally I'm sure), but I have yet to do any studies, nor do I care to. ;)
Originally from WWA these barrels are available in gloss black, so I'll want to get these ano'd to match my rig one of these days. Joe at WWA could probably do it, but I wanted mine right away after his latest batch became available...
Conclusion: If you're looking for a barrel kit, this is a fine place to start. This is especially advantageous if you already have Freak inserts for other markers. The barrel is well built, looks great, and does its job wonderfully. If your Phantom is shooting consistently (CO2) and your paint is decent, this is the icing on the cake....this is why I have two!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, October 31st, 2005 at 7:39 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ItVVazntM3 Monday, March 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
CCI 11'' Stock Barrel
J&J EDGE Kit 16'' Barrel
Marker Setup: VSC Phantom
1200 Psi gauge - Hardline
WWA One Piece Feed
WWA Fr-Antom II
WWA Ghost Ring
Trigger Shoe
Telescoping T-stock
.45 grip
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any
Strengths: Less Roll-outs
Looks Cool
Well Crafted
Silent
Price
Customer Service
Weaknesses: None Found
Review: Less Roll-outs:
Since this barrel takes freak inserts, it has more barrel configurations then the J&J EDGE Kit. Because of this, if the paint is matched correctly, then there should be zero roll outs.

Looks Cool:
Joe really advanced from his first idea to this. This barrel looks way cooler then any other Phantom barrel, and as an added bonus, it works well too!

Well Crafted:
This barrel is well crafted. What more is there to say. It is perfectly smooth on the inside and the freak inserts fit in it perfectly.

Silent:
This is probably one of the quietest barrels I have EVER used. Don't know what Joe did to make it this well, but I really think that it is pretty quiet.

Price:
Most Freak barrels run around $100 for a front and back. Joe has his priced at $44.99 which is a great price for what you get. You can get Freak inserts for just $75.00.

Customer Service:
Joe's customer service is very good considering that this is just something he does on the side of his other job. With his quick response time, I generally have time to communicate 2-3 e-mails per day.
Conclusion: This is the best barrel I have EVER used. I fell in love with it the moment I used it. I believe everyone using a Phantom should have one of these. Best barrel out there!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, March 27th, 2005 at 5:11 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

spaz66777 Thursday, December 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Justice series, CCM kit, Empire kit.
Marker Setup: I run a phantom with; frantom II 8" with full freak kit, 13/3000 HPA tank, 45* trigger frame, 12 round feed, smart parts drop and bottom line with on/off, and trigger guard.

Trilogy Autococker, WWA justice series barrel (full freak kit), egg2, and Crossfire 45/4500
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any
Strengths: Joe from WWA
Freak inserts
Strong
Fast shipping
Weaknesses: None,
Review: I own the 8" version and I love it. It is dead on. It's almost scary. I look at someplace and think about putting a ball there and the ball is there. The 8" does need the 2.5 inch handle with it which I think I got from him too.
Conclusion: If you want a barrel kit for your Phantom get the Fr-antom and a full freak kit you won't regret it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

WarHamster Tuesday, March 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock CCI Barrel: No comparison, even with detent rings, the stock barrel can't touch the Frantom
CCM Carbon Fiber Kit: Not quite as accurate (bore sizers are more to prevent rollout then to help accuracy), though much quieter
Marker Setup: -Custom Built Sniper II (2001 WGP Body)
-Custom Built Autococker (2004 AIM Body)
-Upgraded Smart Parts Ion
-Upgraded CCI Phantom VSC
-Upgraded Ariakon ACP Pistol
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything high quality. Being able to accept most freak inserts lets you use pretty much any paint you want.
Strengths: Versatility (variable bore sizes)
Looks
Price
Weaknesses: Louder then the CCM Carbon Fiber Kit
Review: I picked one of these up on the last run before they went out of production, and I'm glad I did. I got my phantom used and the previous owner included a set of detent rings. I'd heard from multiple people that the stock barrel was awesome & with detent rings you'd never need anything else.

Now considering I've been an advocate of the paint to bore match before anything else philosophy of barrels since I started I was doubtful of that, and after popping a few dozen rounds off with my phantom out back, my suspiciouns were confirmed. It wasn't anywhere near as accurate as my Sniper II with it's Freak Kit.

I promptly went & ordered a Frantom & it was the best upgrade I ever got for my Phantom. Not only do I not have to worry about rollouts anymore when rocking & cocking, but it shoots as accuractly as I could hope for. If it's any sign of how well it shoots; I regularly use a red dot sight to great affect at my field on my Frantom equiped Phantom.
Conclusion: I can't think of any reason why you WOULDN'T want this barrel unless you were planning on dropping $150 on the CCM Carbon Fiber Barrel Kit.

If you can afford it the CCM kit will give you nearly comperable accuracy and a much quiter shot. However, for $40, you really can't beat the Frantom.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

senghing27 Wednesday, February 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Barrel-good
detent rings-good
J+J ceramic -ok.....
Marker Setup: Turtle Autococker
Eblade1 1.06
Nexus Ram
Planet Eclipse QEV's
Orracle Tickler LPR
J&J Ceramic 12"+Dye excel 14"
-or-
CCI VSC Phantom
Roin Gear elite stock class harness

Recommended
Paintballs:
Any, it uses freak inserts to go to paint match
Strengths: Function
Design
Weaknesses: None really...
Maybe WWA doesnt make em anymore......
Review: Well, this barrel is wonderful. Think of a freak barrel that doubles as detent rings for your phantom, There you go, its done. This barrel is just as accurate as long as you have correct paint to barrel match. It's design is awsome, and looks just plain sweet, it has the end muzzle break design and in my mind, it looks nice.
Conclusion: Great multi kit barrel in a single barrel. :tup:
get it if you dont want to buy expensive kits.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media