paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Rufus Dawg Barrel Muzzle / Rufus Dawg Barrel Muzzle / Rufus Dawg Barrel Muzzle / Rufus Dawg Barrel Muzzle

Rufus Dawg Barrel Muzzle Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Rufus Dawg

Buy Rufus Dawg Barrel Muzzle

Paintball Barrel Plugs and Condoms

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Rufus Dawg Barrel Muzzle
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 7
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $6

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The NEW Rufus Dawg Barrel Muzzle is the ultimate in marker barrel protection and safety. It features internal ribs that add to the fit and strength of the cover. Also features an elastic strap that will fit a number of different length barrels. Unlike most barrel covers on the market this is made of a injected rubber like material creating no sew seam that can take the chance of tearing in case of an accidental misfire. Also, it will protect your barrel from scratches and scrapes.
These plugs are sweet! You can't break them because they are a very flexible rubber. No O-rings, fits all barrels that we have tested, and stays in securely.
Product Availability 
The Rufus Dawg Barrel Muzzle is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Smart Partys Thursday, April 26th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Any type of generic Barrel Plug, barrel condoms.
Marker Setup: ICD Lasoya Promaster
Dye hyper2 Reg
Macdev Red Valve
Function 07 ASA
AKA Clamping Feedneck
DXS Pulse
Crossfire 68/4500 HPA
Strengths: Easy to clean
Strong
Rubber
Good design
Looks Good
Weaknesses: I cannot think of any.
Review: The barrel muzzle is possible the best barrel cover made. It is the only one that I have seen that is made out of thick rubber, so it is durable, protects your gun and is the easiest of all barrel covers to clean. It will not break and prevents accidental scratching of your barrel. Perhaps one of the most important features of the barrel cover is the weaving of the elastic cord. It is one piece and is threaded through holes in the cover itself, so it will not snap or rip off like on the average fabric barrel cover. To wash it, all you have to do is rinse the inside with water, then pour it out. When regular cover gets shot, it gets all greasy and is very hard to clean. I think the best part of it was the price. I got mine for $2.95 off their website and it is definitely worth the money.
Conclusion: I would recommend it to anyone who wants to have a great barrel cover for a low price.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ty_Ty_A5 Tuesday, June 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
other barrel plugs
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
14in CP one piece classic barrel 689
expansion chamber
dead on paintball Double trigger and
12oz and 20oz Co2 pure energy tanks
Strengths: flexible strong and it works and stays in the barrel and its cheap
Weaknesses: none but maybe more colors
Review: a good barrel plug it works it looks great its flexible its strong ive fired a couple of shots with it in and it did its job my other barrel plugs were always coming out or something i was going to buy a condom but i decided i will save 10$ and get an expansion chamber if you need a barrel plug give this one a serious consideration
Conclusion: if you need a plug this one could be the one for you
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, June 13th, 2004 at 11:19 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

donut10591 Tuesday, August 31st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye barrel sock/condom
smartparts condom
angel condom
Marker Setup: angel4
nduck45 68
revy x intellifeed
pipe
Strengths: Strong elastics
Easy to clean
Strong plastic
Customizable (see review)
Protects barrel
Weaknesses: None
Review: I love this barrel condom, i used to when i started and it lasted for 2 years. All i have to do to clean it is, fill it half way with water, shake it, and wipe. It doesn't absorb paint like other cloth ones do. And it's really durable. Another good thing is, you can spray paint it with different colors. (i made it blue, black and drew a smiley face on it :). Everyone at the field's like wow where'd you get that? Lastly, it protects the tip of the barrel, that's really useful, i was walking to the holding area (at a field) and my gun was slanted to the side because my wrists hurt, i accidently smashed the tip against a tree while i was walking next to it. The barrel was safe in there and the actual condom had a little hairline scratch, but i painted over that to cover it. I was at my local field one day and one guy just bought this "cool" condom that had no logo on it or anything. So, i was going to buy a screw there and he saw my barrel condom, he wanted to return his condom and buy the kind I have. LOL
Conclusion: I recommend this condom over others because you can also paint over it to make it look like the way you want it. It's strong and durable, i only went to a different condom because after about 2 years, i got my angel and used the matching condom. (although i could've spray painted the rufus dog condom to say angel. I love this condom and if you buy it, you'll love it too. All you need to buy along with it is, spray paint!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bernin Friday, May 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
regular barrel plugs
Marker Setup: E-99 Avant
14" Smart Parts Teardrop Barrel
Empire REloader
Shocktech Superfly bolt
Bob Long Torpedo Regulator
CO2
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: See review
Review: Oh so close to perfect!! Let see how it preforms each task a condom/plug should do...

Protect Misfires: This thing is made of a smooth rubbery material which is very thick yet malleable. This thing could take a misfire from a cheating punk with his gun set at 325+ fps with absolutely no problem, this is by far the toughest condom on the market and possibly the softest. Cloth condoms can rip and barrel plugs fall out after the first shot.

Prevent scratches: Again, the rubber type material is definitely going to prevent scratches but also chipping. What this plug can do over other plugs, is bounce (if you drop your gun or it falls over) and therefore protect your barrel better than any other. I'm not sure how cloth condoms do against chipping but barrel plugs offer no protection at all.

Ease of loss: This condom is fairly hard to lose in relative terms since it maintains it shape loosely in your pocket so you'll know its there without it hindering your movement. Cloth condoms are roughly the same in ease of loss but obviously barrel plugs would be easier to lose in a misfire since they don't have a strap and can fall out of your pocket without you knowing.

Well, that is pretty much it, but there is only one tiny problem:

Maintenance: The only flaw of this plug is that it requires a little more work to clean than the other types of barrel protection depending on how meticulous you are. If you misfire, you'll still have to deal with broken paint in your barrel like any other protector but cleaning the condom will require water. It is good since the plug doesn't absorb water or paint at all unlike the cloth condoms so all you have to do is flush water in the condom or fill it a bit and shake the water around or even use water and a fluffy squeegee. I don't find it a problem at all but i know some lazy people are bound to complain. If you have some cloth to wipe to off the paint on the end of your barrel before you put this cover on (which is always a good idea no matter what kind of plug you're using since you don't want to cover the porting holes on your barrel) you'll cut down on cleaning.
Conclusion: For those that are curious, it is five inches long and one inch in diameter on the inside, my teardrop is one inch in diameter at the muzzle and i have absolutely no trouble taking it on and off so don't worry about it not fitting your barrel. You can always use water, a cloth, or a squeegee if you ever have to clean it so it probably won't be a problem. It is really tough and even protects the barrel from butterfingers while other plugs just keep you from shooting other people when you're not supposed to. I'd recommend this plug unless you are REALLY lazy about cleaning of your gun and this plug. Basically its perfect, and any quibbles are on your part for being lazy. A final bonus is that this plug is unique and heavy-duty looking which attracts people curiosity and i find that it looks cool but that is for you to judge.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, August 9th, 2004 at 2:47 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dhoule Wednesday, January 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: AGD Tac-One w/ ULT
J&J Full Tilt Ceramic Barrel
Psycho Ballistics Z-Drop
MACDev LegionAir 05
VL Revolution X-board
Adco E-Dot Compact
Dye Sticky Grip
Strengths: Hard, high vis, unique
Weaknesses: Bad rubber color mix
Review: Cool and unique. Everyone noticed it and thought it was cool. Worked great, better than cloth socks. Only complaint is that it's brand new and the yellow rubber color is starting to get weird orange swirls in it, as though they didn't mix the rubber color agents correctly or something. No biggie, doesn't make it work badly, it just makes it slightly ugly.
Conclusion: Recommended buy. The unique factor is huge. If you have to use a cover might as well be something cool and different, right?
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TheBoss429 Friday, May 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Generic Barrel Condom, Homemade duct tape barrel condom, Barrel plug
Marker Setup: 2k4 Spyder E-99 Avant
48/3000 PMI HP HPA tank
14" CP 1-Piece Classic Barrel .689
Empire Reloader II
Strengths: Rubber - Strong, wont rip or scratch barrel.
Cheap - Same cost as a generic barrel condom.
Weaknesses: None that i've seen
Review: I got the muzzle because i liked the look and the fact it was made form rubber and have not been disappointed. It is very strong because it is made from rubber and i doubt it would rip, plus the attached cord isn't sewed into the material like a cloth barrel condom instead it is strung through a bunch of loops which i think would made it less likely be to broken or ripped. I think it looks better than a fabric barrel condom because it is rounded and hugs your barrel unlike the fabric ones that are much bigger than your barrel and just sit on the end of it. The muzzle also has really good grip from the fact it is rubber, when i have to take it off it is a little hard because it grips so well, if i shoot into it it wont even move. And if you do shoot into it it wont leach into the condom like the fabric one i had , just run some water into it and the paint will just wash out of the bottom of it.

Probably the main reason why it is so great is because of it being made of rubber, the rubber is soft on the barrel so it wont scratch it if you have a high end barrel but at the same time is very strong and wont rip like a cloth barrel condom can. And the final plus is the fact it has all these great features and is the same price as a regular cloth barrel condom.
Conclusion: I think this is a great product that has many advantages over a regular barrel condom for the same price.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, May 20th, 2005 at 3:02 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Palfguy Saturday, February 11th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Barrel plugs - dont really work.
barrel sleeves - never had a problem
Marker Setup: TL-X
200 rd hopper
Stock everything
Strengths: - Stops the ball...sometimes
- Real purdy if you like plastic.
Weaknesses: - Bulkier then a sock
- Some poorly made
- No hot chicks on them.
Review: So I had to go to this other field instead of my normal one today. They recently decided that you had to buy this device in order to play, so no barrel socks allowed. So I slowly handed the walking heart attack behind the counter my ten dollars for one. As soon as he handed it to me he said "Barrel condoms caused a little girl to go blind", as I walked back to my gear I thought about that being my little sister, so I was happy to have this new space age device.

In order to put it on, you slide it on and it twists into place. A minor problem is that when you are on the field and your gloves are all paint-y and stuff, its somewhat dificult to twist it on. But again, you dont want girls to go blind.

When you put it on it is sturdy, and you feel like it has the stopping power of a kevlar vest, but after two shots at 240 bps the front of it blew off. Now I am sure that this was just a faulty one, because the ginormous man behind the counter was amazed. He told me how they had "shot the piss" out of them and it took cases and cases for them to break. He gave me a new one, which is nice.

To be honest, it didn't take a genius to make this device. At the end of it is a little pointy piece of plastic to break the ball and little compartments so it devides the force of the ball equally....in most cases.

Mine did not come with elastic straps, so it is a pain to have to put in your pocket and all. But it has loops and I'll use some elastic from an old bag to loop through it.
Conclusion: I have never had a problem with barrel condoms and they are all I use.
But on the first day I use this I break one already (not even on purpose)? But remember, somebody shot the piss out of them so this must be a defect.

I don't reccomend it unless the field requires it.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, February 11th, 2006 at 5:39 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media