paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Chipley Custom Machine Series 5 / Chipley Custom Machine Series 5 / Chipley Custom Machine Series 5 / Chipley Custom Machine Series 5

Chipley Custom Machine Series 5 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Chipley Custom Machine

Buy Chipley Custom Machine Series 5

Paintball High-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Chipley Custom Machine Series 5
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 26
Average Rating: 10.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $390

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
A professional level cocker at an entry level price. Built with all the same internals and pneumatics as the J2. The difference between the Series 5 and the J2 is mainly aesthetics, and weight. And like everything else from CCM, the S5 is warrantied for life and proudly made in the USA. The S5 comes in polished Black, with polished pneumatics. Each of the components is hand tested and inspected to ensure the highest level of performance and reliability. Now shipping with the CCM 12" Barrel.

- 12" Aluminum One Piece Barrel
- CCM Clamping Feedneck
- Laser Engraved Insignia
- Hand Inspected and Tuned
Product Availability 
The Chipley Custom Machine Series 5 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
paintballhead5 Thursday, February 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
WGP 2K2 Vert Cocker
WGP 2K2 Vert Cocker Tricked out
Tricked WGP 2K3 Vert Cocker
System X Base Cocker
WGP Worrlock Autococker with race frame
Marker Setup: My Equipment:
Black B2K3
WGP Kaner Barrel Kit
Aim Drop Forward
Halo B w/Z code
ACI Bulldog III 68/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe a new barrel...maybe
Drop Forward
Strengths: Light
Fast
High Quality
Comes Upgraded
No upgrades needed
Reliable
Pinches Paint
Life Time Warranty
Weaknesses: Ummm.... i cant think of any!
Review: Iv have owned 5 cockers and have been playing with electro cockers for a while and this gun brought me back to the mechanical side. IMO this is the best mech cocker u can buy. Most guns have fancy milling, this gun is shaved, so shave that the milling has been shaved off. It is so freakn light, its the lightest cocker i have ever held. The internals are awesome, my gun is set to pinch, i can put my finger in the breech and fire, it dosnt even hurt. That means never break another ball ever again. The front pneumatics are awesome, the 3way is very short and it isnt very touchy, the lpr and ram seem to work awesome. The gun has a super light delrin bolt with a small back block and a delrin pull-pin. The front block is half the size of a normal front block, it so freakn small. To top it off this gun has the CCM hinge, it is the best feeling hinge i have ever shot. The gun also has a clamping feed tube, its angel threaded feed tube, it has a strait pump arm, and a wire ball detent (IMO there the best because they never wear down or break). This gun isnt the best looking, but its performance makes up for that. The only thing on this gun that isnt excellent is the stock barrel, its a Smart Parts Progressive. Oh the gun also has a life time warranty.

I believe that this gun is as good if not better then any high end cocker you can buy!
Conclusion: Chipley makes the best cockers in my opinion. This is the best cocker i have ever used. If you want a cocker buy this, you will not be disappointed!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, February 12th, 2004 at 4:15 pm PST
I found this review  
10 Comments - Add Comment

~EBLADE OWNAGE~ Wednesday, February 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months11 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel Speed
Class E Oracle
Marker Setup: E-Blade (Of course)
BoomStick Barrel
Pneumatics Cover
HALO hopper
Crossfire 68 CI
Recommended
Upgrades:
You need an EBlade to really get this gun to shoot and act like a true autococker. It will get you up to 21 bps and will make you a god. Once you've got that be sure to purchase a HALO, unless your fingers are untrained for speed then buy an eVLoution. AND also be sure to get a pneumatics cover cuz if your pneumatics gets hit, the repairs to fix it will cost more than your gun.
Strengths: It's excellent w/ an Eblade, It's accurate like a phantom, and quiet...
Weaknesses: ~Heavy Trigger, hard to shoot above 18bps
Review: It's a sleek design thats not too fancy nor complicated. It surpirses me at how fast it can shoot w/o and electric trigger. It's stock barrel, most of the time performs to a well standard. For a cocker you will be very pleased at how well this S.O.B. can perform. It's accuracy is what you will cherish about it. It shoots very quiet as well even w/ the Eblade. That is another major factor that I love about mine. I will always love my Chipley... Always
Conclusion: People... take it from me this gun is as accurate as hell and for a good price (Only $500 MAN!!) and if you really want to go pro... Get the Eblade to go w/ it. When you get that w/ your Chipley you will play like a sure fire pro. ~E-BLADE OWNS YOU~
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, February 25th, 2004 at 5:12 pm PST
I found this review  
16 Comments - Add Comment

canhsusername Tuesday, November 30th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
I have tested many WGP Autocockers for the length of several games.
Marker Setup: CCM: Series 5 - Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel could always be upgraded..
Strengths: Good looking. Fine machining. Customer Support
Weaknesses: None.
Review: I received my Series 5 by Chipley Custom Machine and first thing I noticed was it's external quality. It looked great sitting in it's box with the foam all cut out for it, I was eager to shoot it. As soon as I pulled it out of the box, I noticed the size of the gun was a lot smaller then I thought it would be, very thin, very light. A closer look showed some scratches at the top of the feed neck and some light scratches on the front pneumatics. Again, no biggy, I don't usually care for cosmetics too much, but for a new gun I'd expect better.

Okay, now for the testing. I hooked up my drop forward/asa and air and bam.. the thing started leaking by the three way and something internal was leaking too. So I'm thinking damn I gotta send this thing back. I received it on a Saturday afternoon and shipped it back Priority mail on Monday. I had sent an e-mail about the issue and received a prompt reply: "Send it back and we'll find out what's going on. A brand new double checked gun will be in the mail expressed to you as soon as we receive the gun. Sorry about this but we will make it right." Okay cool I'm gonna get a new gun.

I called Friday to see if they received it and from what the guy said, nothing yet. Called the following Monday and spoke with the gentleman who runs the whole deal(and who wrote the e-mail) said they were going to fix my gun and send it back to me and I should receive it by Friday.

EDIT:

John at Chipley Custom Machine took care of me.. he received my gun and repaired everything that I had mentioned and then offered something for my troubles. Overall.. man I couldn't believe how satisfied I am with the customer service. For any gun customer service is almost as important as the gun. Thanks John!
Conclusion: Buy it now!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, December 2nd, 2004 at 4:50 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

nitronduck Tuesday, February 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Stock marker except 3-way (see below)
Recommended
Upgrades:
3way
barrel set
Strengths: High quality machining, design and company
Weaknesses: See body below
Review: Being part of the paintball industry for over 14 years, I've seen almost every marker out there. Everyone makes cockers, but not like Chipley's. Chipley Machine is like the paintball gun manufactures of the old days, meaning that everything is hand made and the people at Chipley know their product. One example is I had a question regarding the LPR assembly, I was told to hold for a second so they could get the person who actually assembles and machines the LPR. Now that is service!! Not only did they pull someone away from the machine, but the person answered the question exactly and even gave me some tips.

Everything about their markers are of the utmost quality. Machining is precise, anodizing is beautiful and the gun setup was perfect. I would recommend their product to anyone from a newby to pro.

The only area that needs improvement is in the 3-way area (like everyone). Their pull is so light and short that it has the tendency to leak. I would recommend a Hollowpoint from Belsales on every autococker.
Conclusion: I have many markers and the Chipley Machine cocker is by far my favorite to shoot because of it's quality and feel. I ordered my Series 5 with their J2 gripframe because I go back and forth between an Angel Fly, I would highly recommend this frame because of the feel.

I want to again emphasize that this company has the best customer service of ANY manufacturer in the paintball industry!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, February 23rd, 2005 at 10:25 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

enjoy_yo_self Tuesday, July 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I suppose other cockers although the series 5 is nothing like your average budd.
Marker Setup: series 5 chipley, 12v revy, crossfire 88/45, 14" cp classic
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing at all, only reason i swapped barrels is because i prefer a 14" tube. "stock" 12" piece shoots great.
Strengths: Fast, i doubt i'll blade it, accurate as hell, gas stingy, and consistant.
Weaknesses: My sources say nothing...yup, nothin' at all.
Review: This gun has got to be #1 on the best buys in paintball list. 6 years ago this thing would have cost twice if not three times as much but thanks to e-everything, mechs have gotten way cheaper. Enter chipley custom machine. These mugs have the midas touch believe you me. Everything they make is top freekin' shelf and the modest series 5 is nothing short of testament to that fact. They're (ccm) also in no danger of becoming the latest addition to the paintball nazi's list so you don't have to make excuses to buy there stuff. I like the looks of the thing but i've always chosen function over fashion. I love my series 5, but don't buy one, i'd hate to chance playing someone with a gun as good as mine!
Conclusion: Pet it...Stroke it...Name it George. This thing rips.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

LinuxalFL Sunday, May 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Angel Speed, A5 w/FlatLine,Spyder
Marker Setup: Red Dust Angel Speed
Mid-Sized Volumizer
16" Dye Ultralite
A-4 Bolt
Halo-B
Recommended
Upgrades:
Probably the Barrel, I tested it with a Dye BoomStick so I'm not sure how well the stock barrel performes. The Boom is my favorite barrel anyway.
Strengths: ACCURATE AS HELL!!
Aboslutly ZERO KICK
Weaknesses: Not nearly as fast as my Speed but at least I could hit the target :-)
Review: I used this marker for a short time and instantly loved it. Its insane accuracy and phenomenal consistency immediately changed my game for the better. I was able to lay down paint exactly where I wanted it to go from shot to shot even during long strings. This marker has accuracy rivaling or perhaps even better than my A5 FlatLine! Because of this, the CCM may replace my Angel Speed. While it did shoot as fast as I could pull the trigger, Iím still a little concerned about going back to a mechanical marker. I would like to try the CCM 04 J2 electro too.
Conclusion: I would recommend this marker to just about anyone. After playing PB for awhile, Iíve learned a couple of things very well.

1. A marker with a high ROF wonít do much for you if itís not accurate.
2. Try it before you buy it! Find someone with the marker you want to by and ask to shoot it a few times.
3. Marketing is just that, marketing. Donít get suckered by a company that spends more time on hype than they do on building good equipment. Everyone claims to have the best but until you try it, donít believe a word of it.
It is these 3 axioms that I base my recommendation upon.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jzito Sunday, February 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
WGP guns, free flows, questnumatix, etc....
Marker Setup: CCM series 5, dye ultra light, check-it uni-mount, crossfire 45/45, halo tsa front man
Recommended
Upgrades:
all I can say is a barrel, the stock barrel is pretty good but I like dye barrels
Strengths: it's lite, small, easy to shoot fast, dosen't chop, tough gun
Weaknesses: can't think of anything, except the barrel, not as accurate as it could be
Review: Alright, the series 5 cocker is by far one of the best guns I've played with and shot, and I've used just about everything out there so far except timmy's but ohwell. This gun is accurate as a phantom and will shoot as fast as you can pull the trigger. Which is just extremely smooth and crisp, no problem ripping off steady streams if need be. It points well and the rounds go where you want them inless your stupid or something. I can hit hoppers and feet no problem. The gun is also just plain lite, there's a few guns out there that are lighter, but they have the ba-jeeezus milled out of them and the series 5 is just old plain jane, but little jane still looks pretty. The whole gun just fits together, all the parts look like they should be on the gun. The grips that come on gun are comfortable, I'm not getting rid of them. This gun is also pretty tough, I was trying to do a run through and the gun got caught on a bunker I slid past and got ripped out of my hands, flew a few feet into the air and tumbled across the ground. Every ball in my hopper was broke, but the series 5 didn't even notice.
Conclusion: this gun rocks, it's everything you could want in a custom cocker for about a hundred bucks more then a WGP stock cocker. I give the series 5 a ten because all the little punks with angels can't touch me and my series 5.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

utg3825 Thursday, January 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Nightkast, Prostock, Superstock, E-Orracle, Nexus Cocker, GX-3
Marker Setup: Series 5
J2 frame
X-stream 90/45
FBM Stilleto drop
Apache
Stiffi Switch
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel kit, or more sizers for the aluminum 2 piece it comes with.
Strengths: Fairly light
Efficient (not a viking, but decent)
Accurate
Great pneumatics/internals
FEEDNECK
Trigger
Weaknesses: No milling (some people, including me, like it this way)
Review: The internals and bolt are all very nice. It comes with a very light spring kit, and pinches balls out of the box (you can't say that about most cockers). It's fairly efficient, and gets decent consistency (I'm sure if my reg needs more breaking in, but OTB I got about +/- 7).

The 3-way is very short considering that it has 2 o-rings. The LPR is pretty nice, and easily adjustable. The ram is also very fast, I'm not sure on exactly how fast it is capable of cycling, but from what I've been told its around 18.

CCM trigger frames are INSANE. I actually was able to out-shoot my apache (which doesn't feed 17-18bps, it does about 14-15 on the marker). I'm sure it was a slow burst for my hopper, but for a mech cocker this marker is very fast without any trigger adjustments.

The barrel is decent. It is compatible with all CCM and Stiffi Switch kit parts, which is a big plus. The only thing I don't like about it is that it has MAD PORTING! It's pretty quiet, but not a terribly efficient barrel.

The inline reg is alright. It's nothing special, but it wouldn't be cost-effective to replace it.

CCM feednecks are some of the best on the market. They will never let go of your hopper. You can actually tighten them to the point where you worry about the hopper's feedneck cracking.

There is no milling at all. The sides of this marker are totally flat. I think it looks fine, but some people hate guns that look really bland.
Conclusion: This marker is worth MUCH more than what it costs. Good warranty too.

I would take this marker over an Orracle any day of the week.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

©ģ CB Monday, December 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
WGP cockers. If it's not a "cocker" you can't compare it... That being said, I've shot just about every common marker out there and those I haven't I've seen in action on the field.
Marker Setup: 03 Series 5
12v Rev
68/3k Nitroduck
12" Progressive, 14" AA, Dye Excel (in case I come accross some fat paint)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel kit, barrel kit, barrel kit.
Strengths: Quality, reliability, value.
Weaknesses: None.
Review: Reliability. I bought this marker off ebay. The seller had it serviced by Chipley's before he listed it and I haven't had to monkey with anything. I could shorten the pull, but my fingers are only about as fast as a dead snail anyway, so why bother?

I have NEVER chopped. I'm guessing that on five occasions now I was absolutely sure that I had finally chopped. Nope. Bolt clean everytime. Every single break I've had has been a barrel break. You CAN stick your pinky in the feed, rip the trigger as much as you like, and still not whimper even if you're a momma's boy.

I don't need to say a thing about accuracy. We all know that a cocker stays on target better because of less recoil. I've shot all kinds of barrels and, the more extremely cheap barrels aside, the biggest difference from barrel to barrel is noise. As long as your length is tailored to your operating pressure and playing style, it's a good barrel.

Most people haven't heard of CCM. The people you will get comments from are those who have been around the sport for a while. I'd seen Chipleys here and there, heard of their stellar reputation, but honestly wasn't really motivated to pursue any of their products until I saw this one on ebay. Picked it up with a ton of extras (barrels, HPA, barrel bag, swabs.... whole bunch of stuff. think he was cleaning his closet out) for $300. At that price, I figured it was about time to finally check it out. GLAD I DID! Chipley's products are 0% hype and 100% performance.

As with any other "cocker", a barrel kit is a must if you are going to be playing with paint you don't know. Once the bolt closes, if your paint is smaller than your barrel bore, it will roll right out the barrel. If you aren't going to get a kit, then at least get three different bore barrels so you're covered.

UPDATE: Somewhere, somehow something happened to my cup seal. Marker was fine when I put it away. Took it out and gassed it up and heard the dreaded hiss. Sent CCM an email or two about replacement of the seal and warranty policy regarding doing an LP conversion at home. In the end, it turned out it was cheaper to send it to them for repair than it would be to purchase a new cup seal and have it shipped to my home. What a deal. To top it all off, the flu ran through their workplace so my marker was shipped two days later than suspected. Problem is that I was playing on Saturday and on the phone with them on Wednesday and it hadn't shipped. YIKES!! Oh wait... Nevermind. It's CCM. Shipped it two-day on their dime so I wouldn't have to dig a Spyder out of my closet.
Conclusion: Only purchase CCM products if you are interested in quality. I personally have never seen a CCM banner, poster, jersey, full spread magazine add, or the like. Why advertise when the product speaks for itself?

UPDATE: Do not purchase CCM products if you are allergic to extra-mile, endless, perfect customer service.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, January 26th, 2005 at 1:21 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jeffg Thursday, September 30th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
WGP vert. Tippmann, PMI Sheridan
Marker Setup: Egg, 4500 68 tank, CCM drop, CCM on/off.
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: Weight, quality , looks, MADE IN THE USA!
Weaknesses: Choice of colors. No owners manual.
Review: This is one beutifully machined gun( even if he uses HAAS's)! I'm in the machining industry, so I know machining. I've been playing for nearly 20 years and this thing is the most quite and lightest gun I've ever used ( except for a plastic gun that used pistol primers instead of gas). ALL of the competetors guns in the $400.00 range that i found were much more sloppy ( most were machined in China and assembled here)! If you really want the "3d" milling ( for looks only) check out the CCM J2, not sure looks are worth the extra price tag though.
Conclusion: If you want a Cocker, BUY THE CCM. The people are easy to talk to ( yes you can call them and even talk to the owner). The gun is finely crafted and reliable. ALL THE PARTS EXCEPT THE FEEDNECK ARE COCKER COMPATIBLE! So don't worry about getting parts!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media