paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dye DM4 / Dye DM4 / Dye DM4 / Dye DM4

Dye DM4 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dye

Buy Dye DM4

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dye DM4
[ View Photos (47) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 187
Average Rating: 9.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The DM4 has been born. Created and developed by a unique team of Paintball�s finest athletes and engineers. Every detail has been carefully formulated and prepared to the exacting standards of DYE. The DM4 not only embodies the very idea of Paintball gun perfection, it also shatters the boundaries of 3-D body sculpting. Under a literal choreography of drill bits, metal and coolant, our CNC machines have carved and shaved the most stylistically innovative Paintball gun available. You want fast? The DM4 houses unprecedented electronic control and is limited only to the speed of your hopper. Utilizing cutting-edge technical achievements coupled with superior elegance in design and function, the DM4 symbolizes the momentum, quality and perfection that is DYE.
Product Availability 
The Dye DM4 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (19):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
GIZMO8Z Thursday, December 25th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested85 of 95 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Working at a proshop, I have access to nearly every marker you could think of.
Marker Setup: Custom Built, Limited Edition Dust Blue WGP Orr-accle W/ Chrome E-Blade, Chrome WGP Black Magic Reg, Chrome Grip Feed Neck, Chrome Planet Eclipse NEXUS Upgrade Kit, Red KAPP Cosmetics, Chrome Shocktech Beavertail, 14" DYE Boomy, EGGY 2 & 45/45 Nitro Duck Tuff Skin HPA Tank W/ DYE Rhino Tank Cover.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I'd seriously consider getting a new reg ASAP ... the stock one is nothing to brag about.
Strengths: ~Looks.
~SPEED.
~Fantastic Accuracy.
~NO CHOPPING!
~Light Weight.
Weaknesses: ~PRICE.
~Inconsistant Stock Reg.
~Kick.
Review: We recently received a black matte DYE Precision DM4 at my proshop, and as soon as it arrived, I was gnawing at the bit to air it up and see if it really lived up to all the hype I've heard.

First Impressions:
I opened the box the marker came in and all I can say is "WOW". DM4s come nicely packed in a padded carrying case, complete with an instruction manual, two 9v batteries (one already installed in the marker, the other stored in the box) every hex key needed for the marker, a small parts kit (replacement screws, o-rings, etc.), macro line kit, matching 14" DYE Ultralite barrel, "MATRIX" barrel condom and DYE "slick" oil. In fact, the only thing missing from the package that would be needed to air up the marker immediately is an ASA. After installing a small DYE drop forward and a DYE ASA, I powered up the marker and was delighted to see that the little symbol on the grip frame lights up! When the breech is empty, the light is red, when there is a ball in the breech, the light turns green .... It looks super cool. So far, this marker seems that it's all it's cracked up to be.

Testing:
Using a Nitro Duck preset, 68ci 4500psi high pressure air system filled up to 3,000psi, I aired up the marker, fitted it with a 12V VL Rev, and grabbed a fresh bag of Diablo Hell Fire paint. I then went outside and started ripping away. As soon as I fully hooked the marker up, I realized how truely light weight this thing is, I could handle it with out any problems what so ever. Out on the shooting range, it shot super quick, outshooting the REV without even trying. I noticed good distance and okay accuracy (it was windy and raining out ... so I figure that effected it.), and I didn't have any breaks inside the marker (thanks eyes!) but I did have one break in the barrel (1 out of 500 isn't bad in my book, especially in the terrible weather I was shooting in.). In addition, although I don't have exact figures, the marker seems to have good efficiency (After shooting 500 bals through the marker, and countless dry fires, I had 2,000psi left out of a 3,000psi fill.). Again, I can't get over how fast this thing really is. I easily shot the 500 rnds. in less than 2 mins ... it took me more time to reload the hopper than it did to shoot the paint.

...However, I did notice some things I didn't like. The DYE Hyper II regulator included with the marker I shot seemed to be very inconsistent ... I experienced some nasty shoot down. I'm hoping it just needs to be worn in. Also, while ripping on the marker, I noticed I had to keep on adjusting my aim, the marker had some crazy kick/recoil, and the more I ripped on it, the more it wanted to raise up on me.

Recap:

PROS:
~Rare. As of right now, these markers are very hard to come across. If you can get your hands on one, you'll no doubt be the top dog at your field.
~Looks. Just look at this thing, it looks hot! It's aggressive styling makes it look like its at motion while its sitting still. Simply amazing.
~SPEED. I have never shot a faster marker in my 5 year paintball history.
~Fantastic Accuracy.
~NO CHOPPING! - Awesome anti-chop eyes.
~Light Weight. I've heard rumors that this marker is made up of some type of ballistic ceramic ... I believe it, this marker is light!
~Takes 'Cocker threaded barrels.

Cons:
~PRICE. Although this marker is very nice, $1,450 is just too expensive.
~Inconsistent Stock Reg.
~Kick.
Conclusion: Over all, I really liked this marker, a lot. However, for the $1,500 DYE wants you to spend on it, I would have expected a more consistant reg and a little less kick. (For that price, it better make you the fastest shooting player on the field AND make you dinner.)

Although I believe no marker is worth a $1,500 price tag, I do believe that the DYE Precision DM4 comes closest to deserving it. If you can afford one, trsut me, go out and get one ASAP.

Although I like this marker a whole lot, I'm giving it an 9 because of the outrageous price tag and the blah reg.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, January 16th, 2004 at 9:26 am PST
I found this review  
60 Comments - Add Comment

HTPBPLAYER Tuesday, April 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month30 of 32 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann a-5, autococker 2k3, Nasty impulse
Marker Setup: Dye DM4 (Cobalt Dust) with CP on/off, CP lightning drop forward, Halo B, 45/4500 Nitro Duck x-stream
Recommended
Upgrades:
Bolt Kit (but not out yet)
Strengths: VERY< VERY> VERY QUIET
ACCURATE
NO KICK
3D MILLING
FAST
Weaknesses: Air efficency (can be fixed by adjusting dwell)
Paint (uses alot of paint)
Review: Well when i got this gun, i was like WOW! This gun is extremly sexy and has really awesome milling. I have heard things about people buying this gun and it having problems with leaks, efficency, and other things. My gun is perfect. Came with no problems except efficency, so i FOLLOWED THE MANUAL, and reset the LP to proper settings( i had a VERY LITTLE kick, so i turned the LP about a 16th of a turn more, and Walla, the kick was GONE!). I later went and shot the DM4 at a construction area and made a few observations. I aired it up and it would not shoot. i was like "Oh No" but i took a minute to look at the situation, the gun was on (LCD was green) and the thing i for got to do was turn the on/off on, on the front of the gun. i shot it once and it fired, so i decided that i was going to max this puppy out. i had not adjusted the trigger yet, so i am firing the gun with stock settings and stock trigger pull. i hooked up my friends EGG with Y-board and i was outshooting it after 2-seconds of stroking on the fine A$$ trigger. The accuracy was sweeeet. It had very little kick.(although went away when i upped LP by a 16th of a turn). I placed a yard marking stick (a wood 2 by 2 with the top of it painted orange) about 30 yds away, and i started ripping at it and paintballs were nailing all around the stick and hitting it like crazy. the spread was about 6 inches. (REALLY TIGHT GROUPS and the paint that i was using was about as dimmpled as golf balls). I had no breaks using the Vision with the dimpled balls. the only part that sucked was when i was done shooting it, my 45/4500 (dropped to 45/4000 after it was filled) only got me a crappy 450 shots. That really pissed me off to no end. So i went and set my LP to 5.2 turns out (stopped all kicking Completely!) I also went through the configuration and set the dwell to 16 and set the trigger sensitivity to 3 and got my gun chrono'd to 285. i adjusted my trigger and cut my trigger spring off 2.5 coils (BIG MISTAKE). I went to shoot it again after filling my tank to 45/3000psi and i got about 720 shots out of it (very good compared to last time). But i went to rip on my new custom trigger pull with a lighter spring and thats when sh!t happend. I was shooting about 7BPS SLOWER than i had shot the day before with the STOCK SETUP. The Efficency was awesome and the kick, well there was NO kick at all. I went home and tryed to figure out why the heck i was shooting so dam slow, and realized that it might be due to the trigger spring be cut down to make a lighter pull. i switched back the stock spring ( you get an extra one in your parts kit) and i adjust my trigger pull from a hair pull to fire back to about 2.5 mm until fire activation. (a little sooner than the stock pull.) I could not feel a difference in the weight of the trigger pull with the regular length spring in from when i had it shortend. also when it use to be shortened, it totally slowed down your rate of fire and the pull was not any lighter. i actually lost around 7bps from doing that. So after putting the full length spring back in, adjusting LP to 5.2 turns out, chronoing it at 285, setting dwell to 16 and trigger sensitivity to 3, it was the best gun at my field. I got 920 shots from 45/4000 and i got no dropp off at 20+bps. there was no kick and i never chopped once using vision/haloB and a little over 4000 paintballs. the gun worked as smooth as a baby's A$$, and drained my hopper, pod after pod with near perfect accuracy and not one break so far. The gun is awesome and you will not regret buying one. It may need a little tuning out of the box, but it is definatley worth it.
Conclusion: THE GOOD:
VERY< VERY> VERY QUIET(i shot this outside my house at 2 AM, and nobodys lights turned on, and no Phone calls made to me the next day)
ACCURATE (not the best, but when ripping 20bps, it is DAM good)
NO KICK (if you got kick, it is because your LP is to LOW, and you need to turn it up)
FAST FAST FAST (with the stock trigger setting, i could get around 17bps, and when i adjusted it to my setting, i could get around 22bps) A word of advice, DON"T shorten the trigger spring, the pull is VERY light as it is, and you will LOWER your BPS because the spring CANNOT return the trigger as fast as it normally would. TRUST ME!
MILLING (3D milling is awesome)

THE BAD: (BUT CAN BE FIXED BY MINOR ADJUSTMENTS
AIR EFFICENCY KINDA (Well, i got my gun and i put my 45/4500 on it and i got about 450 shots of it. Then i adjusted the LP to 5.2 and set the REG to 285 fps and turned my DWELL from 18 down to 16, and i got around 920 shots before drop off. so in my opinion, if your efficency is junk, get your gun chrono'd and set your Lp out 5 turns it will DRASTICALLY increase your air efficency
PAINT (YOU WILL USE ALOT OF PAINT) 500 paintballs in under 2 minutes when your not trying

IN CONCLUSION :

DON"T cut trigger spring, make sure LP is out 5 turns, and turn dwell down from 18 to 17 or 16, and chrono at 285fps to get best air effiency. Lube your bolt after everytime you play (takes less than 2 minutes, Seriously). make sure you turn your on/off to the on postion, or you may be stuck trying to figure out why your not shooting, and make sure you are rich (you will pay alot for this gun and alot for paint). This gun is perfect, a little steep for price, but it has never let me down, so it been a perfect 10 for me after a little love.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
12 Comments - Add Comment

Goatface Thursday, February 22nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months18 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Ion, autococker, proto, shocker
Marker Setup: DM4,12"ULTRALITE,PREDATOR BOARD,VENOM TRIGGER,VLOCITY,DYE THROTTLE 70CI STUBB,TOPHAT MOD
Strengths: Quiet
Fast
Reliable
Price (used)
Weaknesses: Weight
Height
Review: Accuracy

The first thing I noticed on the first day I shot it was accuracy. I couldn't believe how good I was able to pinpoint with this thing. I was taking more people out with my snapshots, if some one ran in my lane I took 'em out w/ no problem. I mean it felt like if I could see it I could hit it. This is my second gun, my first being an A-5. With upgrades I paid basically the same price for both and This one just blew it out of the water. Don't get me wrong my Tippy was a good beginner gun and I gained alot alot of skill and knowledge from it but once I upgraded I was beating people consistently I used to be on par with. When people say "it's not the gun it's the person" I think that's a load of crap cuz in most cases it's the damn gun to. Well that's what I came to find anyways.BTW I don?t use ramping or any mode that gives me an advantage so you can't say it was because of that. I believe it's cheating if not everyone has that option or I don't learn anything if I do. So for now it's semi mode on lock. Just straight skill for me. Besides I can't afford the paint. Also the people I beat were using anywhere from tippmans on auto to ions and even to the high end marker classes (angels, etek egos, shockers, etc...)

Noize

Some other advantages I found with my new marker is one thing...its alot quieter. I knew that it was going to be a benefit so when I first shot it I was expecting it to be a whisper. I imagined the sound to be the same as someone spitting out sunflower seeds. But that wasn?t the case. Although it's alot quieter it still made a noticeable bang. Not one to complain about but I heard other guns alot quieter. I guess my expectations were just a little high but I was still not disappointed. I'm shooting a 12" ultralite and was considering upping to a 14" tip but I don't think that would make that big of a reduction to spend the $50 for it. (Fork out for a 14" stiffi?Maybe)

trigger pull

Damn, I can't believe how sensative this is. I sneezed the wrong way and had blue paint dripping from my ceiling :) Just kidding but damn it's great. I barely tap it and it registers a pull. It makes walking the trigger a stroll in the park (hehe) with just finger speed alone (no ramp) I think i got the BPS rate up to 10 or 12 (an educated guestimation). which to me is alot.No side to side action and the bearing makes the trigger pull str8 melted buttery! I did have a problem with the electronic sensativity at first. Only because sometimes it registered an extra pull or two but all I had to do was mess with my debounce and adjust the trigger travel a little...now it's perfect. It frustrated the hell out of me at first though, when I pull it once I want it to shoot once not 3 or 4 but like I said...I fixed it. Getting used to an electronic marker was a learning curve.

dezign

Let me compare it to an Ion because that was one of my choices and for the same price as an Ion pro i got this one used. First there's only one hose. The one that runs from the asa to the reg. When I was messing with my friends Ion it had 2 little hoses in the body. and if he overtightened a frame screw it would start leaking from these hoses. I'm not saying all Ions do this, my point is that in my opinion there's more leaking possibility with the extra hoses. If there is a leak in the DM than it's just probably bad o-rings. I got 10 full sets of o-rings and grease for like $20 on the internet. I've replaced all of them once and that was jus' cuz when I got it I didnt know what condition or the last time they have been changed. (That leaves me with 9 more sets.)And yeah my DM4 is alot taller but to be honest with you it's a good trade off. Second is the bolt. It pulls right out the back side. It makes it easy for field stripping and re-greasing or just general maintenance. The Ion you have to pull the whole thing apart pretty much just to get to the bolt.

Consistency

I was expecting the chrono +/- to be maybe 2 to 5 but it's still around 4 to 7 on bad days. I'm still working the issue. I'm not sure if I need a better regulator or a better bottle with a faster recharge rate or both. I heard these could effect this. The numbers might not even be an issue to most people. So this might be just my own little personal preference problem because like I said during a game the accuracy is incredible. (I'll probably just bite my lip and leave it as is.)

Conclusion: If I'm being honest and basing the rating on value, against other markers in it's class and my own personal experience. I want to give it a 10...because you cant beat this gun for the money. But I know I can't because it's not perfect (cons: weight, efficiency, height...even with that I'd give it a 9 but again I can't)It's simple, it's trustworthy/dependable, it's damn fast and I love the accuracy. Yeah there's guns out there quieter, lighter, smaller and loaded with more bells and whistles but those things cost dramatically more. I went up against those and didn't feel I was at any disadvantage. Maybe like I would if I were shooting a pump (to clarify.) When I read some of these reviews it seems people just do it to justify their purchases and if that?s what you get from this then oh well. My review is based off of what collectively I've learned not just what I've bought. Trust me; You'll believe it when My ballZ are on your face! HAH J/K :) Happy paintballing!
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, August 18th, 2007 at 11:15 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pablopicasso Saturday, December 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months17 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Alias, A4 Fly, E2'd Orracle, Vision Shocker, Matrix
Marker Setup: Red/Black DM4
Black Halo B
88ci 4500psi PMI Pure Energy
CP Unimount
Evil Pipe Kit
Musashi Chip
Evolve Bolt Kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
Tadao / Musashi Chip for a legal DM4. These really do make it faster and got some cool features. Also very inexpensive!
Evolve Bolt Kit - Improves the efficiency a good amount. They need to be broken in before the better efficiency starts to take place.
Halo B - The DM4 has an unlimited rate of fire when the eyes are on, and with the eyes off its capped at 24 (adjustable to 5). Fastest loader out there and in my opinion, looks, feels and is better than a Egg or anything else. Although it is a little heavy, it's nothing to worry about, so go grab one for your DM4 (or any other marker for that matter!)
Strengths: ACCURATE!!!, No kick what-so-ever, Fast (16-17BPS), Easy to maintain, Integrated On/Off
Weaknesses: A little inefficient, nothing to worry about (Evolve will fix this!!!), Barrel kit.
Review: Out of the Box :
First of all I would like to say that Dye did a great job with the packaging. The DM4 comes in a padded foam case with spaces for your barrel, gun, lube, parts kit and allen set. The case has a handle and is perfect for carrying around, I still use it today! I'd also like to hand it to Dye for there spare parts kit! This is EASILY the best spare parts kit I've ever seen come stock with a gun. It's got extras of every o-ring and screw in the gun, plus a couple sets of ball detents and a chart which tells you what's what so you dont get confused. Also, the allen set comes with every allen needed on the gun except for the eye covers. All in all, it's a great package.

The Marker:
This marker has one of the most beautiful milling jobs i've seen. The annodizing is flawless too. The stock Dye Ultralite Barrel is really nice. Handles chops well (paint shoots thru). It also comes stock with a clamping feed neck that uses an allen wrench to tighten and loosen. The feedneck works well with all hoppers. The bolt is really easy to maintain, its impossible to assemble wrong (which is a serious problem with old matrixes, i know from personal experience) and I havent had any problems with it yet. I think things like dwell, trigger sensitivity and LPR Pressure are perfect straight from the box. The only thing that needs adjusting is the trigger. Once that's done to your preferences, set the dip switches inside the grip with all of them off except #1 for the fastest setting. If your using a Halo or Egg with Z-Board, you'll want this setting. Now it's time to go test it out!

Testing :
After setting the trigger and dip-switch settings, I went to the local shop, filled up my 88ci 4500psi Pure Energy High Pressure tank, bought some Diablo Blaze and went into my backyard to test it. Once everything was screwed in and ready, I started up the video camera and wasted the whole hopper in seconds. My favorite things about this gun is the balanced feeling I got while shooting, the no kick and the accuracy. The accuracy wasn't as good as I thought, but I consulted a friend that has a DM4 and he said that it needs to be broken-in and played with for a day before it reaches it's full potential. (If you want the video, private message me, talk to me on AIM or email me and i'll give it to you.) But I was easily hitting 16-17BPS. I was excited though, because the next day I was going out to my local field, Operation Paintball in Hayward.

Playing :
Filling up the tank again and going to the chrono, I was excited to see what kind of consistency I was going to get and I hoped the DM4 was worth what I paid for. (I got hooked up by a friend, cost me $1100, still pricey but nice) Being my first time at the chrono with the new gun, i got +-5 FPS, but by the end of the day, that would improve to +-3 FPS everytime. On the field, the gun was ripping like crazy, I was practically laughing behind my mask. Being a back player, accuracy and speed are REALLY helpful in a gun, and I found the DM4 has no problems in these areas. The accuracy improved dramatically throughout the day. Contrary to looks, the DM4 is really light and feels great in your hands. Out of the 3000 rounds i shot that day, i didnt chop once. Obviously, the eyes work flawlessly, and so far I havent had any problems with anything else at all. Overall, the DM4 is an awesome gun whether your playing the snake or hiding in the woods, you'll love the DM4!

Pros -
Accuracy : once it's played with for a few hours, you'll land every shot on target
No kick : This is because of the low pressure of the gun (60-75psi operating pressure)and a few o-rings on the bolt that act as bumpers.
Super Fast : Easily hitting 16-17BPS without bouncing or ramping.
Consistency : Very consistent, once worn in can get +-3 FPS!
Box / Spare Parts : Best spare parts kit ever and an awesome carrying case!

Cons -
Efficiency : It's not inefficient, but its not realy efficient either. I get around 1000-1100 shots off a 4500psi fill.
Worn In : Needs to be played with for a few hours before it reaches its full potential.

(PLEASE TALK TO ME ON AIM OR PM ME WITH ANY QUESTIONS)
P.S. The DM4 forum on PBNation has some of the best stuff on the net, from videos to a whole section on how to maintain things like ur bolt, regulator and LPR with pictures! If you have any questions, ask there too.

HERES THE VID~!!!!!!! http://www.pbvidsupload.com/upload/DM4%20Video.AVI (copy and paste into address bar)

Conclusion: All and all, the DM4 is the best thing out there right now. My friend switched from an Alias Timmy to a DM4 after he shot mine. They're that good! I would recommend it to anyone who can afford one! (I also believe that most onlin stores carry them for somewhere around $1150)
I give it a 9 because of the small efficiency problem the gun has.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, April 11th, 2005 at 6:34 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Scootscr15 Sunday, December 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months15 of 21 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
similar, nothing compares to the awesomeness that is the dm4, well except the dm5 and m5, but those are exceptions to the rule. :)
Marker Setup: Worrlock, Blue Gloss dm4, accessor-who ? oh, 16 in dye UL, Crossfire 91/45 lp, halo..
Recommended
Upgrades:
shocktech feedneck, shocktech trigger, shocktech uber mini super super drop, maybe a new reg if you are too lazy to keep the stock hyper 2 running in tip top shape
Strengths: The gloss colors can be rather shiny, if you like shiny things
Weaknesses: You will have to inflate your paint budget
Review:
you get upset when some kid asks "is that an angel?'' and you have to say "no"
you cant blame your gun for you sucking
your squeegie goes into retirement
your pods will eventually go on strike or form a union because of over-use
you have to spend time with the family because you dont need to take time out to work on your gun.
you forget what CO2 is
Conclusion: You feel un-easy carrying all that "bling-bling"
you wonder if she is really looking at you or just the gun

nine, because nothing is perfect
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

RangerLee Wednesday, June 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months11 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
'03 Lasoya Intimidator

'97 Evolution Autococker
Marker Setup: DM4 Cobalt Dust
Mac Dev Conquest Air 91/4500
Halo B
----------------
Lasoya Intimidator with WAS board
Mac Dev Conquest Air 91/4500
EGG
--------------
'97 Evolution Autococker Green
Evil Scion 45/5000
All American 14" Barrel
EGG
Recommended
Upgrades:
There are no outstanding upgrades right out of the box that are a necessity. There are a couple of new boards out there that enable instant start up for the marker, which is convenient but not a must.

Once a new bolt is made that improves air efficiency that will be a must.
Strengths: Light Weight, VERY Fast, Consistant speeds, accurate and the anti-chop eye works fantastic!
Weaknesses: Air efficiency, On/Off membrane is delicate. Price
Review: This marker raised the bar for high-end electric paintball markers. From the lightweight to the incredible speed, you can fire this marker with out breaking paint the DM4 is top notch.

The first thing that struck home was the look of the DM4, I really enjoyed the smooth lines and sleek build, and fortunately this thing has the performance to match. From the first time I took it to the field, I put air on it, and let it loose at the chrono with all the stock settings. I had speeds at +/-7 FPS. That did not seem to hot, but after about 2 cases of paint I chrono'd again, +/- 4, getting much better. Now in June, after using it for a good long period of time my consistency is unbelievable +/- 2, not even my Timmy is that good.

I have yet to chop a ball in this marker, the anti-chop eyes work great and easily keep up with the high rate of fire this maker can produce. With ABS on (set by a dip switch inside the marker) there is no First Shot Drop Off, another very nice feature. Along with the great consistency this marker is very accurate, I would not say it was number 1 on my list out of my current makers (the cocker being #1) however it is easily as accurate if not more then the Intimidator, add in the flawless speed at which this thing can fire and you have a very mean tournament marker.

Day to day care of the DM4 is easy, the fuse bolt is one piece, that after a couple of turns with an allen wrench (which a full set of allens is provided with the marker) the whole bolt comes out and is ready to be cleaned and lubed. The two piece ultra light barrel is very nice add to this marker, the color scheme is all part of the set up and it is apparent that the ultra-light performs very well on this thing.

When it comes to air, this marker goes from high-end monster to just plain crazy. With a 45/5000 tank filled, I was only able to get a hopper and 4 pods through the DM4. Hence the reason I picked up the 91/4500 and even with that I go through so much air, it is best to get a refill after every single game because chances are I wont have enough left to complete a second. There are a couple of bolts "in the works" that will bring better air efficiency to the DM4, and I am anxiously waiting one.

I listed the on/off button membrane as a weakness, I have not personally had an issue yet with mine, but I do know several people that have, along with others I read about in the matrix owners’ forums. It seems the membranes have a tendency to peel off rather easily if you use your fingernail to push in the button, once it starts separating you are no longer able to turn on the marker. DYE has been great about any issues though and quickly sends out a replacement once the problem is called in. I make sure to use the meaty part of the tip of my finger to push in the button and so far no problems.

Conclusion: Overall I give this marker a 10 for tournament level markers, and because of the price I would probably give a 9.5 if that were an option. If you are a casual player that will only go paintballing a couple times a year, or perhaps more often but will not play any type of tournaments then this is probably not the marker for you. However if you are looking for pure performance, the DM4 by far should be one of your considerations.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 9th, 2004 at 8:30 am PST
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

Treghc Wednesday, December 31st, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
2k2 Matrix LCD
2k3 Shocker
2k1 Matrix LED
Marker Setup: DM4
Locking Low-Rise
Matching DYE Ultralite
68/4500 LP Max Flo
Halo B and Evo II
Recommended
Upgrades:
There's nothing out there. Maybe a better inline regulator or a barrel kit. But other than that, there's nothing you can really do to it at the moment.
Strengths: Weight
Size
Style
Organization of internals
Internal Eye
NYX's Egi Board
Weaknesses: Ball detents
Breech
Trigger adjustment
Review: Well, I bought a WC DM4 because I didn't want to have to wait the extremely long amount of time to get a brand new DM4 from DYE (DYE is leaking them out very slowly). When it arrived, I was as happy as could be. I opened it up, and there it was. The first thing I really noticed was how well the machning is on these things. The milling is so extensive, but done flawlessly. The ano is quite good, but I've heard people complaining about the WC DM4's anodized in fades. Mine was great though.

The first thing that I did was I hooked up my 68/4500 LP Max Flow to get my new baby ready to shoot. The first hopper I put on was my friend's 12v Revvy. I ripped on the trigger as fast as I could and no chops. What aperfect eye system. The gun doesn't fire unless a ball is in the breech, so you're gauranteed not to chop. After shooting the 12v Revvy, I hooked up my Halo B and railed on that. Holy crap this thing can shoot FAST. You can listen to my railing on my DM4 here: http://redneckwarriors.8m.com/my%20dm4/dm4.wav jut for a reference. Once again though, no breaks.

Took it to the field the following weekend to go shoot up some fools and show off my new toy. I get there, air the gun up, dry fire it a little to show it off to my friends, then I slapped on my halo with some paint and went to the chrono. Needless to say, I was dissapointed. I go up there, shoot a little and the readings go 281, 281, 280, 254, 267, 283, 281, 240, etc... I would get pretty damned tight grouping for three shots or so, then the velocity would drop for no apparent reason, but go back up after a couple more shots. As it turns out, since I had a WC DM4, the LPR had not been replaced yet and that was the sole reason of the problem. It's at DYE right now being replaced. DYE has been very kind about faulty parts and replaced them for free. So that's a good thing.
Conclusion: Overall, I was very impressed. Not a single break yet, and I have shot about 2 or 3 cases through it, so that's pretty good (especially in this Washington weather). The LPR was crappy, but from what I've heard, the new ones work flawlessly.

The trigger is a little time consuming to adjust. Puting the frame back onto the gun takes some time as you have to move the wirse into the right place, then get the front screw in that little slot and try to screw it in without it falling out. It takes some practice to get it down right.

The eye and board combination is about as good as it gets. With an unlimited ROF with the eye on, it's almost identical to a WAS board.

Overall, an excellent gun. almost worth every penny I spent for it. I would recommend it to anyone.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
14 Comments - Add Comment

friday_juice Tuesday, November 18th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested7 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
my matrix <3
Marker Setup: 2k3 LED matrix
PBC LPR
check-it no-rise
14" and 16" .691 WGP kaner (da shizizle)
70/4500 WGP worrgas adjustable tank
hybrid blunt rail
empire reloader
Recommended
Upgrades:
none out yet...well maybe a no-rise
Strengths: speed, no-chopping, accuracy, gas-efficiency, .....
Weaknesses: umm....
Review: This gun rocks.

It is fast but the way it is set-up, the board is as fast as your loader...no messing w/ dip-switches.

Eyes are good to make sure of no mis-feeds and chopping as a result of that

LPR is good, makes the gun not chop

The milling is great

The bolt design is AWESOME...the whole thing comes out in one threaded-together piece. Even an idiot could put it back together..

Gass efficient too
Conclusion: i reccomend buying it...i am as soon as i get the $$$
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

bumgrapes Monday, August 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Previous marker - Eclipse eblade cocker, evo II, freak, MacDev 03 68/4500 (2yrs)
Owned - classic Automag, Phantom. Used / tested Angels, imps, timmy's & variant cockers.
Marker Setup: Dye Matrix DM4, Dye Ultralite, MacDev Conquest '03 & Evo II with z-board.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A pointy stick to smack people when they try to touch it.
Strengths: Speed, efficient / low op pressure, quiet, little kick.
Weaknesses: Price!? (DM$)
Maybe that there isn't a fast enough hopper yet?
Review: Strangely this is quite a difficult one to review as normally you have things you like and dislike about a marker that you can then balance out and give it 'x' out of 10; but I am struggling to find anything even remotely poor about the DM4. I read the other reviews and kept those in mind whenever using it, but I cannot say that I noticed any of the minor-troubles.

Straight out of the box you can see that this thing is pure quality; I stripped it down and had a good look at the make-up and there is not one thing that Dye have scrimped on. Even the eye covers are cast/milled metal that sleeve the screw, so not only do they stop you loosing it but also keep the guns near-perfect milling lines.
Ok that's a petty observation but like I said, i've been struggling to find anything bad about this.

The bolt looks like some sort of space-age surgical bur-hole kit; dont ask me how it works but in use it's as smooth as a babys arse and relatively quiet. It's easy to access and with the occasional bit off lube it should keep working for ages.
The LPR is nestled just below this on the rear of the marker and, according to the manual, shouldn't need fiddling with. Opposite this on the front of the marker is the gas on/off switch. Again, great design and instantly degases the DM4 even with the tanks air-supply on.
Taking the air from your tank is the Hyper2 in-line reg which not only works very consistently but also has a 360 degree cuff where the air-in valve sits. Great for lefty's and removing your air if you need to.

What else? I though that maybe they'd supply a slightly ropey barrel as happened with my eblade (Dye Excel) but the ultralite has really surprised me - great quality and very accurate.

Performance - well that's the easiest bit. It's fast, but whatever reviews you read they don't really get over how fast these are. It's not just the speed though, it's the whole lot - speed, accuracy and consistency. Seriously, have a go.

The set-up at it's most basic is easy. You have four main settings - Fastest, Fast, Mid and slow. But these relate more to your hopper and how fast the DM4 can expect to receive the paint. If you have a Halo or Evo II Z then set it on fastest and off you go. There are more complex settings that are activated when in configuration mode so you can fiddle with the trigger delay, dwell and eye sensitivity if you feel the urge. I haven't yet but will probably get itchy soon.

That's about it - you also get enough spares for around three complete ring overhauls; a barrel condom, big tube'o'lube, most allen keys (not eye cover one) and a decent manual.
Conclusion: This is as close to perfection as a marker can get. Ok, I haven't been using it long and am a cynical sod so do expect problems to surface but in the meantime am happy to say that. Try one out if you can get your grubby little mitts on it. Yes they cost a lot and are comparitively rare but they are actually well-worth the money.
I give this 9.8 as no-one's invented a gun that roles my cigarettes and makes me coffee yet.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, August 9th, 2004 at 7:42 am PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

Montypup Thursday, June 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
all high ene electros, and most mid end guns too
Marker Setup: Red to black DM4, XSF chip, Hybrid rail, 68/4500 "Thunder" Dynaflow, Smoke v35 halo B.
Recommended
Upgrades:
XSF chip, CP roller trigger, full ultralight kit.
Strengths: fast, fast, fast, no kick, fast, did I mention fast? Also, no chops.
Weaknesses: Overpriced, the membrane pads don't work very well.
Review: I got my DM4, and I was impressed. It came in a nice padded box with a rebuild kit, extra screws, a tube of lube, a barrel condom, and a macro line kit. After a trigger job and some work on the settings, this thing absolutely rips. Now that I have the XSF chip, it's even faster. This thing shoots ropes, I wil lhave to get a 2nd job just to pay for the paint. The only issues i've had were the eyes and membrand pad went out. Otherwise, and excellent gun. THe eyes in it are so good, I haven't chopped in the 15 cases i've put thru the gun.
Conclusion: Giving it a 8 because the eyes and membrane pad went out. Otherwise an excellent gun.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 5th, 2004 at 10:32 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (19):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media