paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dye Hybrid Pants / Dye Hybrid Pants / Dye Hybrid Pants / Dye Hybrid Pants

Dye Hybrid Pants Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dye

Buy Dye Hybrid Pants

Paintball Pants and Shorts

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dye Hybrid Pants
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 105
Average Rating: 9.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $73

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The 2004 Hybrid Pant is a seamless combination of light weight and durability. Designed with the same specifics in mind, this pant boasts many of the same features as its big brother, the C4 Pant, only lightened.

Padded Fly Light padding to protect the most valuable of objects
Side Panels No fade sublimated side panels to keep you looking good wash after wash
Knees Reinforced Cordura panels provide an unbeleivably strong knee. Basically, built to last
Stress Seams Triple stitch tiger tooth thread keeps your pants together for a long, long time
Adjustable Waist Adjustable woven label waist closures. This is an awesome feature if you put on a little weight in the off season.
Lower Back Compression formed EVA foam back panel means comfort. Plain and simple
Venting Our venting runs down the entire leg, so you feel the breeze all over.
Reinforced Seat Reinforced vented seat. Go ahead, slide on it.
Product Availability 
The Dye Hybrid Pants are older, so while they may be available used and in a few cases new, they are not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (11):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
nuckolsc Saturday, June 21st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months8 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
jt pants but not as good as the dye pants
Marker Setup: spyder flash lcd
crossfire 45 ci 3000 psi nitro tank
evolution 2
dye ultralite barrel
dye invision mask and jt jersey and dye 2003 hybrid pants
Strengths: hold alot of stuff, durable, is comfortable and size can be adjusted
Weaknesses: expensive but they are worth every penny
Review: they are great they can be adjusted to any size really! i love them........ they are pretty expensive but they are worth it! if you are willing to spend some money for pants get these don't get the jts they are owned by brass eagle (so they now stink)! They look awesome and make you look like a pro on the field. They have a padded area on your butt that feels good when you are sitting on the ground and the knees are really strong and protect your knees from getting banged up when you slide
Conclusion: they are the best pants for paintballers! dye is a great company so you have to know these pants are good. if i gave it anything less then a 10 it woudn't be fair. these pants kick @$$
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, June 21st, 2003 at 1:41 pm PST
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

ulyanov Wednesday, November 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Pro Series Pants - Not very good
Dye C4 - Much Better
Empire - Slightly better
Marker Setup: WGP E-Class Orracle #3463 Black-Blue-Clear Dusted
Eclipse E-Blade
CP Flames Drop Chrome
Dye Airport Black Dusted
SP Freak Stainless w/ 10" Freak Front Black
VL EvLution II w/ Y-Board
Dye Chrome Beaver Tail
Crossfire 68/4500 HP
Strengths: Well vented, light, very adjustable, decent price
Weaknesses: The knees could be stronger.
Review: I am a front player on a speedball team. I require pants that will withstand the hardest slides, and allow me to get into the wierdest positions one could think of. Thus said, pants I demand need incredibly strong knees. Unfortunately the Dye Hybrid pants didn't meet my criteria, and during the period of use I managed to melt the knees from insane sliding. Players who don't slide alot should consider these pants however, as they are light, extremely well vented, and will fit any player on the field. Another nice feature of these pants is the number and functionality of the pockets.
Conclusion: I would recommend this product to any player who plays mid/back, but front players who need to slide alot I recommend the Dye C4 pants for the stronger knees.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

geekyrocketguy Monday, June 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Camouflage BDUs--a fourth of the cost and a fourth of the quality
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra
Smart Parts TearDrop Barrel
Egg
ESP Frame CAMD
Tboard w/ Eyes
45/4500 Pure Energy Tank
Evil Detonator Regulator
And a bunch of other goodies
But--I'm writing a review of pants. Why does my marker setup matter?
Strengths: Adjustable Waist
A ton of pockets
Crotch protection
Heat vents
Good looking
Well made
Weaknesses: Knees get holes
Absolutely no padding on the knees
Strait Shot squeegee pocket is misplaced
Review: I bought these pants because I was going to play in a tournament the next day and everyone else on the team had paintball pants. For $80, these were by no means cheap. However, they looked well-made and had everything I would expect in paintball pants.

I live in Southern California and often play in >80* heat. The vents on the sides of the Hybrids functioned as they should. Since the pants are mostly black, they were hot. However, it was not intolerably so.

The Strait Shot squeegee pocket was problematic. When I placed a squeegee in it, it whacked against my thigh and butt whenever I ran. I eventually had to take out the Strait Shot and instead use a Battle Swab.

The Dye Hybrids also have ABSOLUTELY no knee padding. The knees are made out of some very strong material, but there is no padding. I wore some $3 knee pads that I bought at Walmart under the pants. With the knee pads, I had no problems.

EDIT: After about 6 months of using these pants, I have managed to burn holes in both knees from sliding. The knees didn't rip out, they melted. I would hope that, for $80, Dye could make pants in which the knees don't melt.

Also, I have learned not to put change in the side pockets. When I sit down, all the change dumps out of these pants.

In recent times, the price has come down considerably for these pants. I've seen them for as low as $41 online. If you need pants for cheap, get these. However, I highly recommend the C4s. They cost about $80, and will become cheaper as the C6s become more common. The C4s are more durable, have knee pads, and just look better.
Conclusion: For the most part, these have the quality that is expected from Dye. All the seams are double or triple stitched and seem like they will last quite a while. However, I did manage to melt holes in both knees, which was very disappointing.

Unless you'e on an uber budget, I recommend you buy the C4s. They have knee pads built in, are more durable, and look better than the hybrids. They are much better, and their price is coming down.

Because of the squeegee issue, the lack of knee pads, the holes in the knees, and the superiority of C4 pants, I can't gives the pants a very high score. I'll settle for a 7. The only reason to buy these pants is if you need paintball pants for really cheap.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Friday, November 11th, 2005 at 2:33 pm PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

Six Feet Under Friday, January 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Regular blue jeans
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra, 20oz Pure Energy, Empire Reloader, Java vertical feed neck, and a PMI Razzor 14'' barrel
*Saving for cocker*
Strengths: Good looks, great ventilation, adjustable waistline, reinforced knees
Weaknesses: adjustable ankle cuff frays and sometimes gets broken off, sewing comes out
Review: Since there isn't enough space allowed in the above sections for Key Strengths and Key Weaknesses, I'll finish them up here:

Strengths

These pants are extremely nice. The reinforced knees have withstood countless games of sliding and diving, and the adjustable waist is good if your body weight and waistline fluctuates a little like mine does. The adjustable ankle cuff is a good idea but has a few shortcomings (which I'll talk about below), and the pants are very attractive. They also have a padded crotch (also below). The two squeegee pockets are a nice addition, and the velcro on the hip pockets and the back pockets are nice additions as well.


Weaknesses

Although the pants have a lot of good features and good looks, they do have several shortcomings in my opinion. The stitching, which is supposed to be double-stitched, has already come out in a section about an inch long up on my thigh. The adjustable ankle cuff broke off on me one time so I sent the pants into Dye and they fixed them and got them back to me in about a week to a week and a half. The padded crotch is not really padded because if you tap that area you can definitely feel it, but it's a nice addition nonetheless. These are also very thin pants so they don't protect well from hard ground and when you get hit (not complaining, but it's a fact). The C4 jersey is the same way about getting hit. I believe I read somewhere that these pants have the Dye-tack on the butt of them as to keep your pack from moving around while you run, slide, and dive, but all I see is a padded butt. For me, the pants were a little expensive but it was my birthday present to myself so I splurged a little and bought these and a Dye C4 jersey.
Conclusion: There are good points, but I figure the good and the bad is a little uneven, with the good barely pulling ahead. I'm going to give them an 8 because I don't think the ankle cuff should have broken off and the stitching should NOT be coming loose. Other than that and the price, I'd recommend them.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Mrpaintball1331 Saturday, November 1st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Any Pants
Marker Setup: Spyder Shutter with a Teardrop Barrel a 68cu/3000psi 3A nitro tank and a Phsyco Ballistics drop forward.
Strengths: 1. Nice looking
2. Crouch protection
3. Almost indestuctable knees
Weaknesses: 1.None
2.None
3. Did I mention None
Review: These are very nice playing pants. They are good for sliding on your knees or your butt. The extra padded crouch is very nice it protects the valubles id you know what i mean. You can adjust the wait line. They are awsome for painballing at any level. Trust me.
Conclusion: Get them if your budget allows because they are awsome.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

teufelhunden Thursday, September 11th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Other pants; sweats, windpants.
Marker Setup: 68 Automag [Chrome Body]
Level 10
Chrome Omega Rail
Chrome Omega Sight Rail
Chrome Vert Foregrip
Chrome Rear Velocity Adjuster
Black Hyperframe
Strengths: Great fit, very comfortable.
Weaknesses: They're a bit expensive for glorified painters pants.
Review: These pants are great for those of you who like to slide on your knees, your butt, your face... whatever you want. They're very strong and durable, and comfortable to boot. I think the ventilation on the inner legs is a great idea, keeping you at least kinda cool when you're goin full tilt. These things have pockets for everything, which is a great idea. Not to mention, it's all multi stitched for extra durability, and the double knees seems strong. The padding for the tailbone is also a good idea, as I manage to hurt my tailbone nearly every time I play.

These pants are really comfortable too; so comfortable, they're now my favorite pants in general. I wear them to school, out, and around. They're stylish as well.

The price was a factor though, as it put off me buying them for a while.
Conclusion: If you're looking for paintball pants, look no further. However, if you aren't going to be playing a lot of paintball, you probably don't need pants.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ghost_Kid Wednesday, February 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
jt, c5 stuff like that.
Marker Setup: 2k3 vert feed e-blade, fgp, nexus ram, qevs, ultralight, halo b, hyper inline, shocktech drop.

WHY DOES IT MATTER ITS PANTS??
Strengths: Comfy, cool looks, price(compared to c5), name, vents in the side,
Weaknesses: None their so amazing.
Review: I bought these at action village, a couple of months ago. i have had no problems with these pants and i think they are more comfortable than sweatpants. i love the vents in the side that cool you off while your hot. if it is cold then i suggest wearing sweatpants under them because the wind will wip through them. People said they are noisy and i beg to differ. i think they are just as noisy as sweatpants. i love the pads were your pods are. I have never tried c5s but it really seams to me that they are almost the same. take no offense to this if you own c5s. it is pretty much prefence.
Conclusion: If you have the money go out and buy them!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

masterofbushes Wednesday, September 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT's, Evil, and Rave
Marker Setup: Bushmaster B2k, Freak Barrel System, Shocktech Super Fly, Empire Drop, Evi II
Strengths: Everything, the padded knees, the padded butt, pockets are nice and big.
Weaknesses: I would say that the price has a big factor.
Review: I love these pants. They are so nice. Pretty light and make you look like the pro on the field. I play on an indoor turf field and I was sick of getting my knees messed up, I wore shorts, so I got them. The double knees are so nice and they havent busted yet. They are great.
Conclusion: Great produce and if you are serious about paintball then i would get these hands down.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

sprayndapaint Sunday, April 6th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
These are my first(and Last!!) pair of Paintball Pants. I usually wore old slacks or jeans, but then i got serious......
Marker Setup: Stock Black 2002 impulse
12 volt revvy/x board
kapp drop zone 2
20 oz. Co2 w/ Smart parts on/off valve
Soon to come:
New Designz bolt
bolt pin
tapeworm
blade trigger
voodoo VFF mount
LPR kit
max-flo nitro tank
VISION
Strengths: 1.COMFORT 2.MOBILITY 3.DURABILITY 4.UNIQUE 5.PURE STYLE!!!!
Weaknesses: To keep a balanced review......they are sometimes expensive.
Review: I love these pants!!! They are the best. Yes, I have only owned one pair of pants, but i tried on a number of pants before these, including the Animal B.P.S.,2002 and 2003 JT Pants,The 2003 DYE(these) and Rase pants. I personally liked the DYE the best, They are very comfortable, they have a stylish baggy look to them, they are pretty unique right now, they have vents for comfort,stretchy crouch,squeegee pocket(for those who use it) and a padded back pad built right into the pants!!!(if you wear a Pack it will cover the pad, giving you even better support) the pad is not bulky, i really like that. The pants give you the ultimate in mobility, I am a fat back player so i cant say i slide or anything, but it is still nice to find a pant that feels like they arent even there. I really like the vents that are in the pant from above the knee down to the ankle, they give a person that little breeze you hope for on a hot day. I would consider buying these pants if you are thinking about some, I even wear mine to school, sometimes too much actually(i forget you gotta rotate the clothing daily)
Conclusion: Great pants, maybe a little expensive for people in other areas, I bought my pair from a friend who owns a store for about 60 bucks and i love them to death. Buy These Pants!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

joe98200 Friday, March 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None (who borrows other people's pants anyway?)
Marker Setup: CCI Phantom Gravity Feed Bottom Line - PMI Extreme Rage Hopper - PMI Elbow - Pure Energy 12 oz. CO2 Tank
Strengths: Read review.
Weaknesses: Read Review
Review: <Screw this review if you don't like to read thorough ones.>

I'll list the main features of these pants first:
1. cool vent liner
2. ballistic knees
3. inner thigh venting
4. adjustable waist
5. harness padding
6. self-adjustable ankle gaiters
7. swab pockets
8. sublimated side panels

Looks:
These pants aren't cheap looking. They're very stylish and look really cool if they're baggy. Heck, even my dad, who doesn't play paintball, said that these pants look really cool. What's also cool is that the Dye symbol is imprinted on both sides of the pants, so you can show your pride if you love Dye. The bad part about looks is that the big, obnoxious Dye symbol on the exact middle of your butt looks weird, especially if you don't use a harness or tuck in your jersey. It doesn't bother me anyways.

Feel:
You don't feel any rough things on the pants as soon as you wear them. Even though the size was 10 times too big, the adjustable waist fixed that problem. It's very comfortable wearing these, especially in windy weather. It's also near impossible to sweat in these pants during playing, since the venting on the inside of your legs helps to cool things down. The harness padding is a really nice touch, especially with crappy harnesses or heavy ones. You barely feel it against your butt. Everyone calls this butt padding just because they don't know what it's for. It's harness padding, people. There are six pockets in all to hold all your important things during playing. The butt pockets have velcro on them so that if you have your wallet in them, it won't fall out when you play. The swab pockets are more important, in my opinion. It's long enough to hold any kind of swab squeegee and it won't fall out. The only bad part of this is that it feels weird against my leg, but at least it shows that it's not falling out.

Performance:
Even though the pants' ballistic knees went down to my shin, it still provided an extra layer of comfort and protection. No, it's not as padded as C4's or C5's, but they get the job done. Ankle gaiters are there to prevent all sorts of bagginess or tripping, which a lot of people hate. Getting hit on the pants rarely counts as a hit because the paintballs almost never splat on it because it's so baggy (it varies from size to size). There was this one game on an incredibly small field where a person with a Shocker shot me at least 15 times, on the goggles (see my VForce Profiler review), jacket, and pants. They all bounced off because of the size and material (I guess). Then again, it varies. The only few flaws of these pants is lack of knee and crotch padding. There is barely any padding on the crotch at all, just a bit of nylon at the bottom somewhere. I haven't been shot there yet, so I have no idea how it feels like getting shot there (I don't want to know!).

Other:
There are sometimes a few threads that stick out sometimes, especially in the waist area near the velcro straps for adjustment. This isn't a bother, since the pants are well made.
Conclusion: These pants are really reliable and easy to clean and use. They have the minimum, and more, of what real paintball pants should be.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (11):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media