paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / USA Performance Products Viper-M1 / USA Performance Products Viper-M1 / USA Performance Products Viper-M1 / USA Performance Products Viper-M1

USA Performance Products Viper-M1 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount USA Performance Products

Buy USA Performance Products Viper-M1

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


USA Performance Products Viper-M1
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 61
Average Rating: 8.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $290

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The standard features on the Viper-M1 are costly upgrades for many other markers.
Product Availability 
The USA Performance Products Viper-M1 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
NYSEguy Sunday, September 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: VL Triad w/After market barrel, 20oz tank, and 2nd hand drop forward
Viper M1 Standard w/raised sight rail, rifle scope, 12 oz Java tank w/On-Off
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Strengths: marker is built like a tank, unique, barrel is ceramic & teflon coated. Dead on velocity
Weaknesses: It's not very upgradeable.
Review: This marker is rock solid. It's hard to describe how a gun "feels" if you don't have one to hold yourself, but it feels "right" in your hands. Middle of the road when it comes to noise, not to quiet, not too loud either. I have the standard 10" barrel and my friend who has an A-5 w/the 16" combat m16 barrel had a little bit of a target practice shootoff. I was able to lay the paint on target as well, if not a little more accurately than my friend. We were aiming for a 15" diameter target from about 50 feet. For a standard barrel, I thought that was pretty good, I can only imagine if I had the 14" barrel upgrade how much better it might be.

Because it's unique, you will got a lot of looks and questions about it. I like the flat black finish on it.... no nonsense. If you get the millitary edition w/the stock, it looks like an AR-15 assault rifle.
Conclusion: Pricey, for a standard semi auto blowback, but if you can snag one used from ebay, you're looking at dropping about 100-120 bucks. That's pretty good for such a solid marker, that is unique.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

brianivey Wednesday, January 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder (many different types/models), tippmann 98 custom, B.E. Raptor :-( , new hammer, and many more...
Marker Setup: Viper M1 military setup (with the raised sight rail and folding CAR stock), 10 inch sniper extension, ricochet ak electric hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
if you have the military kit, great! if not, and you enjoy scenario games... get it! if you like to shoot fast, get a electronic hopper! it's the only way to keep this gun shooting properly. the stock barrel is fairly accurate, but the 12 or 14 inch barrel would be optimal for speed and accuracy.
Strengths: DURABLE! this gun is a freaking sherman tank of paintball guns!
Weaknesses: lack of after-market upgrades. a word to the manufacturer: electronic grip!
Review: over-all, i love the viper! it's the best gun i've ever owned or shot. you can beat this gun like a "red-headed stepchild" and it will never let you down on the field. the mag chamber enables you to get a wicked amount of shots for your money's worth. if you ever do have a problem with your viper, or if you decide to purchase an upgrade or two, the customer service is outstanding. they are very nice and very helpful.
Conclusion: overall, this is a great gun... a little pricey for some, but great none the less. the viper is perfect for scenario players who really want the feel of "real combat."
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

southvike81 Sunday, October 12th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann model 98,custom spyder e-99 they dont even hold a breath against the viper
Marker Setup: viper m1 double trigger raised sight barrel co2 remote
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing really thats the great thing about the gun it has alot of upgrades that already comes with the gun like built in expansion chamber and the power feed system
Strengths: built in expasion chamber power feed system very accurate gun
Weaknesses: only weakness is that the gun loses some co2 when you play
Review: the heart of the gun is the body and viper couldent have done it better the bult in mag chamber is where your co2 goes where the handle is wehn i first looked at it i hated it it looked so bad i wondered why they couldent do it like the tippmann well the first time i got into the field i relized it see the tippmann guns the co2 chambeer is on the outside of the gun handle well that gets in the way greatly in the field it gets in the way and you will not perform at your best while the vipers co2 chamber is perfect eh way it is becasue it want get in the way
Conclusion: i would recomend anyone who is looking for a great gun and dosent want to jack up 800 to 1000 dolelrs look no further than the viper m1 people say its pricey as heck but u can get a good deal on it on ebay for about 150 dollers
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, October 18th, 2003 at 9:49 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

hockey star Wednesday, August 28th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
pirahnas, spyders, palmer blazer, phantoms
Marker Setup: Viper M1 with vxt 2 finger trigger, and I might order a BOA barrel for it too
Recommended
Upgrades:
vxt trigger frame, BOA barrel (not needed though)
Strengths: Well, it has a lifetime warranty - if anything EVER breaks or rusts (which it wont), they will replace it for free!!!! It is built better than a Tippmann, and just as reliable if not more! It is a very accurate gun stock with the 10" barrel, and I imagine that with a nice 14" BOA barrel, it would be even more accurate. It has a good rate of fire, especially with the VXT 2 finger trigger. Velocities with the MAG chamber stay very consistent, and liquid Co2 doesnt get in.
Weaknesses: well, on/off valves are very nice to have, seeing that if you dont have one, you might have to use an O-ring inside the asa of the mag chamber to keep the air from coming out. Besides that, there is NOTHING wrong with this gun and it is THE best blowback on the market, and that includes being better than tippmanns, spyders, pirahnas (trust me, I have shot all of these, even when they have been upgraded).
Conclusion: Well, this gun is awesome. It has a lifetime warranty, is solid as a rock, is very accurate, very consistent, not too heavy, and damn good looking! I definetely recommend this gun over any spyder or tippmann out there, no matter how upgraded they are.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

ndgarf Wednesday, August 28th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 custom with lots of upgrades, black maxx, pmi products...
Marker Setup: military package, bottom line, 12 sniper barrell, double trigger,45 grip. Also have sniper stock & boa barrell.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrell & Double trigger are great upgrades. A remote might be a good idea (see below).
Strengths: First - I have read in the past that USA Paintball provides poor service. I am writing primarily tonight because this is absolutely NOT the case. I sent my gun in last week to get a new spring and thorough cleaning/refurbish. They called me the day they got it, then fixed it and sent it out the next day. I got it back today. GREAT customer service. Thank you Derrek at USA Paintball.

Now, the gun itself...The Viper is ROCK solid. I have taken it to hell and back and it has been true to me all the way. With the sniper barrell it is very accurate. The mag chamber keeps my velocity consistent in all weather and when I throw lots of paint. My son and I play hard and get both ourselves and our guns dirty. My M1 is easier to clean than I am and is always ready to go back out and get dirty again - this gun is very reliable.
Weaknesses: The Viper is a bit on the heavy side, more so with the military stock, but so what...that helps give it the solid feel that I like so much. I have a bottom line set up with a 20 oz CO2 and there isn't really enough room to comfortably use the military stock. If I didn't have the BL, or if I had a remote, I would not have any problem with the Military stock. Upgrades can be expensive and barrell options are limited, but I understand that will change shortly with more boa options.
Conclusion: Great gun for a beginner, intermediate or rec player (like myself). Some like it initially for the looks, then like it a lot more when they try it out. I like it for both. I bought my M1 used, am probably its third owner and will be its last. I am also probably the first owner to finally have to send it in to get it fixed (a simple spring as I said earlier). I can't recommend this gun enough but I can't give it a 10 since nothing is perfect. A 9 is pretty darn close though so.....
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

homerj Friday, August 16th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyders, titan, pro-carbine, model 98, scorpion,
raptors, stingrays, etc., etc.
Marker Setup: don't get me started
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: military edition looks cool as hell

unique. you probably won't see many other
players with one

nice balance with the tank placed where it is (on
the military ed. at least)

quick release barrel similar (darn near
identical) to mags

pretty decent trigger pull. you won't mistake it
for a cocker, but still not too bad.

venturi bolt. this is not the crap they stick in
spyders. this is the kind of bolt people pay
good money for. it has a rounded plastic piece
on the end so there's no rough edge smacking the
ball.

very well machined. no ugly welds or anything
like that.

only one barrel break so far & that was because i
foolishly messed with the barrel nubbin.
Weaknesses: seems expensive, but not really if you add up all
the things you get. i bought a refurbished
military ed. for $188 & it came with a new
barrel, stock, sight rail, & the body of the gun
was almost flawless.

if you feel the need to "upgrade" your viper your
sol. the only place i know to buy stuff from is
usas.

Conclusion: an all around well made marker. it's performance
is at least on par with other similar markers &
exceeds most of them. i wouldn't shell out $340
for it because, let's face it, you're not taking
this marker someplace where the average player is
shooting a cocker or bushmaster.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbweasel Wednesday, August 14th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
my first marker was a spyder tl plus, ive shot model 98's, pro carbines, pirahnas, other spyders, stingrays, (in other words a LOT of basic blowbacks), automags, autocockers, matrices, impulses...
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Impulse with 12" Freak barrel and km2 genesis board, 68 crossfire stub, 12 v revy w/ x board
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel. 12 or 14. it doesnt make a difference which one. Bottom line or remote, atleast a 9v revy.
Strengths: LIFETIME warrantee! You cant beat that. It's nice to have that kind of confidence in your marker, knowing that it wont (probably) crap out on you. And if it does just send it in, and the manufacturer will fix it for free. I found that it was decently accurate with the 14" barrel. Rugged feel to it. I think someone said before me that you could probably hit it with a sledge hammer and it wouldnt break. They're probably right. Looks cool if you lke the military look to it (i dont). would probably make a great gun for scenario paintball. Probably one of the best blow back markers ive used. I also think the bore drop barrel with 1/4 turn is a great thing for a marker of this kind.
Weaknesses: The worst thing about it is the price. I was lucky enough not to be the person paying for this marker, but performance wise...this marker was not worth the $300 price tag which was payed for it. The stock barrel was a joke. It wasnt really the slightest bit accruate with it (sorta like spyders). But the new barrel helped. Which reminds me, I payed a RIDICULOUS $90 for their 14" barrel. It would cost you that much for the highest qualty barrel on the market today. All of the upgrades or parts are insanely priced and VERY hard to find. Some of the reviewers below me say that they are easy to find. I guess that's true if you count the manufacturer's website as easy to find. That is the ONLY place to find upgrades.
Well, the trigger also sucks. Mine came with a double trigger and it sucked. When i played s[eedball i was extremely disapointed at how slow the marker fired. This gun does NOT make a good speedball marker. Ball chops were another problem for me, so i had to buy a 9v revy, which helped feed the balls into the chamber. It almost seemed like the balls were half way in before the freaking bolt would chop them in 2. With a revy i still probably chopped about 1 ball or more per bag of 500. It's sorta annoying when newbies are asking me about my marker because it looks like a freaking m-16 (if i have the stock on), and then i have to explain to them how not so great the gun is, and that it is similar to their spyder or whatever. I wish there was just nicer things about this marker.
Conclusion: Sure the gun looks great, its durable, and has a lifetime warrantee. I know a LOT about this marker and have been using it quite often for 2 years, and it's not as great as many people make it out to be. Don't get me wrong its a decent marker, and i had fun with it. Is it worth $300? No. You could buy a powerfeed automag for $250, and the mag is lightyears ahead of the viper. If you are going to invest this much money in a paintball marker, then u should get an automag (great gun). Hell, you can now buy a bushy for $300! Looks can be deceiving, and so can over enthusiastic reviewers with little experience with a marker. So I wouldnt reccommend this marker unless you can find it somewhere for less than $200, then it wuld be great for its price. Hope my review helped : \
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

OPERATOR Sunday, August 11th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman flatline custom 98, autocockers, angels, spyders, piranhas, in other words all of them
Marker Setup: Viper M-1 miliatry package (that includes raised site rail, M-16 grip, and collapsible buttstock), "MAMBA" combat sling, Tasco "PROPOINT" red dot sight, Ricochet AK hopper, DYE "INVISION" mask, 12" barrel from manufacturer, Crossfire 68 cu in. 3000 psi HPA system
Recommended
Upgrades:
I recommend a 12" barrel, remote setup, HPA system ( but the Viper does fine with CO2 too), and DYE "INVISION" mask if using the collapsible buttstock.
Strengths: The Viper "military package" is like a mini M-16. This marker is very easy to use, reliable on the field, very solid design (you need to really wack this gun with a sledge hammer to screw up it's body but don't try it), can be easily strip and cleaned in less than 5 minutes with only ONE ALLEN WRENCH!!! Accuracy on the Viper is above average. It's true what the other reviews say that you can actually use the site rail to target your victims. From my experience with the Viper, I can really feel confident at 1 shot kills at 90 feet. Although it's alot more fun to soak them. The collapsible stock ( military package), may get in the way if you're into speedballing but it suits me fine as intimidates the oppostion. Upgrade to the 12" barrel to give the marker a balanced look and to improve accuracy to the marker. Also you may want to place a remote so it will benefit you in three ways. First, it will save the O-rings on your air from being damaged. Second, you save the thread life on your marker. Third, it makes the marker a little bit lighter and easier to maneuver during CQB scenarios. The velocity is very consistent on the Viper. In my opinion it needs no regulator or expansion chamber for whichever air you prefer to use more. I had only one ball breakage from my Viper but that was becoz I forgot to remove the barrel plug. (DUH!!) Also the Viper has a LIFETIME warranty on all parts. Where else can you find that? I bought a "USED" Viper from USA Preformance for only $190. Basically all the internals on my marker are stripped and replaced with new parts. They say "USED" Vipers may have some scratches (battle wounds) but nothing major. Luckily my marker had no scratches. In fact I suggested some of my friends to get this marker and they all did not notice any scratches on there "USED" Vipers. So if you want to save some bucks, go for the "USED" Vipers if they have any available. They are just as effective as a new one. I forgot to mention that "USED" Vipers are also covered under the LIFETIME warranty. GET THIS MARKER. YOU WILL NOT REGRET IT.
Weaknesses: Lack of aftermarket parts to upgrade. But actually you will be satisfied with what you receive. Remember, that the marker is an extension of you. If you don't have the skills, it doesn't matter what high tech gizmo you have. You'll just end up watching from the sidelines.
Conclusion: The Viper is so versatile it's great for scenario and speedball. If you want a marker that is very durable, reliable, gas efficient, easy to maintain, economical, and a great intimidator on the field. Then look no further because you were destined to have the VIPER M-1. I give this marker a 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, May 10th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Piranha, Rebel bottomline, Model 98, Raptor, Stingray2
Marker Setup: Viper M1 military, 14 inch barrel,remote hose, home-made M16 sights
Recommended
Upgrades:
some sort of sighting system, the raised sight rail was too low too sight down with a mask on because of the collapsable stock.
Strengths: ACCURACY!!!! I have become the most noticed player in my group because of the guns M4 style and its ACCURACY!!! with my home made sights i can take head shots at 100 feet!!! I have played in 45F weather in 4 inches of snow and had no problems whatsoever. The hole in the buttstock is nifty to clip to your harness strap so it is at your shoulder all the time. This gun will give you all the confidence you think you need, beacause it is intimidating! Go by it tonite, you won't regrete it.
Weaknesses: the plug on the elbow wouldn't stay in and i had to perminantly attach it on.
Conclusion: If you can beat the price barrier it will NOT let you down...I will never need or want another gun ever again.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, April 15th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98 custom with a flatline barrel... hhhmmm? how do they compare? well for one, unlike the flatline, the viper barrel doesn't slice balls.
Marker Setup: viper m1 military package(raised site rail, collapsible stock, 14 inch vxt teflon coated barrel, m16 grip), 20 oz. tank with a smart valve, rikochet 2k loader.
Recommended
Upgrades:
vxt 2 finger assembly,perhaps a gun case, my friends keep harrassing me to get the 45 frame, but what for? it's not a pistol, it takes away from the intimidation factor of how much it looks like an assault rifle, such as a colt commando or m16, you know the ones you see in the movies.
Strengths: the distance and accuracy surpass any other marker out there in the price range.
Well balanced, and super reliable. The customer service is excellent, you get them the right time of day, right when you get home from work or school , you get great service. i told them i needed a new tank o ring, the guy said he'd send a couple in the mail, 2 days later i open up a back of 25 orings, no charge.
Life time warranty if it ever breaks down, which i have no fear off, because it's built like super man.
easy to clean, sit down for a half an hour with a wet cloth, gun oil, and a battle swab, your gun looks brand new again.
UNBEATABLE CO2 EFFICIENCY! I go through four 5+ hour days of paintball with my 20 oz and the tankstill isn't empty
Weaknesses: My friends constantly bagged on me for my gun "crapping out", but it wasn't the gun at all, no way. It was the welfare 24 oz. on/off valve tank that i ordered with the gun. It leaks, and it breaks the ball in the chamber every time it runs out, which is quite often with a leaky tank. Stick to buying a normal tank and then going to your nearest paintball store and buying a smart valve, no matter how long it takes for them to get a shipment in.
Conclusion: I"m rating the gun, not the tank that comes with the gun. So if you like saving money on co2, getting great distance, accuracy, and reliability, and paying a fourth as much as the rich kids who go out and buy eguns, playing with them, and beating them . This gone is the bomb diggity. I dont' know where else to go to now, i can't see myself upgrading to a better gun, becuase i am super happy with the performance of this one. Except maybe the nasty typhoon, cuz of the whole double barrel deal.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media