paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Diablo Mongoose LCD / Diablo Mongoose LCD / Diablo Mongoose LCD / Diablo Mongoose LCD

Diablo Mongoose LCD Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Diablo

Buy Diablo Mongoose LCD

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Diablo Mongoose LCD
[ View Photos (10) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 86
Average Rating: 8.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $200

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Newest from the Diablo Line, The Mongoose slashes into the paintball industry with one of the best paintball markers worth more than its current cost! STOCK, The gun comes with customized features such as Semi, Multi, Turbo, and Full-Auto firing modes, push button On/off features, custom carved and milled fore-grip expansion chamber, controllable rate of fire, Twisted Low-pressure chamber, and many other crazy features that lead the gun to the top! The best of the features most saught after by paintball players and paintball suppliers alike is the newly fashionable LCD Screen (Liquid Crystal Display) This screen offers many of the great features such as Game Timer, Shot Counter, Mode adjustment, and Rate of Fire! Features the NEW Style Ball Detent, Rear Velocity Adjuster, and more reliability and great performance than we can possibly stress. Try one of these guns for yourself, and watch how the Mongoose can "Tear Them To pieces!
Product Availability 
The Diablo Mongoose LCD is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
boring1469 Thursday, February 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months29 of 32 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I haven't had many other guns, but nothing compares to this gun. It is my best one yet. I don't think that nothing can compare for the same price.
Marker Setup: I have a red Diablo Mongoose LCD and it is totally stock. I never did anything to it and never will. It is accurate and doesn't need anything extra.
Recommended
Upgrades:
None. The only thing you might want is a longer barrel but the one it comes with is 12 inches and is very accurate and looks good.
Strengths: It is accurate,fast,nice, cheap and cool features,and easy to operate
Weaknesses: Only one, my hose started to leak but alot of guns do that.
Review: I have played in wars and everytime people see me shoot my gun or even see it they get jealous. I see people spending lots of money on upgrades ($100-$500) that my gun already comes with. So i laugh at them. When you go to buy a gun and you want a cheap reliable gun and you are planning to upgrade it, just go full force and buy this gun because it comes with everything you need and more. And just for a little more money. It saves alot. Overall it is great and i wouldn't trade for anything
Conclusion: I seriously recomend this gun. It is a very great gun and gives a problem every blue moon (rarely). If you want accuracy,cheapness,good gun with great looks and a reliable one, then get this one.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

Soul06 Wednesday, October 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested16 of 25 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
In this class:
Sypder Electra DX, Tipmmann A-5
Marker Setup: Kingman Spyder Electra DX, Eggy 2, Nitro Duck X-stream, Titanium Boomy
Recommended
Upgrades:
Everything
Strengths: Looks cool
Weight (depens on you)
Cheap
Weaknesses: Everything it claims
Bad Stock barrel (accuracy)
Chops
Less than average Quality
Gas Efficiency
Review: Alot of people with little paintball experience and no real technical knowledge may tell you that this a great marker, that it has great accuracy and a wonderful rate of fire but none of that is true.
The marker does look nice and works average for its class, which is LOW END Electronic markers. But let me dispel some of its myths.

#1 Its boosts about a high rate of fire, somewhere around 20 balls per second. There is absolutely NO CHANCE of reaching that with this gun. When you test it ungased and unloaded it will cycle (click) at that rate but it CAN NOT cycle any more than about 11-12 shots per second in full operation. Honestly no low end blow-back marker will cycle itself faster then 13 BPS without shaking it self to pieces. See the circuitry to reach 20 BPS is the simple part but there is nothing in this marker to compensate for the high pressure and kickback that is produced. You have to consider that you have a relatively heavy metal "hammer" ramming back and forth against your valve and springs. On top of that this marker is probably running somerwhere around 700-800 PSI (and thats just being optomistic about it). If you know anything about physics then you should be able to imagine how much force is being produced. No marker can sustain that kind of punishment...even Angels and Intimidators would fall to pieces under that much pressure which is why high end markers like those are made to operate on pressures below 150PSI and have no internal springs.
Also you have to remember that the pressure form the gas isn't just pushing the paint out of the barrel...some of this pressure is also escaping and trying to push the balls back up through your feedneck and into you hopper (that should be common sense). Again that much pressure is enough to (1) push balls back up into the hopper and cause dry firing or (2) if you have a electronic loader the pressure is enough to hold up the next paintball from falling fully into the breach before the bolts comes back. This equals CHOPPING
(Ask anyone with real, technical paintball marker knowledge and they will agree)

#2 Claims of excellent accuracy. NO...the barrel has average honing, which for a true paint-baller means poor or horrible honing. (Honing is the finishing/polishing process done to the inside of a barrel to make for the least amount of friction)
Poor honing means more friction, more friction means slower paintballs and that very likely will lead you to paintball barrel breaks.

#3 This marker is not made for low pressure operation. It will eat up alot of your gas, CO2 or HPA. You can upgrade your internals; hammer, regulator, valve, springs etc. But honestly for all of that it may be better to start off with a little higher priced but much better quality marker.

Other possible issues:
Weight -but that is really dependent upon you. Personally weight has never been much of an issue to me.

High Profile- meaning its not the smallest marker, though not the biggest either. With hopper and gas attached it makes for a good/ easier spoted target
Conclusion: Well if you scroll to the top you'll read alot of lies and sales crap. Claims like, "The Mongoose slashes into the paintball industry with one of the best paintball markers worth more than its current cost!" and "...more reliability and greater performance than we can possibly stress. Try one of these guns for yourself, and watch how the Mongoose can Tear Them To pieces!"- good sales tactic. I'm sure it would catch/fool some newbie out there going paintballing for their first time and/or a newbie just dying to have his own marker. Like what happened to me my very first time playing. But understand this one thing...YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR!!!

For $200 for a marker from your local Sports Authority, Walmart or where ever, probably comes with some offer like "Mask, 16 oz. CO2 tank and gloves Included"...what you are paying for is never quality. And it would be a miracle if it lived up to any of its performance claims. Remember this high end, high level guns that actually shot 20-25 or more BPS, never chop, have excellent accuracy and are gas efficient cost anywhere from $850 to $1500 and can only be purchased either online or from an actual "paintball store"...so do you really think that you are finding a marker even half as good as those at your local commercial sporting goods store (ie Modells, Walmart, Sprots Authority etc)...and even more do you think they would be that concerned abuot you to give all that extra "stuff" as well.
One more time...YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR!! and in paintball $200 aint paying much.

What iIwould recommend to anyone looking for a beginner / rec level quality electronic marker in the $200-$300 price range then deal with a Kingman Spyder: Electra, Electra DX, E-99 Avant or a Tippmann A-5. I you are willing to pay alittle more, maybe $300-$400, then look at the Spyder Fenix, Tippmann A-5 flatline w'/ e-grip or response trigger or perhaps one of the JT models (though I haven't tested those).

But any electronic marker for under $200 (especially if it comes with any extra paintball equipment)....complete waste of your money. Its only worth it if you Absolutely Insist on having your own gun for your day of play and dont want to spend much.


Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

Hunter223 Sunday, December 21st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month14 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Rebel Extreme , BTB , Armotech Sim 4
Marker Setup: Mongoose Lcd, Halo TSA LCD, with a Big Daddy extra barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Good the way it is. Maybe a Barrel if you want to Snipe.
Strengths: Easy to change modes, accurate stock barrel, very good quality.
Weaknesses: None
Review: This gun is great. Fast and accurate out of the box. Looks cool and great quality. Get this gun if you like turbo mode and auto. All modes a execellent. Doesnt leak or anything. Great gun. I cant say enough about this marker. The stock barrel is a queit riot which pretty accurate. Its not real loud,could be quiter but isnt bad. The gun is lite and can be adjusted for the rate of fire on all modes.
Conclusion: Buy this gun. You will not be dissapointed in this marker. Great gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

Spink Saturday, May 1st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month11 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Impulse
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel, huge plastic bubble to put around it to muffle the friggan thing!
Strengths: SEE REVIEW
Weaknesses: SEE REVIEW
Review: PROS:
- Cheap pricewise ($144 LED, $166 LCD)
- Haven't chopped a ball yet... Tried to too.
- accruate enough with a 32° 16" Nite Stick
- Already has a reg and a drop on it
- Shoots fast, and has plenty of modes
- Light, but thats because the metal it's crafted from isn't the greatest but it'll do.
- Ummm... Looks cool

CONS:
- The biggest problem I have is that the alan screws holding the entire friggan thing together unscrew themselves as you shoot. After not even 100 shots my whole grip and trigger frame was wobbling ready to fall off the bottom.
- LOUD... Don't forget earplugs with this one. It has a very loud metal plinking sound that reminds me of a pro carbine.
- Eats up CO2... Nitro works a LITTLE better
- Makes snow after a short time of moderate firing. (Makes it look like a space gun though hehe)
- Cheap grip, trigger wobbles. Don't screw the grip in too tight, or it will crack.
- Could be a little more accurate considering I'm using a 16" with it.
- The feeling that your gun is slowly unscrewing every time you shoot :)

Conclusion: Well as the saying goes, you get what you pay for. I'm not complaining though, it's a decent marker, I like it, and it has it's problems just like any marker.

If you're looking for the best buy in the under $200 price range then buy this gun.

Drop that pod harness and wear a tool belt with alan wrenches instead.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

Wicked_15 Monday, April 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Viewloader Orion...This thing sucks dont waste ur money or time on this POS!
Marker Setup: DIABLO MONGOOSE LED(soon empire electronic hopper) and PMI Chameleon Spring Kit
JT Full Head Mask
Recommended
Upgrades:
You can shoot this thing on slow and standard full auto without electro hopper and not have any trouble chopping balls but if you want to shoot it on xtreme full auto which is like 13 bps get a electronic hopper. It shoots about 240 fps so i recommened the PMI Spring Kit the chameleon kit which i will be getting shortly. shoots fast but not really far spring kit will fix this. faster=farther :)
Strengths: Great Accuracy with stock barrel
Doesnt Chop Balls
Awesome trigger
Weaknesses: Taking the grip off to change modes but not that bad
Review: This is an awesome gun out of about 2000 paintballs i chopped maybe 5 at tops and about 2 of those were on xtreme fully auto w/out electro hopper which was stupid lol. I love this gun its the best. All you need is a Electro Hopper like with any fully auto gun and the PMI Chameleon Spring Kit which runs at about 10 dollars and this baby will be unstoppable.
Conclusion: Get this gun you will not be disappointed!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, April 19th, 2004 at 4:50 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

crazyman Monday, January 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders, mid range electros.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Electro hopper is a must, a new barrel isn't a bad investment, as well as a HPA tank.
Strengths: Good stock. Good price too.
Weaknesses: Chops if your loader isn't fast enough. Can't buy enough paint! Haha.
Review: OK, here's the mongoose in a nutshell. Overall, for it's price, a great buy. I've tried many other guns like this (Silver bullet, Avants, even that new Icon E thing) but they aren't as good stock as this one is, at least in my opinion. It's really not a bad marker, especally for an intermediate player. The only downfall about this gun is there is no way to disable the fully automatic fire so you are kind of on your honor to not use full auto where not permitted. Other than that, nothing too bad, especally for the price.
Conclusion: Good price, pretty good stock, and the LCD is useful, however, if you are not able to use full auto you might run into some problems at some fields because there is no way to disable it. Overall, I give it an 8. It's a good marker for a good price and, in comparison to others in it's price range, I think, stock, it is close to being the best if not top dog... er... mongoose.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Friday, December 31st, 2004 at 12:51 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

paintball12193 Tuesday, March 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder imagine
spyder E-99
spyder Pilot

so basically all low end electronic guns
Marker Setup: -Dye DM6 fully stock
-Halo B w/ rip and V35
-68/45 pure energy nitro tank
-16" all american

-Smart Parts Dynasty Ion

-Blue Diablo Mongoose LCD
Recommended
Upgrades:
maybe a new barrel if you get more serious about paintball
FAST HOPPER
Strengths: -Looks
-Great stock gun
-Colors
Weaknesses: -Velocity adjuster
-Battery efficiency
Review: In the time that I've played with this gun there were some good and some bad things. The good things are, the speed of the gun. You could get 20 ball per second on its highest speed on all settings. (semi,rebound,full auto,3 shot burst, 6 shot burst) Also the looks are really kool for a gun you could get for 120 online. But, there were a good deal of bad things to. The velocity adjuster comes loose after about 500 paintballs, so you have to screw it back in. And the adjuster skrew scratches the guns pretty deep around where it gets skrewed in, it is not a big problem but I know it scared me when i first put it in, bad scratching noises. Another bad thing is the battery effciency. IT IS SO BAD!!! I would go through 2 batteries in 1 outing. So you could probibly get 1000 -1500 shots to a battery.

Conclusion: So this gun is just average, so I gave it an average grade. All the good things are matched by bad things. I would say that you get what you pay for and if you are upgrading to a better gun, get an Ion, spyder pilot, or something like that, if you are getting your first gun, then get some thing that isn't electronic, like a tippmann (great beginner guns) or an spyder Xtra. But I highly recommend, that you try this gun out before you buy it. DON'T BUY THIS GUN UNLESS YOU KNOW YOU WANT IT!!!!

i hope my review was helpful! Please comment on my review and/or give it a rating
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, July 11th, 2006 at 12:40 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

D.Mongoose927 Wednesday, May 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing
Marker Setup: Diablo Mongoose LCD
20oz. Co2
(soon empire twister barrel )
Halo TSA Backman LED
Recommended
Upgrades:
Electronic Hopper
New Barrel (comes with Quiet Riot stock)
Strengths: 1.Looks
2.price
3.Rate of fire (20 b.p.s.)
4.Accurate
Weaknesses: Chops balls w/out Electronic hopper
Price for hopper that can shoot 20b.p.s.
Review: When I first got the gun it totaly blew my friends new tippman out of the water! We were testing out guns he tried a tippman and he wanted it the second he got it in his hands ,but I wanted a little more from the gun for the price. when I told him I aws getting a diablo mongoose LCD he laughed in my face and kept on making fun of it .....til he saw it in action. Before he knew it he was covered in paint between the rapid fire and accuracy it was a wining one two punch. After the game he told me how impressed he was. Now he wants to buy his own.
Conclusion: I love this gun!! It is accurate and fast. It is the ultimate low price gun!!! Great Rate of fire and accuracy makes it an awsome piece of machinery! I would recamend this to every one no matter experience!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

shocker4141 Sunday, May 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nasty Impulse
Spyder E-99
Psycho Ballistics Silver Bullet Lcd
Marker Setup: Black Mongoose Lcd w/
Smart Parts Freak Barrel System
System x x-10 Drop
Smart Parts Cross hair Cap n' Pin
Halo B Loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
I think this gun is surprisingly great out of the box but maybe A freak and a Halo loader
Strengths: Rate of Fire
Lcd Screen
Weaknesses: Chops Paint if you do not have a fast loader
Review: For the Four years i have played paintball i have never owned a better gun for under $200.
I am currently playing on a team, all my friends said this gun was a waste of money until we played a game with it and i devastated the Hyper-ball Field After that their mind CHANGED about my newly acquired gun.
Conclusion: If you
have the money, buy it just be prepared to start saving for a Halo
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 16th, 2004 at 4:28 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

spyke530 Sunday, March 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Not really similar but a Tippmann 98 custom
Marker Setup: Mongoose LCD
dye boomstick 14"
Evo II or just a regular java hopper, depending on how many balls I want to use
20 oz co2 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
NEW BARREL
an electronic hopper if you want to use full auto
Strengths: FAST,CHEAP,and SEXY
Weaknesses: Stock barrel(Easy to change)
Review: This is an awesome marker, I first tried it out when I got it and it was pretty accurate. Unfortently that Saturday when I was playing I got some paint in the barrel and it was very inacurate. It is a good marker all I need is a new barrel and I'm set.
Conclusion: Good gun, cheap, Just buy a new barrel and you have a great marker for a lot less than 400$
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 13th, 2004 at 4:16 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media