paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / RATCO Rat Pack / RATCO Rat Pack / RATCO Rat Pack / RATCO Rat Pack

RATCO Rat Pack Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount RATCO

Buy RATCO Rat Pack

Paintball Gear Bags

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


RATCO Rat Pack
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 16
Average Rating: 9.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $70

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Complete Gear/Marker Bag that includes:

Removable Tool Kit
Outside hopper pocket with locking toggle
3 Barrel sleeves
Outside mask clip
Loops to strap on pod belt
Removable inside padded divider
Inside tank straps
Interior & Exterior zippered pockets
Holds marker with tank attached
Product Availability 
The RATCO Rat Pack is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
jjdustr340 Tuesday, October 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month22 of 22 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Duffle bags, JT gear bag
Marker Setup: Not important to this review
Strengths: Very well organized, lots of room inside, not too huge outside, very well made
Weaknesses: Not enough zippered compartments in the tool case, I need more stuff to fill it!
Review: ok, I just got this bag from a guy on PBNation who won some in a tournament. Well, the price seemed right and I wanted a real gear bag so I read the reviews here and thought "why not?" So a deal was struck and he shipped me one. I opened the box and at first I was not super impressed. Then I actually took the Rat Pac out of the plastic and folded it open. WOW! I could immediately tell this thing was built with quality and that it was designed for paintball by a paintballer. So upon arriving home I run into the house and begin placing my gear in the bag. I have to say that the hardest part was figuring out exactly how I wanted to put my stuff in there, not because of the lack of space, but because there's so much room in it your just not sure what to put where. Here's what I have just on the inside:

2 markers
68/3000 tank
88/4500 tank
Ricco AK hopper
Ricco Apache hopper
Powerlyte Scepter 5 piece kit
Handheld crono
Two jerseys
Two pairs pants

Then on the outside:
ACI barrel
OTP barrel kit w/ 5 sizing breeches
Battle swab
2 barrel condoms
Pull through squeege

Of course the tool kit attaches to the outside w/ hook and loop fasteners and doesn't seem like it will just fall off on its own. In the tool kit are a couple of zippered pouches, one of which is clear plastic, which is perfect for keeping a bottle of oil (in case it opens it won't be all over everything). There's also loops to hold wrenches and pretty much anything else you wanna put in your tool kit.

They even put loops on the outside for attaching things. A loop on the side for your pack and pods, and a loop on the front to attach your goggles. Did I mention that even with all the stuff in the main compartment, there's still enough room for extra jerseys and a pair or two of pants?
Conclusion: This bag has got to be the finest ever made. Now I know I just got it and haven't compared it to say the large Redz bag or the big Dye bag, but I love the way this thing organizes every thing and keeps the markers very well padded. It seems rather small on the outside but just read the above and you'll see that you can easily fit enough gear for 2 players inside. Retail is $70 which after owning one I would definately still pay, but if you search around you can get a better deal. I'd give it a 12 if I could...I'm just that impressed!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, October 19th, 2004 at 4:54 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dudeinthehut Sunday, March 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Gym bags, backpacks, lawn and garden bags, milk crates, hefties, etc...
Marker Setup: "Comma 'cocker" (fully blown)
Strengths: Made for paintballers from the ground up! Near perfect!
Weaknesses: Plastic rings on the strap are not strong enough and may break as mine did.
Review: Well..., here I go with another product review. First let me remind the regular readers that I have been paintballing since we used Nelspot 007s and grinding shields 20 years ago. So, I know the difference between what is trendy and what is really functional in this game we all love.
I've carried my gear just about every way gear can be carried (as I indicated above). So, when I saw the add for the Rat's Pack in a magazine, it caught my eye. What I noticed is that it was not some duffle bag purchased dirt-cheap from a sweat shop in Tiawan, shipped in bulk to the states, slightly modified, embroidered with the name of some popular paintball outfitter, and sold for a king's ransom to some kid who could have done better with a $15 gym bag from the local department store. The Rat's Pack is obviously made for paintball!
I called the number on the add and was connected to a real person at the manufacturer (there were no dealers at this time as the Rat's Pack was still very new). The nice lady took my credit card info and asked what color I prefered (green or black). A few days later, I had my new bag. Now, I'm a sucker for organizers and bags of all types, but this was the best I had ever seen! The quality of construction was top shelf! I was impressed immediately. I couldn't put stuff in it fast enough! When my old, huge duffle bag was empty. I still had places to put stuff in the much more compact Rat's Pack! This was a mixed blessing because I then had to go buy more stuff to fill it up!
Visit the Ratco site (click on the link). Study one of the pictutres of the Rat's Pack. Notice how the bottom of the bag is wider than the top. This is perfect for players who leave thier tanks on their guns when they store them. Plus you can put two guns in the Rat's Pack this way! You just face them in opposite directions. BRILLIANT!
The people at Ratco also know that you never store a gun with a barrel on it. So they saved length on the bag by adding barrel sleeves to the side. No good (and properly equipped) player would know which barrel he was going to use until he got to field and sized his paint to an appropriate barrel right before the game (understanding temperate and humidity effects on the size and texture of paintballs).
They also add a mesh hopper pocket on the outside. Now, my loaders fit in the bag with guns (upside-down, under the front of the gun). So I use ths pocket for my gloves, chrony, jerk-through, etc.
The detachable tool and parts organizer is a great way to keep track of o-rings, allen wrenches, barrel backs, batteries, and whatever else your gun needs.
The pull-out work mat is a cool idea, though I have not used mine for any thing except a gun divider inside the bag.
The mask loop works well, but I keep my mask in a mask bag as well to proteck the lenses when walking through the trees with my gear bag.
The strap designed for hanging your reload pack is another great idea, but if your tubes are full, your Rat's Pack will be very heavy. It was under these conditions that the plastic hardware on my strap gave way. Ratco should upgrade to metal rings and clips to avoid this.
The beauty of this bag is that it works! Everything has its place and no space is wasted. You need not dig around under stuff to find a particular item like you do in a duffle style bag (JT, etc.) Plus, the bag is a managable size. It hangs nicely from your shoulder and allows you to carry other bags if you have a lot of extra gear (loaner stuff).
Clearly, the Rat's Pack rocks!
Conclusion: If you're in the market for a gear bag (and you must be or you wouldn't be reading this), then take a very close look at the Rat's Pack. In my experience (and I have tons of that stuff) this is the best bag on the market AT ANY PRICE.
I got mine for $60. I think they sell for $70 now. Look at the JT SUV (especially the price) and you will see what an awesome deal this is!
Buy one before Ratco reads this and raises the price!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

litma2 Monday, March 1st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
redz gear bag
Marker Setup: now a DM4 :P

and a dye eblade
Strengths: VERY durable
perfect room
once again - DURABLE and long lasting!
Weaknesses: ummm...... zipper could be bigger so i can get a better grip
Review: yea. WOW. i used my redz bag i won for free and had to go buy the RATS PAC when it came out. I got it a few months before the debut at mardi gras open and wow.
The rats pac is the beast bag ever... bottom line. has room for all your stuff except rather than carrying around all you stuff in a huge bag, its all in a very compact bag. I usually stuff both my guns (both with 88/45 tanks), 3 barrels, a HALO, 7 pod pack, cleats, gloves, elbow pads, pants, jersey, and a change of cloths all in my bag. I really dont use the tool case becuase i have WAY too many parts and such to put in there.
Conclusion: best bag available. I won a redz bag for free and had to shell out the cash when i saw the ratspac. I have used the same bag for over a year and a half and is as good as new cept a little dirty :)

i highly reccommend you buy a RATS PAC for $70 rather than spending over $120 for a redz/jt/dye bag thats holds just as much but has half the quality and double the price.

$70 may seem steep but once you get yer rats pac you will be surprised at why it doesnt cost more
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tonsoffun Wednesday, November 19th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
other bags
Marker Setup: genx4
croosfire 68 45
pipe barrel system
12 volt
Strengths: Durrablility and versatility
Weaknesses: umm. . . well the little cloth thing on a zipper came off, if that counts
Review: This is the single greatest paintball bag EVER! I have never seen anything so usefull as this in my entire life. It holds everything from 2 guns to ur mask, to a detachable tool case, ur hopper, i mean its everything you could want in a bag. I baught one and now everyone at my home feild has one because it is that good. I recomend it to anyone i see and i recomend it to you as well. Its sturdy and well made and in over a year of use has no failed at all(except the sipper cloth).
Conclusion: This is an incredible bag that no real paintball player either tourny or scenario should be without.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

hummer13 Monday, December 8th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
um my old sports bag....
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 c
flatline, 16 inch nyte stick,
car stock
double trigger
ricochet 2k hopper
32 degrees universal drop
Strengths: LOTS of room, great looks,
Weaknesses: 16 inch nyte stick really doesnt fit in the barrel holders.
Review: ok ratco gear bag its very cool. it has alot of room for your gun. if you have 2 guns it prolly will still hold all of it. it has a strap that lets me attach my harness to it which is very cool. It has another strap that you can attach your helmet so you dont have to put it inside and waste room. the 3 barrel holders are very cool. it lets me put all of my barrels in there. The tool case that is attached by velcro is very very nice. you can put your wrenches lubes cleaners almost anything in there.
Conclusion: get it if you need a gearbag that is durable and has lots of room... the bad thing only is the price but its a great bag all around 10 out of 10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

psychocashew Monday, December 1st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
when i fist started playing i didnt even have a bag ......I have used a wide variety of bags in the last couple of years but the Rat Pack has been my favorite by far.
Marker Setup: Tippman 98
Strengths: Durable, Durable and Durable.
Weaknesses: I am still looking for one at this time!
Review: I love this bag. My whole team now owns one. We all love it will never go back to anything that we have used before. I recommend this bag to everyone looking for a new bag. Even if you are not in the market for a new bag you may find that after checking out the rat pack it is what you have been looking for all along and just didnt know it.
Conclusion: A great bag and a essential part of my paintball equipment.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Orracle Tuesday, January 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Blue 03' WGP Vertical Autococker, Dye Boomstick (stainless), Dye sticky grips, Dye tank cover, PMI 68ci 3000psi carbon tank, Chrome CP flame drop forward, Blue CP on/off valve, stock regulator (for now), stock pneumatics (for now), Evil beaver tail (modified), Blue WGP aluminum cocking rod
Strengths: Large enough for all your gear
Looks durable
Bag was thought out
Weaknesses: Price $70, But worth it.
Can't put gun in bag with barrel on.
Review: I though $70 was a little steep until I started looking at Gear Bags from Dye, JT, and others like them. My friend bought a $40 bag and it was ok but didn't have the compartments and room I was looking for. After putting all my gear in the bag I still have room for more stuff. They say that this bag was made by players for players and it shows. This bag has built in bottle holders (2) on the inside, split compartments (divided by a removable padded divider), zippered pockets everywhere, padded barrel holders (3), a removable tool bag (very useful but it needed more pockets for larger tools), clip on the side of the bag for your mask, and a few webbed pockets.
Conclusion: I really like this bag and its features. It's larger than it looks in the pictures. If your looking at gear bags in this price range then this is it hands down.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Davkal1 Tuesday, September 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
other bags
Marker Setup: 03 vision shocker, halo, 70/4500 crossfire
vf cocker ebladed,halo,68/4500
Strengths: ROOM, For all your gear. Quality, protection.
Weaknesses: Not any real weaknesses
Review: It has 3 barrel spots, 2 gun spots. divider, also an awesome work mat. and a spot for pod pack, spot for mast, and a detachable toolbag that is awesome!!!Compartments, and even a toolbag. Best quality had mine for over two yrs and is still like new. Keeps my gear protected
Conclusion: Awesome buy. Defenitly fulfills all paintball needs
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cockercane Wednesday, July 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Backpacks, duffle bags, the bed of my pickup.
Nothing specific to paintball.
Marker Setup: Angel Force 4 fly
DYE 14" Ultralite
Check it Unimount


02 WGP STO Autococker
WGP hinge frame
ANS pneumatics w/ QEV's
Shocktech Bomb 3-way
ANS GX-2 reg
Shocktech Supa fly bolt.
DYE 12" Boomstick
32* 12" Nyte stikk
Stock hammer, springs and valves.
Sys-X drop on/off

HALO-B w/ X board & rip
Crossfire 68/3000 HPA tank
Centerflag Hyperflow 420 68/ 4500 HPA
Strengths: Holds everything.
Well padded.
GRAB AND GO!
Weaknesses: Haven't had it long enough to break it
Many things are external
Review: This review is written from the point of view of someone who is NEVER organized.

There are two things that won't fit in this bag... a case of paint and my scuba tank! This bag internally fits large items: 2 guns! both w/ 68ci HPA tanks attached, (just face them opposite directions) and Halo-B with room to spare for small things like radarchron, gloves ect. The two markers are seperated by a removable foam pad which can be used as a work mat for your broken down P.O.S. marker. This bag is wide at the bottom and narrows at the top to accomidate (more than one) HPA tanks without being bulky.There is a large external mesh pocket which is perfect size for your hopper ( to free up more internal space if needed) and a few more odds-&-ends. The tool pouch is held fairly secure by velcro and is good enough size to store all the (small) tools needed for a field breakdown with room to spare for rags, batteries, tape, whatever. Tools, oil & stuff are heald in place with strong elastic straps and there are various pockets to hold even more useless crap! Being that it's a zippered binder-like enclosure makes it a decent and organized workspace that will keep parts from rolling away. There are straps provided to hold your pod pack. I had to play with it for a few minutes to get my pack on it securely as the pod pack straps are not adjustable... I had to adjust my 5 pod Ronin slam pack around the straps but it was an easy fix and it holds well. I would not recommend leaving your pods loaded because the weight may be too much for the stitching that holds the straps. Undernethe the pod pack there is a well padded barrel pocket that will hold three 16"(?) barrels and another small zippered pocket to throw your keys, change or crack pipe in. The side of the gear bag has another strap that holds your mask. It kinda dangles around... but at least you don't need to hold it.. There is another small mesh pocket on the side opposite the mask good enough to hold barrel condoms / plugs, jerk squeegies ect... The shoulder strap is strong and adjustable.

EVERYTHING FITS COMFORTABLY
Conclusion: This gear bag is large enough to hold all of my stuff without being jam packed, yet small enough so that it's not akward and hard to carry. This case is also padded well enough to keep all items well protected. Some things are external which leaves them to get hung up on branches or small doorways. But thats the sacrafice for a managable size. All components seem to be really well made, but i haven't had this gear bag long enough to break, rip and/or destroy it yet.

Reading other reviews makes it seem like I got mine for a deal...$42

This bag is a godsend for someone like me (lots of disorganized paintball crap). I highly recommend it.
EDIT 08-APR-05: I found that I was actually able to OVER fill this bag (I'd get stuck in doorways) so I bought the RATCO ATV Gear Hauler and love it too. Check my review on that.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, April 8th, 2005 at 7:20 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

RatImp9 Wednesday, June 23rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Big, green army bag
Rubber maid
Marker Setup: Rat Impulse
-Freak barrel
-Rat Factory kit
-RIP valve
-Vert. Max flow
Egg
68/3000 pure energy
Strengths: Very Durable
Fits Everything
Nice looks
Weaknesses: Doesn't hold my mask (I'll explain)
Review: Everything I have for paintball fits on or in this bag. Two nitro tanks, three markers (I usually only hold my rat impulse and lightning autococker), CO2, Pods, barrels, tools, etc. My mask doesn't fit on it because I have a mask bag that I keep it in, so the strap doesn't attatch to the bag. No big deal though. This bag is great and for 70 bucks, quite a deal.
Conclusion: Get it to protect your stuff if you don't already have something and already found out how expensive other bags with the same or less features are!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media